Between the covers book club

Hello ladies 🙂

I hope you’re enjoying a beautiful weekend. With all the excitement from last week’s article in The Stir regarding the possibility of Henry Cavill playing Jack Hyde, I thought it would be fun to share some more casting speculations, again from The Stir…

Then, you gotta’ love Ken and Barbie playing Fifty, Fifty….

barbie

Oh my…. Naughty dollies! 😉

BC

This week I read:

r rm

Roomies by Lindy Zart was a lovely read, cute and heartwarming, but short in the steam that we love so much.

Remind Me by Ann Marie Walker & Amy K Rogers, book one in the Chasing Fire series, was a great find. If you’re looking for a “similar to Fifty Shades” read then this one might be for you. Book two is coming out shortly.

Currently I’m reading:

rev

Revived by Samantha Towle, book two in the Revved series. This is Leandro’s story so you can read the series out of order, if you like.

IMG_0377

Happy reading, girls! I’ll see ya’ next week 😉

Monique kiss
 

22 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi LOG
    Last week I finished Manwhore +1 for me that was hard work.
    It was better than book 1 but Rachel was so immature and annoying throughout the book that I struggled I think that’s Katy Evans finished for me.
    I also read Sold to Two Billionaires by Kim Ashton hot but I didn’t realise it was a short story and it was very short.
    I’m a bit stuck on what to read next.
    Book 5 in the Hacker Series is due out soon looking forward to that but hopefully that will be the end of the series
    Have a great week everyone

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I agree, Katherine. Saint is awesome but Rachel? Not so much. Did you know she’s got another coming out in the Real series. Will you read that? And hell yes, I hope Hacker concludes with number 5. That’s 2 novels too much if you ask me. The story dragged in book 4. Have you read Remind Me by Ann Marie Walker? I don’t usually like novels that are too similar to Fifty because firstly; it’s been done by the best and secondly; it’s been done to death by now, but I really enjoyed book 1. I’ve just started book 2, so we shall see how it pans out but I’m excited. Then, I LOVED Tall, Tatted and Tempting. That was a great little read and free ATM. That’s always a good thing, right? Great hearing from you 🙂

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        I only ever read Real. Mine and Remy none of the rest of the characters interested me.
        I’m gonna have a look at the books you’ve mentioned here I hate having nothing to read.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I enjoyed the whole Real series, Kath, some books more than others, but Manwhore is not quite there… Remind Me is pretty good; I love her writing style and the book is very much like Fifty in many regards, but for once, in this book, it didn’t put me off. Also, check out Tall, Tatted and Tempting! Soooo cute!! Love, love Logan!

          Like

  2. crystal says:

    Hi all
    It’s been very hot and dry here in Southern Oklahoma USA. So living in the pool. I read Pucked this week and just loved it. Did someone say there was going to be a “pucked 2”? Calling the hot pussies following aroung the hockey players as “PUNK BUNNIES”, was so funny! It was a real break from the gut renching “Bang” and the intense “The Siren”.

    Just got my new shipment of Cherise Sinclare book and finished “Simon Says MINE”. It was a short story, but very hot, steamy and a good read. I will start today, “Master of the Abyss”, another of Cherise Sinclair books. I am waithing on my order of Tiffany Reize books to be delivered this week. Since Tiffany’s books need lots of mind processing I will read one then read another of Ms Sinclair book to ease the mind. I have never read the Crossfire series. So if y’all think it a must read I will start it after I finish all the Reize books.

    Not for sure how I feel about the possible picks for FSOG Darker. They are picking people who look better than Ana and Christian. I think that is a no no.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Crystal. So damn funny and I’m jealous of your heat!! Wish I could be in the pool right now! Pucked 2 will be about her brother…. Can’t wait! 🙂

      Like

  3. MAC says:

    Oh Happy Day!! Hi Logs… Finished Manwhore +1. Wouldn’t mind me a little Saint but definitely pass on Rachel. It happens.
    Now I was so excited the 3rd book of my “River Savage” ~ Desertion came out and I flew through that puppy now that made me do a happy dance!! It is about a bikers club but what caught was the storylines… Really enjoyed it!! Check it out if you are in a slump!! Revived on my shelf after my run of duds I am sticking pretty close to my Bestie Logs!!
    Talk soon…<3

