Between the covers book club

Hello dear readers

betw c

Thank you for all the encouraging messages, I’m feeling the love! 😉

My reading week was a bit slow, nothing earthshaking, but good. I suppose not all books can be like Real…. 😉

This week I read:

dirt  rtb

Dirty by Megan Hart was so well written. In last week’s Book Club posting I mentioned that she gave meaning to the term having a way with words, and I stand by that. Her style is poetic, she paints a beautiful picture but in the end I got a little bored. It lacked the depth I felt she set the book up with. Still, it’s a good read.

Enter the world of tattooed rockers! I shelved The Mighty Storm in lieu of Rock the Heart by Michelle A Valentine. If you’re looking for a steamy rocker story you’ll enjoy this though, for me, there were some scenes in the book that I felt were notably repetitive. Great read nonetheless.

Currently I’m reading:

might st

In keeping with the tattooed rock star theme I seem to be on at the moment, I’m reading my shelf book from last week now… The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle. So far, so good. I will keep you posted.

On my shelf I have:

bb  col

Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren and Collide by Gail McHugh – both of them loooong overdue books for me to read.

Seeing that we’re onto the rockers with tats I thought I’d share this…

tats

I just know my hubby is going to use this against me to get more tats… 😉

book i7

Happy reading ladies, don’t forget to share…

Monique xx

38 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Audrey says:

    This week is kinda a book slump for me. I read 3 stars books amd still struggling to finish few books that i started last week. You could say i was book hopping.

    I read: Every Girl Does It by Rachel Van Dyken. I was hoping it would be as funny as The Bet. Hmm…. Not funny! Its ok but i could do without.

    The highlight of this week’s read would be Music of the heart by Katie Ashley. Its a nice read! I love strong heroines!! Not as great.. But good read!

    I won a copy of The Forgotten Ones by Laura Howard. Its a parnormal series. Im not really into paranormal so it was a different read. Cant say i love it but not hating it either. I guess i have to read the second book to know if this is good enough or not.

    This week, i had enough trying of the unheard and will go or Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren and Slammed series.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      HI Audrey, I felt a bit like that a few weeks ago, finally getting to Real which really rocked my world! Now onto the search for the next spectacular thing… at least we have some good series follow up books to look forward to! Read BB then we can compare notes next week! 😉

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Good morning, well last week I had a great week, lots of reading went on
    I finished Come Away with me by Kristen Proby, it was just OK. Started off great but sort of slumped in the middle and didn’t take of again. I also read the second book in the series, Fight with me, loved that one. The main characters from the first book were in the sidelines of the book so it should be read in order.

    After that I read the 2 This Man books, working my way down your poll, couldn’t put them down.
    Unusually for me I even liked Ava. I know that Jesse is on “your list” but I thought the man was a complete lunatic 🙂
    Can’t wait for the 3rd book to come out.

    This week I will be making a start on Reason to Breathe

    Have a good week.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed This Man and yes I also liked Ava but I hated that she kept telling him that she’d call him back and never did. How persistent is that guy?? LOL! He is an absolute lunatic but a lovely one… 😉 Loooove the sense f@ck idea…. 😉 FYI, personally I don’t think everything on the poll list is worth reading… I’d do M Leighton’s Up To You and Down To Me next if I were you. Then peek at Cherrie Lynn’s work, Especially Leave Me Breathless and Rock Me. Have you read any of Tiffany Reisz’ books? It would be very interesting to hear what you think of those. I loved them, they are quite hard BDSM but didn’t make me flinch like Dairy Of A Submissive and I love the female lead, she’s an erotic fiction writer… Quite funny in parts…. They’re not quite Real standard but fantastic reads. I’ve got reason to breathe on my list… along with soooo many others… 😉 Good to hear from you, thank you for sharing!

