Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

Weekend! Yay!

I hope you’ve had a beautiful week.

How cute is this? I got this little gem from Sharon:

Paddle

A decal on a car. Very up our Shady alleys, huh? LOL!

I’ve had another awesome reading week – so let’s share!

This week I read:

tq

The Queen by Tiffany Reisz, book four in the Original Sinners: White Years series, let me tell you, was 400 pages of f-ing EPIC! This woman can write like no other. I was very curious to see how she was going to wrap up this incredible saga, and boy-oh-boy, did she wrap it up with crisp, sharp corners and a big red bow on top! If you’ve not had the pleasure of Nora & crew’s company I strongly suggest you indulge. This monster series features a much heavier BDSM slant than the books we normally read, and the romance aspect is VERY different, but somehow she makes the players feel completely real, the love between them alive and thriving. The characters are extremely well developed, the story has an incredible depth and intelligence to it, the intricacies of the plotline boggles the mind, and her exhaustive knowledge of the content is nothing short of astonishing. Even if this isn’t the type of story for you, you can appreciate the artistry of what she’s created. The ONLY downside to this tale is that you only begin to understand the magnitude of the world Tiffany’s managed to craft within this series once you’ve read a few of the books. That’s when you REALLY get a feel for the mastery that is this story. This final book: The Queen, did not disappoint. It was a wonderful read and I’m very sad to see the end of it. For the beauty of this book, AND the whole series in general, it deserves a place in my personal hall of fame, the Best of the Best!

BOB png

Just to show you why I adore her writing, here’s a small taste of Reisz’s way with words…

the queen

Excerpt taken from The Queen. You can see more of her books, and the order in which they should be read, here.

Currently I’m reading:

tgp

The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan, book three in the Game On series. I LOVE this series (you can read them as stand-alones) and so far, Dex is shaping up to be prime book boyfriend material. Yay!

wine22

Thanks for listening, girls. Let’s hear from you and your latest sexy book-scapades!

Monique kiss

32 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, well I started Nuts and it didn’t do a thing for me so I put it to the side, I will read it but at the minute I’m desperate for something that’s going to excite me from the beginning so I read one of the best FSOG fan fiction stories ever………….Fifty Shades Meander and I have to say it was fabulous😁 I had forgotten just how great this author is, such descriptive writing that you could be standing on the sidelines watching the action. This fantastic author is as good if not better than a lot of the published authors I’ve read lately and she needs to get her own work published.
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, I thought Nuts was super cute. A lovely light read. I’m sorry you didn’t find joy with it, Katherine. And I’m delighted to hear that you took another look at Meander! I’m so happy to hear that, so far, it’s stood the test of time for you 😘

      Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Glad you loved The Queen as much as I did. Now if Sylvia Day would only take note on how to wrap up a series. Gideon deserves better than he has been getting. Reading the entire series all the way through was truly epic, and I highly recommend it.
    LOVE the cover on the Game Plan. That man obviously needs our help with that shirt!! I’m volunteering!!
    I have started with Remind Me, book one of the Chasing Fire series. So far, I’m having no trouble putting it down…not awful, but hasn’t grabbed me yet. Hope it will.
    Also reading Forever Black by Sandi Lynn. Says she is a NYT bestselling author, but I have trouble believing it. Story concept is OK, but actual storytelling is poor. Maybe this was her first book? Can’t recommend this one, it was a freebie when I got it.
    Also started reading For You, by Kristen Ashley. This is book one of the ‘burg series, which I have avoided for whatever reason. Think mainly the name of the series didn’t interest me. Well, it is excellent. And not the one word grunting dialog as in her mountain man and biker books. I think this was before she was picked up by a publisher, and Kristen gave more bang for the buck. Big thumbs up for Colt and Feb in this book. Glad I finally gave it a try.
    Katherine, completely agree Monique needs to publish. That woman is FABULOUS and she gets my Best of the Best Award!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I did, Sharon! I was EPIC! LOVED, LOVED, LOVED!
      It took me a little to get into the Chasing Fire but it got better through the series. It’s not on my top ten list but certainly was a GOOD repo of a Fifty Shades style book.
      I’ve also heard good things about The Burg series, but like you, I thought her monosyllabic heroes got a tad monotonous in their similarity, so I’ve never gone that route. Sounds like I should check it out again, though my understanding is that the lovin’ is a little lite in the series?
      Aww, thank you for those sweet words. I’m feeling the love 😘

