Between the covers book club

Hello, Lovely Ladies 😉

How are you this fine weekend? Here’s a little pic that I thought you might relate to:

like a boss

Very cute, huh? Or how about this one?

jamie

LOL! 🙂 

Well, this week’s reading saw me back on my book-happy horse – if there is such a thing 😉 Great books galore! Yay! Gotta’ love when you’re on a good run, reading wise. So, without further ado, let me share my week with you:

This week I read:

rcm ac

Reclaim Me By Ann Marie Walker and Amy K Rogers, book three in the Chasing Fire series. Do you remember, right at the very height of the FSOG hype, many books came out with a little silver sticker on the top LHS corner that claimed they were “Similar to Fifty Shades”? Some lived up to the plug but many disappointed. Sometimes I would read one and think, hell, aside from the fact that it was printed on paper, it was NOTHING like Fifty. Or, worse, it was a poor imitation. They simply seemed stale, but not THIS one. The Chasing Fire series has rekindled my love for the Fifty Shades-style book. Yes, it pushes all the happy Fifty buttons but somehow remains fresh, and book three did NOT let me down. In fact, I would go as far as to say it was the best of the trio. Well worth the purchase if you’re looking for all the good things a hot, billionaire Alpha brings to your sexy reads.

Nuts by Alice Clayton, book one in the Hudson Valley series, was fantastic. Girl brought her A-game for this one. Though Wallbanger was a breakout success, by the end of the Cocktail series I felt the cookie-cutter format was beginning to lag, but damn, did she break away from that mold? I Loved this steamy, witty read.

On my shelf I have:

tgp tq

The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan, book three in the Game On series; and The Queen by Tiffany Reisz, book four in the Original Sinners series – and sadly, the last in this EPIC tale.

Thanks to Goodreads, here are some of the fabulous books we’ll be seeing in November:

n1

n2

n3

n4

n5

Please note that the links aren’t live as these are screenshots from the Goodreads site. Also, if you’re a big Goodreads fan like myself and you’re keen to share reads with other ladies who enjoy our genre, please share your Goodreads name in the comments for this post so w’all can find you! You can find me on Monique’s Goodreads. Naturally, you can decline any Goodreads friend offers as you see fit.

reading glasses

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, girls!

Monique kiss

35 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. vondax55 says:

    Hi Monique,

    Lovely to get your thoughts on the Goodreads! I was just looking on Kindle and there seems to be more books in the Tiffany Reisz Original Sinners series than those you mentioned. I can see Book 6, The King and The Virgin, Book 7. Are these the same series or have I wandered into a different series? I get a bit confused with all the series being written to be honest.

    Lovely day here in Southern Qld, just wish we had more rain this week as my tanks are nearly empty and the lawn is a crispy critter? I will be up your way next week for the AC/DC concert, can’t wait!!!

    Thanks for sharing your reads. Are you writing any fiction yourself these days?

    Take care Jillian x

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      No way! ‘Ol ACADACCA, huh? Cool! Enjoy! I hear they are GREAT showmen. We’ve had beautiful, blessed rain here is the south. It’s been great. Hopefully it will come your way. I don’t blame your confusion over the Original Sinners series. It’s best to check it out on Tiffany’s website, but the MAIN series is called The Original Sinners, then there are various spinoffs, some full length, some shorts. The main series of that is called The White Years. They weren’t written in order. Some are in-between fillers and mostly she writes from different character’s POVs. Have you read her? Really, it’s truly epic, the standard and depth unlike ANYTHING I’ve ever seen. She’s, hands-down, the Queen of the (hard-core) BDSM genre. Not so much for the sizzle (though she doesn’t short any zing) but for the incredible imagination and the tangible characters that now feel like my circle of (kinky) friends. A phenomenal and epic saga. I was impressed by the first book but you get blown away the more you read because you get the ever-expanding picture of the intricate tale she’s crafted. It’s like The Lord of the Rings in our world! LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sharon says:

        Monique, I think your description of the Original Sinners series is spot on. And I LOVED the Queen. Just fully met my expectations and they were high! I was surprised to see a few typos…usually her books are meticulous, but didn’t keep me from loving every minute of the read!
        After spending the entire month in a Tiffany Reisz marathon…(it was SO worth doing), I thought I’d leave the genre for a paranormal romance recommended highly to me several times called the Dark Prince by Christine Feehan. Enjoyed the Alpha character and his Lady Love…enjoyed the lovely writing style of the lovemaking, but there was very little story to go with it. So can’t recommend it to anyone, and I didn’t finish it. Lots of readers like the series, just wasn’t for me. Believe I’m ready for your Chasing Fire series next.
        My Goodreads name is Sharon Starr. Would love any of you to friend me, Monique is my only friend at this point. Poor me!! But none of my friends are into reading romance. I am still building my booklist in Goodreads, it is a bit time consuming. I’ve found a couple of features I am enjoying, thanks to Monique. I received my FIRST email telling me what books were coming out from authors I enjoy, bounced up and down in my office chair when it came through. Also like the reading recommendations they give you based on the shelves you create.
        Happy Halloween, LOG’s! Do you celebrate down under, Monique?

        Like

        • Sharon says:

          Ooh forgot to mention Black Lies by Allessandra Torre is on sale for .99. If any of you haven’t read it, it’s a good one!

          Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Hey Sharon 😉 Thank you. I thought you might agree with my take of miss Tiffany! LOL!
          Ug! I’ve got so many good ones waiting I’m not sure where to start. I think you’ll enjoy Chasing Fire, and if you like it funny and flirty, Alice’s Nuts is just the ticket. I’m so happy you got your Goodreads email. It’s a happy sight, knowing what’s coming up next.
          Halloween is a fairly recent addition to Australian culture, so not fully embraced, and not something we celebrate personally. Let us know where you’re going next after epic Reisz month 😉

          Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique and ladies,
    I haven’t had much time to read this week been wrapping Christmas presents in my spare time I know I’m sad but also very anal about being organised I refuse to fight my way around the shops in November and December.
    Anyway I’m in the middle of a fantastic book called Bastard by JL Perry its fun sexy and also emotional I’m halfway through and loving it.
    I will definitely purchase Nuts after your review.
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Wow, Katherine! That is organised! Well done! Don’t you want to swing by and do the same for me? 😉 Oh! I’ll check out your book. Nuts was cute! Thanks for checking in with us, girlfriend!

      Like

  3. Casey says:

    Hi Monique, I read the Chasing Fire trilogy this week…..I enjoyed the first love element, the hot scenes and the tenderness. I probably would have liked it a bit more rounded it though…..it seemed too short in parts. As you said, it was good but not as good as series like Crossfire etc. I also read a memoir called the Wild Oats Project which is about a woman living out all these fictional sexual adventures we normally read about…..it was interesting but in my view, very sad. Have you read it? Cxx
    PS. I would love to hear your all-time top 10 list of best romance books Monique….

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello 😉 Nope, haven’t heard of that one yet, Casey. I really don’t like sad books and will avoid as much as I can. I’m a big ‘ol softie! LOL! As for my favs, on Goodreads and on Pinterest I have my fav list published. In Goodreads it’s called Favourites and on Pinterest it’s called Books I Love. Check it out, girlfriend 😉

      Like

      • Casey says:

        Hi Monique, thanks….you have so many books on your list!!!! I loved Crossfire, This Man, Gabriel’s Inferno and liked FSOG, Shadowlands and Chasing Fire. I love the romance, the heat and the HEA….I don’t mind light BDSM but don’t like hard-core pain, etc. What do you recommend for me?? Cxx PS. Others may say that the Wild Oats Project isn’t sad but it certainly doesn’t have a HEA in my view. But then again it is a memoir.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          LOL! Yes! Can you tell I like to read? 😉 I’m with you, the burning yearning romance plus a beautiful ride off into the sunset is what it’s all about. It’s very hard to send you into a book direction, Casey. What are you in the mood for? If you’re looking for a lovely, intense series with a hot aloha, then I’d say the Real series by Katy Evans. If you don’t mind stand alone, I LOVE the Game On series from Kristen Callahan. Though they are a series, they can be read alone. Same goes for Elle Kennedy’s Off-Campus series. I also love the Tied series by Emma Chase, that’s one that you should read in its order 😉

          Like

          • Casey says:

            Thanks Monique, I’ll check out the Real series! Cxx PS. Here’s another question for you….what’s your Top 10 BBFs?

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              LOL! Every time I say this I get into trouble but here goes:
              1 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              2 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              3 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              4 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              5 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              6 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              7 Gideon Cross (Crossfire)
              8 Christian Grey (Fifty Shades of Grey)
              9 Jesse Ward (This Man)
              10 Mal Ericson (Stage Dive)

              Liked by 1 person

  4. Angela patten says:

    Thank you for your great recommendations, have just brought chasing fire book one. Have you herd of a web sight called ‘BookBub’ lots of cheap and free books, you list your preference and they send you emails with recommendations. It’s great but I have so many books now and never enough time to read them !

    Like

  5. Casey says:

    Ha ha ha…..you just gave me the biggest belly laugh Monique! I am so with you on GC…..love, love, love him! I’m holding back on re-reading Crossfire because I’m desperately waiting for #5! I also love CG and JW. So, now I’m going to read all about Mal Ericson….what’s the author’s name?? Thanks, Cxx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, he is simply delicious, and I feel there is just an extra bit if depth to his character.
      Mal is a very different type of book boyfriend from the others. He’s super cute, not so much Dom stud but more cheeky boy next door. He’s from Play by Kylie Scott, book two in the Stage Dive series. You can read them as stand alones.

      Like

      • Casey says:

        Copy that girlfriend! GC is hot, hot, hot and deep, deep, deep! I for one, would love Crossfire to continue beyond the 5 books but I know it would drive many other readers insane….including maybe you?!
        Thanks for the tip, I’ll check it out! Cxx

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I wouldn’t mind Crossfire continuing if it wasn’t for the unreasonable waiting and then more waiting when she inevitably moves her release date. And also, it was meant to be three books and then they changed it to five, but it felt like book three and four had very little to offer in the way of progression. Rather they felt like long bridging chapters, which is also not on. That’s what drives me crazy!! You read them all in one go, right? Just waiting on book five, huh?

          Like

          • Casey says:

            Yes Monique, I read them all in one go so this wait for #5 is killing me! I wonder if SD is a perfectionist and doesn’t want it released until it’s absolutely perfect in her eyes. Either that or she’s riding on ELJ’s coat tails….I’ve noticed that she only ever releases excerpts whenever Erica releases anything, movie, book, etc. In my humble opinion she’s a much better author than Erica….either that or she has a better editor!

            Like

  6. Casey says:

    Monique, it wasn’t just a typo that you wrote GC down 7x right??!! 😉

    Like

  7. crystal says:

    Hi ladies.
    Things are starting getting back to a new norm at my house after Mother-in-law death and husband in hospital twice after heart attack. I did lots of reading to keep the mind going down the road straight. Fanfiction is still at the top and I have found a new story that is peaking my interest called “A Different Shade of Fifty by wishingmygreywashere. The story of CG and AS has them in college at the same time. So far a good story line. Give is looksee if you are into Fanfaction.

    I really enjoyed the third book in The Club Destiny series “Seduction” by Nicole Edwards. This couple is into watching 2 to 6 other people together at one time but not into sharing each other with anyone else. The sex was great and the love story was heart warming. I rate it a 4.

