Readus interruptus!

So I’m sure, especially if you have kids you can relate. You find yourself with an hour or so and that book you’re reading, you know the one you’re currently obsessed with (I can’t quite remember the title, something to do with shades and grey) is calling to you. Your phone is on silent, you have your obligatory wine/coffee/tea at hand and you snuggle into your favourite spot, really getting comfortable. You sigh, Ah, what bliss…

The chapter starts and with every word you get drawn in, more and more, deeper and deeper. The next scene is a sexy one and you’re right there in the red room of pain, feeling the heat, the sensitive skin, hearing the sounds, seeing the fervent look in the heroe’s eyes when… “MOOOMMMYYY!”

Never has a thump back down to earth been so loud and so unwelcome, you splutter your wine, you lose your place and frustration spawns in your belly like black ink in water: interrupted again! It’s jarring.

I can’t say how many times this happened to me during the many times I read FSOG (and any other thing that I get deeply into) but there is nothing quite like seeing your little one’s face above the book you’re reading to shatter a moment… LOL!

Please tell me you can relate or better yet, share your “interrupted” story with us!

reading

19 thoughts on “Readus interruptus!

  1. Readus interruptus is infinitely preferable to coitus interruptus. Every mother will have that moment when they realise they haven’t been in the bathroom by themselves for four years. I find my reading pleasure is constantly interrupted by pesky things like work or worse, sleep.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Infinitely but no less jarring, it’s the same for me when I’m in the middle of writing a sex scene, the shift in brain function is sometimes just too much for my head to manage…

      Like

      • Paola Donati says:

        I don’t have your e-mail! Where can I send you the Prologue transalated in Italian?
        An other question: an Italian site would like to publish the translation.
        Do you agree?
        Thanks
        Paola

        Like

  2. skinsavant says:

    i simply put my hand, palm facing them and tell my kids or anyone at home to wait as i’m having “a fifty shade moment” or a “chrisitian grey moment”…my kids, who by the way are 36 and 22, just cover their ears and the others just roll their eyes!

    Like

  3. Veronica says:

    Thankfully I was pregnant while I read this story the first time…. So I wasn’t interrupted often bc I would read it in the middle of the night when the rest if the world was sleeping and I was not. I do have a comment to make though – I saw a lot of people reading this story at work and I have to ask, how could you possibly go back to your desk or job all hot and bothered like that? lol… I could never do it….

    Like

  4. Lenette says:

    So funny! How many of us take our book to the toilet with us? I know I do all the time & then I get so engrossed that I forget the time & before I know it there is a search party out looking for me (readus interruptus) & my hubby thinks that I must be feeling unwell & usually all i’ve had to do is a number 1! With a husband & 4 grown up sons living in our house, sometimes I just need my own space! How sad hey!! Lol’s! 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      It’s not sad, sometimes it’s a necessity but you can do without the search party, LOL! sometimes all a girl need is a bit of time. Like Sasha says, you realise one day that you haven’t been alone in the bathroom for four years… 😉

      Like

  5. tracy5678 says:

    ok, you really want to know?..ha ha…I can’t believe I’m going to share these online, but you asked! I have 2. My children are in their 20’s. One evening my son came home late at night and sat next to me on the couch while I was reading “a scene” from FSOG. He wanted to talk but I couldn’t tear myself away from “the scene”. I was just hoping to God that he couldn’t hear my breathing or notice me wiggle in my seat. No one should see their mother like that..ha ha. Another time, I had a dr. appt. with a new dr. I hadn’t met yet. I thought I was just getting a urine test..(tmi, I know). I was reading FSOG when I got called in. To my surprise it was a young hot dr.. He told me to undress from the waist down. I thought you have got to be kidding me! You are going to check me “down there” after “reading that” ! I just stared at him with a big goofy grin. I know he was wondering what the hell was the matter with me!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ha, that was so funny! Mother’s aren;t supposed to have hormones, I know! I wonder what he thought? No need for the KY for that Dr visit I imagine… 😉 I used to have a hot Dr like that when I was in Uni, I used to run into him at nightclubs… Very disconcerting seeing him party…

      Like

  6. Kat says:

    OMG! I don’t know how many times my 3 year old interrupts me to help him put on his batman costume that he wears around the house about 95% of the day; then to put the costume on and he says ” the mask doesn’t fit I can’t see! I get him situated and here comes the 7 year old ” mom! Watcha reading(with a mischievous smile). She comes behind me and looks into the book and tries to read the words in the book as well as the cover and that’s a total turn off when she starts that! Lol! Kids 🙂

    Like

  7. Janien Meissner says:

    My children are two boys, 21 and 18 years old. They only “rolleye” me when I am talking about FSOG. Need I say more? I read the books on the beach last summer. So did my beachneighbour. We were looking for the perfect Christian all the time but nooooo! It was very funny and I felt so happy! Hope EL is writing fast…….

    Like

  8. Karen (kaz) says:

    This weekend I lost Sunday entirely reading on my iPad. It came in every room with me. I found myself hiding it and pretending to do something “of use” if my hubby or kids found me. My 10 year olds footy match was cancelled, and as he was getting really upset all I could think was …. Reading time….. They even wanted to interrupt me by going sledging in the thick snow.. I suggested they go as I had so much to do in the house.. Sunday was mine ! Another interruption .. Can my kids borrow my iPad for a quick homework search ? It’s their education! No sorry, go and find another device with google on in the house.. I’m catching up on something FSOG related !

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Wha-ha-ha! I so know where you’re coming from! LOL! These days the scales always seem so heavily tipped in reading favour… As far as the homework is concerned, get them an encyclopedia – the actual books… LOL! I’m sure they’ll be shocked it doesn’t some with a screen and buttons! Love it! 😉

      Like

  9. Roslyn says:

    I do have three children 11y.o. girl, two boys 13 y.o. and 17 y.o. I must say, I work throughout the week come home cook and make sure everyone is on point with their HW, reading and projects. My husband helps with the dog, dishes and kids clothes. I didn’t do anything for me for many years But when I read Fifty Shades of Grey and I learned about fan fiction I was hooked. I got worn out reading late nights when the kids went to sleep or I would wake up and read at 3 AM bc I felt guilty that it took time away from them and I felt like I was doing something naughty. So I just got tired and said, I will change the password to the router, put passwords on all tablets and laptops and no one will go online or get to play x-box online either if you don’t leave me alone to my Christian Grey/FSOG and Fan Fiction. So now I hear, leave mom alone she reading her fifty shades. Wow, I am in heaven even my husband is happy now.

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

