Book club – between the covers

Hello Grey fans,

Firstly let me say thank you so much for all the birthday wishes! It was so special to hear from you on my special day!

blow kiss

I just know you’ll cut me some slack, being the stunning bunch of understanding ladies that you are, but I’m still going to apologise. I did say that I would post the following chapter sometime this weekend but I underestimated the strain it would put me under. I’m 3000 words in and I can already see it will be a long one, that coupled with the massive Spanish Meander, has left me out of time. I hate doing this, I think you know me well enough by now to know that I take this weekly posting thing very seriously, but I’m going to have to postpone posting until next weekend. I’m sorry – at least you had the one-shot to entertain you 😉

book club

This week I read:

light me up  sed and snacks

Light Me Up by Cherrie Lynn which I LOVED! It’s a one-shot about Candace and Brian, a short sequel to Rock Me. It was fun and hot as only Cherrie Lynn can do. Great read, but, like chocolate, there just wasn’t enough! 😉 Seduction and Snacks by Tara Sivec is harder to place. On the positive side; it’s very funny however, I must say, despite not being a prude, my poor ears bled! I’ve never read a book with quite so much swearing. For me, it slightly marred what was otherwise a good read.

Currently I’m reading:

locked

Just started Locked by Maya Cross, it’s very short, the first one in the series.

On my shelf I have:

re me  temp

Release me by J Kenner and Tempting the Best Man by J Lynn (Armentrout) – both parts of a series.

book j

Happy reading Ladies!

Monique

34 thoughts on “Book club – between the covers

  1. Audrey says:

    Totally understand 🙂 enjoy your bday weekend… Popping baloons and blowing candles. Lol…

    Despite my reading plan, i ended up finishing Locked – maya cross (a bit too short for me to even know what i feel about it! And it will be interesting to know what you think, but through out i felt its like a combination of fifty and crossfires)

    Then i finished Come away with me (in seatle).. Gah!! Its not a good choice. I dont hate it but dont love it either. Its one of those stories that just smooth sailing with no where to go, so had to pick up another book to make my week better and found REAL!!

    REAL by Katy Evans… Now that… Officially a first book to make me frustrated before anything even begin. Yep…not even fifty and crossfire did that to me. Im not too obsessed with it.. Not the kind i want to re- read straight away but the kind that leave me hangover for a while. I cant pick up another story so far. Its .. REAL!!… LOL ( you would probably like this ms cliffy. Just make sure to have an ac working or a fan nearby… You might need them to cool down)

    Its very interesting to know your thoughts on seduction and snacks. I start reading them a while ago and put them down.. And havent pick it up yet,.. Hmm… A bit too much with the language for me.. It make me sorta flinched every page. Lol..

    On my list, im going to go for Wallbanger and Love game and maybe the secret of Ella and Micha this week.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ooohhh, I’ve just put Real on my list, thank you for that – it sounds like just my thing and I so do like the fighting… 😉 . That’s exactly what I felt about Seduction and Snacks – I was literally flinching… I loved Wallbanger, it was a light read, funny and entertaining. I’ve put Love Game in my list as well, let me know what you think. I’ve just started with Lock, will let you know. 😉

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, hope you had a lovely birthday and your hubby spoilt you rotten 🙂
    After the hot sexy treat that was Spanish Meander we don’t mind waiting for chapter 44.
    Last week I read Diary of A Submissive by Sophie Morgan. I agree with you that it was too BDSM, I found it very tough to read especially the humilation in the scenes. I didn’t enjoy it at all and some of the things in the book had me cringeing and I was mortified.
    But I finished it hoping for what I’m not sure but I can’t leave a book unread. I am reading the 2nd book in this series only because I had already started it before I discovered that there was a book before it.
    I will continue in the hope that Sophie finds someting to take her away from that world.
    I would not recommend this book and would say to anyone thinking of reading it to be prepared FSOG its not!

