Between the covers book club

Hello lovely ladies 🙂

I trust you’ve had a beautiful week!

As always the rumour mill grinds away and this week brought fresh gossip surrounding Darker:

The Bitbag reports that Jamie’s wife is unhappy with the filming of Darker as it is taking a toll on their relationship. I so hope this particular one is not true. It must be awful to have to worry about what your hubby gets up to at work. 

The Latin Post has picked up a similar story.

Recently, a girlfriend of mine posted this inspired article by Elephant Journal, and I thought it would be a fitting, impelling piece for those heavy hearts broken by love, for those still searching for their very own Christian Grey….

BC

This week I read:

ds pwh

Dirty Secret by Emma Hart, book one in The Burke Brothers series, was a cute read but, to me, it lacked plausibility. The story had all the makings of a twisty tale back to love, but it lacked the relationship realism that keeps one enthralled.

Protecting What’s His by Tessa Bailey, book one in the Line of Duty series, was great. I could see that, compared to Risking It All, it was an earlier book from this stunning author but it still bore all the hallmarks of a page-turner. I will be reading a LOT more from this spunky writer.

Currently I’m reading:

l

Luke by Sabrina Paige, book three in the West Bend series. FYI, if you buy this ebook from Amazon now, you will also get the first two books in the series as a bonus within Luke.

On my shelf I have:

t

Tyrant by T. M. Frazier, book two in the King series. I am soooo looking forward to reconnecting with these characters and seeing where this author is taking this interesting read.

IMG_1160

Thruth!

And more truth, this time from the timeless Betty Boop 😉

Betty

Have a great weekend, girls. Let’s hear from you and the wonderful book journeys you’ve been on!

Monique kiss

22 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Good morning Monique,
    must be tough on Jamie’s wife if the rumours are true I read something very similar in our local paper, I suppose we just need to wait and see but in reality even if she never read fifty shades she would have to been living under a rock not to know what the books were about so maybe should have put a stop to it before the first film was made, just my opinion.
    Anyway I had a disappointing reading week, I read Come Away with Me by Kristin Proby just ok nothing to get to excited about then I read Risking It All, to be honest I struggled to finish this, sorry but it bored me to tears so definitely won’t continue on with the series.
    I’ve nothing else to read so don’t know where to go next.
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, that’s a pity, Katherine. I’ve noticed in the past that our taste in books can differ quite a bit. Hopefully you’ll get into something you LOVE this week. I hate being in a slump! Good to hear from you! 😉

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        I know Monique strange that we used to like all the same books!
        Ive just downloaded a new book the author was interviewed in our local paper & reviews are very mixed to be honest dont think I would read it only she is a local girl english teacher & ripped EL James to shreds in the interview stating she could do better so Im going to have a look at it and review next week

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Wow! That’s bold! Well, let us know if she’s managed it. I wish people would understand that a great story is more than just grammar…

          Like

          • Casey says:

            A great story is a great story…but surely a great author would have a great editor who would fix up all the spelling and grammatical errors before publishing the story?? Cxx PS. When do you think Crossfire #5 will come out? Dying here…! Do you think EL will write Darker in CG’s POV?

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              Ug! I’m growling at Sylvia! I find it very hard to understand the stupid length of time it’s taking to get book five out. I’ve NO idea what the hold up is!! And yes, it would make sense: great book, big author, awesome editor, but damn, it is SO not the case! Look at Grey as an example. Erika copped so much flack for shoddy editing in FSOG one would think that Grey would be edited to death, but alas, ’twas not. Oh well.

              Like

  2. mothergolf says:

    I don’t believe these rumors, they’ve been around before, and you’re right, she must have known what the books were about prior to his signing up. If they have a secure marriage it shouldn’t make a difference. There are plenty of actors who have played in many films with more explicit love scenes who are still happily married.

    Like

  3. Sharon says:

    At the end of the article, they did a postscript that the rumors were false, and that Jamie’s wife was even rehearsing lines with him. I think these rumors will keep appearing all the way through the last film. I can’t what it would be like, but hopefully they have enough confidence in their relationship to get thru all the hype. But on a different note, I didn’t even realize they had started filming! I thought they were still in the writing phase! That’s exciting! And I’m obviously out of touch!
    Thanks for the tip on Luke. Love a .99 cent bargain! I have started Beautiful Bastard, so will share on that next week. Sorry I don’t have more to share, I’ll wax eloquent next week, promise. Love Betty Boop, knew that chick had balls!
    Thanks Monique, love our weekly group!! Always look forward to the weekend read!

    Like

  4. gabyaveledo says:

    OMG! I have read the 2 dirty books by emma hart, and 3 by tessa this weekend. If you haven’t yet, find the broke and beautiful series by tessa. I really liked them! Very cute love stories, and very very hot! I’ll start with the protecting series next weekend, or when Im not that work loaded! Have a nice week Monique!

    Like

  5. Omg can’t believe what is being written about Amelia Warner. Hope they’re just rumours. I would hate for them to have trouble in their marriage. On a reading note I have read the Damian stark trilogy and I loved them. I was caught up in the story and I fell in love with nikki and Damian. Have just started the crossfire series so will let you know what I think. Now that spring is on it’s way can’t think of anything better than sitting in the sun with a drink in hand and enjoying a captivating story. So looking forward to spending a few days this way. Have a great week ladies

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh I LOVE the Crossfire series, Carmela though the first time I read book one I was shocked at the similarities to FSOG. But book 2 veers off into it’s own wonderful direction. I’ve even got some Crossfire fan fic here on the blog! 😉

      Like

  6. aimeerhiannon says:

    Those rumours have been around since day dot. They seem to usually start from fans wanting some fantasy fulfilled because “but they have great chemistry on set!”, so they should be together for real, right ?

    My reading currently consists of journal articles on Web 2.0, Web 3.0, Ethics and PR and PR and Social Media, but I did read King and have started on Tyrant over the weekend. Liking them so far, and of course my favourite character died ! 😟

    I have a creative writing piece due on Friday that I haven’t started, but I think I’ve got an idea and it will hopefully flow well enough when I sit down to write it. I have a major piece that I have to write, and I think I’ve kinda got some ideas, but will be scrounging my library for some inspo during my study break me thinks. Seriously don’t know how these guys knock out book after book !

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, it’s sad. Ooh, studies sound epic, ATM. Good luck with that! Loving Tyrant, what a curve ball… Phew, intense – yet again! Saw some holes though… Don’t read any more of this reply if you’ve not around 75% in!!!
      **SPOILER ALERT**
      They said she got preggers with Sammy because they didn’t use protection yet Tanner told her later that he’d put holes in the condom, and when he takes her hostage, starts to beat her, he finds her burner phone and crushes it under his boot right away, yet he manages to send a text and video to King. How did he get King’s number? *scratching head…*

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

