Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 😉

What a busy week. Phew! I’m REALLY happy to see the weekend.

As far as I know, not much is happening in our Shady world ATM apart from Tyler Hoechlin landing the role of Boyce Fox, the author Ana meets in Freed. (Thank you, Laters, Baby site) Not sure why he’s being cast now as the coming movie is supposed to be all about Darker, but I have to say it’s an interesting choice as he’s hot enough to play CG himself….

 

Suddenly I looking forward to the first trailer of Darker 😉

Though not related to FSOG, I loved this fan made trailer of Ava and Jesse, the hot couple from the This Man series.

And this one also because, well: Jesse Pavelka….

Enjoy!

BC

This week I read:

bts r

Break The Sky by Nina Lane was a fantastic read and is just what you would expect from this entertaining writer. The story is solid, the writing flawless, and the boy is bad AND hot. What more can a girl ask for? I loved it.

Ricochet by Keri Lake, book one in the Ricochet series was not for me. It came highly recommended, and I can certainly see the legitimacy of the book, but I simply cannot read anything that’s this dark. I had to abandon it about one third in. The premise is hard enough to swallow, but coupled with the horrific storyline, the read left me feeling deeply disturbed. Perhaps I’m just a big softie, but I prefer my books on the lighter side.

Currently I’m reading:

wtc

Worth The Chance by Vi Keeland, book two in the MMA Fighter series. After the horrors of Ricochet I needed something to chase the dark away. Let’s hope that Vince is up to the job…

On my shelf I have:

po

Perfect Opposite by Zoya Tessi – another recommendation.

With March just around the corner, let’s see what lies ahead in terms of new releases…

m1

m2

m3

m4

I’m especially excited about The Confessions by Tiffany Reisz! Yay! As always, the links aren’t live as the pics are screenshots taken from the fabulous Goodreads site.

jokeeee

Have a lovely week, girls. See ya’ next Sunday unless something exciting happens before then…

Monique kiss

20 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. lizziels says:

    Hi, again, Monique. The films Darker and Freed are being filmed back to back so I imagine that sequences filmed in a particular location will be done in a packet, so to speak! I understand all the filming for both is taking place between now and July sometime.Tyler Hoechlin does look pretty good! Never heard of him before! 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh yeah, I completely forgot about that! Thank you for reminding me. I don’t know much about him either, but I do remember he was dream cast for Christian’s role before casting for the first movie started…

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique
    This has proven the point I made last week the supporting roles in the Fifty movies are hotter than the leads!! This is doing my head in I could scream every time you post a new picture lol.
    Anyway I’m intrigued by Ricochet I’ll have to have a look to see what it’s about for you to stop reading.
    This week I started the After Hours series by Elle Kennedy, I read One Night of Sin and One Night of Scandal really enjoyed both of them loved all of the characters in both books.
    I’m about to make a start on the final instalment One Night of Trouble hopefully it will be as good as the previous two.
    Have a great week everyone.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, it’s odd. I’m wondering now who Erika would have chosen to play GC had she been in charge of the first movie. Anyway, nothing we can do about that now…
      I LOVE Elle Kennedy! I especially enjoyed her college series books. I love a good story about a hunky sporty player falling hard! 😉 Oohhh, I’m gonna have to check out the series you’re talking about… Yay for new good reads! X

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oops, I forget to reply about Ricochet. For me, it was worse than Bang, Katherine!

      Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Wow….Tyler is a hot piece of man cake. I’m not familiar with him, but think I must force myself to check him out. Hope they are keeping in mind not to over-shadow Jamie. Jamie is a cutie patootie, but was never “book Christian” level for me.
    Was Break The Sky a stand-alone? I read Consequences by Aleatha Romig. It didn’t disturb me on the level that it did your other reader a couple of weeks back. I knew it was a dark book, and I don’t mind a dark read now and then. But…the loving wasn’t hot enough to keep my interest, and I have to love something about the alpha guy to get invested….and this book didn’t take me there. So the writing and twists were quite good, but I didn’t get enough out of it to go for the five book time and money investment. I think someone that enjoys intrigue, doesn’t mind the dark, and isn’t after those major Alpha heart flutters would like this series quite a bit.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, I agree with you Sharon. Jamie is not panty melting material for me either.
      Yes, Break the Sky is a stand alone but a spin-off from the Spiral Bliss series. If you’re keen to try this author it would be a good book to start with as the Spiral Bliss series is a four book series plus shorts. Great feedback on the Romig book, Sharon. The series I’ve read by her is pretty hot, so I guess she’s improved in that department. And for now I have definitely had enough of dark books. Bring on the light!!! LOL!

