I’m shocked!

One of my readers, Lillimarie has just shared with me that Sylvain Reynard, author for the Gabriel series is presumably a man! I’m I just dim not even contemplating the thought? How very unusual for a man to write something so intensely dramatic and romantic. Another little interesting titbit that I’m not sure you knew about but the series has been compared to Fifty Shades of Grey because both originated as Twilight Fanfiction, with the International Business Times reporting that Gabriel’s Inferno differs in that it bears “few similarities to the story that inspired it”. The novel was originally published online as a Twilight fan fiction entitled The University of Edward Masen under the pen name of Sebastien Robichaud. (Wikipedia)

For those of you that see David Gandy as Professor Emerson enjoy the clip…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eVVU4ITA-qU

 

14 thoughts on “I’m shocked!

  1. Lillimarlene says:

    He did have a photo of himself on his blog, which I see he’s removed. It’s true that men don’t usually write romantic fiction, allthough a number of Harlequin romance authors are men writing under a pseudonym. It’s also true that women authors are usually better at writing about sex.

    Like

  2. 1klkelly says:

    Wow, Kudos to the Author! (if it’s true). I don’t believe everything I read on Wikipedia as it can be changed easily.

    Like

    • Lillimarlene says:

      They key is in the name, Sylvain is a male name, Sylvaine or Sylvie are the female version. I’m sure that Sylvain Renard is a pseudonym but why would a female author choose a man’s name? It’s not as if it would help boost sales. Also the photo on his website was definitely that of a middle aged man.

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I checked his blog as well as images available of him. The original fan fiction was also written under a guy’s name so I think it is true but boy I’m surprised.

      Like

  3. JaySamie says:

    Yes I know – It took me a while to come to terms with that as well! But – kudos to him!

    Like

  4. sue Veuleman says:

    Please tell me about this Gabriel series and where I can find it. Tks

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • tracy5678 says:

      Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture. Gabriel Emerson is a college professor and Julia Mitchell is his student. They first met years ago when they were young. Now they are getting “reacquainted”. Gabriel is 33, gorgeous (think David Gandy…lol, I’ve said that 1,000 times already!) wealthy, eccentric, worldy, and an ass. Julia is 23, bright, beautiful, caring, frail, “innocent”, and poor. There are a lot of historical references to Florence Italy, Dante Alighieri, poems, and paintings. The 3rd book of the trilogy is not out yet. I loved them, read them at least 3 times.

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture by Sylvain Reynard. I enjoyed reading it but it was very heavy on the dramatic side and personally the male lead did nothing for me.

      Like

  5. grublue says:

    I automatically asumed it was a man because of the male name. This piqued my curiosity, that’s why it’s high on my reading priority list.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      With authors choosing some weird aliases these days I didn’t even consider that it may be a man in spite of the name, I just assumed it was something similar to Sylvia. Now I know… 🙂

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

