Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 😉

Not long to go before spring comes to my side of the world. Yippee!

Let’s start with some movie news, shall we?

The Facebook 50 Shades of Grey Support page shared this The Stir article featuring new mock movie posters for Darker.

The Fifty Shades of Grey. Pictures, News and Stories Facebook page shared this:

For android users, a FSOG fan app! The app will also be released for iOS! Check it out here

app

She’s also started a lovely FSOG fan page! Click the link to see it: Fifty Shades – Fanpage

Lastly, plot rumours surrounding Darker from YIBADA

This is not Fifty related, but so damn funny. On the Ellen show, a kiddo was asked to draw a giraffe…

IMG_1118

LOL! He’s got tallent, right??  

BC

This week I read:

onot ria

One Night of Trouble by Elle Kennedy, book three in the After Hours series, was a great read. A lovely story with a sugar-sweet HEA.

Risking It All by Tessa Bailey, book one in the Crossing The Line series, was AWESOME! I absolutely adored this action packed, intensely addictive read. Not only did it keep me riveted but it was S.S.S.Sizzling! I can’t believe that I’ve not read this woman before. I liked it so much that I’m giving it my Best of the Best award. Thank you for the rec, Val! 😉

BOB png

Currently I’m reading:

ds

Dirty Secret by Emma Hart book one in the Burke Brothers series.

I found this cute little nugget of truth – or perhaps wishful thinking…

IMG_1159

LOL!

That’s it from me, girls. Hope you have a beautiful weekend 😉

Monique kiss

30 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Good morning Monique, loved the drawing so funny 😁
    Last week I finally read books that I had bought but never got round to reading so I read Beautiful Stranger, Player and Beginning all by Christina Lauren and really enjoyed them all but I think that Player was my absolute favourite from the series including Bastard.

    Wasn’t sure where to go this week but I think I have a look at your recommendations. Have a great week x

    Like

  2. Casey says:

    Hi Monique, I loved your continuation of the Fifty Shades story….it broke my heart that you split them up at first but then I found your story to be so amazing that I cried…..I never once cried reading the original trilogy. I have recently discovered the Crossfire Series and I think I love Eva and Gideon more than their FSOG counterparts. What do you think of Crossfire and more importantly, what do you think will happen in Book 5? I can’t wait for it to come out! Cxx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello Casey. Thank you for your encouraging words. I love nothing more than to know that I touched your emotions. I LOVE the Crossfire series, enough that I’ve written a tiny bit of fan fic for it as well. It’s here on the blog, in the sidebar if you’ve not read it yet. And yeah, Gideon is hot as doughnut fat! My guess for book five is that Eva will probably get pregnant, I think Gideon’s brother will play a bigger villain role, and there’s still the loose thread with Megumi… Not sure where Sylvia is going with that. I look forward to it also but damn, it’s a long time to wait for a final book and she’ll have to bring her A-game after the book four disaster.

      Like

      • Casey says:

        Hi Monique, thank you so much for your reply!!! I read your crossfire ff and I loved your backstory of what happened with Nathan! Exactly what I imagined! Will you write more crossfire ff??? There are so many loose threads….the Corinne tell-all, Brett in the wings, Anne Lucas….I don’t know how Sylvia is going to wrap it all up! The wait is killing me too….is there no ETA at all? What do you mean by the “book four disaster” though? I’m new to your site and this genre of books (though I’ve read FSOG, Crossfire and Shadowlands series in the last few weeks!)…..so don’t understand what the disaster was? Cxx

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          No worries, Casey. I love talking to ya’ll 😉 Originally the Crossfire series was meant to be three books, but because the series was selling so well, all hot on the heels of FSOG, her publishers (forced/coerced/blindsided) her into stretching the series. Personally I feel she started dropping the ball during book 3 already and book 4, to me, felt like 2 chapters drawn out over the span of a single book. I think you don’t experience it so badly when you get to read all the books in relative quick succession, but when you wait for a new one, especially for a long time, it’s very frustrating to read the latest novel in your fav series only to have very little happen in it. That’s what I mean by disaster. Also, during the course if the series, she’s moved release dates which – as you can imagine – doesn’t sit well with the fans. Like you say, soooo many things need to come together, I don’t know HOW she’s going to tie that neat little resolution bow. I’m looking forward to finding out, though! I will write ANYTHING provided I feel inspired, and sadly, right now, nothing is grabbing me enough to push me into more fan fic…. If you’re looking for more awesome reads in the genre check out my favourites list on Goodreads. You may also enjoy the This Man series by Jodie Ellen Malpas 😉

