Between the covers book club

Hello ladies!

I hope that you are having a beautiful weekend. 

First the bad news… There will be no teaser today because I will not be updating Meander next weekend. I have an enormous amount of blog admin to do and it’s bugging me. This is the behind-the-scenes stuff that you don’t get to see but enjoy nonetheless. I know it may be hard for you to understand that I want to devote my time on something other than the main story, but as with clutter in real life, this type of thing clutters my mind, and I’m just not happy if it’s not done!

So, thank you for understanding. I will be updating the weekend of the 19th of October.

I Just had to share this. I found this today and thought it was the funniest thing ever 😉

superhero4

For our Italian and Spanish followers, I’ve posted a new chapter in each language. Thank you Paola and Kereny for your hard work!

book club

This week I read… Wait for it…

Ta-ta-ta-da!

f1

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James… You may have heard of it… LOL! 😉

I had such a strong need to go back to the beginning, to find my inspiration, the motivation for Meander and all the incredible spin-offs that this book has produced. And you know what? Despite reading the series 8 times, back to back, when I first came across it, it’s still not old! Like a beloved fairytale, I think I could probably go back to this series for the rest of my life, and find it as beautiful and arresting as I did the first time. So much has been said about her writing, good and bad, but love it or hate it, you cannot deny that it’s become the iconic book of the century, something all others are measures against, and a entire brand in itself. Well done Erika!

book i3

Have a happy week ladies and don’t forget to share your great reads with us!

Monique x

😉

41 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Lynn Maclean says:

    They say a clear mind leads to a clear soul so you go girl!!!haha. Like you I too recently re-read them and enjoyed everybit all over again. Great minds think alike lol 😉

    Like

  2. Paulette Slabber says:

    I also went back to FSOG this week for the 6th time and enjoying it like the first time! Good luck with cleaning up the clutter which is not always fun at all. Looking forward to your fresh, clean and open mind brilliance to pen bringing us more twists and adventures to the Meander.

    Like

  3. Kym Thomas says:

    Monique you’re writing is worth waiting for so please take as much time as you need. Life is crazy busy as we all would know and understand. And yes l agree the trilogy is one of my favourite books and l don’t think ill ever tire of reading them at all. And l can honestly say your continuation of the series will be another l’ll alway go back and read and read, so l thank you.

    Like

  4. Janien says:

    Dear Monique! Like you I do feel the urge to read FSOG from time to time. I will not tell you how many times I have reread them……let me just say, often! Lol! And although you know what is coming, it still grabes me! I am so curious about Erika’s new work! As for your writing….. I can wait, and will be soooo happy for you to be back, all clean and new!
    I did read something nice this week, Jennifer Probst, the millinairsserie part 4. Loved it. I am sure you would like them! Lots of succes met opruimen! Janien xxxx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know right? Before FSOG I NEVER considered rereading a book, ever, apart from the Bible! I;’e seen her things around, but nor gotten to them yet. You say it’s worth it? Dankie vriendin! 😉

      Like

  5. Janien says:

    I do hate this: the millionairs books! Grrrr!

    Like

  6. Lizzy Lyon says:

    I re-read the trilogy this past week as well. I had some pretty long flights and didn’t feel like paying for go-go in flight internet service. So, I read from Kindle instead

    Like

  7. Sheila H says:

    It is so nice to know that I am not alone in re-reading FSOG, I just cannot seem to get enough of the books.
    I read the final book of the trilogy The Training by Tara Sue Me. The first two books The Submissive and The Dominant are just the same books but from each others points of view, but the last book ties everything up and I have to say that I enjoyed reading them.
    I noticed on Facebook that the Crossfire series is now stretching to book 4 and 5 so we have to wait a little longer to get a real end to the story. I wonder have they done this because they are going to make a television series of the books.
    Take care now Monique, you sort your yourself out, clear your mind and find that ‘happy place’. Thank you for all your hard work so far.
    Happy reading everyone!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello Sheila. Yes, I doubt that there will be another book in my lifetime that captures my imagination the way FSOG has. Ug for the Crossfire series being DRAGGED into 5… Give us conclusion I say! LOL! Good to hear from you 😉

      Like

  8. Maggie says:

    M!!! I won’t lie and say I’m not disappointed but like other folks who follow your work – it’s always worth the wait 😉 Will we be treated to Ch 59 when you return? or just a teaser?
    I, too, have re-read while waiting and most especially because I now have delightful images of Charlie in my head 🙂 I do hope the script is well done because he has the talent to blow this away…
    Wish you all the best with your site maintenance – we’ll be here waiting patiently for your treats!

