Book club

Well hello there Grey fans,

I hope you’ve had a good weekend filled with some fabulous books.

This made me laugh! I think it perfectly illustrates a problem we all have to deal with…

booka

Thank you Marpuri Fanfiction for this very relevant and helpful diagram 😉  Can you please show it to my credit card?

This week  I read:

b dam  walk

Beautifully Damaged by L A Fiore was lovely, I enjoyed it – very Rock Under/Beautiful Disaster but the end got a little too gooey for me. Great read though and right up our collective alleys. Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire I loved just as much as I did the first book. I think I read Beautiful Disaster about a year ago so it was nice to recap the tale from Travis’ point of view. A great read that proves that we are not sex crazed all the time! LOL! 😉

Currently I’m reading:

sed and snacks

Seduction and Snacks (A Chocolate Covered Love Story) by Tara Sivec. So far I’m liking it, very funny.

On my shelf I have:

light me up  locked

Light Me Up by Cherrie Lynn (a short story sequel to Rock Me) and thanks to Audrey 😀 Locked (The Alpha Group book 1) by Maya Cross

book8

 Let me know when you find our next BIG thing, I’m desperate for another FSOG/Crossfire/This Man read….

Happy reading ladies,

Monique xx

36 thoughts on “Book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Last week I read Reflected In You. In comparison to the first book I really enjoyed it and found it a very good read. My feelings towards Gideon were sympathy, all through the book I’m not sure why but I felt so sorry for him. Eva I just cannot abide!, again not sure why I know I didn’t feel jealous of her like I did/do with Ana, maybe I wil work it out by book 3.
    I also read Odd Apocalypse by Dean Kootz, no kink at all but my usual genre of suspense.
    I started a new book called No Ordinary Love Story by Sophie Morgan, so far so good but only a few chapters in I discovered it is the 2nd book so I have stopped reading it until I get the 1st book called The Diary of a submissive.This was recommended to me by a friend who is trying to convince me to read more kink lol
    I also read Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker again, after reading about Gideon I felt a real need to read about Christian, think I’m just a die hard fan or I am in love with a fictional man 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine, I’m so glad you pushed through with Crossfire. Did you like the shower scene?? I’ve read Dairy of a Submissive and it was so not my thing. Way to real BDSM though of course it is an actual account so that’s not surprising but I put it down when I was about two thirds in. She is however a great writer. I used to read Stephen King and of course Mr Koontz, I used to love the genre but these days they give me nightmares… LOL! 😉

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        Acutally this might make me sound weird but none of the kink in Crossfire made me sit up and take notice I found it all very boring and too tame so I might enjoy diary of a submissive 😉 I have the problem that even if I don’t like a book I can never leave it until I finish it.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Wow, I wish I had that dedication but with so many books on my shelf I just can’t spend time with something that doesn’t grab me… I didn’t find Dairy of a Submissive sexy even though there is a lot of it in there. I just screwed my eyes shut at the blows… I am very interested to hear your thoughts but again I must say that she is a very good writer. There really isn’t much kink in Crossfire but the loving is extremely raw which I liked very much and of course GC is so blatant and confident. Have you read the Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz? There is a whole bunch of them following onto each other, some of them novels and others novellas and if it’s kink you’re after you might like them. Serious BDSM but also funny at times and very well written.

          Like

    • Sheila Hall says:

      I have read both books Dairy of a Submissive and No Ordinary Love Story, I really found the Dairy book a little too much BDSM but I did finish the book. The second book is a lot better and I did not have so many ‘ooooh that had to hurt’ moments as I did in book one. I did not realise that No Ordinary Love was a follow on from the first book but it was definitely a better read. I do not think that not reading the first book anyway reflects in book 2.
      I also picked up the book Because You Are Mine by Beth Kery, there was a sticker on the book ‘if you enjoyed FSOG you will enjoy this book’. Okay that hooked me, and it is a good read but it really was along the same lines of FSOG. Rich man/Dom and young artiste/virgin and only the names were changed but it could have been Christian and Ana in another life. I still felt I was reading about Christian and Ana and again it was a good read.

      Like

  2. Jo Fergus says:

    I’ve read a heap of books over the past two weeks, I too LOVED Walking Disaster, so cool to read a book from the guys POV 🙂

    I also LOVED Connected by Kim Karr, was a complete mindf*ck but fantastic book which will have a sequel called Torn, really recommend this book.

