Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🙂

So? How was your week? Mine was off-the-charts busy. *sigh* It only takes one day back at work for me to forget I ever had a break. LOL!

Firstly, I’d like to share this: a reader from Germany with a serious Fifty crush. Check out her licence plates and the little FSOG inscriptions below…

car2

car1

Cute, huh? #CGLovin’ 😉

This past week, Susan shared this with me from the Fifty Shades of Grey Fan site: some movie pics of Jamie in what we assume is the meadow of the house on the sound. It got us talking about how smoking hot a defined and veined male forearm is, especially if it comes with a chunky watch. Very, very nice.

arms2 arms1

Do you agree, girls? Height of hot maleness, right? And note the rings of wedded bliss 😉

I got this great nugget from Angelique. I love this “happy-ever-after” shot of our favorite couple and their little Teddy…

happy ever after

And this, because: Jamie…

jamie

Another interesting find by Susan is this article from E Online: Why We’re Way More Confident in the 50 Shades Sequels. It gives me hope!

BC

This week I read:

sus sa

This week, the almost reading slump I briefly touched on a month ago was back, full tilt. It started out with a disappointing Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward. As much as I absolutely adored Cocky Bastard (CB), in contrast, Stuck-Up Suit was, at best, a poolside read. Though the story is sweet, it felt very short, almost rushed. Such a pity, considering how romantically nourishing I found CB. Then, there was none of the intensity I felt in the connection between the previous book’s characters, but it did make me smile at times. Lastly, I felt the lovin’ was cursory, the low-fat version, if you will. The pair made for a good team in the past, I’m not sure what went wrong.

Stanton Adore by T.L. Swan, book one in the Stanton series, capped the downward spiral of my book choices. Let me start out by saying that the story has merit, but the writing is so bad, it killed all the pleasure I might have gotten from the story. What a shame. For a paid, published book a great editor is worth their weight in gold. Just sayin’.

On my shelf I have:

h

Hush by E.K. Blair, book three in the Black Lotus series. I’ve been a little scared to pick this up. The first two, though good, were harrowing in parts, but luckily I got a reassuring email this weekend that may give me the courage to go here next. Yes, I am an emotional sissy! LOL! I always think that the world is so full of horrible that I don’t want to spend my free time reading more hurt and horror. Will let you know my thoughts, and if you’ve read it already, please feel free to share.

Thank you for listening to me rant, ladies. Hopefully I’m onto new and beautiful reading highs this week. And talking about this coming week… I am looking forward to Kylie Scott’s new series, Dive Bar. Remember her? She wrote the awesome Stage Dive series, book two of which still features in my top ten reads. I LOVED cocky Mal Ericson. #BookBoyfriend

d

I’ll leave you with an undeniable truth:

pants

Oh dear. LOL! 😉 

If you have a great book to share or if you want to warn us away from a cr@ppy read, this is the place!

See ya’ next week!

Monique kiss

21 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    lol the shorts are hilarious but horrific at the same time 😁
    So I have just finished Hush, out of all 3 books this is the one least likely to give you a nervous breakdown lol. I enjoyed it a lot until the epilogue I don’t want to say too much but It ruined the book for me I just thought it was stupid!
    I would’ve been happier if she’d have just done without an epilogue.
    I’ve nothing to read now struggling to get good reads so would appreciate any suggestions ladies.
    Have a good week

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine. Yup, those shorts are something else!! LOL! Oh dear! An epi spoiling a whole book?? That’s sad. And being bookless sucks! Good luck finding something worthwhile, Kath. Do you you like Kristen Proby? I see she’s got a new one out: Listen to Me. And the MMA fighter series by Vi Keeland makes for yummy fillers. Let us know where you go next, girlfriend! 😘

      Like

  2. gmbizette says:

    Love the pics!!!! 😉

    Like

  3. I am so looking forward to read Dirty. I loved the stage dive series. I did start with with book one in Black lotus series, but never had the heart to pick-up the second book. 🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      She’s a fantastic writer, Mariana. I love how each of the Stage Dive guys had their own distinct personalities. I don’t blame you for not going to book two of the Black Lotus series. It’s hectic.

      Like

    • lizziels says:

      I am glad I am not the only one to feel that about the Black Lotus series.I started to read the 2nd book but just couldn’t and I generally enjoy dark stories. The books sat on my Kindle for quite a while but I’ve now deleted both. A shame as they are well written.

