Book club

Hello ladies,

Finally! An answer to a question that’s been plaguing us all… 😉

Are we cheating on Christian with Gideon, Kellan, Jesse, Travis, Gabriel, Ethan and Braden?

Apparently the answer is NO!

books6

Phew! LOL! 😀

I had a good book week, I hope you can say the same.

This week I enjoyed

up t me  the prop  the prop

I finished Up to Me by M Leighton and I really enjoyed the story. I’m looking forward to book 3 in the series. The proposition by Katie Ashley started well for me but the second book, The Proposal got a little sweet for me. A good read, quite light hearted but personally I feel that Aiden got off way too lightly. I would have liked to have seen a lot more drama and the male character didn’t have any of that magnetism that our Christian has in spades.

Currently I’m reading book 4 in one of Shayla Black’s & Lexi Blake’s series:

tvp

Their Virgin Princess – so far, so good and very typical of the menage series. They do follow onto each other but reading them out of order won’t matter much.

On my shelf I have

in flight

In Flight by RK Lilley

Book joke

Enjoy your week and let us know if you come across any literary gems… 😉

Monique xx

39 thoughts on “Book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Good morning Monique, I am delighted to say that I am finally out of my funk. Last week I read Don’t say a Word by Beverly Barton, I have read all her books and as far as I’m aware this is her last one as she passed away in 2011.
    Another book that caught my eye whilst doing some lunchtime shopping was Because you are Mine by Beth Kerry – apart from FSOG this is only the 2nd “Erotic book” I have read and to be quite honest I didn’t like it at all, for me there were too many similarities and IMO was just a cheap knock off of Fifty Shades.
    At the minute I am half way through Stay Close by Harlan Coben – loving it. So I think I am well on my way to reading again!
    Apart from the Crossfire books which I have downloaded to the kindle so I will read them, I think I will just still to my usual genre of thrillers and suspense. I will just continue to get my kink from fan stories about FSOG.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Firstly happy St Patty’s day! I’m so very thrilled that you’re reading again! I think the book you choose to start with after FSOG is vital in how you perceive the rest of the genre, please don’t give up… I am worried about you reading Bared to You (Crossfire book 1), it is extremely similar to FSOG but not in a poor-copy kind of way. The second book she breaks away from FSOG and that was the book that stole my heart. I found it very confronting at times but it’s one helluva’ read. I don’t know the book you wet your newly erotic toes in but sounds like a poor start. maybe some readers here can compare notes with us…

      Like

      • Mrs. H says:

        Well Monique, I finally read the Crossfire series. It was my breakout book to finally get me to read something other than Meander and FSOG. I have to say I was somewhat reluctant about the Crossfire books due to things I had read about it being a knock-off of FSOG….well I loved them….loved them so much that I read them twice….while I found some similarities, I thought the characters were so different. What is it about the second book that stole your heart? I liked them both and have not yet decided which one I like better….I’m curious to know what you think….

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          YAY! There’s an immense amount of similarities but in the first book only, right down to same names, tiny details and at first that put me right off. In fact, for a while I didn’t like it at all, I walked around feeling indignant for EL James’ sake. After a bit of research I found that they were released around the same time but that didn’t make me feel any better though I grudgingly had to admit that her writing skill is superb. I reluctantly started the second book and could not put it down. I was so drawn to Gideon – **(SPOILER ALERT)** that scene where they’re alone at the beach house and she’s defending her actions, kissing Brett and he says your kisses mean everything and he comes from just kissing her, must be one of my all time favourite scenes ever! Gideon’s intellect comes through very strongly for me, the way he treated her after her nightmare, so cautious that she would freak out if he touched her, giving her a show in the shower. I just… oh boy, it took my breath away! His no-nonsense passion, commitment and the way she describes him changing when he sees her… I also loved that so much was revealed in the second book because the first one left so many questions… Actually I’ve just realised that I could sit here all night and tell you why I LOVE CROSSFIRE… LOL! I’m so glad that was your first book after FSOG, you couldn’t have made a better choice as far as I’m concerned. Have you read my Crossfire one shot? What’s next for you?

          Like

          • grublue says:

            Monique, does the second Crossfire book end with a bad cliffie…?
            The thing is, I’d like to read them now, but I really, I mean REALLY don’t handle cliffies well… They drive me insane. Yours are just bearable as they last for only a week. That’s why I would like to wait until the release of the third book, but I’m quite intrigued reading your and other reviews, so I’m sure I can.

