How has reading FSOG affected your life?

I’m so impressed with the number of readers that posted comments about the books they read after FSOG  (thank you for that) so here is the next one: (thank you Liz).

How does your FSOG (addiction 😉 ) influence your every day life?

For me it opened a new door. Writing was not something I ever aspired to, didn’t even know that I had it in me. Starting Meander was supposed to be a purging process, which has turned into something I spend more time on than my actual job! To put it in perspective for you, I  posted Meander on FF on the 13 May 2012. That’s almost exactly 8 months ago. In that time, just counting the original Meander (not Christmas or Crossfire) I’ve written 173 568 words. If our industry standard for provocative romance is 200 pages per book with a 250 word count per page then I’ve written 3.4 books so far! That just blew me away last night when I did the maths! FSOG books were much longer with an average of roughly 500 pages per book which makes it 1.3 books for me so far.

The time and dedication this level of commitment requires has to come from somewhere, so suddenly I find myself in a very small world. I’ve completely stopped watching TV, I see friends a whole lot less and everything else I do has become a multi task. I eat breakfast reading and commenting on reviews, posting on the blog or answering e-mails. There’s no doubt that it has taken time away from a lot of things that I used to enjoy doing but the truth is I’m happiest with my family rattling around the house and me writing this story.

Strangely getting reviews and feedback has not gotten old, in fact I love chatting to the readers all around the world, about anything really, it never fails to amaze me that a book has brought us all together, not just on my blog but all the blogs, Facebook pages, Twitter, Fan Fiction and FSOG fan sites around.

28 thoughts on “How has reading FSOG affected your life?

  1. I have to agree, but I am so relax as I write and read. Since you enjoy this as much as myself, would you like to help me with the wedding part on Finding the Unexpected? I find myself struggling with this part. 🙂

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    I’m glad to hear that because I truly enjoy your story and look forward to it every week. My family has told me that I need to become more involved. Reading just helps me relax after a long day.

    Like

  3. JustinHartley4Fifty says:

    Same here. Used to love watching TV or a good movie. Now i can go days without turning it on. I am constantly reading something – fanfic, book or seeing what other greysessed people who share my addiction are up to. I hate to admit it but my knowledge of current events stink lately unless it has it has something to do with fiftyshades. I barely know who won the election but I know EL James’ bathroom was leaking down through her ceilings. LOL

    Like

  4. Gwen says:

    I am obsessed and possessed!

    Like

  5. Liz ( Atterbury) says:

    Monique, I was starting to think I had a secret obsession no one would understand. I found FF also in May and the fuel for the flame was ignited, there were only a handful of stories and I found others that had my obsession as well! Magazines pile up unread, TV what’s that?, don’t laugh but I actually listened to the audio FSoG while baking cookies this past Xmas…Thank you for continueing the flame, I know this will pass and I’ll have to pick up all the pieces I have left untouched. Until then I am enjoying this reading obsession that the Triolgy sparked!
    PS I love these “please share with us” responses you invite.
    Love what you do! XX Liz

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know, I think there was 7 FSOG stories on FF when I started, I immersed myself in them, couldn’t wait for an update. I had no one to share my find with, eventually I phoned a non reading friend and talked her into reading it just so I could have someone to discuss it with! 🙂 Thank you for the suggestion for the next question. I’ve never had a blog before, I’m still learning about what you guys want (except for an update that is). Love the reply, thank you!

      Like

  6. Sue says:

    I am totally in awe of you and all the other FSOG bloggers and fan fiction writers. I wouldn’t even know where to begin. For me, totally obsessed as I still am with Christian and Ana 9 months after I ‘met’ them, the biggest change is the introduction to fanfiction which I never knew existed. You spend all your time writing it, I spend all mine reading it. Thank you!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Awesome! Enjoy, that’s why we do what we do.Why is Fan fiction not known I wonder? Considering the success of the book we should be seeing many more readers but I don’t think people know about FF.

      Like

  7. Wendy LeGrand says:

    Before reading Fifty Shades of Grey I had never read any romance novels or anything similar to that Genre, I was a die hard James Patterson fan and also The Odd Thomas books by Dean Koontz. But after hearing the hoopla of FSOG I read the first book and was so hooked I was amazed at myself. I really got into the relationship between Ana and Christian, not so much the sex, even though it was really great obviously. I found myself getting lost in the story and it was truly the only way I could find to relax at the end of a stressful day at work. Now I love reading this genre and have enjoyed the FSOG series 3 times as well as reading Bared to You and Reflected in You twice now. Then I started reading Sylvia Day’s other books so that I could “escape” from the stresses each day. I also follow your blog as well as two others that follow Ana and Christian. It’s almost like I can’t get enough now and need to read something everyday to make the day complete. If I hadn’t found these books and your blog and the others I think I would be a totally wound up basket case by now!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ha, that’s funny, I used to love Grisham, Koontz, King and Patterson! I’m glad you mention the thing about the sex in FSOG, I hate that it’s the only thing most people know about FSOG. Sex, and much more risque than FSOG has been in book for ages, this is NOT new. I don’t know why everyone thinks it’s the reason for the trilogy’s success.

