Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 😉

I hope that you’re having a great weekend.

The Laters Baby facebook page shared this clip on Jamie’s YouTube site, because really, will we ever get enough of the trailer??

bc

This week I read:

sd  iwam  tmf

Screwdrivered by Alice Clayton was a great read, funny and cute with a good twist of sexy in the end. It was exactly the type of read we’ve come to expect from this entertaining writer.

Interview With a Master by Jason Luke was a VERY saucy read and all from the male POV. I enjoyed it, it had some great insights into the BDSM lifestyle, and I would especially recommend it to those folks out there that still find it hard to wrap their minds around the willing act of submission.

The Mistress Files by Tiffany Reisz was yet another awesome read. She is one of my all time favorite authors and I bought this because it was the Mistress files stories all in one book. Much as I love her as a writer, I despise the short novellas, or worse, chapter style stories she sometimes publishes, so it was great to buy them all together in one book.

Currently I’m reading:

rd

Reasonable Doubt by Whitney G Williams, book one in the Reasonable Doubt series. So far, I’m liking it and I can see why it was recommended to me (thank you, MAC) however, there is just one little thing I have to get off my chest as far as the writing in the book is concerned, something I see pop-up from time to time. Though I’m the last one to point a finger at typos and grammatical errors, this particular mistake is one that irks the living daylights out of me. For the love of all things holy, the words come and cum are NOT interchangeable synonyms! The word come, used in the sexual context means: to have an orgasm, the actual act. The word cum is a slang word for ejaculate, for example: when a guy comes he produces cum. There are lots of resources on the internet that uses these two words interchangeably but they are not to be confused with the other. Phew, sorry girls, but I had to get that out there! 😛

On my shelf I have:

About five books on pre-order but I’m not sure where I’ll be going next….

forests 138

This one made me laugh so hard mostly because I’m sure that, come December, I’ll have the same tan!

summer

Also, iTunes has some hot specials atm, book bundles in our genre for 99c! Gotta’ love e books! 😉

Hope you have a beautiful weekend, ladies and please remember to share your fab reads with us!

Monique xx

M heart

9 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Sheila H. says:

    Hello everyone I hope you are all well. Thanks for your review Monique I quite like the sound of the book Interview with a Master so I have clicked on that one from Amazon. I have been reading a lot of historical novels and I think I am all historical/romanced out at the moment. I did buy a collection of books called Brides of Bachelor Bay by Sofia Hunt and Eve Adams another set of historical romances, or so I thought. Seems the bachelors in the stories all preferred to share a wife with a brother/friend! Made for some quite steamy scenes in the book. Although each book could have been stand alone there was a storyline that ran through all books and ended in the last book – jolly good read 🙂
    I have pre-ordered Jane Harvey-Berrick’s book, which I think is due out on Monday, the latest book is Summer of Seventeen. I have enjoyed Jane’s books so far, so I am looking forward to this new one.
    Happy reading everyone, and have a good week.

    Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Hi ladies! Monique, glad you enjoyed Interview with a Master, but I hope you liked enough to follow the close of it with “In Love with a Master”. I would NOT have recommended the first book on its own, because that is not my kind of ending. I considered seppuku until I found out there WAS a book two. (No need for a book three). Reading the follow up will give you much more satisfaction. And a much better ending. And many more lemons. Which is what we are all after. I even added a new trick to my arsenal of whim-whams.
    Thank you for addressing come and cum. Drives me nuts, too. Makes me think I’m reading a Penthouse Letters forum. For the record, I intend never, ever to cum. LOL
    I didn’t read anything new last week. This week Book Four of Kristen Ashley’s Unfinished Hero series comes out, and since I just finished the first three….I will be snagging that one. And then I have Black Lies waiting for me! Have to say, I’m impressed (aka envious) with how much reading you are able to do, Monique!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Sharon 😉 Yes, I got book two but damn, soooo short! And a distinct lack of lemony goodness! LOL! Oohh, and enjoy Black Lies. Nice and different though I have to say that despite the lovin’ being explicit, it did very little for me. Let me know what you think once you’ve read it 😉

      Like

  3. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, finally got round to reading Tyler, I enjoyed it my only gripe would be that I always find these sort of books too short and also I find the characters a little young for my liking.
    I was recommended a new trilogy by Meredith Wild so I am about to start the first one, Hardwired I`ll review it next week.
    Thank you for clearing up come and cum 🙂 hilarious, I read it to my hubby who looked at me like I was mad lol.
    Watched the video on your post today, not any happier with any of the casting I don’t think Jamie is fit enough and as for Dakota……sorry without sounding like a complete cow, I just don’t think she is pretty enough for the part but like every FSOG fan I’ll wait and see when the film is released.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, I agree. Very, very young. I was worried that you’d find it a tad too edgy and dark but I’m glad that you enjoyed it.
      LOL! for the come/cum discussion. I would have loved being a fly on the wall for that one 😉 No, I still agree with you, Katherine. They are NOT my idea of Christian and Ana either but I’m still hoping that they bring the story we all fell in love with to life 😉

      Like

  4. MAC says:

    Hi Monique ~
    Okay girlfriend you were right ~ but of course you already knew that!!” 🙂
    Black lies was just the page turner I needed. I didn’t have inklings of the DID until well through the book… It was a different kind of story and held its own all the way to the end which I don’t want to spoil.
    Then I went to “Unravelling” book 2 in the Unhinged series… By Timberlyn Scott (aka Nicole Edwards) it is a gripping storyline and the characters are compelling just like in Nicole’s other series but I felt it was too short… You know how I hate those books that are all chopped into small ones instead of just writing the long version! I really am drawn to her characters though they grab you early on and don’t let go. It felt abit slow in spots but delivered in the end. After spending what is now way more than a year with you… And your writing intensity (which by the way you have in spades) I expect a lot from my stories… But then you set the bar didn’t you
    Naughty girl!! Hugs ❤

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m sooo glad you enjoyed Black Lies. Interesting and refreshing! Yes, I’m so with you on the chapter-publishing crap and charging for it. And thank you for your sweet words. It’s always precious to hear. Love that you’re still here! 🙂

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

