Sunday Book Club

Hello lovely ladies (and the occasional gentleman)…

worms

Just for in case you were wondering, those are worms….. 😉 

book 1

It’s been another lovely reading week for me, I kicked off with Beneath this Man, the sequel to This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas. I feel like I’ve been put through the ringer, it was INTENSE! Loved it though and cannot wait for book three! It was a bit like a train wreck, just could not tear myself away from it.

book3  book3 vis aid

I then started with Leave me Breathless by Cherrie Lynn, It’s Macy and Ghost’s story and I already love it. I think she’ll be a firm favourite of mine in the future. Above, just a little visual to help you imagine what the enigmatic Seth looks like though in the book his sports a goatee…

On my shelf this week I have:

book bc  books

Conviction by Nicole Edwards and Hot Ticket by Olivia Cunning – choosing between the two already has me in a tailspin… Any advice?

I don’t know if it’s the same for you but since FSOG, I sort of fell into the series thing with books, now, when I find a single book I almost feel hard done by, do you know what I mean?

Happy reading ladies, 

Monique xx

35 thoughts on “Sunday Book Club

  1. Carmela (marpuri fanfiction) says:

    I liked hot ticket. Have you read the others in the series? I’m currently reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood series and LOVING IT!

    Like

  2. Michele says:

    I feel you on the series thing. I have been doing the same thing. That’s why I read all of the Club Destiny books. I just started This Man since y’all recommended it so I will
    See if I like it or not. I will have to look into the other book u r reading as well.

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Hi. There’s a new book called S.E.C.R.E.T. By L. Marie Adeline that I just had to finish-and then read again. Not a series (yet, though I hope it will be) but captivating none the less. Just out this past week I think. Enjoy!

    Like

  4. Jo Fergus says:

    Glad you enjoyed Jesse Ward, I too can’t wait for This Man Confessed 🙂 I have read Tidal by Emily Snow which I really enjoyed, and also read Running on Empty by LB Simmons which was a really nice love story. Today I read On Dublin St, finally and loooooved it 🙂 Read Hot Ticket earlier this week and Olivia Cunning does not disappoint with another scorhing hot sexy book 🙂

    Like

  5. Lillimarlene says:

    I’ve been reading On Dublin Street by Samantha Young. I like the writing style and its fun to read a novel set in Edinburgh, a city I know so well. The only drawback is the central character, Joss, she is extremely annoying and the author deserves praise for taking the risk of making her heroine so unlikeable.

    I also want to recommend an author called Joey W Hill. She writes in a lot of genres and honestly, I’m not that keen on vampires but she has a series of loosely linked contemporaries in a sequence called Nature of Desire. Within this series is a trilogy comprising, Ice Queen, Mirror of My Soul and Branded Sanctuary. The first two feature a female Dominant with a very tragic past, she is also an important presence in the last book. They were published a few years before FSOG and I suspect that James may have read them. Be warned, keep a big box of tissues ready, you’ll need them.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ah, interesting. I have to confess that I’m a little careful of sad books’ I really don’t like crying… 😉

      Like

      • Lillimarlene says:

        Don’t worry, they are not sad all the way through and they are so skilfully written, with wonderful supporting characters.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I love that, I love Marion Keys, (Irish romance novelist) She always has this exceptional character development. It’s incredible from gestures to personality traits that just put you right into their frame of mind. She writes very well, no hot scenes though.

          Like

          • Lillimarlene says:

            Joey Hill certainly writes an abundance of hot scenes, LOL

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              What have you read from her, anything worth a try?

              Like

              • Lillimarlene says:

                Joey W Hill writes erotic fantasy as well as contemporaries. Vampires are not my favourites but the vamps of her Vampire Queen series are very different from the vanilla vamps of the Twighlight series.

