Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 😉

outside

Wow! What a week it’s been, huh? These relentless movie teasers have me stewing in want! Phew! Talk about the slow burn of anticipation…

From the feedback you guys have given me, it seems that you’d like to discuss the movie with the next book club. So, let’s do that. That’s usually Saturday night/Sunday morning US and Sunday morning/evening Australia time. You can use the blog or any of my social media sites

fb png  twitter png  google plus png

 Here is the pre screening interview.

See this clip for word from director Sam Taylor-Johnson on the Today Show (Thank you Susan) 😉

Then, the post screening interview. DO NOT WATCH THE FOLLOWING CLIP if you don’t want to know how other fans feel about seeing the full movie

sa1

 

Then this from the Times; an article about the movie’s ending. Again; DO NOT READ IN YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW! This also contains a clip of a fan event held with EL James in NY. Oh my, I think there might actually be bigger fans than us out there. LOL!

BC

This week I read:

tlp  tto

The Librarian Principle by Helena Hunting was lukewarm at best. With all the delicious books out there waiting to be read I did not end up finishing this one.

Three, Two, One by JA Huss, on the other hand, rocked my world. (Thank you Office Lady for the referral) This book was intense with an interesting but dark theme. I would have given it my Best Of The Best award was in not for the fact that the content is so very different from our regular genre.  It’s smokin’ hot, filled with MMF scenes, but it definitely doesn’t fall into our regular millionaire-mogul-meets-innocent stories. If you ready to veer off the beaten path I suggest you check it out. Great read! 😉

Currently I’m reading:

m

MILF: Wrong Kind Of Love by Erin Noelle seems to be a poolside read. Not too much in the way of substance but entertaining nonetheless. I will, however, reserve judgement for the end of this book.

On my shelf I have:

tight

Tight by Alessandra Torre (Thank you, Susan for my lovely gift!) If you’ve not had the pleasure of Ms Torre’s reading company may I suggest that you get your hiney into gear. This woman can write! I have high hopes for this one.

wake up

I look forward to hearing all your feedback next week! 😉

ex1

Have a beautiful weekend. Chat to you soon.

Monique xx

M heart

29 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Dawn says:

    What is your opinion on all the a use allegations thrown at the film?

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Sorry Dawn. I’m not sure I understand the question. “..the a use allegations”?

      Like

      • OfficeLadyProbz says:

        I think she means abuse allegations.

        Like

        • Sharon says:

          Golly, i didn’t hear about any abuse allegations. I read that Sam and EL James had some major arguments, and that Dakota and Jamie didn’t like each other. But nothing about abuse. I suspect Erica stood firm on many issues, and got her ending instead of Sam’s ending-but that is understandable. She would be a mama bear protecting her baby. I’ll be curious after I see how it does end to find out what Sam wanted.
          I also thought Dakota and Jamie did their interview to generate some more positive buzz. It made me feel better, anyway. I’m sure there will be “the story behind 50 shades movie” books out one of these days. And I will read each and every one!
          I’m definitely starting to pick and choose what I’m reading until after the 13th! Hope we all have a Happy Valentine’s Day!! With the movie fun, this one is already my favorite ever!!

          Like

          • OfficeLadyProbz says:

            Maybe she means that the movie (as well as the books) is being touted as sexual abuse … Sigh…

            Like

          • Monique Lain says:

            The abuse allegations is as old as the book, Sharon. Some folks can’t seem to grasp the whole consensual concept. It’s very frustrating. Especially when it comes from people who’ve not actually read the book.

            Like

      • Dawn says:

        What do you think of all the media coverage stating that FSG is about an abusive relationship? And that it should be boycotted?

