Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 😉

ven button1

Again, an early book club post as the latest Spanish chapter is up. Thanks, Kereny for chapter 33 🙂

bc

I know the release of One night Promised by Jodi Ellen Malpas was later in the US than it was here in Aus but I’d love to get some feedback from you. I’m still reeling from my disappointment. 

This week I read:

ts

The Saint by Tiffany Reisz. This is book one in the White Years series and the follow on book to the Original Sinners series. Wow, what a mind-f@ck this was. Just like Søren, Tiffany is a brilliant literary sadist and she tortured my emotions through the whole book, right up to the very last pages. An awesome read and, just like the others in the series, I think deserving of my Best of the Best award.

best

I’m loving the fabulous-book streak I’m on at the moment. Yay!

Currently I’m reading:

r

Rogue by Katy Evans. So far the sexy intensity is keeping me enthralled like only Katy can.

On my shelf I have:

bog

Betting On Grace by Nicole Edwards.

fall

Ha! Finally the truth! 😉

weigh

I hope you have a beautiful, blessed weekend and I look forward to hearing all about your reading highs and lows!

Monique xx

😉

16 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. SusieG says:

    Just finishe Rouge wow ow wow! Loved it

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique,
    Still working through the books I have already purchased determined not to buy anything new until I read them and last week’s reading really was like work 😦
    I read Down & Dirty, 4 books in the series by different authors, absolute rubbish, no story line just sex and not very good sex either 😉
    I then read Their Virgin Secretary & Their Virgin Hostage by Shayla Black, same old same old, once you read one really no point reading anymore! 6 books left to get through including Beautiful Beginning that I still haven’t finished so hope to finish at least 2 of them this week.
    On the subject of One Night Promised, my friend put it down half way through & was really disappointed, like you she adored Jessie.
    I think I’ll give that one a miss.
    I have made notes on all recent recommendations and hope to download them soon.
    To be honest I’m getting really fed up with repetitive sex scenes in books, nearly tempted to go back to my old genre for a while.
    Have a great week.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine 😉 Oh dear, not a good streak then. I’m sorry 😛 I’m with you on the boring repetitive nature of some books. I LOVE when I find a fresh, creative one. Rogue was INTENSE and very sexy. I enjoyed it immensely. Great to hear from you 🙂

      Like

  3. liezel says:

    I thought I was the only one disappointed with one night promised.i found it very boring and slow. The last two chapters were the highlight for me. And probably not enough to make me but the second book.

    Like

  4. Jen says:

    Monique thank you for the book club reads! Loved sweet filthy boy and just finished up wall banger . That was a fun book but not nearly hot enough! Looking forward to rogue and so upset about one night promised. But I guess it would be hard to top this man.., no pun intended 😉 . Can’t believe we have to wait till feb for fifty but I’m sure it will be worth it. Didn’t think she was a great pick for Anna but I have a feeling they will pull it off. Thanks again for always giving me great reads!❤️

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      You’re so welcome, Jen. Yes, SFB was awesome, and don’t get me started one Rogue… Oh my!!! I had high hopes for One Night Promised because I LOVED Jesse (I would top him anytime, LOL!) but I could not get into the book. I so hope you’re right about the movie 😉

      Like

  5. tracy says:

    I don’t even think I commented last week because I couldn’t pull myself away from The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz. I love this series! I want Nora to be real, she would be so much fun…couldn’t be her, though…lol. I’m towards the end of book 4, The Mistress (I believe there is 8 in all, 4 “red years’ and 4 “white years”) AND CAN’T WAIT TO SEE HOW IT ENDS! But then, I don’t want it to end either. On my bookshelf staring at me and begging me to open them, The Saint (book 5 in the series, glad to hear you liked it), Rogue, Sweet Filthy Boy, and 2 Nicole Edwards books (Boots Optional, and Betting on Grace). So many good reads ahead of me and little time to read as I should be preparing my classroom for the new year. Monique, I’m glad you are getting more time to read now. When you were moving, and keeping up with Meander for us, I didn’t feel like you had any time to read yourself. I look forward to the book shares 😉

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? It’s by far one of my favorite series out there and I LOVE that there is soooo much of it. Yes, Nora is FANTASTIC! I want to have a long night of wine and chatting with her! Oh, you are sooo lucky, such good things to come! SFB is awesome and Rogue? Oh my! Hot and intense! Lucky you! Yes, it’s very nice to have some free time again, Tracy! 😉

      Like

  6. Mrs. G says:

    On my shelf, I have Don’t Let Go by MJ Summer which is a novella following her debut novel Break In Two. LOVED Break In Two! I’m also going Rogue this week. Lol! I’m just finishing Break The Sky by Nina Lane, which is a spin-off of her Spiral of Bliss trilogy. I loved Arouse, Allure and Awaken so much! Break the Sky is the story of Archer, Professor Dean West’s hot, bad boy younger brother and Kelsey, the storm girl… that’s all I’ll say. Strongly recommended if you enjoyed the Spiral books, but is also a stand alone.

    Like

  7. Susan Bray says:

    Hi Monique,
    I often read your Book Club suggestions, then try for myself. I love ‘The Beautiful Bastard’ series. (especially ‘Beautiful Player’) Have you tried
    ‘Masters at Arms’ (which need to be read in the correct order)?
    As to ‘One night promised’, like you, I guessed his ‘secret’, I definitely haven’t felt consumed as with Jesse, but I’ll probably buy the next book ‘cos I’m nosy and want to know what happens!
    Sue B.

    Like

  8. MAC says:

    Hi my Monique… I am all rested up from my awesome European vacation and would like to move there yesterday!! Reading all the way… So I am reading Layers & Inner core (sigal ehrlich)… Good story and keeps me engaged but author never “takes the plunge” you know… Go big or go home!! Afraid to read one night promised because I adore Jesse and he is an awesome character I don’t want him ruined… And its very short but reading the reviews that is a good thing!!
    Saving my girl Nicole Edwards… Betting on Grace for this weekend.
    I have tried soooo many times to read the tiffany series…. I so want to read Rogue but I cannot align myself to the Nora character and I don’t know why!! Can Rogue be stand alone or no? i have started and restarted the Siren… The Prince… I just move on within a few chapters and it goes to the bottom of my pile.
    I miss my meander… But read it again all the way through Greece!! Oh yeah you were with me girlfriend!! And that little Greek boy bringing me my drinks… Best view ever!! Let me know how the chapters are coming for you and then something on your shelf that is hot hot hot… Ciao

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m so happy for you. I’m thrilled that you seem to have had a good time. I don’t think One Night Promised ruined Jesse for me but I did NOT like where she went with this new series. Yes, Rogue can be a stand alone. What did you think of Betting on Grace? Oh my! Greek boys (or any man for that matter) bringing drinks sounds like an AWESOME holiday! So good to hear from you! Thank you very much for your super share 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