                She also writes contemporaries with a BDSM theme. The Knights Of The Boardroom are a bit hardcore for my taste but I love her Nature of Desire sequence. A series of interlinked novels which don’t all need to be read in order, apart from Ice Queen and Mirror of My Soul. Branded Sanctuary completes that trilogy. These books feel quite realistic, there are no young billionaires, no contracts (a plot device that James used in FSOG but not all that common in BDSM circles) and most of the characters have quite ordinary jobs. The path to true love is not always easy but they get there in the end. Hill is a very accomplished novelist.

                Like

              • Monique Lain says:

                Thank you, another bunch to add to the growing list… Fantastic! I know what you mean about the hardcore though, I’m of the firm belief that sometimes less is more… 🙂

                Like

  6. Janien Meissner says:

    Hello readinglady’s ! I would love to read the books you are talking about,sadly i couldn’t find them in Holland. Usualy I read a different kind of books, thrillers are my thing. Perhaps you would like the books from Elizabeth Haynes, I just finished ‘Revenge of the tide’ and I loved it ! Its a lovestory, but different! You have to wait a long time but the tension…… It’s great! Have a nice reading-Sunday ! Xx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      HI Janien, I think most readers don’t buy actual books any more. I only buy e books these days. I do miss the feel of a real book in my hands but the convenience of always having it with me and buying it with the single click of a button and then getting it instantly has me hooked on Kindle! You should be able to get electronic copies where ever you are in the world unless the legislation is heavily against the mature content.

      Like

  7. Liz says:

    I have ben reading books by Roni Loren and have loved them. The are kind of a series in that they play off characters that show up in the other books, but they dont carry over like a trilogy would if that makes sense. The three I have read so far are Crash Into You, Melt Into You and Fall into you. I would read them in that order if you can. I loved all of them and couldn’t put them down. She has a couple more coming out later this year and can’t wait. They all seem to focus around a place called The Ranch which is a BDSM resort. Very steamy love scenes!!

    Like

  8. Sharon says:

    I read Gabriel’s Inferno right after fifty shades, and didn’t care much for it – so didn’t move on to the next in the series. However, started re-reading it a couple of days ago and enjoying it more this time around. May have to read the next book. Think it was just too hard on any guy that tried to measure up to our Christian. (Still no contest there.)

    Like

  9. tracy5678 says:

    Just finished reading “A Passion For Him” by Sylvia Day, the 3rd book in her Georgian series. Once I picked it up I couldn’t put it down. It’s the story of Amelia and her passion for “him”. Takes place in London in the 1700’s. I also read “Ask For It”, the 1st book in the series…somehow I read them out of order…they share the same characters, but can be read on their own. Like Sylvia’s other historical romance books I’ve read, I couldn’t put it down. “Bloody Hell”, they are fun reads!!!

    Like

  10. Liz says:

    I just started Rush by Maya Banks. So far it seams like it will be a good one. I see some similarities to FSOG. It also says it is a trilogy but I haven’t had a chance to look up the other books yet

    Like

  11. Michele says:

    I just finished This Man by Jodie Malpass. I loved it. Completely intense. Now I’m gonna read Beneath This Man and then move onto the Olivia Cunning Series maybe. Let me know if anyone has read her stuff!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I just completed Malpas, intense is the word! The second one even more so!!! I’m starting with Cunning next. There’s been recommendations for her on here so that’s where I’m going! The Sinners series

      Like

  12. Michele says:

    Yes, I agree. Beneath This Man was even more intense so i look forward to the next book. I am really obessed with reading a book that has a series it seems like i understand the characters better

    Like

  13. Andrea says:

    I can’t do the single books anymore…it has to be at least a trilogy for me to read them…one book makes it feel like a one night stand IMO…you don’t really get to know the character deeply in just one book.

    Like

  14. KereCB says:

    I finished read This Man Trilogy on Monday, I have a new chrus, yes i fell hard for Jesse now. The Lord! Oh my Lord!!! I’m starting with Beautiful series… just starting… xoxo Monique

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