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        Thanks for the suggestions!
        I have downloaded 3 of your recommendations hope to get into these this week, no work tomorrow I’ll be home alone so I will get stuck in – can’t wait – day on my own reading is my ideal day and pigging out on junk food 🙂

        Like

      • Lillimarlene says:

        I’m a fan of Tiffany Reisz and I’m looking forward to reading The Prince, the third book in the series. They are quite hardcore but she doesn’t dwell on the details and her literary style is witty and full of insight. Her website is good and she has a number of short stories on it which supplement the books and give some extra background.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I agree with you Lillimarlene, the roughness is alluded rather than in your face and she writes really well. The Price is out, I’ve read it, it’s awesome but the cliffie sucks! LOL!

          Like

      • Jo Fergus says:

        Jodi Ellen Malpas has just shared the 3rd Jesse Ward POV on her FB page, they are all worth the read 🙂

        Like

  3. Jo Fergus says:

    I had some audible credits to use up so I bought Love Unscripted and Love Unrehearsed by Tina Reber. Listened to book one and I’m halfway through book two, and I’m really enjoying them.

    My highlight of the week was Restore Me by J.L. Mac, book two after Wreck Me and I loved this book. I love the back story and they are very smexy 🙂

    Also read Faith by Brei Betzold, book 2 of My Misery Muse, another band/tattoo type book and enjoyed that.

    Read Chance Encounters by J Sterling which I really enjoyed, it was a chance meeting on a plane which develops into more, a classic am I settling for safe & comfortable or should I go for the guy that makes me buzz etc.

    This weekend I finally read Point of Retreat – book two Slammed by Colleen Hoover. I just love her style of writing, I butterflying love it. These books are so emotional to read and in this book I was like ‘how much pain & anguish can one couple take’ but I loved it to. I love how Colleen can have so much intimacy and passion between this couple but no actual sex, like she did in Hopeless with Sky & Holder. I will hopefully read book three, This Girl some time this week.

    Today I finished If You Stay by Courtney Cole which covers is about a guy who pretty much dies from a drug/booze binge and is saved by a stranger, which then develops into something more, or course.

    I am currently reading Barely Breathing by Rebecca Donovan and I am doing ts really slowly and hesitantly because book one was sooooo emotional to read. I will probably really an ebook too just to take breaks once in a while.

    I’m also going to read A Beautiful Lie by T.E.Sivec some time this week.

    Have a great week everyone 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Wow, as always you hold the record for most reads in a week! Amazing! Thank you for sharing Jo. Did you enjoy If You Stay? The rest are all on my ever growing list… wishing you a good week too!

      Like

      • Jo Fergus says:

        I did enjoy it but kinda predictable really, I recommend that you read Collide next, I loved that book, be interested to see your take on it, a story where there is an existing relationship and then someone else comes along etc etc, sometimes I get annoyed with stories like that but in this instance it’s okay *Gavin*

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I’ve heard that the cliffie is BAD! Will I cry??

          Like

          • Jo Fergus says:

            hahaha, more like frustration really 🙂 I’m being a total wuss with my latest book,Barely Breathing, I’m too scared to read it in case I don;t like what I’m going to read so I read like 3 pages and put it down, I’m now reading a light & easy e-book while I procrastinate!

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              Whahaha! I know, I do the same thing, a little bit of light to balance the drama! I get so caught up in the characters of a good book that the stress and the angst is real.

              Like

  4. Lillimarlene says:

    I finished The Arrangement by S E Lund. I liked it, it’s one of the better post FSOG books out there. It’s quite amusing that the characters refer to “that book” without actually naming it. It’s refreshing to read about a D/s relationship that doesn’t include any pain play, just Dominance and submission and the central characters are likeable and easy to relate to.

