Sunday book club

Hello lovely ladies.

worm8

Hope you’ve had a stellar week of delicious reading. I know I have! Today I’d like to introduce a special icon:

best

This little “Best of the Best” (BoB) award will only go to those books that grip me (and maybe you too – almost) as much as FSOG did. Though I don’t believe I’ll ever have a repeat experience like the one I had when I first read FSOG, I still think that every once in a while a book comes along that reminds one of the utter slave you were to those words and characters. How they lived and breathed in your mind and in your heart.

For the sake of setting the bar and catching up, so far I think the BoB should go to:

f2

f3  f4  rm

Okay, that’s done. Let’s see what happened this last week….

Last week I was finishing off Unleased by Cherrie Lynn.

book 4

I liked it but not as much as Rock Me.

My shelf book was: One Night With a Pleasure Pro by Michael Dakota.

book4

Interesting theme, he’s a mind reader with the ability to “mind-jack” people’s thoughts and make them do certain things. He is a sex therapist who helps couples in the bedroom. I was intrigued and I liked that the author was male. In spite of finishing the book I’m not overblown.

Then I had a quickie with Sylvia Day’s Blood and Roses

sd

A super fast, short story that mentions our fav Mr Cross but not in the same style as Crossfire – fun and frivolous.

BUT THEN… and thank you Jo Fergus for suggesting Jodi  Ellen Malpas’ This Man because (cue the trumpets…) it was AWESOME and I feel deserving of the next BoB award!

book1  best

I LOVED it! It’s a series so you can guess where I’ll be going next…

I must admit that there are a few things about the book that bother me, I hate that he calls her “lady” and at times I feel like slapping Ava, just to help her wake up but so far (and I’m almost done) I’m in love…. It reminds me more of Crossfire than FSOG and her writing style is poetic in places, something that I adore.

For this week, on my shelf, is the sequel to This Man by Malpas – Beneath this Man as well as Leave Me Breathless by Cherrie Lynn from the same series as Rock me.

Let me know what you’ve been up to

I can’t wait! Happy reading! 😉

Monique

59 thoughts on “Sunday book club

  1. Kate Reece says:

    Just ordered rock me….is it a series??

    Like

  2. Heather B says:

    So, I’m in the midst of the “This Man” trilogy….he doesn’t creep you out at all? Christian did not creep me out in the slightest (ok, maybe a bit in the begining) but Jesse Ward….holy controlling freak, Batman! …..I hope all of you will give “The edge of never” a read….I am an avid romance reader and of the probably 30 books I have read in the past couple of months I will say this one blew me away, made me cry….etc…..I still can’t say enough good things about this book…..I LOVED fifty shades, and while this book isnt as sexually intense I will say the love story and the story overall left me breathless……

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Heather, he is very intense and I don’t have the same connection I have with FSOG and Crossfire heroes but I love her writing, I’m hoping the reason behind his behaviour will become clearer as I read the rest of the books, it would be very weird if it’s left unexplained…. I loved the Edge of Never but liked Hopeless even more.

      Like

      • Heather B says:

        Just found out the third book of the “This Man” trilogy is not even out-and won’t be until spring/summer! CRAP! I have so many sequels coming out this year I seriously can’t keep them straight anymore!

        Like

        • Liz says:

          I can’t find these books. Any tops on where to find them?

          Like

          • Monique Lain says:

            I got mine off Kindle, Jodi Ellen Malpas, This Man and the second book is Beneath this Man. If you go to Goodreads they will have a few links for options to buy, you can navigate from there to a site you like to use. 😉

            Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I know, I must say I find Goodreads very useful in this regard, they have the sequels displayed even if you can’t get them yet, just helps me keep track of what I’m waiting for but you have to be diligent in updating your lists.

          Like

  3. Mercia says:

    I am going to suggest, The Education of Sebastian by, Jane Harvey Berrick. Read the reviews on, amazon.com and uk.The sequel, The Education Of Caroline. Will be out on, Feb 14th. In the sequel, the story continues, 10 years later! I hope you try the Educationof Sebastian.

    Like

  4. Michele says:

    Just read Kaleb by Nicole Edwards. It was quite a hot book with the sex scenes and i dont know rather thats god or bad. It had a very good story line and moved along quickly.

    Like

  5. I’ve been doing a lot of reading in the past few weeks, read the Crossfire series for the first time, have read Gabriels Inferno and Gabriels Rapture, The Boss’s Fake Fiancee by Inara Scott, Because You Are Mine by Beth Kery (it’s a series of 8 books), For His Pleasure series by Kelly Favor, Perfect For You by Kate Perry.
    All books are similar but in my opinion not at good as FSoG. They’ve all captured me, but haven’t had that feeling I had the first time I read Fifty.
    But they are definitely worth reading.

