Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

I hope you’re having an awesome long weekend break. I can tell you that I, for one, am super grateful for a rest after a grueling ten weeks of school.

I always love to see the new ways in which FSOG affects the world. Can you imagine what it’s like for a random guy saddled with the surname Gray, now? 

Funny11

Whahahaha! Too funny. I sure as hell would take a look! 😉

BC

This week I read:

mw i

Manwhore by Katie Evans, book one in the Manwhore series, was…. complicated. I’m sure I’m gonna’ ruffle a few feathers with my review, but damn, it was just so off the mark from her usual brilliant style that I can’t let it slide. Firstly, let me say that I was utterly in love with her previous, debut series; Real. The characters were engaging, the writing (language and technical details) were great despite her taking some literary risks, and the emotion flowed in buckets. It made the story seem, well…. real – alive with the love, drama, and hotness we so crave. Manwhore, on the other hand, was a massive disappointment. The main female protagonist was an absolute flake and technically; I don’t know what went wrong. There were just so many mistakes or grammatical oddities that it started to grate on me. And I can look past A LOT provided the story has me gripped but I felt as though I had to fight through the chapters. When you pay a premium price for a premium writer like Katie (the ebook was around the $9.00 Australian in my neck of the woods where normally we pay around $3), frankly, I expect, at the very least, good editing. Having said that, I did love Saint, the male lead, and was it not for him and a strong finish (a cliffy), I would not pursue this series any further. As it stands, I feel she got back into her groove in the dying chapters of the book which was its saving grace. I’m really hoping she’ll bring the goods in book two and have a serious chat with her editor along the way. Sorry, girls. So far, I’ve only given it two and a half stars on Goodreads.

Incandescent by River Savage, book one in the Knights Rebels MC series was a poolside read of the Alpha male motorcycle variety.

Currently I’m reading:

d

Deep by Kylie Scott, book four in the Stage Dive series, so far, is right up there with the rest of this writer’s awesome reads. I love this series; funny, poignant, and hot. How can you go wrong? I would definitely recommend this series. I especially loved book two. Mal, the drummer, rocks!

On my shelf I have:

kap

Knight and Play by Kitty French, book one in the Knight series.

books

This one made me smile: realism…

joke111

Have a wonderful weekend with lots of fabulous reads, girls 🙂

Monique xx

M heart

22 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Chantel says:

    I’ve never tried Kylie Scott yet. I think I will try her out this coming week. I just finished the third book in the One Night series by Jodi Ellen Malpas. Those books, to me, were like train wrecks. I couldn’t look away but they were just awful. The main characters were not even likeable, especially the Sweet Girl. On a flip note, I really enjoyed the authors other trilogy. This Man is one if my favorites. I saw on Goodreads you gave the 2nd one 2 stars. Did you ever bother with the 3rd?

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? It drove me crazy, Chantel. I so loved her This Man series but I couldn’t bring myself to even try book two in the One Night Promised series. Ug! So disappointing, I had such high hopes after This Man. On Goodreads I’m 100% certain that I gave This Man five stars all the way, but book one of One Night Promised I gave two, and no. Never bothered to read any more in the series. Kylie Scott is great, especially Mal’s book (book 2).

      Like

  2. Jo Fergus says:

    I loved the Kitty French series, I am sure you will too!

    Like

  3. Katherine says:

    I also read Manwhore and was very disappointed I agree with everything you have said I have preordered book 2 but only because of the cliffy.

    At present I am reading 2 books, the first is A Good Student by Elliot Mabeuse. This was recommended to me by a friend who read it in her book club and was very controversial among the girls it’s graphic no nonsense written from the dominants POV and a heavy read so I am also reading J Kenner’s Have Me, a novella from her Stark Series which I loved to that’s providing some light relief.
    I have downloaded Incandescent that Mac recommended to me last week so ill give it a try.
    I really thought my blah reading was over with Manwhore but alas the search for the next great trilogy continues!
    Have a great week folks

    Liked by 1 person

    • MAC says:

      Hey Katherine… Hope you like the suggestion on the book. It would actually be a great poolside read!! Just like Monique suggested and I think because she suggested the pool she should take us to one!! Maybe in Fiji ??? 🙂

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thanks for the share, Katherine. Yeah, heavy is not on the menu for me right now. Too much of real life in real life, you know? Reading, for me has to be a great escape 😉

      Like

  4. Shirley Wilkinson says:

    Fisher’s Light by Tara Sivec is the best standalone book I have read this year!