    Like

    • Janien Meissner says:

      I do agree with you on that one Katherine! I only read it because I wanted to learn more about the whole bdsm-thing. But it is not for me! I hate the fear element of it, what is he going to do with her? It made me angry in a way. In FSOG I can understand why Christian wants what he wants, at least he was taking care of his subs! I did not read anything special this week, sadly……. Have to look for some new books.
      Katherine do you read thrillers too? And Monique, chapter 44 will be so much nicer after a long wait 😉 xx Janien

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you Katherine. I’m not surprised about your feelings re Dairy of a Submissive and I don’t think you should bank on her getting over the scene, it is after all what she wants. Like you the humiliation thing just gets to me, without judging other people’s choices, that is one aspect that I honestly can’t wrap my mind around. I don’t know why Dairy of a Submissive is clumped with FSOG – it’s chalk and cheese. Though, she is a good writer, I don’t think one can fault her on that and if you had a genuine interest in what the real scene is like, I think it would make a great read. If you;re going to compare it to FSOG you’ll hate it. Thank you for the feedback – you’re very brave going in for more… 😉

      Like

  3. Sheila says:

    I am with Katherine on this one, I felt I was spending my time with my arms across my chest and legs crossed thinking oh that had to hurt and she enjoys it. After I read the second book I felt a lot better about her but still could not understand why she likes that lifestyle, however it is her life and who am I pick faults with it. I also enjoyed the second book a lot more.
    No problems about chapter 44 Monique, we all understand, we had the one shot to keep us fans happy. Enjoy your birthday week and taking some time out from all that writing.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahaha! That’s exactly what I felt, every time he hit her with the paddle that had slut embossed on it, all I could do was flinch! The foot licking… No, to each their own and it was certainly very insightful but just not for me.

      Like

  4. tracy5678 says:

    Hmmmm…let’s see…all tied up and FOUR orgasms…yep, that should do it. I can wait another week for chapter 44. 😉

    Other than Spanish Meander, this was not my favorite reading week. I could not finish Diary of a Submissive. I just can’t wrap my brain around it…I don’t get it at all. I want to close my eyes for parts of it, but then I can’t read very well then can I? So what’s the point …I quit reading it. I also finally, finally finished the 5th book in the Eighty Days series, Eighty Days White. To me, the characters in all the books seem lonely and depressed and wander the world experimenting in “all” sex scenes until they find the right match for them…however strange it may be! I have to admit…I’m glad I finished, the final chapter wrapped it all up, with a twist of course, and I was satisfied.
    Once I put that down, I dove into S.E.C.R.E.T. by L. Marie Adeline. It’s the story of thirty something Cassie whose alcoholic husband died 5 years ago. She had only “been” with him, but experienced very little with him and she hasn’t been with anyone since…until now…when she found out about the S.E.C.R.E.T. club and it’s fantasies. Liking it so far. On my bookshelf…Beautiful Disaster and Rock Me.

    Like

    • tracy5678 says:

      oh…and talk about charm bracelets…in S.E.C.R.E.Ts, you can earn charms…guess how??? you’ll have to read it 😉

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh Tracy! I can’t wait for you to get back to me with your review of Rock Me. Have you read any of Cherrie Lynn’s books? I love her! Yes, Dairy Of a Submissive was a hard read for me as well, not because it’s poorly written but the content is just not for me. I also left it unfinished. Let us know about S.E.C.R.E.T… 😉

      Like

      • tracy5678 says:

        Ahhhh….without spoiling anything…my suggestion about S.E.C.R.E.T. is wait until October to read it when book 2 comes out!!! I felt like it was the end of the movie “Carrie” when the hand popped out of the ground! Ok, there wasn’t a hand, but definitely a WTF just happened ending! I had to jump online and see if there was a book number 2, I couldn’t believe it would end like that! Enough said.

        Like

  5. Franne says:

    You give us so much…no need to apologize. It will be well worth waiting for.