    I’m also reading The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, beautifully written and very powerful.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you for sharing Lillimarlene, can you let us know if The Language of Flowers is erotica? 😉

      Like

      • Lillimarlene says:

        The Language of Flowers isn’t erotica but its a beautiful first novel about a girl lost in the Californian Care system, for whom a Victorian book about the language of flowers becomes very significant. I know these recommendations are primarily erotica but I thought I’d suggest something a little different.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          No worries, I don’t mind at all, and it sounds lovely. Like one of those books that may become a classic. Just good to know and sometimes there’s no indication either way. Thank you for sharing 🙂

          Like

  5. HenryCavill4Fifty says:

    Don’t forget Beautiful Stranger if you didn’t read it. I think I liked it a little better than BB. Still coming off Real. I also read a self published story: Saviour by a fellow Aussie of yours. Lesley Jones. Good story for the over 40 crowd.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know right? I’m hoping my Real high is going to last me a while, I always look forward to finding the thing that will top the last magnificent read I had… I just don’t see Real ever being topped though, sort of untouchable as far as I’m concerned. How was the scene in the gym??? So saviour smexy or not?

      Like

  6. Jen says:

    Hi Monique ! Currently reading Rock my bed and read Rock the heart and rock the band. So far so awesome! Happy Reading! 🙂

    Like

  7. Zina588 says:

    I’m so jealous, I can’t read those books because I live in france and they’re not available yet. Only beautiful bastard was released recently. I bought it already, I can’t wait to read it. I’ve read it is hot 🙂

    Like

  8. Michele says:

    Omg omg omg, I read Real. Holy smoke. LOVED it. It’s official I can now add Remington Tate to my book boyfriend list. So now in order of my love for them I have CG, GC, JW and RT. I also think something is wrong with me since all my book boyfriends are crazy. And poor Remy actually has a mental disorder which make me love him even more. Wel after coming off my Remy high I read If You Stay by Courtney Cole. It was a good book. Nothing spectacular but good. I then read Strings by Kendall Grey. It was a fun read about a crazy girl band. The language was funny . Easy fun read. I am currently reading Tempting the Player so I will talk about that next week but I’m liking it so far. I also have Might Storm and quite a few others on my book shelf. Oh yeah did I say how much I loved REAL… Yes I did!!,!,

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know right Michelle??? Whoop-whoop!!!! I second your list babe! Times 5! LOL! Yes for crazy book boyfriends, what would we do without them? So glad you enjoyed it! And yeah, just to reiterate, you did mentioned you liked Real, did you get how much I liked it?? LOL! 😉

      Like

  9. Victoria says:

    Hi monique

    I read real this week after seeing you say it was a good real and omg I was hooked it was great read it in a day!! Can’t wait for the ones to follow 🙂

    Like

  10. Valerie says:

    The Mighty Storm and Beautiful Bastard are on my to-read list too! This week, I read Rock My Bed…A.maz.ing! I really liked it. Then I moved on to Vanilla on Top by C. J. Ellison which was good too but didn’t blow me away. But THEN I read Real by Katy Evans…OMG!! Thank you ladies who recommended it; I will definitely reread…absolutely loved Remy 🙂 Also, Game for Marriage by Karen Erickson was really good; I enjoyed it. Still need to read This Man Series…it should be available on Nook soon!

    Like

    • Jo Fergus says:

      I’m jealous that you haven’t read the This Man series yet, nothing like the feeling of reading an amazing book for the first time *sigh*

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        I agree Valerie, you can never have that first time back, when you race through the chapters because you just Can. Not. Wait. to see where it goes! Urg! too good! 😉

        Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh Valerie, I’m so glad you enjoyed Real and you’re on the same high we all are… That rates as one of my all time favs! Gotta’ do This Man babe! Jesse is stalkers but boy I love it! Makes you wonder what’s wrong with us, going nuts over there broken men! 😉 I’ve put Game For Marriage on my list, thank you!

      Like

  11. Keron1 says:

    Collide is REALLY good, definite page turner. Warning though, major cliffhanger at the end and boy was I left hanging…by a thread. The agony wasn’t worth it, but then again it was soooo worth it. After reading your description about Real I read it and that book is on FIRE and so was I.

    Like

  12. Liz says:

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of Collide. I loved it and can’t wait for the next one. The author has posted a few teasers for book two so that has helped with the wait.

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