    Enjoyed Undeniable by Madeline Sheehan, a very heavy book based around a motorcycle gang but good story.

    Finally got round to reading Vincent Boys & Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines and enjoyed those, she is such a great author.

    Another highlight was Music of the Heart by Ashley and Falling For You by Jasinda Wilder and True Love Story by Willow Aster, all had the them of Rock Bands in them. Falling For You was a great book and I even cried a few times 😦

    Read Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren, easy read and quite funny.

    Couldn’t resist Share Me by Olivia Cunning, man do her books get me all hot and bothered!

    Read The Angel by Tiffany Reisz which I really enjoyed and I’m currently reading The Prince and loving it 🙂

    My next excitement in the world of book releases is Date Me by Jillian Dodd, comes out on 9th April and it book 3 in the Keatyn Chronicles.

    I also have 38 unread books on my kindle and 4 new paperbacks on my bedside cabinet, sometimes I feel like I’m never gonna get through them all!

    Have a great week everyone 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Jo, Wow-wee! Thanks for that! Tell me about the Keatlyn Chrons and why is Connected a mindf%ck?? A good one or a bad one?? I’ve not read Glines before though I have quite a few of hers on my list. Hot or not?? You seem to like your rock bands girlfriend… 😉 The Reisz books are fantastic! I love ’em though I must warn you about the cliffie ending of the Prince! It’s a b#tch!

      Like

      • Jo says:

        You are not kidding about the ending to The Prince freaking killed me! I know who I want her to be with but jeepers now I have to wait for the next book. Connected is a mindf*ck because just when you think you got it figured out you haven’t and there is a cliffhanger ending like no other, the sex is freaking hot and the couple Dahlia & River and gorgeous, highly recommend this book. Keatyn Chronicles are very young adult, set in high school/college and centre around a girl called Keatyn, lots of fashion, drama and boyfriends but kind of addictive to read and they are nice and long.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I know right?? Cow! 😉 Don’t you just love her writing though and in parts quite funny! One handed read…;) I can’t decide who she should be with but Wes definitely needs to shape up in the bedroom dept! LOL! When is connected’s other book coming out? If the cliffie is that bad I think I might wait for it’s friend…

          Like

  3. Liezel says:

    Loved beautifully damaged. Im with you that towards the end was a bit over his sappy stuff but still a good read. Liked the twists at the end with the mum. Have read chapter 1 of walking disaster and liked it. Cannot wait to keep reading.

    Like

  4. Janien Meissner says:

    Hello Monique! Finally the sun is shining here, still to cold but anyway.
    I have read a beautifull book, Swimming sisters , Lucy Clarke.
    Very intens! Not your usual lovestory but I loved it! I think I still like my thrillers, but now I trie to find the ones that are romantic too.
    Xx Janien

    Like

  5. elicerea says:

    ladies, i envy you for having soo much time to read (and write).my list keeps getting longer and longer and i do my best with work, life and… but at least i have my kindle with me all the time and read if only for five minutes while waiting on the bus 😉

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, that’s exactly how I get though my books a week, I read every spare second even if it’s just two minutes and I like to wind down at night with a book, the rest of the time is family, work and writing!

      Like

  6. Smudge says:

    Monique, while waiting for your next chapter I read the “Disarm” series by June Gray. Six novelettes that I read over 2 days, the story was good, a nice filler while waiting to continue the story of CG and Ana 🙂

    Like

  7. Valerie says:

    This week I read Rules of Entanglement and just as I expected, it was AMAZING!! After that, I had intended to read Checkmate by R. L. Mathewson but got got seriously distracted when a coworker gave me Dark Lover by J. R. Ward. I’m not much into the paranormal genre, but Mother of God! I just could not put that book down! Now I’m going to have to read that whole series 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’ve heard that Rules of Entanglement is a good read and I’m with you on the paranormal, I’ve tried but so far no serious interest. What do you think made this one so special?

      Like

  8. Maisie Scarlett says:

    Misguided Heart by Amanda Bennett was really good.. I am currently reading Preservation by Rachael Wade. Loved Beautiful Disaster but am struggling with Walking Disaster

    Like

  9. Audrey says:

    Thanks for sharing your list ladies!! Gosh i love this community.. Thanks Monique!!

    I was reading Master of the Universe fanfic but got distracted since i could only read them from computer. I find it a bit distracting with the names but of course i knew its our fifty and quite surprise with his POV.

