Between the covers book club

Hello there, LOGS 😉

How are you on this fine weekend? 

This FSOG fan does beautiful edits. Her stuff is always on the Laters, Baby Facebook Page etc, but this particular one from Happy Naila Edits caught my eye…

angel1

This week I read:

i w

Inhibitions by Kimberly Bracco, book one in the Uninhibited series, was not for me, but if you like lots of wild f@cking then perhaps you’ll find joy with this story.

Wrong by Jana Aston was an unexpected surprise. From what I can tell this is her first book and she’s done a great job. This funny and sexy read was a pleasure. Great rec, girlfriend! 😉

Currently I’m reading:

rcm

Reclaim Me by Ann Marie Walker and Amy K Rogers, book three in the Chasing Fire series. I’ve waited a while for the conclusion to this series so I’m happy to get back into this lovely read!

On my shelf I have:

ac

Nuts by Alice Clayton, book one in the Hudson Valley series.

image002

Ha! Funny, but hopefully, you ladies happily put-out 🙂 

Have a beautiful weekend, girls. 

Monique kiss

25 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. FLMaddy says:

    Really enjoyed the Chasing Fire series ! Thanks 🙂

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique and ladies,
    I really enjoyed Inhibitions and loved the second part, sorry you didn’t Monique. This week I read Chasing Mr Wrong by Joya Ryan, it was fine nice easy read with a great alpha male lead I also read Reclaim Me it was ok but then I thought that of the whole series it was good but wouldn’t rush to read anymore of her work.
    I then read Virtual Encounter by Alexandra I, what can I say about this book……..To me this was FSOG by another name and if the characters were called Christian Ana Taylor and Elena EL James would have a court case on her hands lol. It was ridiculous how much this book was like FSOG even down to the crazy ex sub. the nightmares and the touching!! but there are more sex scenes than I have ever read in 1 book.
    I definitely would not recommend this but if any of you ladies want to try it just read Fifty Shades again and substitute the names for James Eva Anthony and Laura.
    Have a great week everyone I’m heading out for family meal my son is 26 today how old do I feel!! 😕😕

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Wow, Katherine! I wonder why authors do that?? Rip off a book that’s almost impossible to out do! I’ll give it a super wide berth. No worries on Inhibitions. I think the story might have merit but I just couldn’t read past the shoddy writing. Thank you for the rec, though. It’s always lovely hearing from you!

      Like

  3. Katherine says:

    lol sorry think I have old timers disease lol that book is not called virtual encounter it is called Flash Burn. Yeah she mentions an awful lot that she gets flash burns in her hairy mary when she gets turned on!!
    personally I think she needs a good doctor 😁

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahahahaha!!! Huh?? Oh dear! Burns??? Yup, a doctor is def what she needs, Kath!! Too funny! How did you keep a straight face, and more importantly, how did you manage to stick to the book and finish??

      Like

    • Penny says:

      I’m familiar with Alexandra Iff. She started off doing this book as an FSOG fanfict and converted it to Amazon without spending enough time making it her own. She is a nice gal, but desperately needs a good editor and to spend some time developing her writing chops.
      I hope at some point she decides to do that, but it would take a lot for me to try her books again.

      Like

  4. Sharon says:

    Looooove the graphic with the angel wings. Beautiful work! I’m sure you are tired of hearing about my month of Tiffany Reisz. But it was too funny, I finished “The Virgin” today. My email dinged, and it was a promo from Tiffany with the first chapter of “The Queen”. Wow…do you think someone was watching me? The timing was hilarious! I did preorder her book last week, and look forward to having my way with it this week. I loved all of her books which I read as they were published, but reading them all together as I did this month was just stunning. The depth of character development and storyline is so fabulous. She does blow me away….Can’t even imagine being blessed with that level of creativity. Plus the woman has some serious theological smarts!
    So….maybe Chasing Fire will follow Tiffany. But she is a tough act to follow. No doubt she found the right career path.
    And thanks, Monique for helping me with Goodreads….hoping it will become a more useful tool for me.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Having a private moment with Ms Reisz, huh? 😉 I can’t wait for The Queen either and you are too right! Never in my life have I come across a more developed plot and deeper characters. Simply stunning. Chasing Fire is lovely, Sharon. It ticks all the boxes: hot but romantic, you know? And you can feel the connection between the two. I think it’s well worth a read.

      Like

  5. Sharon says:

    Eeeeeek!!!!! I’ve got it! The Queen just showed up on my reader! 25 minutes early!! Now…must show strength and control. I will not read it all day tomorrow instead of working! I will not….well, maybe just a few chapters. Golly, it is going to break my heart to finish this book!! I want to run away someplace and drink bubbly wine and eat chocolate and savor this book. Can you tell I’m excited?!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aaarrggghhhh! Out release date is only the first of November!!! You lucky fish!

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        Wow, first of November!!! I feel soooo bad for you….I’ll hold off on reading until you get your copy so you won’t feel left out. And we can read together, as good friends should.
        Oops, forgot that I started it last night. Sorry, too late. I’m a rotten friend. But you know I would have waited for you if I hadn’t started already. If you listen hard you’ll hear me moaning on this side of the water!! But I’ll likely be wailing and gnashing my teeth after I close the final Original Sinners book, and you will just be getting started and can tease me right back!
        At least now I know it takes one full month to read that entire series!

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          LOL! That’s so funny, Sharon. Yup, I sure hear your tortured groans and I just know that you’re devastated as starting on your own!! 😉 Aww, well. Enjoy! I know I would!!! Yes, it’s gonna’ be tough to say goodbye to this motley erotic crew!!

          Like

        • MAC says:

          Hahahahahahahahahaha!!! You are the best kinda friend!! Funny, honest and down and dirty with your LOGS. Hahahahaha… My god you crack me up!! ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          • MAC says:

            Miss Sharon!!

            Like

            • Sharon says:

              Aw Mac, I’m feeling the love. Aren’t girlfriends just the best? LOL! I knew Monique couldn’t reach me from across the water. No spoilers….but I will tell you Tiffany didn’t let up one little bit in this final book. Wowzers!! That girl does have game!!

              Like

              • Monique Lain says:

                IKR? Girls rock! 😉 And personally I think you deserved to be SPANKED for dangling that enticing book-carrot in front of our noses!! I might have to give Soren a call on your teasing hiney!

                Like

  6. Sharon says:

    Sorry. I would respond, but moaning way too loudly over here.

    Like

  7. aimeerhiannon says:

    I’m on a book hiatus at the moment. As it is, I have 2 assignments due today, as it’s the last day of semester, and I’m here instead !
    I have started Nuts, and Alice’s writing style did give me some inspo for my piece I need to hand in today. I had to read a draft for my class last week and they loved it, so hopefully I can get the rest done by this arvo. I have the option of having it submitted for publishing in a literary magazine over here, I just need to be brave enough to do it!
    I have the Chasing Fire series, Dark, Wild Night, The House etc all sitting and waiting for me to find time to read the bloody things. Next semester doesn’t start till Feb 29 next year, so I’ll be taking note of all your suggestions so I can make up for lost reading time while the new Mr is at work 😉

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