    I also read “Pucked Up” by Helena Hunting. It’s the second in the Pucked series. The first book had great sex and really damn funny but Pucked Up was a true clusterfuck. It was written for a teenage group not sexual adults. The author tried to be funny but just keep failing and the sex! Hell the sex would make a wet whore’s pussy dry up and blow away. So for me it was a waste of money.

    I received “The Queen” today and one side of me was jumping for joy and the other side cringed. I hadn’t read all of the White Years so decided to restart the series again and started reading “The Saint a few days ago. I will continuing to read all 4 book in order, then quietly place them on my “READ” shelf, give a loud sigh and say an Amen (SO BE IT)! My world will move on.
    Have great week,
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m so happy to hear things are returning to normal for you, Crystal. I’m sure you are relieved.
      Yes, Nicole Edwards does good kink. Love the Club Destiny series. I’m so glad you mentioned Pucked Up! I LOVED Pucked, but I had read a book from her before that that I hated. It was extremely boring and contrived. I actually bought Pucked by accident and would never have if I recognised the author. It was a happy accident because I enjoyed it, and naturally, from that, I put Pucked Up on my to-read list, but now I know to refrain. The LAST thing I want is for my hoo-ha to shrivel up and hide! LOL!! Thank you for the share 😉

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    Oh my Ladies are funny this week!! You girls got it going on!! So my reading adventure went to “Reckless” by Nicole Edwards. Disappointing cause her other M/M are so great like Ethan… No comparison really I think she should slow down and concentrate on her over the top series instead of doing 20. The Beautifully Loyal set is good about Mafia and hot sex.
    “Betrayal” Aleatha Romig fantastic getting a Mac Star of 4.5 cannot wait for book 2.
    I am going to go to “The Game Plan” I think… Haven’t done the fire series I am finishing up my biker boys “Walk through Fire” … I think I am losing interest but the books in the series have really been steady, sexy and good stories to tell.
    Okay so lets do a top 5 for us LOGS cause you know Monique is our girl so she should get 10 choices… 😜

    1. Jesse
    2. Gideon
    3. Gideon ( the next generation cause thats how old I will be when she finally writes the the next book)
    4. Christian
    5. Jesse Christian Gideon & Mr. manwhore

    Hahaha yup I cheated!! 😎
    See ya ladies!!
    💋

    Like

    • Casey says:

      Hey MAC, I love your list but GC is definitely top of mine…..now tell me about Mr Manwhore? Thanks, Casey

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        Remember the series I said you should read, Casey, the one called Real by Katy Evans? Manwhore is her second series. I ADORED Real but Manwhore? Not so much. While Malcolm Saint (the manwhore) is delicious, the female protagonist is a pain in the butt, and the writing was sadly, shoddy. Not horrible but compared to the intensity of, plus the great storyline in Real, a disappointment. Remy (the Alpha in Real) makes for another yummy book boyfriend.

        Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahahaha! I laughed so hard at that, MAC!! Next gen, huh? Gideon 4.0!!! Too funny! Love it! Ug, the wait is sooo frustrating, and I just don’t see how she’s gonna’ pull the whole series together in one book! And if she releases with book five with a book six to come I’m gonna’ have a conniption!!
      Also I’m very interested to see that Jesse tops your list!! Huh. Yes, Jesse, at least in theory, is a HOTTIE! And I have to agree with you, Malcolm is great but he loses points because he loves ridiculous Rachel! LOL! As always, a beautiful, refreshing pleasure to hear from you and your smart mouth 🙂

      Like

  9. MAC says:

    I am not sure why I chose Jesse first I love all three of these alpha men but Jesse seemed to stick to me more. Gideon and Christian are well book legends really!! Mr. Manwhore was thrown in strictly for you!! I now know you read right to the end and bam that Rachel was the worst of the worst… I still wanna go back and bitch slap her everytime I think of her!! 😎 Saint was a good Manwhore though “cum on” on a scale of 1-10 he was a solid 3!! Heehee

    Hugs to my ladies!! 💋

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