    Like

  9. Marisol says:

    Monique,

    Hi, can I get your advice on Sylvia Days book  “Bared to you”.  It’s so hard to get into books after FSOG that’s the reason I read so much  fanfiction.  Your advice would be greatly appreciated.   

    Thanks,  Mari

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello Marisol. There seems to be two strongly divided camps when it comes to Crossfire. The two series are VERY similar and you can either love that or hate that about the books. When I read the first one I was mainly shocked. All I kept thinking was how can this be possible, two books, so many details that are the same… But I kept reading because I love Sylvia’s style of writing and as a writer I loved learning from that. By the time I finished the second book I was HOOKED. I adore the Crossfire series now! I hope that helps 😉

      Like

  10. Jen says:

    Hi Monique,
    It’s been a while since I wrote but that’s because I’ve been reading all your recommendations ! So here goes: just finished the Submissive, The Dominant & The Training by Tara Sue Me. AWESOME! Super steamy very FSOG great story does not disappoint. Into the Deep by Samantha Young. Young love story but great reading and they are hit. Knight and Stay and Knight and Play by Kitty French ,Erotic read super steamy . GREAT!! Collide and Pulse by Gail McHugh another goodie and lastly ON THE ISLAND. Not as graphic as our other books but I read it 3 times because I did not want to let these characters go LOVED IT! Going to start Price if a Kiss and the Edge of never. Thank you for all the recommendations . It’s been Awesome finding all these new books!!😍

    Like

  11. samara1031 says:

    I have to agree!!! My first love will always be Fifty Shades!!! Love love love love love love it!!! To be honest, it’s change my life in more ways then one… lol. Anyways, I’ve never had a book make me look at my life and want to change things. For better or worse.
    I didn’t know what I didn’t know.
    So, I love love love FSOG, and I love love love Meander!!!

    Like

  12. Sharon says:

    Lol….WAY too funny!!! We must have caught up our other reading, I started re-reading fifty shades a couple of days ago. Still completely love it. (And still LOVE me some Christian!!) such a great love story!! I was thinking I’ll be 90 yrs old in a nursing home, and when I pass they will be prying FSOG out of my hands and note that I was biting my lip!

    Like

  13. tracy says:

    Ha Ha…we all have Fifty on our mind and we are going to get it one way or another! Just today, not kidding, I decided to reread 50 shades also! Weird to find that you all are doing the same. This last week I started reading Cherise Sinclair’s books. I have never read her stuff before and I must say I am glad I found her…well, I didn’t actually find her, she was highly recommended to me. First I read all 7 of her books in the Master of the Shadowlands series. Shadowlands is a high end BDSM club and each story is about a different Dom. The stories had just the right amount of kink to make them hot..hot…hot (my opinion) without being too creepy (again, my opinion) like some BDSM stories. Book 8 is not out yet. The books have all the same characters and can be read alone but I would read them in order. I also read the 1st book in another one of her series, Masters of the Mountains. I was pleased. Last, I read the 3rd book in Madeline Sheehan’s Undeniable series about bikers. I liked it, but not as well as the first two. Having said that, if you read the first two and enjoyed them, you might as well read this . On my shelf…the rest of the Master of the Mountain series and Wallbanger….Also…50 Shades 😉 Oh, and Monique, take your time, your story is worth the wait. Just keep the book club going for book ideas to hold us over until your next post!!!

    Like

  14. Franne says:

    Monique, we will wait…and we support you and your work. Breathe…breathe…breathe. Meanwhile, I also read FSOG…1,2,& 3 eight times and heading for 9. So many gifts from this series that I (and my husband) never imagined!!! Each time I’ve read them I see and feel something new, much like many of the books (and movies) that have influenced my life along the way. I’ve read a few new titles in the last few months, “The Accidental Submissive”, “Present Perfect”, “South of Bixby Bridge”, “Burn”, “Fever”, “Rush”, “The Barter System” (my favorite of the lot), and they were all hot and steamy and I enjoyed them each in their own way. But, Fifty is still “it” for me. Right now I don’t see anything out there in the erotica book world that’s calling to me, so I think round 9 with Christian and Ana is up next while I wait for your next installment. Can’t seem to help loving these characters and studying them from every angle I can find. I’ll keep looking here to see what others have to recommend and wait for your next inspired offering. Until then………….

    Like

  15. jeangb says:

    There you go again keeping us hanging. Still I guess like the rest of us you do have a life. I bought FSOG x3 through Audible last year. and I have played it on a loop ever since through my ipod. I read as many blogs as I can.How obsessed is that? ( I do listen to other stories as well but always return to 50 shades). I love to read other authors take on these books.

