Book club

Thank you so much for your patience regarding the late chapter as well as the lack of editing. Do I have any Beta readers on the blog? I sooooo need someone to go over the chapters (in their own time) to help me root out the grammar and spelling errors.

It will have to be a love job unfortunately 😉

books4

On to the reading week – I’ve had an interesting one…

I finished:

tvp  in flight

Their Virgin Princess by Shayla Black and Lexi Blake was typical of this series and delivered exactly what the previous four did – romance, angst and of course heaps of dominant males. You don’t have to read them in order but the characters of the books pop up in all of them with the focus shifting to a new trio every time. 

I was warned about the similarities but what do you get of you mix FSOG, Crossfire and This Man? You get In Flight by RK Lilley – book 1 in the Up In The Air series. I’m in two minds about this series. Firstly I like that all three are out so – of course – I’m almost through book two already. I like the story but again, I’m personally not drawn to the male lead like I am with Fifty, Gideon and Jesse. Also the BDSM is quite hard (though, admittedly it could be allot worse) and I found it a little jarring at times.  For me the love scenes were just a tad OTT, I almost felt like an onlooker rather than being part of the scene. If a book is going to be that similar to the three I mentioned before, and considering that all three of those have my five star rating, it has a lot to live up to and I think that’s why I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would have if I didn’t continually compare it to my top three, all time fav’s. Having said that, it is a good read, and certainly right up our kinky alley with all the controlling, jealous male you can handle. 

Currently I’m reading:

mile high

Mile High by RK Lilley (Book 2 in the Up In The Air series) – Despite my commentary above I do like it enough to complete the series

On my shelf I have:

grounded  b dam

Grounded by RK Lilley (Book 3 in the Up In The Air series) and Beautifully Damaged by LA Fiore

I’m going to have a serious book hangover from the Up In The Air series so I thought I’d better stick to a single read after that… 😉

booksz

Happy reading ladies…

Monique xx

35 thoughts on “Book club

  1. Audrey says:

    After up in the series… You could have Lana by RK Lilley too.
    Its on my to- read list hehe..

    Update us on the series once you finished 🙂 i decided to pass on them. Like you … I wasnt head over heels for James n as much as good as it seem.. I dont like it enough to go on. But interested to know what you think. Hehehe…

    Oh yeah… The love scenes is OTT for me too…if CG was next to me i would be in lots of trouble for rolling my eyes. LOL

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Me too, I would be causing some serious palm twitching… I don’t think once I’ve completed this series I’ll read another of hers, just too many others on my list. 😉

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    This week was a busy one work wise but I finished Harlan Coben stay close which I loved I’ve always been a fan.
    I also read Bared to You. I took your comments on board regarding the simarities to FSOG and stuck with it.
    If you had not have warned to me I probably would have put it down half way through chapter 1.
    I will admit that I found it to be better written than FSOG and not as much things being repeated but give me Fifty anytime.
    I actually quite like Gideon but not in the sighing blushing way that I like Christian in fact he does nothing for me but I have big problems with Eva, really can’t stand her or the over reactions that she seems to have constantly.
    I don’t find the sex hot in any way so doing nothing for me .
    I also started Reflected in You, only got to page 12 before I put it down the canvas pictures in the study made we want to throw it through the window. I will finish the book this week and let you know but apart from FSOG fan stories that I read I think I will step back from erotica books and stick to my much loved thrillers and suspense novels – unless of course EL writes something else about Christian 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine. Yes Sylvia day is an excellent author, I love the poetic quality that her writing seems to lilt to, also it creates a beautiful imagery for me. Yes Gideon is an intriguing character and I agree with you re Eva. I think to understand her behaviour one has to look at how hard she worked to be as functional as she is and to understand how unwilling she is to give that up that progress. Also what she feels for GC must scare the living daylights out of her. I very nearly didn’t read book 2 but it’s as far from FSOG as the first one is similar. There are two love scenes in RIY that are my personal all time favourites… I’m so interested to hear your comments on book 2 once you gather the desire to pick it up again. There seem to be a very distinct love or hate thing where Crossfire is concerned, you seem to fall in the latter at the moment but like I said, for me, the second book made the series. Than you so much for your comment xx

      Like

      • Audrey says:

        Agree!! Book one seem like a carbon copy of FSOG on the first look but like you said.. Book 2 is the real deal. And i hope Entwined with you is going to make all the wait worth while especially given so much teasers… Hope it wont dissapoint.

        Eva and GC are both a strong character amd probably a stronger couple than Ana-CG. And i do enjoy the book thanks to a great writer but… Lol…. My heart is just stuck with FSOG .. I cant accept any other series alike. Lol!!…

        N after all this… Im stepping away from erotica too… Haha.. Back to plain ol vanilla, chick lit n romance.

        Btw… Will you buy FSOG inner goddess journal?… Just wondering..

        Like

  3. Janien Meissner says:

    This week i have read 2 books from Jennifer Probst, very nice and light. Not so catching you by the throat as FSOG but funny and pleasant to read. Also read If I were you from Lisa Renee Jones. Good, but I was wondering if she wrote it before or after FSOG. It ‘s all more of the same. But not bad. And there are 2 more in those series. So…. I cannot wait to read the next EL James, I know she is writing at the moment. And she is in LA again…….mmmmmmm,I wonder why? Xx Janienú

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Janien I saw that she said she will be releasing the book under yet another pseudonym. Interesting. I’ve put the Renee one on my list. Thank you xx

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        There was a lot to like about “If I were You”….(namely Chris – yummy handsome artist dom/stud)….but she ends the book on a cliff-hanger which I personally dislike in a novel or movie. It’s OK to end a chapter that way, but just makes irritating ending to a book for me. Might want to consider waiting to read until June when at least the 2nd book comes out.