          Like

          • Casey says:

            Thanks for explaining Monique! Yes, I can imagine that would have been frustrating. It does seem like the stars are against them with everything that happens to them so hopefully there will be a HEA in book 5? Thanks for the suggestion…..I’m a little worried about how much time I’m spending reading all these books! Spending my nights reading, not sleeping! LOL! C xx

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              LOL! I think you’re in good company here! Book worm heaven, this blog! Don’t be concerned. You’ll find your reading/life balance soon enough. This genre can be addictive, especially when you find an awesome read with a sizzling book boyfriend. There are definitely worse ways to spend your time! Oh there’ll be a HEA, but let’s hope for some juicy drama until then!

              Like

              • Casey says:

                More drama?! I think there’s too much drama in Crossfire as it is!! I just want them to live happily ever after without all the drama! It’s interesting to see the differences and similarities with FSOG….I’d love to see you do a comparison between them! Cxx

                Like

              • Monique Lain says:

                Oh boy! Yes, that would be interesting. The first time I read Crossfire (book 1) I was almost angry. I could not understand that it could be out there, published for all the world to see, and not be criticised for the similarities, but in book 2 Sylvia REALLY makes the story her own. Now, like you, I’m a huge Gideon fan! Awww, you know, we say we want a straight HEA, but the drama is what keeps us coming back for more. If it’s all too easy, it’s boring! LOL! 😉

                Like

              • Sharon says:

                Oooo. Maybe just a tiny Crossfire gossip to add? My kindle book had an update – and it says the next book is entitled “One With You”…AND if you go to the Sylvia Day website, there is a snippet for your viewing pleasure. I have not seen any scheduled publication date.

                Like

              • Monique Lain says:

                I know!!! It’s driving me nuts, Sharon! How much longer do we need to wait?? It’s nothing short of ridiculous! I keep checking Amazon for presale, but alas… Bring it, Sylvia!!

                Like

  3. Valerie Gibson says:

    Monique!! You don’t even know how excited I am that you read Risking It All!! Tessa Bailey has been my favorite since her first book Protecting What’s His, #1 in her Line of Duty series. I’m so happy you liked it! Up in Smoke (#2 Crossing the Line) is excellent also. Right now I’m reading On the Ropes by Cari Quinn…good so far. I was longing for Gideon Cross again, so I reread Bared to You last week…I miss him. Happy reading and see you next Sunday 💕

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Loved it, Valerie! So much! I’ve gone straight to Protecting What’s His! Yes, I can’t wait for Gideon to grace us with his presence again. I wish she would at least give us an ETA! Thank you again for the great rec, Valerie! 😉

      Like

  4. Hi Monique. Hope all is well with you. I have been totally engrossed with the beautiful bastard series. I read all of the books starting from beautiful bastard to beautiful secret in 12 days. I was totally captivated and I enjoyed them immensely. I loved them all but I have to say max has become my new book boyfriend. I couldn’t get enough of him and Sara but having said that I just loved the whole series and will and Hanna were adorable and of course Bennett and Chloe were just really intense. Have started reading release me and will let you know what I think once I have finished. Thank god I think I’m over my reading slump. Enjoy your week ladies.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Carmela. That’s an interesting series. I enjoyed all but they definitely get better with each new book. Yes, Max is also my fav character but my fav book in the series is Player. And yay for seeing the back of your slump! Release Me is good but paints along the FSOG lines. Be prepared for that. Good to hear from you!