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Ah. Thank you for clearing that up. I understand now. The abuse allegations is as old as the books and personally I feel completely unfounded. I’ve posted extensively on this. You can find one of my most significant posts surrounding this issue here: http://wp.me/p2NfEl-AJ Though I think actual abuse (in any form) is abhorrent, consentual pian, humiliation, etc. is a turn on – if not an absolute necessity – to the couple practicing it willingly. How can that possibly be judged as abuse? One cannot simply look at it as inflicting pain and disregard the individual’s desire for that pain/kink. Personally I don’t want someone to take a belt or a cane to me, but I fully respect that some folks need it and enjoy it. Nothing wrong with that, IMO. I can also understand that some people may be sensitive to the issue due to their own past (actual) abuse experiences. Again I would urge those viewers to concentrate on the all important context, or avoid it if triggers negative feelings, but that still would not change the fact that abuse can only be abuse if one partner is an unwilling participant. That does not even bring into account the reasons why Christian initially needed it. Hope that answers your question, Dawn 🙂

          Like

          • Dawn Marchant says:

            I was sexually abused in childhood and experienced a verbally abusive first marriage. l have been in psychotherapy for many years, and have carefully analysed the three books to ascertain any pattern of abuse. I DO NOT find evidence to support that Christian and Ana are in an abusive relationship. These are my thoughts:

            As you mentioned, the relationship is clearly consensual and Christian repeatedly makes clear, and seeks permission, for each sexual act he performs on Ana. She choses to go forward ‘into the dark’, and enjoys what she experiences. It is scary at times, but the BDSM lifestyle is about creating mystery/excitement so Christian was within the boundaries of the BDSM norms.

            Christian is very controlling, and to me this is the most serious issue in terms of abuse. He comes very close to crossing the line on a number of occasions (buying her company without her knowledge, always jealous of men around him, et al). But he is aware this is a problem in his life and is working on it with Dr Flynn. Dr Flynn makes clear to Ana that Christine is maturing and with her is fast getting to a good place — a psychiatrist would not advocate her involvement if he felt Christine was abusive. Christian is clearly trying to be less controlling and understands this is a flaw in his character. Still, Ana is able to overtly defy him and he loves her for it, although he hates it too. It is NOT automatically abusive to have serious control issues. She is able to stand her ground and although he becomes frustrated and enraged, he knows he can be out of line. An abusive man won’t try to change because he will never believe he’s controlling.

            When he hurt Ana with the whipping, he was mortified and immediately sought help from Dr Flynn and Elena. He took full responsibility for what happened and had a paradigm shift of his belief system as a result….if he was unrepentant for having hurt her then he would be abusive. Instead, he was full of remorse — even though she had asked him to hit her. This is not how an abusive man would respond– he would blame her. When he caused handcuff markings on her wrists and ankles, and especially when he denied her orgasm as a punishment and caused her to use a safeword, he was deeply ashamed of his behaviour. An abusive man never admits he was wrong.

            Dr Flynn said Ana should give Christine ‘the benefit of the doubt’ and Taylor says ‘he is a good man’. Two good people believe in him, and his family is stellar as well. The end of the story shows that he has indeed moved from the darkness and fully into the light with his settled family life and Ana’s deep contentment.

            I asked your answer to my question first, because you’re an expert in all matters Christian and Ana and I didn’t want to barge in! It feels good to state my opinion against the extensive outcry that this film is misogynist and to be boycotted. Sorry it is overlong, but I am off work and it just feels so good to be writing and writing this morning!!

            Thank you! FOUR days and can’t wait!

            Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, I made the mistake of reading an interview after the screening in NY I won’t say what was contained in it but lets just say I’m sorry I read it😣
    I had a great reading week last week, I read the complete Club Wicked Series and I have to say I loved each and every one of them with each set of characters hotter than the last. They are our usual genre but the setting is different so would definitely recommend them to the group. I also read Sodom and Detroit also by Ann Mayburn very different very hot I want to go lol
    I have a few things to read but not sure what to start. All preparations done for the film. The girls are arriving at 2pm on the 13th for some cocktails, we’ve made reservations for a meal the movie starts at 6.30pm then dancing until the wee hours if we can lol I can’t wait.
    See you all next Sunday to find out what you all thought.
    Have a great week

    Like

    • OfficeLadyProbz says:

      Have fun!! 13 of us are meeting for dinner on the 13th then seeing the movie. I’ve been trying to steer clear of the news it’s hard!!) about FSOG and trailers. I want to be surprised. I’m going into it thinking Nothing is ever as good as the book and I hope to be pleasantly surprised.
      I’m enjoying watching the interviews with cast but the interviewers tick me off. I find them very degrading toward the movie and it’s success and either have refused to read the book or afraid to admit they’ve read the book.
      For me the books changed my life but the 1st was kind of sterile in regard to Christian’s feelings and Lets admit it — he was really an ass 😂😂😂 compared to the other 2 books. I’m curious to see the interpretation.