        Like

  4. Janien Meissner says:

    Oh,Monique I almost forgot, the scenes in RIY, it must be the one in the shower (goosebumps) and the one were he comes to her at night! Just let me know if I am right! Xx Janien

    Like

  5. Audrey says:

    This week i read Remember When by T. Torrest – quite good actually. Light reading and brings you back to the 80s and high school. Makes you think of NKOTB …Lol!!! The sequel will take place in millenium era. So… Cant wait for it.

    Also finished Rule by J. Crownover. Hmmm… Like it… But not necesarily love it. Good story line though. Light reading too

    And… Meander of cose!. Are planning to publish your story.. The one you working on?.. 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Mmmhhh, that is the million dollar question. I have two stories brewing in the background but I don’t get to them unfortunately! Ideally I’d like to publish Meander… 😉

      Like

  6. Lillimarlene says:

    I’ve been reading The Submission of Alistair Ingram by Kelli Maine. It’s a sweet novella. British movie star meets professional Domme at his Las Vegas bachelor party and sparks fly. It’s humorous, she’s supposedly training him for his audition for the hot movie, “shades of black and blue” and romantic. Can two Dom’s really have a relationship? It looks like there will be a sequel.

    Like

    • grublue says:

      This sounds good! I’ve been asking myself what would happen if two doms or two subs fall in love… Kind of comlicated. 🙂

      Like

      • Lillimarlene says:

        Grublue, if your interested in these issues, I really recommend 3 books by Joey W Hill. Ice Queen, Mirror of My Soul and Branded Sanctuary. The first two are about a love affair between two Doms, she then continues the story in the third book, examining what happens when a male sub falls in love with a girl who doesn’t have a dominant bone in her body.

        The author gives the issues a lot of depth. They were published before FSOG but you may recognise some similar themes. Of course, they are very romantic and are not short on dramatic tension.

        Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Sounds like a fun read, thank you. I’ve put in on my list 😉

      Like

  7. Sharon says:

    I had a fun, one book unexpected read this week. “Starlight Rite” by Cherise Sinclair. It’s a science fiction romance, but can’t tell you how comforting it is that if I ever travel to another planet, that I might find a Dom as hot as Dain. Serious contender for my top five Dom list. Of course, Christian has no contest in his number one Dom overall, but off-planet….Dain is the Dom!

    Like

  8. Michele says:

    Ok so I read 4 books this week. I read Table for Three by Lainey Reese. It’s a classic hot and steamy Ménage story so it was pretty good. I also finished the After Dark Series by Sadie Mathews so I read Secrets after Dark and Promises after Dark. I can’t say that I really enjoyed the books. They were only just ok. I then read Surrender Your love by JC Reed. I actually did enjoy the book and yes unfortunately it’s gonna be a series. Ugh. Why do I keep doing this to myself. On my bookshelf this week is Just One Night by Kyra Davis, Exposed To You by Beth Kerry and Their One and only by Trista Ann Michaels.

    Like

  9. Valerie says:

    Sadly, my vacation is over, so I didn’t get to read 5 books this week! Finished Rock Me and read Leave Me Breathless by Cherrie Lynn and really enjoyed both…loved Rock Me. Then I moved on to Tidal by Emily Snow…I loved Devoured and All Over You by her but didn’t care for this one. Now I’m reading Playing For Keeps by R. L. Mathewson which is very good so far…book 1 of the Neighbor From Hell series of 3. Will read the other 2 books this week 🙂

    Like

  10. Ashley says:

    Up In The Air series is actually a good series when you are done with the three books, In flight ran a little flat just like the first book of FSOG. I personally love the relationship between Bianca and Stephan. Yes, it is very hard on the BDSM and possibly the purest Dom/Sub relationship i have read about so far in the FSOG-alike books but James does have that romantic and playful side of him that reminds me of Christian and Jesse. James would easily take #2, after Christian, on my top 5 dom list but I simply can’t get over, forgive or even inclined to comprehend the way he punished her in Grounded so that puts him down to #3.

    Will certainly add Starlight rite and Dark Garden to my list, they seem interesting. Check out the Dark Duet Series by CJ Roberts, this author is simply AMAZING! I still cant finds the words to place for the Dark Duet, I am simply confused and intrigued by it. Currently reading Consequences by Aleatha Romig; lately i have been drawn to much darker erotica books, i guess i am looking to be appalled. LOL

    Like

  11. Jo Fergus says:

    I decided that I needed something a bit light to start my week so I read the Girl Next Door books by C.C. Wood, just a couple of nice love stories with a bit of hotness thrown in 🙂

    Then I read Waiting For You by Shey Stahl and really enjoyed this story, it is a YA read really but good all the same.

    Then I read Because of Low by Abbi Glines, which I think was book two in the Seabreeze series and it was a nice easy read.

    Then read Seven Years of Bad Luck by J.L. Mac and was another great book by this fab author.

    BUT my favourite book of the week was Seduction and Snacks by Tara Sivec – I have never laughed so much, yep there is a great love story but the star of the book is a little 4 year old boy called Gavin, freaking hilarious and I recommend this book to anyone who wants to laugh so hard you will cry 🙂

    Also read Overwhelm Me by A.C. Marchman which was kinda predictable but nice anyway.

    I also read the two Ruining books by Nicole Reed and really loved these books, I cried a few times when I read these 😦

    Also read the bonus novella from Samantha Young called On Fountain Bridge which is Adam & Ellie’s story from On Dublin Street, if you pre-order Down London Road and send proof of your purchase to Samantha she will send you a link and password to read the novella 🙂

    And lastly was Wait For You by J. Lynn – I LOVED this book, was such a sweet story 🙂

    This week I’m looking forward to Restore Me by J.L. Mac 🙂

    Have a great short week everyone 🙂

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