            Like

            • grublue says:

              I wanted to say I’m NOT sure I can wait. My mind is quicker than my fingers. 😉

              Like

              • Monique Lain says:

                I know exactly what you mean. I also work on a wi-fi keyboard with my iPad on occasion then I get keyboard confusion because the apostrophe is in a different place… 😉 GAH! very frustrating to keep correcting the same mistake over and over!

                Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              No, I actually appreciated that it ended so conclusively but there are still some questions, the biggest one I’ve addressed in my book 2 one shot of Crossfire.

              Like

              • tracy5678 says:

                I agree. The Crossfire series is one of my favorites and I reread it every few weeks…lol. I’m content with the end of book 2, but can’t wait for book 3. I also hated how book 1 was sooooo similar to FSOG, I almost quit reading it…glad I didn’t. I don’t think hearts and flowers with crossfire, I think raw and hot!

                Like

              • Monique Lain says:

                Yes but still deeply, indelibly romantic…

                Like

          • Mrs. H says:

            So I procrastinated about reading the Crossfire series as long as possible due to the similarities that I had heard with FSOG…..and when I started Bared to You, there were things where I was like….really? couldn’t think of something different? So I had the some of the same concerns….and I also checked the publication date (LOL) to see if it was really a copycat kind of thing. I guess the thing that I liked was that the characters had different issues than the characters in FSOG…..there were some scenes that caused me to eye roll (oh please Mr. Grey – cure me from that!) I really like both of the Crossfire books….and I really wish they would hurry up and release the next one….. and the scenes you mentioned were all ones that rocked my world as well….I have read your Crossfire one shots and it was to cool of you to fill in the gaps that way…..it was even better to go back and re-read the books again afterwards because I just filled in those gaps with your story….so thanks because it makes you feel a little differently about those scenes…..as for what’s next….not sure……I was hooked on FSOG for soooo long that I was beginning to think I needed a sanity check….so I switched to Crossfire which I have now read three times….I love the Sunday book club as I usually try to pick up some suggestions from there and from Goodreads….now I’m off to read chapter 41…Yay!

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              I’m frustrated waiting for book 3 in Crossfire, she’s pushed the release date out three times already and in the mean time she’s released other books! URG! 😉 If you want a single book I’d go with Wallbanger for something light hearted or Dublin Street. If your’e still into the series I’d go with This Man and Beneath This Man (Malpas) – intense but fantastic or The Blackstone Affair series. I’ve never come across anything like FSOG or Crossfire but This Man is pretty close for me. Also Try Cherrie Lynn: Rock Me, Unleashed & Leave Me Breathless – a series but they don’t follow an order – another awesome read! 😉

              Like

  2. Katherine says:

    I’ll keep your comments in mind when I start the crossfire series

    For each petal on the shamrock
    This brings a wish your way –
    Good health, good luck, and happiness
    For today and every day.
    Happy St. Patricks day x

    Like

  3. Ucbear says:

    Hi Monique,
    Happy St Pattys Day. I just downloaded the blackstone series. I am about 40 pages into Naked and so far, really am enjoying this! I also recently read, On Dublin Street and surprisingly liked it. Nothing for me yet reaches the level of FSOG or the crossfire series but I still have hope to find another nirvana out there.
    Xoxo

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Awesome! I enjoyed it and I love the switching between the leads. Dublin street was a good read for me too. No, I’m afraid nothing will ever top our beloved FSOG, it is to books what Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon & Matrix was for fight scenes in the movie industry. I still marvel at the fact that it overtook me the way it did. Even books that I now love (Crossfire) still feels second to FSOG because I read it first. I often wonder how I would have felt about FSOG if I read it after Crossfire.
      Hope you had a good St Patty’s day as well xx

      Like

  4. Audrey says:

    Let me know how you go with Up in the air series when you’re done 🙂 i read the samples .. Its seems good but too much fifty/crossfire style so i didnt read further. But will get Lana. Im avoiding the trilogy. Hahahah

    This week, its all light reading for me. Finished Stalk Me (Jillian Dodd) … Hmm very gossip girl/ beverley hills/ one tree hill kind of thing. Good to watch on TV but not so much to read (for me that is).

