Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂 

I hope y’all had a great week! I really am on a fantastic reading streak at the moment. I think I’ve added more books to my favorites list in the last month than I have since I’ve started reading this genre. Yay!

The Romanian readers will be pleased, I’ve just updated the Romanian chapters. Please find the newly translated chapter 3 in the sidebar. Thank you, Paula!

Romania small

We had more casting news this week as more supporting roles get filled for Darker…..

Robinne Lee will be playing Ros, Christian’s 2IC.

rl

And Fay Masterson will be acting as the lovely Mrs Jones.

fm

This choice surprised me. I always pictured Mrs Jones an older lady. 

Then, Cosmo has some fun with Fifty. Check out this cute article featuring Rebel Wilson from Pitch Perfect fame….

Moviepilot has some ideas on how to improve the Fifty franchise with Darker…

drawing

Needless to say, the old “more raunch” nugget features heavily. It’s not a suggestion I’m personally on board with. For Fifty, I’m definitely in the less-is-more camp, but I think we can almost be certain that more lovin’ is on the cards. I got this link from the Fifty Shades of Grey News Facebook page.

I love this movie poster from the Laters Baby site:

IMG_3806

It makes it all seem so real… 🙂

BC

This week I read:

ssoc a sool

Some Sort Of Crazy by Melanie Harlow, book two in the Happy Crazy Love series was another great read from this Frenched spin-off series . I adore a book with the perfect balance of hot, sweet and longing.

 Adore by Nina Lane, book four in the Spiral Bliss series, was fantastic. Apart from the flawless, touching writing, the content is extremely pertinent. I easily identify with the real-life scenarios. Where a lot of the books in our genre can almost qualify as fantasy for all their hot, OTT lovin’, Nina’s books are so very real, the characters so plausible as they struggle with issues I can almost guarantee you see in your very own life. The wonderful thing is though that it doesn’t distract from the heat between the characters. It just goes to show, you can write a stunning, exciting series without the despotic billionaire falling for the vulnerable virgin. Not that I don’t love that particular story – as you all know, but it’s just nice to see a little realism.

Some Sort Of Love by Melanie Harlow, book 3 in the Happy Crazy Love series, was good, but not quite the standard I’ve come to expect from this writer. Perhaps I’ve just read too much from her lately.

Currently I’m reading:

bts

Break The Sky by Nina Lane, a spin-off book from the Spiral Bliss series.

Seeing as I’m from the Land Down Under, I’ll leave you with a little creepy crawly from home…

spider

Have a great weekend, girls. Don’t forget to share your best reads with us!

Monique kiss

8 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. lizziels says:

    Hi, Monique. Are you sure about the roles for Fay and Robinne? I would have thought Fay would be Ros, the redhead second in command and Robinne would fit the brief for either Prescott or the receptionist at SIP.

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique I looked at the Spiral of Bliss books and discovered I’ve already read them and also Break the Sky which I loved so hope you enjoy it.
    Well this week I read Legend and glad to see katy Evans is back on form. My only problem was the age of Maverick I always assumed the Scorpion was the same age as Remy so that was a bit strange for me to get my head around.
    I’ve noticed Club Destiny mentioned here so decided to have a look at them I read Convection but won’t read anymore 0-100 in a week just doesn’t do it for me and I thought the author waffles a lot, details we really don’t need, I actually flicked until the interview as I found the beginning very boring.
    So nothing more to read and looking for something to get my teeth into.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Katherine. Yes, I agree with you on Legend. It was good! I’ve read a few Club Destiny books, but no great shakes for me either. Have you read Wicked Sexy Liar by Christina Lauren yet? I remember you enjoyed the first one in the series. As far as the Spiral Bliss series goes, I read the first three ages ago and then I sorta’ lost touch with the books. Adore was lovely so I’m happy to be reconnected. Have a good weekend, Kath 😉

      Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Crap. Now I have to check the bed for spiders plotting revenge!! Eek! I like the lady for Roz….didn’t have a strong visual locked in for her. Mrs Jones doesn’t match up, but as long as she comes across warm and motherly, she will be OK. And Taylor has to be hot for her, so can’t be as motherly as my mental image.
    From my one-click history, I had the prequel and books 1-3 from Kallypso Masters “Rescue Me” saga. So, didn’t like the prequel, book one was ok…liked book 2 quite a bit, and rather enjoying book 3. So glad I had all those books to discover why it is a popular series. I wouldn’t have gone this far otherwise. It goes on to 6 or so books, I understand. I may go there someday…but for now finishing up on a high note with book 3 and moving on. Definitely BDSM, and some excellent research done on the details. So cautious thumb up, but be aware you have to wade a bit to find the good read.
    Going with Aleatha Romig next….interesting reviews on her work, looking forward to seeing what I think. Her writing style is easy to read…so we will see.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahaha. I avoid revenge by making sure they are no more! Eeekkkkk! And they are BIG over here! LOL for Taylor having the hots for motherly types. You never know, it takes all sorts. Perhaps he’s into that sort of thing… 😉 Let us know what you think of Romig books. Good to hear from you, girlfriend!

      Like

  4. Mrs. G says:

    I loved the first three Spiral of Bliss, so excited for sure about the fourth. I read Break the Sky after the first 3 novels…LOVED it! Archer West is the hot, rebel younger brother of Dean and gives him a run for his money in the who’s hotter dept. I’m liking the FSOG characters so far, other than the Mrs. Jones choice. I pictured older as well. The choice for Roz is great to me. Sawyer is a cutie! I’m with you on the need for “more” in this movie. And, like Ana, “more” means a relationship, dialogue, content…not just sex. The first movie did not depict why Ana falls for Christian. And above all, book 2 is my favorite! Hollywood cannot screw this up for me!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