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, no! I’m sorry Katherine. That sucks! Great that you’re on a good reading streak though. I’ve got that series on my list and now I’m excited to get to it. Thank you for the recommendation. I REALLY hope you have a stunningly good night and that the movie proves true to your vision. Wish I could join you! 😉

      Like

  3. OfficeLadyProbz says:

    I just finished Three Two One yesterdaY. Wow! Again very different from from what I’m used to but LOVED it. Dark, surprising and, most of all, I would give it 5 burning emoticons 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 LOL (the power of referrals)
    Coming off a dark read I always need a funny read to get me out of my book hangover.
    LOVED Beautiful Beloved because Max is hot. It was short tho.
    I’m only telling you i wasn’t crazy The Prince by Sylvain Reynard and saying that disappoints me. It just made me realize I’m not a fan of paranormal
    I’ve been seeing Tight around. Looks good!
    On my playlist I have. :
    Hero – Samantha Young
    Kyland – Mia Sheridan
    Cartel – Lili St Germaine
    Raze – Tillie Cole
    Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover
    Dare – Allie Julliette mousseau
    Decisions decisions. Someone help me pick!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, 321 was da’ bomb! Thank you for the rec! I loved it. Sylvain has never done it for me, so I’m gonna’ give the Prince a skip. Long list of juicy reads you have there girlfriend! Enjoy and let us know how they pan out.

      Like

  4. KereCB says:

    Lol! I loved that last picture. I want to hit my ex too 🙂 I haven’t been reading a lot this days, I guess that between real life and all going on with the movie I got caught up. But I’m going to read Alessandra’s new book Tight! Have a lovely week. Full of fifty shades of Grey! Kx

    Like

  5. Sharon says:

    I’ve been flipping coins over what book to read next. Monique, I think you’ve got me heading to the Innocence series by Alessandra Torre. I’ve had Blindfolded Innocence sitting in my Kindle, so I guess it is time!

    Like

  6. MAC says:

    Oh sooo excited our week is finally her ladies!! 4 more sleeps for me. I did post last blog about Ladies Journal saying the movie invoked abuse among couples… Katherine spoke about a lady with a very unfounded opinion in a grocery line …since the lady had not even read the freaking books!! I believe that unfortunately abuse is present with or without this movie and using it as a blame tool is just a misconception that we should not buy into. Fifty Shades of Grey is not about abuse its about a far more complicated character evolvement that some people are just not going to get. As I have said many times if it does NOT speak to you then move on…
    It has been speakin’ to me ladies… All the way through meander… So excited wish I could be with all of you for the big show!!
    Meet you in the red room… Right here, Sunday night for all our morsels of thoughts!! Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!! Mr. Grey will see you now!! Whohoo

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ooohhh… Yes, yes, a thousand times YES! I cannot wait. I am absolutely beside myself. The only thing that would make it better is watching it with you guys. That would have been the ultimate! I’ll elaborate on the abuse thing directly to the comment, but well said. girlfriend! 😉

      Like

  7. OfficeLadyProbz says:

    Monique seeing a lot of action on Fanfiction yesterday. Old stories making a reappearance – jumping on the FSOG bandwagon frenzy. Might want to do something to make yours stand out since it was one of the firsts and as you rate books – THE BEST OF THE BEST
    Pimp yourself out! I’ll help!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, so sweet! Thank you very much! There isn’t much I can do. You only get bumped up when you post a new chapter. It doesn’t even help if you update one, and I can’t take it off an re post as I will lose all my stats, comments and story age. I can only hope readers pay attention and see the massive size and the longevity of the story 😉

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    Oh wow… So antsy waiting to “see Mr. Grey” that I moved on to the “Tight” novel by Torres… Read it all in one night!! She is an alarming writer and I mean alarmingly grabs you. That story was wow…”did not see that coming” and so so different, very captivating. I agree she knows how to write… That story was a page turner. Thanks Monique I needed that “jolt” of adrenalin to get me in shape for all things Grey!!

    Like

  9. MAC says:

    NO MORE SLEEPS…

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