    Finished A Reclusive Heart (RL Matthewson) which was JUST okay. Not as funny as the neighbor from hell series.

    Like

  5. grublue says:

    I’ve just finished The Education of Sebastian and The Education of Caroline by Jane Harvey-Berrick. Truth to be told, the topic – elder woman (30 years) and younger man (17, four months shy of his 18th birthday) – is a difficult one, as it depends very much on the maturity of the younger person and the motivation of the elder to distinguish love from abuse on a psychological level. (Legally it is abuse anyway in California state. The legal age is 18.) I probably wouldn’t have read the books if I hadn’t known the author, but as I had been following Jane’s blog for several months before the books where released, I was sure she would approach the sensitive topic with a sure instinct. The release of Sebastian was my motivation to actually buy a Kindle, but I waited for the release of Caroline and some quiet days because a) I don’t take cliffies well and b) I didn’t want to go to work all puffy eyed.
    I was not disapointed. The novels are, although a tad controversial, surely one of the most beautiful lovestories I’ve ever read. Some passages are extremly heartbreaking and desperate, others are heartwarming. Some scenes are a good laugh and others are steaming hot. The story and the development of the characters is very realistic, embedded in the events of our most recent history. At times, I was annoyed with both characters, but I have to admit, they behaved in a way I probably would as well in a similar situation, and that is what makes them so palbable.
    A little bonus for my romantic heart is the fact that Seb and Caro meet again in my home country (Switzerland), which for some stupid reason makes me incredibly happy, and they travel down the Italian west coast to a place where I used to have a short but intense love affair so many years ago. 🙂
    And well, Sebastian Hunter made it on my short list of my fictional crushes!

    Like

    • Audrey says:

      Ahhhh a fellow fan of seb and caro!! You took my words!!!!
      Its one of my favorites!! And seb is my book crushes too!!

      Like

    • 1klkelly says:

      I am a big fan of JHB as well. I fell in love with TEOS/TEOC. I’m half way through the second book of “This Man” series by Jodie Ellen Malpas~ Intense, Passionate, Frustrating… and I’m def into it!

      Like

  6. Valerie says:

    This past week I was on vacation so I read Come Away With Me, Fight With Me, and Play With Me, all by Kristen Proby. I just loved them! The way she takes siblings and their friends and spins them off into their own book is amazing and I’m so happy there’s more to come! Then I read Unleashed and Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn…
    Rock Me was awesome! Definitely will read again. Next: Leave Me Breathless by Cherrie Lynn. I see you have already read these Monique! And Katherine, please give the Crossfire series a chance; you won’t regret it…my heart was in my throat for most of the 2nd book! Sylvia Day is an excellent writer!
    I think I need a year off to read everything I’ve downloaded into my Nook! 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh how I wish I could do that… I mean take a year off and immerse myself in books and get my blog sorted… LOL! Sounds like the best possible holiday you had there! Lucky you! 😉

      Like

  7. Michele says:

    Last week I read Release Me by J Kenner. I totally enjoyed the book but as I see it’s gonna be part of a trilogy and of course all the books aren’t out yet which makes me absolutely crazy that I didn’t research this book more to know that there was gonna be more. Waiting on books drives me F?!’,” crazy!! I also read Sara’s Surrender by Lynda Chance which I didn’t like at all but to each his own. I don’t really like to bad mouth a book. I also read Fire After Dark by Sadie Matthews. Yes another trilogy but at least all the books are out. I must say at the beginning I didn’t care for it then I like it then I didn’t like it. I feel like I should at least read all 3 books but I just don’t know. On my bookshel I still have Rocked Under and Beautifully Damaged which I don’t know when I will get to. I also have the first book on the Blackstone Affair on my bookshelf which I know I want to read but keep putting it off since the whole series isn’t done yet. In the mean time I keep finding myself rereading pieces of This Man and Beneath This Man. Jessie is nuts but damn I love him. Monique, I read the Up In The Air Trilogy and I did like it. It’s a fun read.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know what you mean re waiting for books, I get the same! Just want to growl in frustration! I feel exactly the same re Matthews’ books. Jesse is stalkers but yeah, I loved it!

