Perspective and Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

Firstly, let me thank you for your kind words and good wishes. I really am sorry if the whole END came as a shock, but the story was always meant to end there. The classic, climactic ending was something that I decided upon from very early on in the story so, in my view, it was anything but blunt. I think the fact that I wrote sequel short stories to the main story BEFORE it ended came back to bite me in the hiney; please remember that both “Christmas” and “Valentine’s Meander” are follow-on stories to main Meander.

Regarding the possibility of a book two in Meander, the answer to that is no. Only because, over the last two years, I’ve given you a total of more than six books – and that’s excluding the one-shots. Yes, it’s hard to believe that 300,000 words amounts to six books, but despite not dividing them into actual books, according to the industry standard in this genre, that’s basically how it would have been published – give or take a book or two 😉

 I would also like to address the comments about having left loose ends. If there are any I would happily tie them for you, but as far as I’m concerned, all the dangly bits are neatly tied into the bow of the end: Kate is pregnant, Mia is finally back with Ethan, Chris will bear the Grey name as José is out of the picture (Go, Ana!), and (from “Valentine’s Meander”) we know that Ana is expecting a little girl, plus the house on the sound is renovated, ready for the sparkling future we all know our favorite couple deserves. The fact that you might have wanted the details of those threads does not translate to loose ends. The happy ever after is implied, BUT, I really hate that some of you have come away feeling unhappy (cheated – I think was the word used) with how the end unfolded, so I will be taking some steps to turn those frowns upside down. You’ll have to watch this space…. 😉

Also, I would REALLY love some more reviews on Chapter 69. Those two little words at the very end completely overshadowed the chapter itself. If it stood on its own, how did you feel about the content? 

bc

This week I read:

sdl  st

Seven Day Loan by Tiffany Reisz was another awesome read from this brilliant writer. The BDSM theme is as always much harder than in  FSOG but damn, the woman has a way of developing characters that’s incredibly impressive. Sweet Temptations by Maya Banks was a great action/steamy read, but be warned, if multiple partner scenes are not your thing then this is not the book for you.

Currently I’m reading:

std

Submit To Desire by Tiffany Reisz. This is another novella in the Original Sinners series.

On My shelf I have:

whiv

What happened in Vegas by Sylvia Day

walk

I’ve also updated the Spanish translation of Meander. Thank you Kereny for chapter 27 😉

ven button1

Then, it seems that I’ve lost my Portuguese translators along the way. If you know of anyone willing to take on this love job; translating the rest of the chapters into Portuguese, that would just be awesome!

Lastly, one of the readers shared this – for those of you interested in some Gandy candy….

I don’t know the book or the author, its only for the David fans’s viewing pleasure 😉

hair pull

Happy reading, ladies!

Monique x

😉

27 thoughts on “Perspective and Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique,
    After reading this post I’m actually sorry that you have felt the need to post this.
    As you know I was having problems commenting so didn’t read the other comments but after seeing this today I decided to read them and also the reviews on FF
    I was shocked at the reaction of some of your readers who have said they felt cheated.
    I don’t understand that at all, personally I feel blessed that you gave us so much time that you could have been spending with your family or even writing an original book which I have no doubt will be a great success as you are a very very talented writer.
    I really hope that people do take a step back and realise what you have given us and put better comments up.
    I hated to see the story end I’ve loved it from start to finish and was remembering all the other little posts we got from you when I was supposed to be working:-) from the risque pictures of half naked men to the mid week teasers that used to drive me mad lol

    It had to end and it was perfect, you should be very proud, I’m very proud that I can now call you friend xxx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh Katherine. What a beautiful, encouraging message. Thank you very much. I so appreciate you seeing the effort, the time, and the love that went into doing it. It’s been such an amazing journey, made so special by readers such as yourself. I have loved every minute of taking the ride along with you guys, more so because I write on the fly. Sometimes a chapter was just as much a surprise to me as it was to the readers, but I really don’t like disappointing folks, (there’s a lot more sub in me than I like to admit) so many of whom I’ve connected with. So there will be a little bit more, hopefully enough to leave most smiling 🙂 Thank you for your friendship 😉

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Love that you remember those naughty ones, Katherine 😉 Pity we can’t speculate on bare-chested men to play CG’s role anymore! 😛 And I loved driving you mad with the teasers! 😉 Thank you for your lovely words. Can you believe that we’ve become friends all thanks to a book? It’s really amazing if you think about it!