      Like

  4. chappedhands says:

    Thanks for your fabulous blog. I’m following you on Good Reads and just wanted to indicate that it is where I follow your ratings of books and buy them — so thank you for that too.

    dawn

    On Sat, Feb 27, 2016 at 9:09 PM, fifty shades of grey and more wrote:

    > Monique Lain posted: “Hello, lovely ladies 😉 What a busy week. Phew! I’m > REALLY happy to see the weekend. As far as I know, not much is happening in > our Shady world ATM apart from Tyler Hoechlin landing the role of Boyce > Fox, the author Ana meets in Freed. (Thank you, Later” >

    Like

  5. renee says:

    Tyler played a mature role in the beginning series of MTV “Teen Wolf” I think he’s HOT enough to play Gideon Cross if they can’t get Henry Cavil.

    Like

  6. Renee says:

    Let me be more specific–Tyler had a prominent role I believe the first 3 seasons (could be more). He could change into an alpha wolf. He was never killed and could reprise his role if the writers of the show choose to do so. He was a bad guy that changed for the better. The major star of the series trust him. He has the good looks, physique, and acting skills to play a major role. IMO

    Like

  7. aimeerhiannon says:

    I’ve looked at Ricochet before, but just reading the synopsis has me going ehh.
    It’s been a bit boring here in the final countdown to the start of the semester. I’ve been slowly getting through more of Lawless by TM Frazier so I can move on to Soulless. I’ve just added Beautiful Boss to my library and will probably start it tonight after class.
    I’ve got Changing Rein by Anne Jolin waiting, and as a dressage rider myself, I’d be greatly disappointed if it was lacking research-wise. Meghan March’s Dirty Billionaire series is on the pile as well. I’ve read the first two books in her Beneath series. I liked the first one, the second one I found a bit eh and the bloke was a bit of a twat.
    These will probably have to wait some, or I’ll blast through them as I have to read Shakespeare and Austen for my Lit class, and I can’t think of anything more boring.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Good luck with the classes and Lit reading. Phew, suddenly I’m profoundly grateful for having reading choices. Frazier’s books are pretty good but I have to be in the mood for something darker. I started reading Lawless a little while back but had to put it down with the first gruesome bump in the road. Hopefully I’ll get to return to it some time….

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    Hi LOGS… Hugs to all. I read “Legend” just finishing it up and actually I really liked it. Did not read all that series though and still found myself attached to the characters. I also finished very quickly the second book of Sin & Suffer ( match of Ruin & Rule) it was good but draggy for me. Still liked the story though and of course I am a sucker for a good ending. I think I might go with Katherine and get a sample of Ricochet before taking the plunge.
    So lets chat about the FSOG… I think we all agree the people coming into play now far surpass our ” hot and sexy” wishes for Ana & Christian. But as Monique says, too late now. But it won’t hurt to have all the sexy yummy characters around them!!!! The last guy they hired is HOT… Jamie just never had the build or intense eyes that Christian had “in my mind of course”… But that is a whole other dark topic!! 😇

    So you should be posting next right on my birthday!! Yay!! 29 again… Treated myself to a present a day all week… Just need a hot new book now to match!! Hey anyone see the only 3 star rating and high price for our last Gideon book!! I guess we are sorta stuck though cause well it’s GIDEON she really has us over a barrel. It better be good!!

    Hugs 💋

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi MAC! I also enjoyed Legend, much more than Manwhore. And Ricochet gave me nightmares, so nope, will not be going there again. Some stuff can never be unread! LOL!
      Yeah, I think we have consensus of the pretty peeps of Darker…. Nothing to do now but watch and wait.
      Yesssss! I pre ordered Gideon and OUCH! for the price, but it’s like you say, she’s got us by the short and curlies… But still so many loose ends! That book better be a 500 pager! Great to hear from you, girl! Thanks for weighing in! 😉

      Like

  9. Bianca S says:

    I am always looking for exciting new “steamy reads.” Thanks for sharing this list with your readers. I just finished a really good book called “Boredom or Love Till the Very End” by author Andrey Rider. This book is rated NC-17!! Provocative, uninhibited, super sexual and a lot of fun. The reason I enjoyed it so much because not only is it a really addictive fiction novel it is also considered a self help book. Feel like your relationship needs some passion? Then this is a must read! After I read this I was ready to bring some of these scenarios to the bedroom 🙂 Can’t recommend it enough!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

