Between the covers book club and chapter 65

Hello lovely ladies,

I hope you’re having a fabulous weekend 🙂

Please find chapter 65 in the sidebar – ENJOY!

bc

This week I read:

ab  two

Afterburn by Sylvia Day, book 1 in the Aftershock series, was written in her typical Gideon and Eva style. I loved it but damn, it was disappointingly short. Hardly worth calling a book! Why an author of her stature starts a series with 99 pages, especially when all of us are addicted to thick-bound sexy volumes, is a mystery to me.

The Wild Ones by M Leighton was awesome! It made me cry but it was a beautiful story. A fantastic read.

Currently I’m reading:

as

Aftershock by Sylvia Day, book 2 in the Aftershock series. Not much longer than the first, though….

book

Kereny has updated the next Spanish installment of Meander and chapter 20 is ready for your pleasure in the sidebar.

ven button1

funny8

Here’s hoping you have a blessed weekend. Don’t forget to share your reading treasures with us!

Happy reading 🙂

Monique x

😉

6 thoughts on “Between the covers book club and chapter 65

  1. Sheila H. says:

    Those Sylvia Day books are on my list to read, Sylvia Day’s books are always great. I have just finished reading The Boss and The Girlfriend by Abigail Barnette. When I bought The Boss I did not realise that it was one of two books, luckily I did not have to wait months for the second book as it was already published. They were great books to read, bit of BDSM, Love, abortion, problems through cancer, does not sound exciting when I write it all down but it really was a good read.
    Thank you for chapter 65, looking forward to reading it.
    Happy reading and a good weekend to you Monique and all my other fellow readers.

    Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Thanks Sheila, I downloaded the Boss as it was a freebie, and will get the Girlfriend if it gives me whim-whams. =) I had to reread Afterburn, it’s been too many months and too many other books since then, and I lose a lot of details after all that time. Just now starting Aftershock.and you’re right Monique….these are good books, but so short they disappoint in that respect. I see she published both books together as a paperback. Aftershock is even shorter than Afterburn, but I’m sure it will still be worth the reading. Read “Becoming Sir” by Ella Dominguez – liked it and the protaganist quite a bit. She has a trilogy called The Art of D/s, which you are supposed to read before “Becoming Sir”. I didn’t, and I’m glad. I like “Becoming Sir” better than the trilogy so far. (just finished book one) Won’t be for everyone. Odd style of writing, but some interesting aspects. I do like that she placed artwork in the book, which is also part of the storyline. Advertised (as so many other books) as what FSOG should have been. Well….no. Hell no. Not even close. I don’t regret the purchase, it is an interesting read and my official rating is “Almost Like”. Of course, haven’t gotten to book two yet. We’ll see how it goes. Obviously wasn’t compelled enough to go right into book two, and I’m not in a hurry. (Guess that says something right there.) But I’ll get there.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I agree! Why it wasn’t published as a single book I don’t know. And yes, don’t you just hate that little sticker that says “like FSOG” and then it is soooo not like our fav book?? Thank you for the share, Sharon!

      Like

  3. MAC says:

    The fellow meander friend who suggested the “driven trilogy” needs to be thanked for an awesome hand off of a great read… Until 4am could not put it down!! Then I went to Monique’s suggestion ” fixed on you” also a trilogy also at least 4 stars!! Thanks ladies… Alas but now I am done??? 😉

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Don’t you just hate when you finish a great series and you just can’t yet wrap your mind around starting another because you’re yearning for the last? Thanks for the share, Ann! 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

