Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

How are you this fine weekend? Funny how the first week back at work erases all memory of holidays past 🙂

Yay! We finally have some news concerning Darker. Thank you for all the emails I recieved sharing the news. I love that you guys think of me when you come across a juicy FSOG tidbit! It seems Kim Basinger will be playing Elena in Darker. Personally I think the blonde bombshell will portray the aging beauty that’s supposed to be The Bitch Troll, very well. 

kim bas

You can read more on the subject from Variety or the Laters, Baby! site.

BC

This week I read:

tb a s

The Baller by Vi Keeland, a Down and Dirty Football novel, taught me, once again, that you should never judge a book by it’s cover. With Mr Muscles on the front, I expected a naughty poolside read, but what I got was a stunningly great book. The characters were well developed and the story had a surprising depth. And what to say about the delightful Brody, A.K.A Subway? Think Mal Ericson with his charming cheek, plus, of course, a body that simply does not quit. I loved this unexpected read.

Appealed by Emma Chase, book three in the Legal Briefs series, was another great read. I wasn’t crazy about the first book in the series, but I’ve enjoyed each subsequent book more and more. Emma is always witty but still manages to build full and plausible characters. You don’t have to read these books in order.

Sebring by Kristen Ashley, book five in the Unfinished Hero series, started out great. She set up the story for a magnificent climax, but for me, it fizzled out in the end. The conclusion came way too easily given the scary possibilities that she built into the tale. Nevertheless, it was a good book bar the long, run-on sentences that made me stop at times. Again, you don’t have to read these books in order as each book features their own hero, but I would suggest you do, as it makes the series richer knowing the background of the characters that reappear.

On my shelf I have:

b

Betrayal by Aleatha Romig, book one in the Infidelity series. Thank you, MAC for the rec 😉

And as the month is drawing to a quick close, here are the books we can expect from our fav authors in February:

f1

f2

f3

f4

As always, please note that the links aren’t live. These are screenshots taken from the Goodreads site.

IMG_2586

LOL! 😉

Have a happy reading weekend, girls!

Monique kiss

14 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. FLMaddy says:

    🙂 Just finished The Baller and wished it was another 200 pages. Thanks for another terrific rec !

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi ladies, loved the Monday must be a man Monique very funny.
    Well last week based on your review Monique I read The Paper Swan, really enjoyed it and loved Damien but I found myself wishing he would just kill Skye I couldn’t stand her throughout the book.
    Ballers was recommended to me by Amazon I ignored it but after your review ill give it a go.
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed The Paper Swan, Katherine. Nice and intricate, huh? I really enjoyed The Baller, but even if you don’t, with a book cover like that, you can hardly go wrong. LOL! Yessss, the joke made me giggle too! Funny stuff 😉 Thank you for weighing in on this week’s post, Katherine 😘

      Like

  3. Kate Fornear says:

    On FSD….I think Kim B. will bring some class to Darker. Her age is much closer to Marcia G. Harden’s than other hopefuls who fans were wanting for the part….Charlize Theron, for example. Hope there are some cat fights between those 2 on screen!

    Like

  4. Hi Monique and ladies happy new year. I also think Kim bassinger will do well she seems to fit the elena description perfectly and she is still quite stunning. We have to remember elena is grace’s friend and I gather she is closer to her age. So looking forward to hearing other casting news.
    I’m currently reading dark wild night and I am loving these books immensely. Can’t wait for the next one to be released. February is going to be a great month for reading with all these amazing books being released. Hope you all have a lovely week. Happy reading

    Like

  5. Sharon says:

    Hi ladies, I was unexpectedly snagged into a paranormal series called “Dark Protectors” by Rebecca Zanetti. Very enjoyable with a family of Hot Tall Dark Virile Vampire Brother Immortals that each try to resist the lifetime vampire mating with the one particular woman that happens to give them major fireworks. Woof. Good formula, that. They are non-typical vampires, only suck in a little blood during sex which does REALLY good things to lady bits…and are perfectly happy out in the sun. One orgasm like the one they give their ladies would probably be the death of me. And, of course, in the books the ladies never get just one….kind of lose count after a while. Hot stuff…and lots of it.
    Nice review on Baller….will look forward to that after I recover from all the multiple orgasms in the current series.
    I haven’t read ONE comment anywhere that was unhappy about the Kim Basinger casting. I think that is a first for our FSOG series!! Think they hit a homerun finally! I do see social media starting to heat up in anticipation of the new films getting started.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oohh, hot threesome vamps sounds like fun, Sharon! Thank you for the rec. And yes, seems like Kim is being welcomed into the Fifty fold, though I still think Sharon Stone has a harder edge that would suit the role of Elena better. Kim has always seems so kind, girl-next-door, fresh beauty to me. Let’s hope she can do Bitch Troll well! LOL!

      Like

  6. sharon says:

    I was rooting for Charlize Theron myself, but I’m very happy with Kim Basinger. I can easily visualize her pulling the wool over Grace’s eyes. Bring on the Bitch Troll!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