      Like

  2. KereCB says:

    Hi Mo, I told you Sweet Temptations was great! I loved it! I’m reading Bend Anthalogy, by various authors, there are short stories and K. Bromberg has one… have a lovely Sunday… xoxo

    Like

  3. Sheila H. says:

    I have to agree with Katherine, it was very unkind of people to feel that they were cheated. Okay when I read The End I was taken by surprise but all good books have to end sometime. I am still hoping that you do a pdf so that we can read it all again on our Kindles 😉 I just want to add my thanks again for writing Meander it was such a wonderful, lovely story. The book by Sylvia Day What happens in Vegas that you have to read, well, it will not take long. It was one of those short stories, Sylvia is always very good at explaining her characters in detail and then all of sudden the book was finished. I am getting fed up of waiting for the next Crossfire books, but it is not Sylvia’s fault that they have not been published, so we must wait. I have just finished Jane Harvey Berrick’s book At You Beck and Call, I enjoy her books and this was one was lovely and kept me interested from the first to the last page. It also brought a tear to my eye at one point in the book, okay not just a tear I cried. Do not let that put you off, it was just a moment in the book that was sad for me, but it is a happy ending book, which I like. I hope everyone has a good week, and thank you again Monique. Who knows we might be discussing the book you will write at one of the book clubs – I do hope so, thank care now everyone.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      You are so welcome, Sheila! Without the support and encouragement for the readers I would not have been able to do it and see it through. I’m with you on the long waits between the Crossifre books. Drives me up the wall! And I would LOVE for us to be discussing MY book! Here’s hoping, eh? LOL! 😉

      Like

  4. Luana says:

    Hi Monique 🙂 I have loved all of your chapters and the last same 🙂
    As usual the chapter is amazing and your writing is engaging and very attractive… I felt like I was in the story with them…you have a big big talent !!
    I can not do anything but thank you a million times for sharing this beautiful story with us … you made me dream a lot 😉 thanks ,thanks and thanks again !!!
    P.s I am very sorry that you have felt the need to write these things to justify yourself with how they felt “cheated”, have incredible reactions of this kind … I personally loved your story from the first to the last word 😉

    Like

  5. Babs UK says:

    oh so sorry u have ended up feeling hurt, we all appreciate what you have written it has been amazing, but i personally so looked forward to the next chapter and couldn’t wait for it, getting used to the loss now, and think you wrote the characters beautifully, thank u so much x

    Like

  6. mothergolf says:

    hey, the story was amazing, I thought you tied up the ending pretty well, and I love your writing, but I have to be honest, when I saw those two words The End, it just flabbergasted me…..I was like, no……this can’t be…I’m not a writer, and I’m not criticizing you, I love your stories, you gave us so much, but it just felt like something was missing to me. Now please I am so grateful for everything you gave us, and as I’m not a writer, nor could I ever be……I probably should just keep my mouth shut. This was just my honest gut reaction. I think writers welcome all opinions, even if we don’t always agree as long as they are done in a honest way, without malice . I hope you will give us more of your wonderful writing in the future.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I appreciate your opinions and that’s why I’m going to do the epilogue. I think you’re hitting the nail on the head there with the malice part. Thank you for making that point! 😉 And I’m so happy that you enjoyed my story 😉

      Like

  7. Janien says:

    Dear Monique! So sorry you were ‘attacted’ by your readers. I was also shocked by the end, although you warned us about it. I love this story, have read it numerous times . You gave us more time with our favourite two. I have been reading a lot since FSOG, but nothing touched me like the original……except your meander. Loved every word of it and miss it dearly! But there will be more from you, I am sure! Please let us know everything about your own story! I will be waiting! Je bent een geweldige schrijfster Monique, blijf schrijven! Liefs Janien

    Like

  8. Carmela Dimattia says:

    Hi Monique. It is sad that people can be cruel but you did a wonderful job with the story you wrote about our two favourite characters. I think we just want the story to go on forever but I can appreciate that you have given up so much of your time to share your amazing thoughts with us and people, including myself, don’t ever want it to end. We all react differently but I have enjoyed this story very much. Please let us know if you ever do a PDF version and also let us know about your own story you are writing. I would definitely buy it because you are a great writer. Thank you for an amazing journey and look forward to hearing more from you with anything you write. Good luck with everything.