      Like

      • Yes Monique I can almost see the similarities between Damien stark and Christian grey. I also sense they are very similar physically too although Damien stark seems to be a bit more mysterious. I am halfway through the first book and I am really enjoying it. The. Beautiful bastard series is really raunchy and I can’t believe how I become totally captivated by the characters. That has not happened for quite some time so I’m glad I read them. Enjoy your week

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Oh! I see, you’re reading the Stark Trilogy! Yes, also very similar to FSOG. It was a good read for me but not great. I thought you were reading The Chasing Fire series! Book 2 is also called Release Me and I LOVED that series despite the FSOG similarities. If great Fifty books is your thing, you’ll LOVE the Chasing Fire series! 🙂

          Like

          • Carmela Dimattia says:

            Thanks Monique I’ll add chasing fire series to my “to read” list.
            PS: I need to change my email address because we have a new one how do I do that so I can receive your emails. Thanks in advance

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              Let me know when you’ve read it and your thoughts, Carmela 😉 When you’re on my site from your PC, select “unfollow” then click follow again. It should ask for your email then simply add the new one. You should also be able to do it from a previous e mail of mine of you still have access to your old mailbox.

              Like

  5. Casey says:

    I thought Bared to You and FSOG were published on the same day? I think I like Gideon better because Sylvia is a better author than Erica….the grammar and spelling errors drove me crazy in FSOG! But I think Gideon is also a more complex character….I don’t understand the whole “I’m a Dominant” part of him when he doesn’t seem to do BDSM stuff? Sorry, I have a million questions because I’ve only just read the books! Cxx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      FSOG was published on the 12th May 2011 and Bared to You on the 12th June 2012 according to Goodreads, also, the WHOLE FSOG trilogy was available wayyyy before then as fan fiction for Twilight, published under the title of Master of the Universe. So that point, as Ana would say, is moot 😉 Later, I know, Sylvia claimed that one of her period drama books; Seven Years to Sin, was the inspiration for Crossfire. Yes, Gideon is an incredibly complex character and also a very well developed one which makes for a fantastic read, IMO. I don’t believe being dominant is necessarily synonymous with BDSM. I think Gideon likes to be in charge – ALWAYS, but especially in the bedroom because at one point in time, as a child, that control was taken away from him. That’s where I think his dominance stems from, but unlike Christian, he never NEEDED the BDSM props to keep people from touching him in an intimate situation, so his sexual interactions never needed that aspect. No worries about the questions, this is exactly the type of stuff we like to talk about! I just can’t always reply right away, and of course it doesn’t help that I’m on the other side of the world to most of my readers! 😉

      Like

  6. Sharon says:

    OK – Chirping in late this week. I’m another year older, so I’ll blame it on old age. Everyone keeps talking about the Beautiful Bastard series – so I’m finally stepping up to the plate to read it. Don’t know what my reluctance was…I think the initial preview I read just made it look like pulp fiction. But….time to see. So starting book one tomorrow. In the meantime, I read Kidnapped Cowboy and Captive Cowboy by Lindsey Brookes. As you can tell by the titles, they were both cute light romantic reads. Fun, but nothing to make you start having palpitations at night.
    My big read this week was a motorcycle club recommendation from Shirley. Fearless & Price of Angels by Lauren Gilley. Fearless is a serious time commitment for sure, almost 900 pages. Price of Angels was about 1/2 that. Book 3 comes out next month, I believe. The books are very well written, the characters have fascinating history and the plot is intricate. You know the author thought through the entire series before she even got started. The loving is quite yummy and erotic, but a minor part of the book. Part of what I love about romances is that you merge a part of yourself into the characters and feel the loving with them. That didn’t happen for me with these characters, you were too concerned about what was going to happen next! And there was just a little bit too much of going back and forth from one story line to another for me, especially at the end of Fearless. Couple of other issues, however, seriously well worth the read. You have to want to read a great story, with romance being secondary. Loved these characters, and can’t even imagine what she is going to do with the bad guy she put in place at the end of book two!! Thanks for the referral, Shirley – it was a good one for me!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      That’s a great comment, Sharon. Thank you. I’ve been uhming and ahhing about that damn book! You’ve given me a clearer idea of what to expect and I understand EXACTLY what you mean by feeling a disconnect to the lovin’ ’cause you’re so engrossed in the story. I have to be in the mood for that kind of epic saga, but sounds like a good one to go for when the mood strikes. BB series, for me, started out good but got a WHOLE lot better as they went through the series. Player, the second last in the series as it currently stands was my fav book, but I LOVED Max from Stranger! Also, in another series of theirs, I adored Sweet Filthy Boy! Let us know what you thought, girlfriend! 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