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        Well deserved words, our dear talented Monique!
        Even though KA uses similar dialog and story lines, so far I’ve at least liked all of her books, enjoyed most, loved a couple. I looked at the preview of book 2 of the ‘burg series, and saw the caveman speech again, LOL. But I will read it knowing at the very least, I will like it.
        So…sharing a source here….I belong to an online “library” at scribd.com. It is subscription…think $7 per month, and you get one month free to try it. I joined it for all of the music resources, but had never read a book. For one thing, you have to read the books online, can’t download. I’m not always where I have Internet to read. But I came across Kristen’s book, For You, and decided to try it since I seemed unwilling to buy it. And it sucked me right in. And you are correct, the lovin’ is light compared to some of our reading, but it is still quite nice and multi-orgasmic, and I enjoyed the romance and drama. But I don’t know that I would ever have tried it without Scribd. So there is a huge library of all genres for your browsing pleasure, you likely will not find the latest releases, but there are a lot of other books that need to be read. It’s been well worth my subscription, I recommend you all try the 30 day trial and see if it works for you. I don’t know how it works for authors, similar to a public library, I would think!

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Huh, that’s very interesting, Sharon. I’ll definitely go check it out, but damn, I’d be pissed if I’m looking to read at some obscure place and don’t have access to the internet! What would you do on a flight?? Eeeekkkkk! LOL!
          Oh goodie. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Kristen’s offerings. Perhaps I should try again….

          Like

          • Sharon says:

            When you open music on the site, it stays on your pad until you close it, even without the internet. (used it this morning). For You was the first book I’ve read on Scribd, but it may work the same as the music did. I’ll try it with book two of the ‘burg series. And if someone is on a budget, I think the $7 per month may save some bucks. I easily spend more than that on books each month. It is just another reading alternative. If I’m in a plane, I would read the books downloaded on my kindle, but Scribd is just another library to have access to. I’ll certainly read on it again. I particularly like the idea of trying a book I’m not certain of before buying it. That would have saved me some bucks over the years. I also haven’t investigated how many books it has in our genre – I happened on the KA book by accident. I peeked, and there is no Tiffany Reisz, and no Beautiful Bastard books. I see titles by Kristen Ashley, Lauren Blakely, Samantha Young, ….You can search by author or genre.
            Anyway…just may be of interest to some of the LOG’s. I’ve been using it for over a year now… now may increase my usage since I’ve broken my Scribd reading hymen!! LOL Also, I see if I refer you, you will get two free months instead of one, and I get one. I’ll send you an invite Monique…you can check it out when you have a chance.

            Like

  3. Casey says:

    Hi Monique, I’m still re-reading the Chasing Fire series and was going to check out the Real series next. But then I read your post about the Original Sinners (especially the excerpt which was SO profound!) and found myself curious….I downloaded samples of all the books and hmmm, I think I might have to download at least one full book. Am I wrong in assuming that the books are a cross between Dan Brown, the Thorn Birds and hard-core FSOG?? I think I’ve read enough of an outline to know the story but am wondering, is there really a HEA in either of the Red or White years??!! I’m not into hard-core BDSM but the story does seem fascinating…..? Cxx PS. SD has updated the info on #5, One with You. I predict a pre-Xmas release with very little lead up time like Grey….watch this space.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Casey 🙂 Yes, do that! Real is intense and lovely, especially the first three books of the series. What can I say about Original Sinners? Firstly, let me say I generally don’t recommend the series because it’s not your typical romance read. I guess you can compare it to Thornbirds in the sense that it features a Priest, but that would be the ONLY similarity. The BDSM aspect is quite harsh and, I would imagine, much more realistic as it pertains to the relationship between true masochists and sadists. It should put you off, but strangely, it doesn’t. Though the sex can be sexy, not all of it is appealing due to the heavy BDSM slant. The main male lead, Soren, is a fascinating character with a harrowing past. He’s definitely not what I would call book boyfriend material but a character that I adore nonetheless. He’s whip smart and wise, and the love between the unholy trio is almost tangible but definitely not conventional. The book features all sorts of sex, including M/M, M/F/M, F/F so that’s another consideration. For me, this series is second to none. I’ve never come across a more talented writer. It doesn’t make me dreamy the way Crossfire or FSOG does, it’s simply not the same type of thing, but it is no less phenomenal. The world that’s she’s created around the main characters and their lives and trails are just astonishing. As a Christian, I was, at times, afraid that she would overstep the mark into the blasphemous, and she does walk a VERY fine line in this regard, but she’s yet to piss me off. All in all, it’s just brilliant writing by a hella’ talented writer. If I had an inch of that talent I’d be happy. The creativity, the incredible depth of characters just blows my mind. It’s rich text in it’s purest form. It took me a book or two to realize just how BIG this story really is, and I would imagine, that you as a reader, reading her for the first time, one would perhaps struggle to see what I’m on about, but once you see the bigger picture of the story, I think, love it or hate it, you’d understand what I mean. Hope that helps 🙂

