Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 😉

I hope you’re having a beautiful weekend, and to my fellow Aussie followers, enjoy sharing Father’s day with your families 🙂

bc

This week I read:

lead  v3 s

Lead by Kylie Scott, book three in the Stage Dive series, was another fantastic read. I love when a book actually makes you laugh out loud but still have a good, meaty story. I’m going to give it another Best of the Best! Kylie Scott is on my list of favorite authors now 🙂

BOB png

Vain part three by Deborah Bladon was a bit of a letdown. This is one of those instances where a book is broken up into novellas and sold separately. It started out well enough, despite the fact that I dislike when authors break up a single book like that, but after book two’s cliffy, I expected more from book three. To me, the ending came too easy.

Storm, book one of the Storm MC series by Nina Levine, was not for me and two thirds in I abandoned this book. However; if rough, tough, and gritty biker books are your thing, then maybe you’ll have more fun than I did reading this one.

Currently I’m reading:

sa

Sweet Addiction by J Daniels. So far, it’s pretty steamy and I’m enjoying the story but personally, the level of swearing in the book bothers me. There is such a thing as overkill.

On my self I have:

bl  sd

Black Lies by Alessandra Torre (thanks to Susan) and Screwdrivered by Alice Clayton, book three in the Cocktail series)

bg39

Here’s a naughty one to make you blush and giggle 😉

hose1

Don’t forget to share those awesome reads with us, girls!

Have a stunning week.

Monique xx

😉

14 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. aimeerhiannon says:

    I went on an M. Leighton bend this week and got as much in as I could.
    I really liked the Wild series and Fragile made me cry. I enjoyed Pretty Lies but I’m part way through Pretty Poses and I just can’t keep going at the moment. The next one is out at the end of the month.

    I read Vain and Obsessed and liked those, though I thought both guys were a bit dickish. I’ve started on Exposed but need a bit of a break from those.

    I started on Avenge Me by Maisey Yates which is part of the Fifth Avenue series from Harlequin but it’s slow and I just can’t get into it. I don’t like not finishing books but I think that’ll sit on the shelf until I get desperate.

    I’m reading UnWritten by Chelsea M Cameron at the moment and am enjoying it. I’ve got a couple of her others sitting in waiting. Then I’m planning on starting the Beauty series by Georgia Cates; the incentive being the fact that it’s about an Aussie winemaker 😉

    I also read the Beautiful Bastard series by Christina and Lauren. Oh my ! If I can’t have a Mal, I’ll take a Max, thanks.
    Loved Sweet Filthy Boy (Ansel is the cutest !) and can’t wait for Dirty Rowdy Thing which will be here beginning of November.

    And there’s a cover and date for Captivated By You !! I got the email at like, 4am, and have had very little sleep since then. The ice cream I ate for ‘breakfast’ didn’t help any either.

    I also worked out that since April 1st this year, I have read well over 200 books, starting with Fifty Shades and slowly spiralling from there 😉
    Is there a meeting somewhere I can go to ? I’m pretty sure this would count as a serious issue and I’m freaking out a little about when I have to start my prep courses for uni next year.
    I may just lose my mind.

    Like

  2. OfficeLadyProbz says:

    Curious what you think of Black Lies. Haven’t read but it’s getting a lot of chatter. I’m reading Screwdrivered right now. So far, so good. Alice is so witty. Again, so glad you enjoyed Kylie Scott ❤️❤️
    Have you read any Kristen Ashley or Sloane Harper?

    Like

  3. Susie DROSCH says:

    If you find that meeting please tell me as I also need one My book tally is up hater with yours and my partner is getting really pissed with the time I am spending with my book boyfriends!

    Like

  4. MAC says:

    Had a great read with “play” and agree… The best of the best for meaty story and all out rolling laughter ❤ Mal.
    Actually went to "Unhinged" by Timberlyn Scott (aka Nicole Edwards) she is trying a different writing direction and I really liked it. Same great character development with a story that grabs you from early on. Length could of been longer but better than those other 59 page books, if that's what they call them!! Mon Dieu!! Happy reading. I will go towards Black Lies maybe? J Kenner comes out this week too!! Bye Monique ❤

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, YES! Mal, sooo cute! 😉 Oh? That’s an interesting little bit about Nicole. Thank you for letting me know! Black Lies was a VERY intriguing read, not quite our norm but damn, the chick can write a plot line!

      Like

  5. Valerie says:

    I love everything you said Aimee! My problem now is anxiety over not having the time to read! I also LOVED all the Beautiful Bastard books by Christina Lauren. I am not a Sylvia Day hater, and I love that we finally have a release date for Captivated by You…it really was WAY too long a wait. Will have to reread the first 3. Again 🙂
    Right now I’m on an Entangled Brazen binge again; I love that line of books. Highly recommended.
    I was reading bookmarks just yesterday from Fifty Shades Darker. Again. Oh, Christian…
    Monique, I have Black Lies waiting for me as well! I also read the Up in the Air Trilogy by R.K. Lilley. Yes, I know I’m late to the game for that one but her next book Mr. Beautiful is coming out soon and I needed to get the others read!
    I read Real by Katy Evans before, but I reread it then added Mine and Remy, Next in line: Rogue.
    And who in the romance world isn’t anxiously awaiting the release of Raced by K. Bromberg on 9/15/14? They must live in a cave if they’re not. I can’t wait!! Might have to read Driven, Fueled, and Crashed again first 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yay for Sylvia Day getting her act together! I cannot wait for the final (maybe??) installation. Who writes Entangled Brazen? I LOVED Rogue, she really brought her game with that book. Soooo many books, so little time *sigh* Black Lies gets an absolute YES from me but it is slightly different from our normal reads. Great share, Valerie. Thank you! 😉

      Like

      • Valerie says:

        Entangled Publishing has several lines of romance novels. The HOT and sexy line is the Brazen line. A few a month are usually published by many different authors. My favorites: Tessa Bailey, Katee Robert, Christine Bell, Samanthe Beck…really, too many to name; they are all pretty good. I know I’ve recommended those boods on this site before. Now I’m reading Raced by K. Bromberg 🙂

        Like

  6. Monique Lain says:

    Thanks for letting me know, Valerie. Are they short stories then?

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