      Like

  8. Liz says:

    This week I read Rocked Under which I liked a lot. Now I just have to wait for the 2nd one to come out later this year which I hate. I agree that this was a bit of a mix of Beautiful Disaster and Thoughtless. I also read Collide by Gail McHugh and loved it. The only thing is that it ends with a cliffhanger and the next book doesn’t come out until this summer. It is going to a really long wait!!

    Like

  9. Jo Fergus says:

    I’ve had quite a bit of time off work the last 2 weeks for some surgery and as a result I have read a lot. My biggest highlight was Reckless by SC Stephens cos I love Kellan Kyle soooooo much and I was not disappointed 🙂 Then it would have to be Never Too Far by Abbi Glines, loved that too but felt it wasn’t quite long enough. Next up was Slammed by Colleen Hoover, been sitting on my bookshelf for a couple of weeks and wished I had picked it up sooner, great book by a fabulous author. I then read the Dark Duet books by C.J Roberts and found them good but really dark. I decided to then go for something a bit lighter and read 3 books by Kristen Proby, enjoyed them but felt there was way too much sex and I am no prude, such seemed to be an overkill. I also read the Keatyn Chronicles by JIllian Dodd, Stalk Me and KIss Me and despite them being young adult fiction I found them a refreshing change to read and they were a decent length book. Then I read Collide by Gail McHugh and wow, loved that book – can’t wait for Pulse 🙂 Read the 3rd After Dark book by Sadie Matthews, was okay but wondering if there is going to be a 4th one now? Moving on to something less intense was Suicide Note by Teresa Mummett, really nice love story and is on sale at amazon at the moment. Also read Someone To Love by Addison Moore & Relentless by Cassia Leo both nice love stories too. Then I read the Biker Rockstar books by Bec Botefuhr, enjoyed them but some things that happened made me say ‘really?’ but it is fiction I guess 🙂 And today I finished Waiting For You by Shey Stahl and really enjoyed this story 🙂 But wait there’s more, tonight I read two short e-books by C.C.Woods called the Girl Next Door series, they are romantic stories but really funny and light.

    So read lots and my kindle backlog never seems to go down,

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Holy moly! Wow, that must be some record! I know exactly what you mean with too much sex and I know it’s odd considering I write it but this trip and fall into someone’s vajayjay at every turn this really is tiresome. It does nothing for me. Sometimes less is more… 😉 The Abbi Glines books are again books that I eye suspiciously because of the covers – I know I should have learnt my lesson by now but I can’t seem to get over that particular quirk of mine… So you’ve obviously read the first one and now book two and you liked it enough to recommend? Does it remind you of anything? There seems to be something about Reckless and Effortless but I gave up shortly after I started book 2, just too much drama… LOL! Pot/kettle I know… Maybe I should try and finish it. 😉 I envy your reading time though not the reason, I hope you’re okay now. 😉

      Like

      • Jo Fergus says:

        I’m all good, just had to have my gall bladder taken out 🙂 Yep I loved the too far books with Abbi Glines and have just finished Because of Low. The Thoughtless series gets better as you go, the first book was very angsty and Kiera was a bit annoying but Effortless is all about the trust issues after you get into a relationship that was born out of an affair I suppose. And then Reckless is all about dealing with the fame and public interest after the d-bags go on tour etc. Reckless also shows the growth of Kiera as a person and is full of so much lovely Kellan Kyle romance *swoon* and you also see a surprising side of Griffin 🙂

        And yep I do read a lot but I don’t watch any TV so I read in my one hour lunch breaks at work and probably 3 hours-ish in the evening and when I can in the weekend. My youngest child is nearly 17 so my kids are not as dependent on us as they used to be which gives me a lot more time – got to be some pay off at the end 🙂

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Lucky girl! I also give TV a wide berth these days, with so many books out there I just can’t seem to get myself interested in TV not to mention the fact that I have readers who like their updates regularly… LOL!
          Glad you’re okay, that’s a great opp to have if you need it, the results are dramatic in many cases! Hope you feel ’em soon!.

          Like

  10. KereCB says:

    Pwe! I’m happy know… I thoug that i was cheating Lol… Even I haven’t feel guilty or anytthing doo…

    Like

  11. Kim says:

    5th time?
    Sweetie, I’m waaaaay beyond five….
    #Shameless

    Liked by 1 person

Please, feel free to leave a comment

