Between the covers book club and Spanish chapter

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

My last weekend before I go back to the grindstone… *sigh* At least I got to have a great holiday! Much to be thankful for. Cheers to the new year and all the goodies it will bring.

IMG_3328

The Spanish readers will be delighted with Kereny’s latest translation. Please find chapter 69 in the sidebar. Yay!

venezuela small

I came across this little nugget on the 50 Shades of Grey Support Facebook page, a beautiful video montage of Christian and Ana…

Lovely, huh? 😉

This week I read:

fd

Fighting Destiny by Amelia Hutchins, book one in The Fae Chronicles series, was not for me. Strangely, the storyline and the paranormal aspect was not what put me off. I actually think the story has merit, but the writing was atrocious, incredibly repetitive. It’s filled with heat and action, though, so if you can look past the multitude of growling, paranormal beings, you might find it entertaining.

Currently I’m reading:

ts

The Score by Elle Kennedy, book three in the Off-Campus series is so far, so good. I almost always enjoy these well written, light hearted college-days books.

On my shelf I have:

tps

The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar. This one comes highly recommended, so look out for the review 😉

IMG_3067

That’s it for now, girls. Remember to share your best reads with us!

Monique kiss

29 thoughts on “Between the covers book club and Spanish chapter

  1. KereCB says:

    It has been a pleasure to be part of your team. Thank you for letting me be part of it.
    I’ll be back at work this week too. sooooo Back to reallity. I finished Aced by K. Bromber today. It was lovely to fall in love again with Colton and Ry’s story.
    Have a lovely day my friend
    Kx

    Like

  2. Lynn maclean says:

    I absolutely loved the paper swan a 5++++ from me xx

    Like

  3. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique well I’m FINALLY over my book slump!!
    I finished Dominator by DD Prince which was good, then I read part 2 of the series Truth or Dare, couldn’t put it down and looking forward to the final part coming 2016 hopefully soon.
    I’m anxiously waiting on Pucked Of which is due out this month, hoping it’s as good as the first one.
    Have a good week

    Like

  4. Sharon says:

    Thought that was a lovely FSOG montage. Gave a little sigh when it finished. Sorry Fighting Desire disappointed. I loved it, thought it was a lot of fun to and innovative (despite the new author repetition) she does improve in subsequent books. One of the dangers of self-publication, many new authors really need that guiding hand. Good and bad either way you go! Be warned…there may be more paranormal temptation in your future…just one with better writing! 🙂
    But we are on the same Elle Kennedy page. I bought the first two books of the series as they were on sale and highly rated. Was a bit bored with the frat party nonsense the first half of book one, “The Deal”. Then finally attached to the characters and enjoyed it and book two, “The Mistake”. Loved watching Logan prove his worthiness to win his girlfriend….too funny! So bought “The Score” and finished it today. Probably my least fave of the three…but really enjoyed all of them. (Voting Winston as best supporting character!) I’ll be on for book four when it comes to be.
    Opening now, “For the First Time”, 21 stories of first love, by various authors including Allesandra Torre. It is on sale…..thinking tonight The sale ends. I normally don’t care for compilations…but the story continued Hollywood Dirt….and opened with Corky swimming in the pool. Could not resist more of Corky!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      No worries! Thank you for the gift, Sharon. I agree on the Elle front! Yes, Logan was very innovative. So cute! And that scene with Winston on the bath edge?? Whahaha! Too funny.
      Really??? Torre has a sequel to Hollywood Dirt? I’m going to have to check that out! I LOVED Cocky!!!

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        No, no. It is an anthology. Twenty one short stories, twenty one different authors. Torre starts out with her story…I assume she is the biggest name, though I also enjoy Anna Zaires who is also listed. So usually these books have a couple of good stories, and the others not so much. I’ll let you know next week, but for .99 it was worth it just to visualize Cocky swimming laps in the family pool!

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Yeah, I got that it was short stories I just think it’s strange that she would publish a short that’s a sequel to an existing book. And I agree, I’m not crazy about the shorts either, you just get into a story and then it’s done, or worse, you waste time reading a dud. Please let us know next week, Sharon 🙂

          Like

  5. crystal says:

    Hi all you wonderful ladies’
    Well I’ve had lots of time to read lately since my son had been back to the hospital the last two weeks to get blood again. The bone marrow has not kicked back in yes. We see the hematolgist on Wednesday. Hoping and praying for a plan of care to improve things.

    I finished “The Original Sinner” series, and did cry a bit. I just loved the whole group of books. It is on my reread list and I would give the series a 5. Also love Tiffany’s web page with free stories. They are great also. Got a Amazon alert that Tiffany Riez has a new short story out called “The Assistant”, with some of the Original Sinner character. Will be on my “to read” list.