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      So with you on Saint. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on Revived. Love her work and this book was no different, but the end sorta’ seemed anti climactic. Not her usual style at all. I REALLY enjoyed Remind Me and I LOVED Tall, Tatted and Tempting!!! A must read as far as I’m concerned. Logan is super cute! Lovely to hear from you! X

      Like

  4. MAC says:

    Hey, anyone ever read the Pepper Winters series ~ “Ruin &Rule”

    Like

  5. Sharon says:

    Happy to announce I have joined the official “Pucked” fanclub. Have to say, the first chapter or two, I was thinking….it was a bit much, but then I got into it more and have to say there was some serious creativity in that writing. Very entertaining. Love the M.C.!! He played a great supporting role.
    Also started reading a paranormal trilogy called “The Three Series” by Kristen Ashley. Vampires are not an obsession of mine, but I’ve enjoyed Kristen’s other work, and this was no exception. The first book is about a Vampire Stud, the 2nd about the Werewolf King, and the third a vampire/wolf hybrid…each meeting their gorgeous human woman lifemates and they proceed to save the world in between enjoying HOT rampant sex. Whew. What more can you really ask? Kristen has some twists in the usual vampire/werewolf stories that add a nice dimension to the story telling. I find it interesting that her better books are before she hooked up with a publisher…she has more rules to follow, I guess. Assume it is more rewarding financially or the publisher’s advertising support makes it worthwhile. She was doing very well with self-publishing.
    Not sure what book is next for me….I know I have a zillion of them on my kindle because of the easy 1-click bookbub specials. I’ve always been curious to read a mermaid romance, and I’ve downloaded a couple of them, so that might be next.
    Please send any cold weather to Florida, Monique. It is absolutely an oven outside here.

    Like

    • MAC says:

      I tried to start this book but I do not like the girl ~ will try it again later maybe not in the right headspace for it.

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m so happy to hear that you loved Pucked! It was EXACTLY the same for me with the first few chapters. I was like “oh, it’s one of those books, the ones that uses skank talk and dirty humour that’s soooo not funny.” Was it not for the super strong rec I got for it I would have chucked it, but I’m sooo glad I stuck with it, it was awesome! And M.C takes the cake. As for your supernatural series, hot rampant sex sure sounds like the way to go, there! LOL! Love it, Sharon 🙂 Uhhh…, this may be a stupid question, but how do mermaids, you know… ????? LOL! Let me know when you find out, please?? Check out Tall, Tatted and Tempted if you’re at a loss of what to read next… Great post, girl! 🙂

      Like

  6. MAC says:

    Hi Ladies…
    My Monique. So yeah “Revived” sorta lost me 2/3 of the way through. Long before the ending but not sure what happened… Going along nicely, not smokin’ by any stretch of the imagination but then there was just nothing. I loved the humourous banter between him and Carrick that had me laughing out loud!! Then 2/3 of the way through it was like the story was forced or she wanted to end it so she skippied all the good bits that could of made it phenomenal… Come on a hot Brazilian racer how can that not be steamy, right? She touched down on a lot of ideas ~ the struggling driver, the taboo therapist, tortured past… But they did not take off.! Unfortunate. Actually felt more for Saint and Manwhore +1 …even though I could not stand Rachel.

    Well not sure where to go next think I will look over my LOGS recommendations…

    Cheers ~ ❤

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, I feel the same way about Revived. Sorta’ fell flat on it’s face at the end. Not sure what went wrong… If you’re at a loss for where to go next, may I suggest Tall, Tatted and Tempting! So cute! Thank you for your feedback, girlfriend! 😉

      Like

  7. MAC says:

    Hey Ladies… I just saw an add for the Manwhore Books. Did we know there are 3 of them?? Hmmmm

    Like

  8. MAC says:

    Could be true. They were just shown in a picture in a set of 3 so I was a tad thrown off… Should of paid more attention to the book blog but I can tell you I am not spending any more money on Rachel!!
    I don’t know I never really feel the same about opposite POV books once I have read them one way it just seems like a let down…

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I usually love the POV books and I would love to read Saint’s because I like him soooo much more than Rachel, but who knows what the next will hold?! She’s STILL busy with the Real series, giving each character their own book so it wouldn’t surprise me if she goes the same way with Saint.

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

