Between the covers book club

Hello, Lovely Ladies 🙂

I’m writing this post to you in the midst of a spring heatwave. Wow, it is SCORCHING  here ATM! Not that I’m complaining. I’d take the heat over the cold any day of the week 🙂

To the American readers, I hope you guys have a blessed Thanksgiving on Thursday. I think it would be a good day for ALL of us to take stock of the good things we have, the freedoms we take for granted, for safety, for health, and for our precious loved ones. I don’t generally like to use the blog as a platform for world issues, but in the immortal words of every beauty queen that ever was: Let’s live in peace!

MD-HappyThanksgiving_11-2012

I came across this in the week: I’m not entirely sure that it’s told me anything I didn’t already know, but it made for an interesting two minutes. CBS News brings us “22 Things you didn’t know about Fifty Shades of Grey.”

Romania small

Also, don’t forget that you can now start reading Meander in ROMANIAN, thanks to Paula, our resident Romanian translator. Kereny, as always, is hard at work on the Spanish version. 

BC

This week I read:

wiwy no

When I Was Yours by Samantha Towle was a lovely read. Sweet, sexy, and a little sad. A great standalone that’s not too much.

Night Owl by (the elusive) M Pierce, book one in the Night Owl series, was very interesting. The book is very well written, and the premise: intriguing. I will certainly be reading book two and three. Right now, I have no idea where this author (who seemed to have written this story about him or herself) is going with this tale and it’s very well developed male protagonist. LOL! That sounds as if he’s well endowed 😉 What I meant to say was that his written character traits and flaws are beautifully portrayed. Check it out if you’re looking for something new.

Currently I’m reading:

tn

Thirty Nights by Ani Keating, book one in the American Beauty series.

On my shelf I have:

ln ad te

Last Night and After Dark by M Pierce, book two and three in the Night Owl series (thank you, Susan)

&

Tough Enough by M Leighton, book two in the Tall, Dark and Dangerous series. Just a note on this one, it’s hella’ expensive for an ebook. I know Leighton is wonderful and all, but WOWZER!? I sincerely hope it’s worth the hype.

Here’s a picnic spot I want to go to….

Picnic

Looks like a real HAPPY PLACE. LOL! 😉

That’s it from me for this weekend, girls. Hope you stay happy and healthy this week!

Monique kiss

15 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, what’s a heatwave?? 😕 lol
    Well this week I attempted to read Cuffed by Eden Rose omg don’t waste your time trying to read this book the editing was so bad I gave up and it takes a lot for me to abandon a book. The storyline could have been good but there were actually words missing at times so what I did read was confusing and if I left it at all I had to go back a few pages so see what had happened so a big thumbs down from me.
    I then read Sinfully Mine by Kendal Ryan, this book I really enjoyed my only criticism would be at times it felt a bit rushed and was definitely too short.
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      I meant to say that I’m very interested in hearing your opinion on Thirty Nights, I’ve heard a lot about this book and I think I read a FSOG fan fiction story by this author

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Yeah, I can imagine it being hard to imagine when winter is nipping at your heels, Katherine. Thank you for letting us know about your book flop and also your treasured read of the week. I’ll check it out, but I feel the same way you do. A short read SUCKS! LOL! 😉

      Like

  2. Shirley Wilkinson says:

    It is -4c here in Canada. Expecting snow tomorrow :-(. So glad to see you are reading Thirty Nights. It seems like we have waited for years for Ani’s beautiful story to arrive on our Kindle. Ani Keating ( Surnois) is a very special author. And so is the story of Thirty Nights ❤

    Like

  3. Sharon Starr says:

    Hello, lovely LOG’s!! I am still in the world of Cameron the luscious turtle owner. I’m currently in Be With Me, the story of Cam’s sister and his best friend Jase. Read it before, but just following thru the series as it has been a long time. Don’t love this book as much as I did book one, but still like. The sister irritated me. But Jase made it worth a revisit.
    And I’m starting in on 30 nights. At one time, the entire story was posted on her blog as she wrote it (sounds familiar, doesn’t it, Monique?), and I’m enjoying seeing the changes she made to it in the editing process. So, review from me next week!
    Happy Thanksgiving, to all….even those of you down under and up over. LOVE the picnic sign!! THAT would be a great spot for a proper Thanksgiving feast!! Maybe that’s how the pilgrims got started?

    Like

  4. Casey says:

    Hi Monique, I have now finished reading all 8 Original Sinners books and all I can say is…..WOW! I didn’t think it would be my cup of tea but the writing is simply amazing and the characters are so captivating. I have a million comments and questions but for now, it’s WOW! Cxx

    Like

  5. crystal says:

    Hi ladies.
    I enjoying the cold here in Southern Oklahoma. IT got to 30F last night. Only issue is grandson is in football playoffs so the thought of setting in the cold rain this coming Friday night is not for the faint of hearts. But I will be there.

    Since we have been traveling to play in the playoffs I down loaded book #4, “Infatuation”, in the Club Destiny series. The writing was ok and the character were well developed but the sex just didn’t do it for me. The sex scene would start great but just stop before it really got going. For me is was a like orgsam denial. And I’m talking about MINE. The author never decrited his cock to my satifaction. Hell all the author did was call it a steel rod. BIG DAMN DEAL. Give me something I can sink my teeth into. All the other book did a good job with a wrap up, but this one left you knowing you need to buy #5. So horay for the money department. I would rate it a 3 out of 5.

    I am still reading the Original Sinner series. Just finished “The King” tonight. I needed tissues when Kingsley is talk to Grace about Soren’s son. I have a feeling by the time I finish the Queen I will need lots of tissues. I find it emotionally distressing to finish a series like this.

    As always I am reading Fanfiction. Hope someone can tell me the name Ani Keating, author of “Thirty Night”, writes under on fanfiction.
    Have a wonderful and Happy Thanksgiving to all you USA ladies and to the rest of you have a great week.
    Crystal
    USA
    PS I’m cooking a spatchock turkey for Thanksgivings. Look that word up!! Sounds dirty doesn’t it. HA HA HA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! And we all know how much orgasm denial sucks, right? What a pity, Crystal. Sometimes you have to kiss a literary frog to find your prince. Here is Ani’s blog: http://anikeating.com/ but I’m not sure if she still has anything up on FanFic. I suspect the novel she just published was her FSOG FanFic, but I could be wrong. Ani Sornois was her name. Yessss! Reisz’s tale will be sorely miss but I am curious to see what she comes up with next. Good luck watching your grandson’s game. I hope you manages to stay warm!! And more, I hope you find something to sink your teeth into!! LOL! Happy spatchcock Turkey making! We usually BBQ butterflied chicken like that 😉

      Like

      • Penny says:

        You are correct, Monique. She started it on FanFic as Ani Surnois, then was contacted by an agent and moved it from FanFic to her Blog. If memory serves, she had better copyright protection there. She finished the story on her blog, and then found a different agent and a publisher after several months, and changed to the name Ani Keating. I suspect it was easier to spell and pronounce! She started Book two as well, but I believe that has all been removed. She does have character profiles and interviews remaining on her blog.
        Spatchcock? That’s a new word for me!

        Liked by 1 person

Please, feel free to leave a comment