    Like

  6. HenryCavill4Fifty says:

    Maybe you should rate them 1-4 BoBs so we’ll know when to have extra batteries or a man on hand. Lol

    Like

  7. Liz says:

    I just finished The Angel by Tiffany Reisz. To be honest it took me a little while to get into it since I found some of it a bit disturbing. I did end up liking it and am going to start on The Prince next. I didn’t realize that there were more in the series before The Angel so I am trying to decide if I should go back and read the ones I missed.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know! it was the same for me, Soren scares the heebies out of me but they are also funny. I really enjoy them. I’m slowly making my way through the short stories until the next book comes out. I must say that so far I’ve enjoyed the first one the most, I love Nora’s quirks.

      Like

  8. Melissa says:

    The This Man series was on my list of books to read, so thank you for the timely review. Guess i’ll move it up on the list! Of course they way my list grows (thanks in part to all the helpful ladies who post here) i’m going to need to start speed reading or quit my job!! 😉

    I’d also recommend Temptation by KM Golland. I loved this book and am anxiously awaiting book 2 in this series.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thanks Melissa I’ll put it on my to read list. This Man is quite intense, the male lead is OTT, much more than Christian and there are a few things (grammar-wise mostly) that bothers me but I really enjoyed reading it.

      Like

  9. Jen says:

    Left me breathless I liked more than rock me, didn’t think that was possible. It’s macey’s and ghost story and it was a super hot romance!!! I’m going to read it again! Not ready to give them up yet!

    Like

  10. Lillimarlene says:

    Liz, the 1st novel in the Original sequence is The Siren. It
    gives you a different perspective on Nora.There are also a number of short stories available on her website.

    Like

  11. Valerie says:

    This week I read Wife for Hire and Down for the Count by Christine Bell (both very good); Tempting the Best Man and Tempting the Player by J. Lynn, also both very good! Worth reading for sure! Just started Seducing Cinderella by Gina Maxwell…will let you know how it is 🙂

    Like

  12. Lillimarlene says:

    I’m reading, Sapphires and Submission, the first volume in the Crystal Fragments trilogy. I’ve downloaded the omnibus edition so I’m looking forward to reading the other volumes. This is a first novel by M J Lawless, dark, well written and it opens in the highlands of Scotland. There are no playrooms or fancy apartments, it’s all very raw and primal.

    Like

  13. Sharon says:

    On Dublin Street would have to be on my BOB list. Braden was so compelling – and I keep reading my favorite parts (and yes, you can guess what those are) over and over. Trying Rock Me on your recommendation, the tattoos and goatee don’t intrigue me, but willing to see where it goes!

    Like

  14. Chantel Fanke says:

    I just discovered an app called Wattpad….I haven’t really dug into it but there’s tons of free stories. Started one called Taylor-the Rock stars daughter..seems pretty good so far..I got about 200 pages into Beautiful Disaster. I just can’t bring myself to finish it. I was engrossed the first 120 pages and I just can’t stand the characters anymore. Read Hopeless, Collide, and Rock Me. All 3 were pretty good. I ..especially liked the first non kiss in Hopeless:).Just downloaded Is This All There Is? Sounds promising…I’ll let you know next Sunday! Have an amazing week everyone!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Collide? This is one I haven’t heard of. Who is it by? Any good? Thank you for sharing the app. Beautiful disaster, I can see how the drama could eventually get on your nerves, I enjoyed it but in a Sunday afternoon leisurely read way, not a gripping my sheets, drooling way…xx

      Like

      • Chantel says:

        The author of Collide is Gail McHugh. It had pretty good reviews and I liked it. There were some slower chapters but there are some “I can’t put this down right now for anything in the world” chapters too. Did not realize it was book 1 of 2. It ends in a way that you want the next book NOW!!!! It’s not out yet btw:(.

        Lots of books to look forward to!!!

        Like

  15. tracy5678 says:

    I know, it’s Monday, and I was supposed to share on Sunday. But I couldn’t put my books down long enough to comment. This week I read Eighty Days Blue and Eighty Days Red by Vina Jackson. They are the 2nd and 3rd part of a trilogy. Not sure how to describe these books. Advertised to be like 50. Not so. These are dark and there aren’t many hearts and flowers…not really. However, having said that I couldn’t put them down. It was kind of like watching a train wreck. You don’t really want to see or know about some things, but you can’t keep your eyes off of it. Summer is a 20 something violinist from New Zealand that travels the world to perform and explore her sexual appetites…some in the BDSM world. Dominic is an older man from London (I think). He is a lecturer in a university. Their paths keep meeting. This is their story. If you start book 1, then I recommend all 3. I liked them all, especially book 3.