    I read book 4-5 and 6 of the Club Destiny series by Nicole Edwards. I really like her books. Book 4 “Infutation” was a 3.5. Good, well developed characters, sex scenes good, but not great. Had a much different story line that the others in this series and I liked that. Book 5 “Devotion” was fabulous. It had three of the best characters in the whole series, Serria, Luke and Cole. They are all lovers and married, not legally, but stilled married. Such love. The sex between the two guys will make you need new panties and the sex with all three makes you just throw away your panties and either grab your vibrator or partner
    I give it a 5 must read. Book 6 “Perception” was just so so for me. The characters had not been well estabilished in the others stories so a lot of book was back story. I think they will be showing up in the next few books. Sex was hot, but I wanted more on the look of the cock. I give it a 3. I plan to start book 7 tomorrow as I have to take hubby to the heart doctor.
    I just finished tonight the third book in the “This Man” series written by Jodi Ellen Malpas. The best and only part of the series that was worth the read was the last 100 pages of book 3 “Confession:” After the first 10 pages I wanted to toss in the bin. I find no redeeming quality in the male character, Jessie Ward. If he had said to me what he did to Ava the first time he met her, he would still be coughing from me kicking his ball so far up they would be stuck in his throat. He is ABusive, arrogant, controlling and manipulative. Christian Grey had nothing on this sorry controlling SOB. Someone in our group mentioned this series so I keep reading hopeing to find something worth while. This is zero recommendation on this series.
    As always Fanfiction in my nighttime reading and I’m finding lots of good stories and new authors.
    I need some reccomendation to restock my “to read” shelf. I like already completed Series. I am still waiting for the last Crossfire before starting to read that series. What about the “Chasing Fire” series. Someone had mentined it earlier? I’m planning on downloading the third “Pucked”. I’m hoping it’s more like the first and not the second. The first was great.
    I hope 2016 starts improving quickly for my family. 2015 was just not my family year.
    Love and best to y’all for the New Year.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      Hi Crystal sorry to hear your son is ill again, hope he improves soon.
      I’ve just read your review on This Man trilogy, wow you really didn’t like it. To be honest I’ve never liked Jesse and always wondered why the CG character got such a hard time when Jesse was 100 times worse, maybe because This Man isn’t as famous as FSOG?
      Anyway saying that I did love the trilogy and have read it several times.
      You should have a look at the books I’ve mentioned this week I really enjoyed them especially book 2

      Liked by 1 person

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey, Crystal. I’m so sorry your boy’s back in hospital. That must be so stressful.
      Well done on finishing OS. What a series, eh? Just incredible. Thanks also for the rec on Nicole’s latest. She sure does churn out books! Her writing capacity is phenomenal. Sylvia Day can definitely take a leaf from her book! Chasing Fire series is good, Crystal but VERY much like FSOG.

      Like

  6. crystal says:

    Katherine,
    I think you are talking about the book “Truth or Dare” you mentioned? Who wrote it? Is the sex really good and any BDSM? And you are correct I didn’t like Jessie Ward. Oh hell can you imagian This Man making it to the movies. Talk about a back lash.
    PS Hubby saw the heart dr today and is doing great.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

  7. crystal says:

    Thanks ladies for your suggestion.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Crystal, you might also enjoy the series I’m reading ATM: Dirty Billionaire by Meghan March. The Billionaire is very dirty indeed and his Country starlet is a rough and ready… LOL!

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi, Crystal. I think I might just have found the book for you. I’ve only just started but the hottie on the cover is DIVINE, and his nickname is Subway, not after the train, but after the sandwich store… You know, where you buy a 12 inch Hero?? ‘Nuf said…. 😉

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ha! And I forgot to add the book name and author!! Whaha! Very bright of me!! The book is called The Baller by Vi Keelan. Check it out, Crystal 😉

      Like

  8. Sharon says:

    Crystal…sure hope you find a positive treatment plan for your son, and that you have strong support around you. So scary and I think of you often. I enjoyed the This Man series, but it stayed as a “strong like” for me, and Jesse never quite rang my bells as he did for so many. I only read it once, but likely will do so again one of these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sharon says:

    AND….since we all love our teasers, here is one just for my fellow book club ladies! I have some sizzling hot Tiffany Reisz news to share! .Coming your way in Monique’s next issue of Between The Covers!! Can’t wait to tell you…..(but I’m gonna!)

    Like

  10. Penny says:

    Whaaaat?…..That’s just cruel! I don’t handle teasers well, when is the next issue??!! Need to know!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Casey says:

    Hi Sharon and Monique, is it about TCOMS? I’m very excited about that ;-)!!!! Cxx

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