    Like

  9. 50slife says:

    I’m shocked and horrified that you received comments like that. I am nothing but grateful for the time and considerable effort you gave to bringing us all your amazing story.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you very much. I’m touched by your words. And the pleasure has been mine. It’s wonderful writing for appreciative readers and I’ve been very blessed with lots of them! 😉

      Like

  10. Marlene says:

    Dear Monique,
    I guess I’d come to think of Christian and Ana’s story as a serial that would go on and on, and I responded too quickly with my disappointment at your abrupt ending. I’m sorry that I appeared unappreciative for your many hours of labor. I loved your whole story; I’ve read it in its entirety 3 times, and many parts – the Fairmont suite, their wedding, their baby-making, every one of Christian’s declarations of love — even more times. The Fifty Shades trilogy would have been just as successful if your “Meander” had replaced E L James’ “Freed”. When you finish editing, please do offer it as a Kindle book or a paperback so I can keep it.
    Chapter 69 was excellent writing – you built up the tension between Christian and Taylor, Ana’s clever hint of The Grace — and your conclusion was totally satisfying. Jose had to be dead and never again a possible threat, and it was better he was killed by Ana than by Christian. I re-read the Christmas and Valentine meanders again and see how they fit onto the rest of the story.
    All that’s really missing is Ana’s “book tour,” which would certainly have stirred up Christian’s jealousy again. Of course, being pregnant, he probably wouldn’t let her “tour” any farther than San Francisco, and only on his jet and accompanied by him. But hopefully, he would have shown his pride in her talent, too.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful story. I’m looking forward to your own original book(s)..
    Wishing you much future success,
    Marlene

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you, Marlene. Yes, I get that it was a shock for a lot of people and I understand that, for many readers, I could go on indefinitely and they would still want more. I take that as a stunning compliment – so, thank you. I love that you love it so much that you want more. Thank you also for putting your comment into perspective for me. You’ll be happy to know that I’ll re work Christmas and V-day into more suitable following chapters, slightly alter the end of 69 to ease into the end, and I will do an epilogue. More than anything I want to give back to you as readers for giving your time to me. I really want you to come away from the ending with a more satisfied feeling. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me.

      Like

  11. MAC says:

    OMG… Monique please go to the chapter and find my reply and read it …when I finished reading I was crying. When I came back onto your sight today I was shocked by the comments! How can you possibly be ungrateful for a vision brought to life by a woman who did it from her heart. I said in my chapter post I cannot remember the original trilogy endings because your flowed right into them. There are lose ends and yes I did BEG for an epilogue chapter but only cause I am having separation anxiety!! Sorta like Christians… 😉 The ending had to be riveting – had to be swift and it did make sense. If you are a true believer in all things meander than you know the ride is fullspeed… Fists pumping! You got that people! That chapter was epic. I knew my girl Ana would fire that gun! And Christian shot right in the heart… The very thing he thought he never had… The same place Monique wrote fom and I read from… The heart. The story is not “the kate and elliott story” but yeah I will still beg for a tichey little wrap up you know… New house against the wall… Labor starts and whoops a beautiful little Phoebe pops out! Yup I named her cause I did not want Monique to do all the work!! Heehee

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I did see your comment and I loved every word. Thank you very much. You sure know how to make a girl feel good! 😉 Your beautiful words are – as always – appreciated! 😉

      Like

  12. Mrs.C says:

    Well my goodness Monique! I am so sorry that you had to receive less than positive comments on your EPIC writings. As I have commented before, I so very much enjoyed your writing and feel so very Blessed that I found you. I look forward to your book(s) and as I said before, how appropriate to end with chapter “69”. Smile and be well!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aw, that’s lovely to know. Thank you very much! I so appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me 😉 And I’ve said it before but it’s been a pleasure sharing this journey with all my readers.

      Like

  13. MAC says:

    Owww…. Plus I read the 7 day loan… I always go to your reads but god it was short and nothing really got going… Guess it didn’t speak to me!!

    Like

  14. Monique Lain says:

    Yes, all her little in-between novellas are short! Argh! I love her work, though! 😉

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

