Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

It feels as though the year is hurtling by. Do you also feel as if life is passing you by in a flash of blurred images? Add to that the never-ending cycle of work plus home responsibilities and WHAM! Time is gone before you know it. Just another good reason to not waste time on reading cr@p! LOL! 

Let’s start with some movie news, shall we? Sharon shared this lovely fan-made poster. I love how creative people get around things they feel passionate about. 

Poster

YouTube is PACKED with photo montages of the filming so we’re spoilt for choice. Here is Christian consoling a very upset Ana…

And this one shows Ana buying Christian’s birthday gift:


Lastly, Susan shared this site: 50 Shades Girl Portland has MORE than enough pics to keep you busy for hours. Check it out if you want MORE 😉 

BC

This week I read:

onos1 l cb

One Night of Scandal by Elle Kennedy, book two in the After Hours series, was exactly what I’ve come to expect from this author. It was a great read that can stand alone despite being part of a series.

Licked by Brooke Blaine (a new author for me), book one is the LA Liaisons series, was good. A cute, (almost) quirky poolside read.

Cocky Bastard by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland was AWESOME! So far, every book I’ve read from Keeland has tickled my fancy so I’ll definitely be looking into Ward now that I’ve read something they’ve co-written. This funny, well-written story had everything including a hella’ plot twist in the middle. I loved it enough to give it my BOB. Yay!

BOB png

Currently I’m reading:

sacked

Sacked by Jen Frederick, book one in the Gridiron series.

Exciting things to come this week…

lc tc

Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre and the long awaited The Confessions by Tiffany Reisz. Squeeeee!

IMG_3835

LOL!

See ya’ next week, girls. Have a lovely weekend.

Monique kiss

17 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique,
    I totally agree time is passing by so quickly its frightening!! My mum always says the older you are the quicker it goes!!! Wise wee woman lol
    Well this week I read Ricochet and I have to say that even though I found the start a little slow in the end I loved it and the twist that I didn’t expect had me shouting out “no way” it really was so good in my opinion.
    It is funny that you have mentioned Cocky Bastard, I bought it a few weeks ago after reading Baller and ended up putting it down I found the male lead, can’t even remember his name lol just seemed like a complete asshole to me but after seeing your review and you giving it a BOB award I’m going to have another crack at it
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine! I suspected Ricochet would turn out to be quite good, I just CAN’T read things that give me nightmares. Admittedly, I stopped right at its worst in terms of horrid, graphic detail, and the reader who recommended it said that if I pushed through I would not be disappointed, but damn, already it gave me sleepless nights!
      I hear you about the male lead in Cocky Bastard. He certainly seemed to be a bit of a d!ck. Initially I thought, hell, what a chop. Turns out, he hid his attraction behind being an ass. LOL! I loved it in the end, and I LOVED the twist. Let me know what you think if you go that way again, Kath 🙂

      Like

  2. KereCB says:

    Can’t wait for Love. Chloe. Alessandra Torre is one of ny favorite authors 🙂

    Like

  3. crystal says:

    HI ladies.
    It’s rainy here in Southern Oklahoma but the weather has been warm enough that my potatoes are already coming up in the garden. son continue to improve.
    The man on the cover of Tiffany Reize book The Confessions is what wet dreams are made of. Never seen a more beautiful man!!!!!

    I finished Nicole Edward book 2 “Zane” in the Alluring Indulgent series . It was so damn hot with a very intriguing story line. Lots of m/m/f and m/m. I had planned to read another book but loved book 2 so much have jumped right into book 3 “Travis”. Each book is written mainly about one of the Walker brothers but the other family members are woven throught out each book.
    Have a great week ladies.
    Crystal
    USA
    Yes life goes faster and faster until you one day stop and relize things don’t work like they use to and that thing have either fallen out or fallen down. Thank God for the memories. If I had known back in my youth what I know and feel now, I would have fucked more, drank more and taken more risk. And that is saying a lot compaired to all that I did do. HA HA

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      lol so funny Crystal

      Liked by 1 person

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Oh my! 20/20 hindsight, huh? Yeah, if only we knew then what we know now! So happy that your son is n the mend, Crystal and that your green finger seems to be thriving. LOL! I’m going to have to check out Zane. You can never go wrong with a hot 3-way book! Great hearing from you, girlfriend! 🙂