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ps: I can add a new book boyfriend to my list, Casey: Ethan Dexter from The Game On series, book 3! Yummy, yummy! ☺️

      Like

  4. Lissa Jeri says:

    Lots to say, but first a happy event. My daughter had a boy last week. Named him Elliot. You can do the punch line here. Will I have a “moment’ every time I say his name?….lol.

    Okay, finished Nuts and am smiling. It is not a challenging book and buttons don’t necessarily get pushed as aggressively as in other books. But Alice Clayton’s work generally creates ongoing smiles and enjoyment. And I never mind learning stuff like the cooking she’s included here. I like to recommend her books to people who would like a little dreamy romance and some delightful wordplay.

    Just about to get the last Chasing Fire book from the library and looking forward. But, for me, especially looking forward to being next on the library list for The Exhibitionist, the latest by Tara Sue Me. What I like especially about her series is that some of her exposition gives excellent explanation of why some of us feel the way we do and how it all fits together in our real lives.

    Anyone read Priscilla West? Was just sent a freebie intro book by her.

    And thought you might be interested in this article:

    http://moviepilot.com/posts/3630423?lt_source=external,manual

    I agree with a lot of what she says. While I do not see Ana written blandly to simply let us insert ourselves into her cut-out, I can see how some would agree. But I see what’s happening about Jamie Dornan overshadowing Dakota Johnson is exactly what happened with “Remington Steele” where the nobody Pierce Brosnan overshadowed the star Stephanie Zimbalist and with “Moonlighting” where the unknown Bruce Willis made superstar Cybil Sheppard almost disappear. I think it’s the nature of a work which appeals to women so strongly to turn the female in to the cut-out and insert ourselves into the story. Okay, too deep? Sorry.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Nope, not to deep and certainly a relevant point, Lissa. I think that’s exactly what happens in a female marketed story. Nuts was a great read! Fun, and like you say, light. I enjoyed it very much. CONGRATULATIONS on the new bub! Happy days. That’s so special.
      I’ve read Sue Me’s first series but it did nothing for me so I’ve been reluctant to try her again.

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        I agree on Tara Sue Me. Read the first series…and it was OK – but it didn’t make me want to read any more of her work. Let us know what you think about her new book.
        Congrats on your new grandson!! All the girls will love his name!! 😉

        Like

  5. MAC says:

    Okay I am not sure what is wrong with me… But Game Plan is KILLING me… I am struggling to get to the middle let alone the end but you know sometimes one just does not click and there is nothing for me here 😦
    I am going to do the Queen at Christmas and go back a few books cause you all rave about it so it must be worth the read.
    I am right now flailing back and forth between Hardbeat & Game Plan… Maybe I need some BETA – males so I can relish the Alpha ones???
    What is wrong with me? FLAILING!!
    Oh went on line to Jodi Ellen Malpas and she opened her store…
    Also saw on one of the blogs that Crossfire – Remember that ladies??- Yeah you know the one with the delectible guy whose name starts with a “G” … Heard it might be casting for TV…

    Love to my ladies ❤

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, I’m so sorry to hear that! I LOVED the book and especially Ethan. It’s funny how we can sometimes feel so differently about a read. That scene in the bar when she was touching his beard? I nearly melted.
      Have you read other books in Tiffany’s series? The Queen was fantastic. Loved how the whole series got neatly tied.
      Ug! For the Crossfire rumours. They have been going on for two years!!! Who knows what the truth is there!!!??? I would love to see Crossfire as a series but before then, can we PLEASE have the last damn book?!
      Anyway, enough of the rant. Lovely to hear from you – as always 🙂

      Like

  6. WilderFables says:

    OMG Monique it is incredible that you highlighted a section of The Queen book that I also found the most profound. Tiffany Reisz is an incredible writer and has left an indelible mark on my reading consciousness. Love does take a bullet:) By the way, will you be writing again soon? You also have “marked” me. Be well!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh yes! Incredible is the word. And the Queen was da’ bomb! 🙂 I’m thrilled to hear that my story left an impression on you! That’s always gratifying to hear. I have lots of plans to write, but since going back to work, time is my BIG issue. Good to hear from you!