    I also read “On Dublin Street”…loved it! And, I just started reading “Ask For It” by Sylvia Day. Another one of her historical stories from the 1700’s. I love this story too…ha ha.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you for sharing and I would never expect you to abandon a good book…. LOL! the sharing about the books and all other posts are open for comment al the time so no worries! I’m going to put those on my reading list right now! Thank you! I think the publishing companies are getting a little free with their “like FSOG” stickers, if it has a whiff of a BDSM theme then it’s like 50. Dublin street was great eh?

      Like

  16. Jo Fergus says:

    On your recommendations I have read Rock me and Leave Me Breathless by Cherrie Lynn, I also read My Misery Muse by Brei Betzold, all kind of similar stories but enjoyable because I like sexy rock stars 🙂 I also really like angst ridden books and love triangles so if you haven’t read Thoughtless and Effortless by SC Stephens and Avoiding Committment and Avoiding Responsibility by K.A. Linde then they are worth a read and my other fav this year has been Fallen to Far by Abbi Glines. If you really enjoy a book then follow the author on twitter & facebook because they often to blog tours on various book blogs so you get to read snippets of upcoming books, interviews with the book characters and in some cases book signings, they also recommend their favourite authors/books, that is how I have found so many good books to read 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thanks Jo, I’m really enjoying the This Man series. I read Thoughtless and enjoyed but I only got a couple of pages into Effortless and lost interest. Maybe one day I’ll try again. Man my “to-read” bookshelf is groaning… LOL! Love it 🙂

      Like

  17. Michele says:

    I started reading Nicole Edwards, Club Destiny Series. There are 4 books in the series with the first one being Conviction which I liked and now I’m reading Temptation which I like even better than the first one. In between all of the actual books I read I’m also following about 10 FSOG fan fiction sites.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Wow, that should keep you nice and busy. Is the series you’re reading similar to FSOG?

      Like

      • Michele says:

        It’s not at all similar. It is still based on relationships, inner turmoil and lots of hot sex scenes. Nicole Edwards has a really good website that even gives pics and bios of the characters. Although I think each book could stand on its on it’s better to read them in order so you understand the background better. I just finished Temptation (book2). She did a novella in between called Addicted so I read it as well. I’m gonna start the next book which is Seduction today.

        Like

  18. grublue says:

    Which FSOG fanfictions are you following? I’m following three excellent ones and I wouldn’t mind adding another good one. I can’t get my mind free of Christian Grey anyway. 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I love Sasha’s, she does Kate and Elliot and have just started on Mia and Ethan’s story. http://sashacameron.com/

      Like

      • grublue says:

        Thank you for the tip! I read about this blog but I’ve been avoiding it because I’m not that much into the Kate-Elliot-relatiionship, but then again, I had been avoiding your story because it didn’t stick to the canon. And look at me now, I’m a complete Meander addict! 😉

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Ah, you’re welcome. She’s got a fantastic sense of humor. Love that you love Meander. Now that you’ve read it do you still think that it doesn’t follow the canon? Just curios, it helps me understand what people see when they read my blurbs.

          Like

          • grublue says:

            Except for the fact that Ana left and all the resulting consequences, you are following the canon very much, and the characters are very much in – er – character. As far as I can see, there aren’t any mistakes in logic either. I was smitten with your story from the very beginning. It just had taken time until I finally started reading it.

            Like

    • Michele says:

      Of course this one.. I’m following A Walk in the clouds (eminethe1st.blogspot.com) she tells the story from CG’s point of view. Also check out On fan fiction.net the author nuwriter. She did her own trilogy with the first one being Fifty shades more then fifty shades clarity then fifty shades full circle. A cute funny one you will get a kick out of is on fan fiction.net also which is By lillian121 and is called fifty shades after the boat house proposal. Just a few to keep you going,

      Like

  19. Lizzy Lyon says:

    I feel certain that you will love Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren. It was just released Tuesday and it is raw, sexy and exciting. Bennett and Chloe can’t keep their hands off each other. It started as an early fan fiction, before Master of the Universe. In many ways, I feel it paved the way for MOTU. It had over 2 million hits as a fanfic. I started it Thursday when I boarded my plane for sunny Florida and finished it late last night. Yum!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