    I finished Own the Wind by KA…well not exactly finished. I would defintely say its just down to personal taste since everyone LOVE this book and author so much. Well i dont. I cant stand the book. And im like Katherine… Once start i felt obligated to finish it till the end but i eas struggling with OWn the wind.

    Finished Beautiful Disaster and LOVING it!! I love Abby! More than Travis. Lol…

    This week i need a distraction badly so will go for Walking Disaster, Wallbanger and more of Master of Universe fanfic.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you so much Audrey for your share (and my book pressie), it’s great when you find a group of like minded reading ladies! I really enjoyed Wallbanger, to me it was the perfect book for in between serious series marathons… 😉

      Like

  10. Camilla Rosendal says:

    Since I was on holiday for the last two weeks, I decided that some re-reads was in order.
    Started by re-reading FSoG for the millionth time, then moved on the re-reading Thoughtless series, I do love me some Kellan. God that man….

    Last week I then read Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster. I really liked them, not the greatest books I ever read, but I liked the sweet love story between them and I really enjoyed reading Travis’ POV in WD.

    Then I read Wallbanger by Alice Clayton, that I really really liked. You gotta love Simon, he is just amazing. And Clive … that is the most hilarious cat ever. Loved it.

    Now I’m reading the Billionaire Bachelors series by Melody Anne, I’ve read the first three about the Anderson brothers. They are quite good, if nothing else then an enjoyable read. Gotta love the big loving family.

    This week I am going to finished reading above mentioned series.
    Then I have the The Proposal and The Proposition by Katie Ashley, but haven’t really thought beyond those yet.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Camilla! How are ya’ honey? Good to have you back! How was Down Under?? Thank you for the share xx

      Like

      • Camilla Rosendal says:

        Hi Monique,
        It was an absolutely fantastic holiday, best we’ve ever had. It can be a bit of a bummer getting back to the hum and drum of everyday life again, but it is none the less good to be back.
        I feel a little behind on your meander, so I’m gonna read those from the beginning again. Have been so busy the last month, that I haven’t given it my full attention 😦 But now I have an excuse for reading them all again 😉

        Like

  11. Michele says:

    Hello ladies. Last week i read Walking Disaster. I have to first say that i loved beautiful Disaster but this just fell flat to me. She really didnt introduce anything new. I then read Rush and Fever by Maya Banks and both books were really good. I would say that i liked Rush more than fever because Fever didnt really seem realistic with the Billionaire falling in love with the homeless chick but there was enough drama in it to make for a good read. I then read Light Me up by Cherrie Lynn, its a cute little read and follow up to Rock Me. Candace and Brian get their happily ever after. i have so many books on my books shelf that im really not sure what all im gonna read next. I started Locked since it was on Monique’s book shelf and seemed interesting. and i still have the Blackstone affair waiting for me to read. Im so glad for this book club because i get most of my ideas for books from you girls so thanks alot.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      HI Michelle, you’re so welcome and thank you for the share! I’m beginning to feel like I have a hole in my literary education as I’ve not read a Maya Banks book Do you have a suggestion for which one to start with, there seems to be so many? I loved the little Cherrie Lynn short story, so good! Blackstone was a good read, I think you’ll like it. I’m looking forward to reading Locked, one of our readers here sent it to me on Amazon! 😉

      Like

      • Michele says:

        Rush an Fever were my first Maya Banks books so I don’t see why u can’t start there. I enjoyed both of those. I just finished Locked and I am not into the idea of splitting up 1 book into 3 different books. Your series or trilogies need to atleast be a whole book. This was short and underdeveloped to me and the thing about that is I don’t need to read the next one coming out because she never went far enough with the first one to keep me wanting more. I went ahead and started Blackstone today and I am liking it so far.

        Like

  12. Jen says:

    Hi Monique ! You were right about This Man. Holy hangover . Was Intense but I miss Jesse already. Very FSOG and Crossfire. Read walking disaster was good but I think I like Abby’s view better was a little easier to follow. Getting ready to start beautifully damaged and also a series by Olivia Cunning take me , try me, tempt me. I also downloaded the up in the air series. Sis you like them? Thanks for another great read its always awesome in between books!😘

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      HI Jen, so glad you’ve joined the This Man club! Intense for sure! Up In The Air I gave three stars on Goodreads, It was good, not great. There were times I felt like I was ploughing through it rather than enjoying and the love scenes left me disconnected but I did read all three. I know plenty op readers who loved it though. Let me know and you’re always welcome! 😀

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