      Like

  7. Casey says:

    Hi Monique, so….based on your recommendation, I downloaded the first Original Sinners book The Siren. OMG….it was so intense! I hear you about Soren….and the heavy BDSM….but somehow, the story sucked me right in!! I’m dying to read through all 8 books!! I do think the author skates right on the edge of a lot of issues but somehow it works! I’m dying to know what Soren’s deal is….it’s obvious he loves Nora but gee, it’s a strange kind of love isn’t it?! Dying to find out more about them both. Cxx

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Casey, I’m envious. Would so love to know I had Tiffany’s entire series to read again for the first time. You are sooooo going to love it. She is absolutely going to take you on a journey!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Monique Lain says:

      It’s a magnificent series, Casey and she has a lot more than 8 books in the series. There are various filler spin offs in short story style, each and every one worth a read. But start with the first 4 of the Original Sinners series. I’m so glad you see the glory of the story 😉

      Like

  8. Casey says:

    Hi Monique and Sharon, I’m halfway through book 2, the Angel and I just can’t seem to read as fast as I want to!! It feels like as soon as I discover more, there is even more to discover! I almost died when I thought Soren had hooked up with another woman which is so strange given what Nora has been doing all Summer! These books are so different to what I have been reading and yet I do not question the love. I’m in for some rude awakenings, aren’t I? I’m not good with surprises and yet it feels like JEM’s books which absolutely killed me with shocks from nowhere. Tell me, which book has the biggest shocks??? Cxx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, I’m glad you’re enjoying it and I’m with Sharon, I love Griffen and Michael from The Angel and I love Wesley in The Prince, but the biggest shock book, for me, was The Mistress…

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh, and the one where you read ALL of Soren’s background story, but I can’t remember which on that was. Also, my absolute fav of the series was the final one, The Queen! So sad to say goodbye to these amazing characters.

      Like

  9. Sharon says:

    Ha – glad you are enjoying the ride. Tiffany isn’t even close to being done with shocking you. All the things I knew nothing about, for all of my years. These books really should be required reading at school. 😉 I loved all the books, but if I have a favorite…it might be Angel. Just adore Michael and Griffin. Last Christmas she put out an additional short story about those two, I believe it is on her website.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Casey says:

      Hi Monique and Sharon, I am replying on last week’s post so that other people won’t read my spoilers. I have read Original Sinners #1, 2, 3 and almost finished The Mistress. The thing is I am really frustrated by The Mistress….I think Grace being there doesn’t make any sense at all! Soren waited so long to share his history with Nora and yet he bares his soul in less than a day to Grace?? It all seems to move so fast and I just don’t believe Soren would have slept with her given that he said that he’s only slept with people he loves. Also, how can she profess to love Zach and yet sell her soul for one night with Soren?? Help me out here….did either of you feel the same way?
      Also, I have to admit that the “loving two people equally at the same time” concept is baffling to me….love two people, sure that’s possible but equally and at the same time, no way! I was moved by Kingsley’s love for Soren in The Prince and even feel that perhaps they should be together….it seemed to me that Kingsley loved Soren and Soren loved Nora in that book but now that I’ve almost finished #4, it’s obvious that Soren loves them both. I’d rather he choose one even if it is Kingsley.
      Tiffany is an amazing writer and these books have sucked me into their vortex. I can’t put them down. But please tell me, will I understand this unholy trinity more in the white years series?? Cxx PS. Sorry for the extended ramble!

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        LOL! No worries Casey. I think the whole warped concept is part of the incredible appeal of the series. There were many thing I found hard to swallow if I were to apply it to my OWN life, but within the context of this particular story, I think the extreme nature of the complications suit the tale very well. The problem, as far as I see it, is that we fall so hard and so deep for these realistic characters that we can’t help but project our own feelings onto them. That’s all good and well for “normal” romance genre books, but you have to admit that this one is as “out there” as they come. These people, if they really were to exist, does NOT think and feel the same way we do (GROSS GENERALISATION), so we can’t put ourselves in their positions. Also, the concepts of fidelity, beauty, and love, in this case, is definitely in the eye of the (very kinky) beholder. Hope that helps, girlfriend, and yes, I think you’ll find a little more peace in the White Years series.

        Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