    Like

  5. OfficeLadyProbz says:

    Just finished DEEP. Loved it! Probably my 2nd fav in the series behind Mal’s book – who BTW is still adorable. Liz was my favorite woman in the series. Reminded me of Hannah from Beatiful Player — spunky and funny. I give it 5 fire-truckin stars😂😂😂
    I spent $8 on Manwhore which kills me — especially hearing your review. Happy easter!

    Like

  6. Sharon says:

    That is too funny about Mr. Gray….hadn’t occurred to me, but that would get my attention, for sure!! Who wouldn’t want to say they had a date Friday night with Mr. Gray/Grey?
    Hope everyone enjoyed a lovely Easter/Passover.
    I enjoyed the Kitty French books. I thought each of the 3 books were successively better, but liked #1 too.
    And….I read the Virgin for Easter!! LOL – loved it. Knew I would. When the final book in the series comes out (The Queen later this year), I plan to go back and do a reading marathon from the beginning, then finishing with the Queen. This will involve wine and chocolate, please feel free to join me.
    And now, after enjoying the Virgin, I am back out of genre – so I won’t bore you with that stuff. After my current read, I will go back to my library and pick out something new and yummy (with abs), and tell you all about him. 😉 The motorcycle reads are tempting, it is Bike Week here in Florida and they are on the roads in hordes – so seems the proper thematic solution!
    AND…I’ve totally ordered the Blu-Ray for Mr. Grey. They promised that it will be IN my hot little hands on May 8th. This is another weekend that will involve wine and chocolate. Cannot wait!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I know, Sharon! I thought the same thing!!! Whahahaha! Wow, a Tiffany Reisz marathon! That’ll keep you busy for a while. Will The Queen honestly be the last book???? The movie has made so much money, I wonder what the DVD sales will net.

      Like

  7. MAC says:

    Totally agree with Monique’s excellent review on “Manwhore” and agree Saint saved the story for me as well. Otherwise I am afraid I would have closed it.
    I have to say when I started “Deep” I did not go back like I normally do and review the book prior so I was like… OMG I cannot stand the texting back and forth Liz did with Ben ~ not sure why~ but then up popped Mal and I was rolling in laughter when he went after Ben and was fighting him… Hilarious. So all in all this Kylie series treated me pretty well.
    I am a little lost at the moment and nothing seems to strike me… I am actually off track reading another Aleatha Romig… Consequences series its not a lot of sex but more a dark suspense… Thought I would try it. Any good reads share them up ladies of grey!!
    That is my new moniker for us LOG ~ Ladies of Grey. ❤

    Like

  8. aimeerhiannon says:

    I enjoyed Incandescent and those that follow and quite enjoyed them. They are a bit light but I find myself going that way at the moment.
    Manwhore is sitting here waiting and I loved Katy’s Real series so to see it’s not doing so well is a bit disappointing.
    LOVED Deep ! I felt it fell a little bit short – don’t know why, just do, but the little bits of Mal were the best ! I ended up going back to read Lick again as a refresher, started on Play and couldn’t wait any longer so started Deep. Still not a fan of Jimmy 👎 To be honest, he’s a bit of a dick.

    I’m reading the Russian Guns series by Bethany-Kris at the moment, have read The Arrangement and The Life and have started The Score this morning. They’re a little light I think but I love a mafia story so I’m ok there 😊 Next will be Lucian from the Filthy Marcellos I think. Otherwise it’s journals and articles on using cameras in the natural world for my essay..

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, I’m very sad about Manwhore… Will have to pick it up at book two and see how we go. Deep was AWESOME! I LOVE the Stage Dive series. Good luck with the studies 🙂

      Like

  9. crystal says:

    Hi all,
    I know we are talking about what we’re reading but I have to tell y’all that I am so obsessived still with FSOG that I had Christian’s “second chance” earrings made and picked them up today at the jewerly maker. They are beautiful and I love them!!

    Like

  10. gabyaveledo says:

    Oh Monique. I folleto your recomendation, and bought the stage dive series. Read Lead and Deep first, then Lick. All of them so good. But, oh my god, Im laughing out loud with Play. Mal is the best! I hadnt read a book so cute, sexy and funny ever! Thanks a lot!!!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