      Like

  4. Sharon says:

    Hi Ladies, finished “Frenched” by Melanie Harlow….LOVED it! Lucas is now in my top ten For BBF. Haven’t decided yet who comes off to make room…..wish all decisions were that yummy! Got book two….wasn’t nuts about paying $2.99 for a 99 page novella, but I was in love, so I did. Guess that is the sign of a good story. I am moving on….but marked this writer to come back and finish her related stories.
    Got a book called “Sparrow” by L.J. Shen. On sale for .99, I just picked it from an Amazon list, read the intro pages and clicked my one-click button! Her first book, standalone….enjoyed very much. Hot, delicious, Mobster takes innocent girl that grew up in his neighborhood, informs her she will be his wife….and she struggles to find her place in her unexpected new life. Nice and HOT in all of our favorite spots! Recommend you read the first pages and see if it is for you. Really refreshing to read a standalone in this romance world of series!
    Then read the most recent book by Karen Moning. Very well written paranormal Fever series with awesomely hot men and things. Loved it…but her cliffhanger has traumatized me beyond belief, and she takes a year to get the next book out.
    So….know on March 15 I am all about Confessions by Tiffany Reisz….but that won’t take long. Will flip a coin to see what comes after…
    Love the Christian poster. Keep envisioning that gorgeousness in front of me saying “Yes Mistress, all yours” as Christian the submissive. ‘Tis what dreams are made of…

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I LOVED the whole Frenched series AND the spin-off series. Harlow is a great writer, Sharon. I think your top 10 book boyfriends should become 20! No need to knock someone off the list??! That’s just brutal. The more, the merrier, I say! LOL! Why are you concerned that the mob book might not be for everyone? Is it very violent?
      Yessss, excited for Reisz’s book! Isn’t one-click-buy AWESOME? Best thing eva’!
      The poster is gorgeous, Sharon. Thank you for sharing! 😉

      Like

      • sharon says:

        For .99, I think no one could go wrong. But I always prefer to read the first few pages to see if they hook me in any way. This one sucked me right in. (Why did he DO that to her?!!) I enjoy a hot book with a storyline that isn’t typical, and also nice to have a standalone. No cliffhanger on this one!! Just a tad on the dark side, but I think it just edges there. I like to switch between different tones of books between readings. Especially between series.

        Like

  5. sharon says:

    And I guess to go a little bit further….if you don’t like some mobster like behavior – then “Sparrow” probably is not for you. He does do some mobstery (is that a word?) bad type things…but I didn’t have to shut my eyes once. And it had an awesome major twist I didn’t see coming!!

    AND…picked my next book. One of the major authors at my October event is Tessa Bailey. Hadn’t read anything by her, but obviously many people have. The book is a cop romance “Protecting What’s His”. Love the title, I’ll let you know if I love the book.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oohhh! I LOVE Tessa Bailey!!! HOT and absolutely action packed! Her Alphas compare to none! Enjoy, girlfriend! Thanks for the insight into Sparrow. I seem to be wayyyy more impulsive with my clicking than you are! LOL! Perhaps that’s why I’ve wracked up a long list of “abandoneds” on Goodreads! I’ll check it out. As long as its not too violently graphic I think I could probably look the other way where crimi stuff is concerned… 😘

      Like

  6. MAC says:

    Hi Ladies!! Miss ya
    Well like Katherine I fell into Ricochet. Never saw that plot twist coming!! I do agree it is a wee bit intense but I like how the entire story was followed through to the end and left in a good place. I would definitely read part 2.
    Hahaha… I went to Love Chloe right after Ricochet and I needed it. It may not be an award winner but it kept me reading. Just think it could have been so much more. The author builds you up and you think…okay this is it… Nope. Okay. See what you think…it was a nice read after the intense Ricochet.
    Curtis ~ from Nicole Edwards disappointing especially given her sizzling ability to write “sex”. I said it before… With so many series and book genres she is not doing justice to her gift. That is only my obscenely humble opinion.

    Excited for Confession!! And yes Monique I bit the price bullet so I can do the final walk of Gideon with my LOG peeps!!

    💋

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey girlfriend. Good to see you! Glad you could push through Ricochet. Perhaps one day I’ll go back to it.
      Love, Chloe was cute, and like you say, a great antidote to dark and dangerous Ricochet.
      So? You pre-ordered Gideon? Me too! I’m a little nervous, I have to tell you. Sooooo much riding on this novel… Can she possibly live up to our expectations?

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