    Like

  6. Gwen says:

    Well dear I will waiting with baited breath for the next chapter! I go ahead and reread Spanish Meander again…. It will keep me hot and bothered for th week!! 😉

    Like

  7. Sue says:

    Of course you are forgiven, especially after the unexpected treat of the Spanish meander. We just know it will be so worth waiting for x

    Like

  8. Maisie Scarlett says:

    I have read Blank Slate by Tiffany Snow. I enjoyed it but not as much as her Kathleen Turner series which are thrillers with hot romance. I am now reading Breaking me slowly & really enjoying it so far x

    Like

  9. Maggie says:

    Monique, please do not apologize – most of us are still trying to recover from Spanish Meander 🙂 This will simply mean that I’ll be ‘forced’ to re-read – what an awful way to spend the week…Enjoy your week knowing that our anticipation has been all the more heightened for 44 😉

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! I know what you mean, I feel like a freight train went through my head – oddly vacuous! Yes, I guess you will have to force yourself to endure a reread or two… 😉 Thank you for understanding! 😀

      Like

  10. Sharon says:

    Relax and enjoy your birthday week, Monique. Spanish Meander was just completely scrumptious and a lovely treat! And thank you for repeatedly babbling about the “Up in the Air” series. I finally devoured it this week-it was really a great read with many more layers than I was expecting. So enjoyed it, interesting that I had no major personal attraction to James, but just loved, loved, loved their story! Stephan rules as a best friend!!! I was sad to finish, even though related books are apparently following. Christian and Gideon can breathe easy, they remain the men that rule my heart! Happy Birthday!!

    Like

  11. Mrs. H says:

    This week, I read “Dirty” by Megan Hart. It was a good read – girl with screwed up past who meets a guy and wants sex without commitments type of story. It definitely has some pretty sweaty, slippery scenes. It left me with a bit of a hangover so I have not yet started my next conquest…..other than my meanderings of Meander of course!

    Like

  12. Valerie says:

    I read Light Me Up too! I loved it! Also, I read Checkmate by R.L. Mathewson…funny and good…I love the banter between characters in her books. I also just finished Chasing Mrs. Right by Katee Robert; I liked it but enjoyed her first one a little better (Wrong Bed, Right Guy)

    Monique, I’ve said many times that I love your writing. I’ll read whatever you write, whenever you write it, so please don’t apologize! That Spanish Meander was fabulous…better than the books I read this week! 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ah Valerie, especially considering that Light Me Up is amongst those you read this weekend I’m going to go ahead and take that as one helluva’ compliment! Thank you! 😉 Thank you for the share!

      Like

  13. Michele says:

    Last week I read Locked by Maya Cross. It was a short read but did nothin for me. Short, underdeveloped. It’s a series but I have no desire to keep reading. Monique let me know how you liked Locked. I then read the Blackstone Afair series first 2 books since number 3 does not come out until next month, I loved it and its definitely worth a read. Of course Ethan is no CG, GC or JW but its a good series and worth it. I then Knight and Play by Kitty French, this book was just flat on drama. Plenty of sex but the drama didn’t come until the last page. I then read Beauty from Pain by Georgia Cates omg put it on your reading list ladies. I totally enjoyed it. Read it in 1 day. Monique I read Release me and enjoyed it so I think you will to. Yes it’s a series and the second book Claim me comes out next week. And for the record with all the books I have read none of the men have done it for me like Christian Grey, Gideon Cross and Jesse Ward. Damn those are some yummy intense men

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Michelle, thank you for sharing. I’m about 50% into Locked and so far I’m loving it! She has a gorgeous writing style, very carefully avoiding clichés, something I personally like very much. I think I’ll handle the poor ending quite well seeing that both you and Audrey warned me about it – if you didn’t, I may have shared your reaction. I’ll let you know either way when I get there. Very FSOG/Crossfire so far, and maybe the place where she chooses to stop will be enough to put me off. Blackstone is a great read but you are so right, no threat for our literary babes: CG, GC and Jesse! I’ve got Beauty From Pain on my list and I’m so looking forward to Release Me now! Thanks for that! I’ll read it first!

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