      Like

    • moire says:

      so agree regarding the basic story – the “extras” that go within the story are an added “bonus” Deep within the story is quite sad re how Christian’s psyche has been so damaged and how it has afffected his life Although told from Ana’s POV it (well to me ) is Christians story- thoughts??

      Like

  8. tracy says:

    I was a non-reader, believe it or not, before FSOG. I was talked into reading it. I couldn’t put the damn thing down. I read book 2 in a day. And when I finished book 3, I started all over…3 times…at least! Then I read about 20 more romance novels, some of them twice! I don’t watch t.v. or talk on the phone anymore. When I’m not at work, I’m either reading a book or keeping up with 2 FSOG fan fictions …which I love, appreciate, and look forward to reading every week. THANK YOU!!! I also enjoy reading other fan’s comments and getting good book ideas from them. 🙂

    Like

  9. Karen says:

    Laughing to myself reading all comments, as can relate to all… Hardly watch tv.. Slow day at work and I find myself having a sneaky read or re read ! Used to go for a run to clear my head, but find reading calms me, and it is a January winter in the UK, so running can wait. My 10 year old makes the odd comment about me not been organised as I used to be, but hey everything still gets done… Eventually.. And my personality seems to be a lot calmer and fun.. I have found something for me!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Amen to that sister! Isn’t it just like us as woman to give everything up for our families. Don’t get me wrong family is IMPORTANT but as wives and moms we do so little for ourselves and when we do we feel bad about it.

      Like

  10. Pielietje says:

    I’m a total fanfiction addict since I read FSOG. Every morning I wake up excited to see how many stories are updated. Every spare time I have at work or at home I update my mails to see if there are new updates. Television doesn’t interest me anymore as much, all I want to do is read. My husband starts to be frustrated with my addiction.

    Like

  11. Camilla says:

    When I started reading FSoG it was actually because I’ve heard so many talk about them and I was in a rut with reading, couldn’t really find anything. So I started reading them and was hooked. When I turned the last page of Freed, I got right back and started on the first one again. I’ve read them countless times now and I only got to know about fan fiction in October. Simply because I couldn’t get enough of it I started writing my own fan fiction and it is helping a little with my addiction. But I’ve found it hard to find books that captivate me as much as FSoG.
    I found this blog and I’ve been addicted ever since. As you know Monique I simply love your story, you are an amazing writer and I look forward to the new update every week. It’s usually posted when it’s late evening here and my dear hubby has actually gotten to the point now where he says “Are you reading that again, do you ever get enough?” Uhh NO! 😉
    I love your writing and love coming back for more every week 🙂
    Camilla

    Like

  12. Sharon says:

    So addicted. No longer have interest in long phone chats or television. I would disconnect my cable and save some money if it were just me at home. And no interest in other literary genres since fifty. Wonder if that will be forever? I could spend easily spend all my time fifty related…but unfortunately having to discipline myself as it is very distracting to my attention at work and at home. I am having to truly discipline myself,(but would rather have a Christian to help with that!) Some days I am more successful than others. Almost afraid for the movie to come out as addicted as I am to Christian and Ana’s relationship. I’ve just started reading the original fan fiction that generated Christian…oddly it’s a little helpful to some part of my brain that says, “See…I told you Christian is just a fictional character and used to be named Edward.” And devastating to become totally absorbed in some really excellent fan fictions that are then abandoned. I can understand how difficult it must be to keep up the committment, but so hard on the fans of that fiction. So extra appreciation goes to your dedication. Thank you for taking good care of your fans!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      You are so welcome, I can only speak for myself but the ff cycle for me is very rewarding so I can’t say it’s one sided. I love my readers and love hearing from them also I get to enjoy my current obsession. It must be horrible to enjoy a ff that disappears! Well, I’m sure as you can see from the comments we all walk a similar path. I hope it never ends though it would be good to be able to control it better. Not want to spend every waking moment dedicated to it somehow.

      Like

  13. Corinna says:

    I just read all the comments and what could I say, I’m sooooo relatet to all of them 😉 homework, husband, children… it’s so hard to keep up with the “normal” stuff and I have a lot of it 🙂 So my nights are shortened to follow all the FF’s I found, to satisfy my “GreyAnasession” and I’m nearly desperate if none of them are updated. Right now I follow eight of them, some from different POV’s, like Taylor, Flynn and of course Christian, some with different stolylines, like yours. You all do a really great job in supporting our passion and obsession and you Monique are my favorite. Thank you for your work !!! Greatings from Germany 🙂

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