    Like

  16. Jo Fergus says:

    Heya

    I often re-read too : I just re-read the first 13 chapters of this meander 🙂 Also currently re-reading This Man trilogy cos I miss Jesse 🙂 This Man comes out in paperback this week too 🙂

    I’m still reading 5 or so books a week but I won’t mention them all here. I have really enjoyed Fixed on You & Found in You by Laurelin Paige. Hudson Pierce is hot, rich and dominant 🙂

    Also really enjoyed Love & Lists by Tara Sivec. This is Gavin all grown up and in love and is really funny. Also read That Wedding by Jillian Dodd, I LOVE everything Jillian writes.

    Also loved Going Under by S Walden. Set in the last year of high school and a girl set on avenging her friends death. This author also wrote Good (student/teacher relationship) so quite controversial reads but really good.

    Also enjoyed Simple Perfection by Abbi Glines which is the conclusion to Twisted Perfection, Woods & Della’s story, be prepared to be shocked and cry 😦

    Also enjoyed Skipping Stones by J B McGee, different to her other books but really sweet story.

    Edible by Ella Frank was steaming hot and is book 3 in the Exquisite series.

    Bound Together by Marie Coulson was a really long read and love triangly where she had to choose at the end between her college neighbour and sexy rocker Ollie or Jared the sexy dominant millionaire. Book 2 comes out soon.

    Also read Everything For Us by MIchelle Leighton, this the 3rd in the Bad Boy series and is Nash & Marisa’s story.

    I have so many unread books on my kindle and I keep 1-clicking so my new thing is to read at least 2 books from my backlog and I’m glad I am cos there are some great reads hidden there.

    Still haven’t read Torn by Kim Karr or Unattainable by Madeline Sheehan but they are waiting on my kindle and will hopefully get there this week 🙂

    Always so much to read and not enough time 🙂

    Like

  17. M.A.C. says:

    Oh drats! I won’t pretend that I am not sad that Thanksgiving will be “meanderless”… God knows I’ve given thanks to you a cabillion times since our journey began back at Chapter 1…” Not surprised that you want to go back and reread any author worth “a flogger” would. 😉
    Really…can I whine abit cause I”ll miss you… no Thanksgiving
    “quickie”… Really…
    Well then in your honor I will “wine” alot …in a big tall glass ALL weekend long… Breathlessly waiting for my next rollercoaster adventure… Hands up pumping whohoo all the way to the end. Love you. Happy Thanksgiving if you celebrate…Canadian !! 😉

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Love it! Hope you enjoyed it and no, no Thanksgiving on Oz! But wine we have, and plenty of it, so like you, I’ve sampled a few… 😉 Love hearing from you, and love torturing you… 😉

      Like

  18. M.A.C. says:

    Monique do you know when the next crossfire book is due out? Need a few more gems to read!!

    Like

  19. M.A.C. says:

    Sorry…I just cannot seem to get all my thoughts at one time today. Love the new little button flags at the top of the page but don’t see a Canada one… Plus I am reading the Blackstone affair series. It’s getting better as they go along but now that we’ve been blessed with you we have “much higher expectations” …everywhere!
    LOL )p

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Awww, sweet talker! Thank you! I enjoyed the Blackstone affair TBH. I used the US flag to represent English because there are just too many English speaking countries to list, and also maybe then someone will think that there is a French translation if I use the Canadian flag? 😉

      Like

  20. Valerie says:

    I too have been wanting to read the Fifty Shades books again! I knocked off a few from my to-read list this week: Lovers Unmasked (an anthology) by 4 authors, which was really good. Safe With Me by Kristen Proby…well, what can I say? I was already a huge fan, but this book was OFF THE CHARTS hot! I highly recommend. Caleb Montgomery is my new book boyfriend. I then read One week girlfriend by Monica Murphy which was good, then Crash Into Me by K. M. Scott which I liked but probably wouldn’t make the re-read list. Next: Found in You by Laurelin Paige. I loved Fixed on You and can’t wait to read more about these characters!

    Like

  21. Winterstorm says:

    I need to go back to my fsog as well. I read off the fan fic page and its diluting my memory of the original content! I do have to admit that I still love my grey but my Jesse is a tight second! Finished reading the maya banks series and rush is by far my fave of the 3. The last two felt similar. K jenner’s series starting w release me was pretty great! Thanks to everyone shares thei book list I’m never with out my next read! Will be working on the mini book from cherrie Lynn, breathe me in!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