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        I’m always curious about the writing process for an author who chooses to write about such tough topics. I know, for me, I live through what my characters go through, laughing with them, crying with them. I don’t know how you manage to write them into such sad and horrible circumstances, though I understand the need to use fiction to create awareness for all sorts of issues. But like you say, at least it’s well written 🙂

        Like

  4. Carmela Dimattia says:

    Hi ladies. Hope you’re all better Monique. After a very busy few days with my daughters high school formal and being sidelined with a pulled ligament in my foot I have decided to take some time for me. Currently I’m reading the corps security series by Harper Sloan. I am enjoying these books immensely. After reading one with you I was going to take a break from reading but a friend recommended these books and so here I am and I’m glad because they’re great. I still have quite a few books on my bookshelf so hopefully I will be busy for quite a while. Enjoy your week ladies and happy reading

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m great now, Carmela. Thank you. Sounds like you had a rough week. I’ve torn ligaments across my foot a few times now and it’s damn painful. Good luck with your recovery. I’ve just checked out Harper Sloan’s books. Looks promising, Carmela, but I’m always hesitant when there are a few editing issues in the blurb. Will you please let me know what the editing is like? After the unsatisfying book I’ve just abandoned I can’t handle another dud! LOL! Thanks for the share, girlfriend.

      Like

  5. Sharon says:

    Busy workweek out of town, so very little reading, sad to say. I’m about mid-way thru Stuck-up Suit. Adored the cover and the teaser. Sorry wasn’t your cup of tea, Monique. When I started reading, I was thinking it wasn’t going to be my cup of tea either…but I’m quite enjoying it now just as a light, amusing read, and a bit different. That was what I wanted after the tsunami named Gideon Cross. Hoping I will continue to enjoy…we will see.
    Love seeing the FSOG pix. I rarely watch TV, but turned it on in the hotel last week, and there was movie #1! Of course, I still had my “I wish” moments that were left out of the movie, but I popped some popcorn and still had just a lovely evening with Christian. Will be popping with excitement when movie # 2 is released!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Sharon. I can’t say I didn’t like it, but considering how much I loved Cocky Bastard, I had very high hopes. It’s sweet, but light. Did you notice that the sex is heavily toned down? I’m very curious why they decided to do that. And you’re right, the cover is an absolute pleasure to look at! Boy, that man is smoking! Sounds like your week was busy too. Hopefully you’ll have more time for book lovin’ this week. Thank you though, for thinking of me. I’m touched. Happy week, girlfriend 😉

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        Hmmm. Haven’t made it to the toned down sex yet…maybe not enjoying it as much as I thought, LOL. I’ll let you know!! 🙂

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Yeah, I’m curious if it’s just my perception. The story has so much potential otherwise. Personally I think they could have done so much more with it as the premise is really good.

          Like

          • Sharon says:

            Nope, you were quite right. Very toned down sex. Surprising coming from those two. The suit had soooo much more potential to him, but they just glossed over it. Parts were funny, and I loved that Chance and Pixy had a cameo role!! Too sad, but the cover and teaser remain unchallenged as my favorite parts of this book!

            Like

            • Monique Lain says:

              Interesting, isn’t it? I’m so curious why they glossed over it like that. But you’re right, the cover is off-the-hook HOT, and the blurb was fantastically promising. Yeah, it made me smile in places, but damn, it had sooo much more potential, right? LOL! For Pixy and Chance! Can never get enough of that hottie!!

              Like

  6. MAC says:

    Hi Ladies… Well now that we have put Gideon to bed 💋 Time to look for another book boyfriend. I too have Hush… But had to go back quite a ways in Echo to recatch the storyline and characters. I then realized it was too heavy a read for me so I went into JA Huss new “Misters” series. Mister Perfect. Book one. Even I noted some grammar but gotta say I laughed and really enjoyed the read. Panty melting sex. Looking forward to meeting the other Misters!! It was a good segway for me before delving into the Black Lotus Hush!!
    Haven’t heard too much negative about the last book in Crossfire. I really do love Gideon. So Sylvia could have really tanked and I still would have my memories of Gideon intact. He is a great character!

    Love ladies 🎈

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, I don’t blame you treading carefully with the Hush saga. Not to be taken lightly, but it is a good read. And you enjoyed J.A Huss?? One of the books I’ve read by her was not much better than Hush when it came to a life of hard knocks, and the other was of a male stripper falling in love. Can’t say I liked the latter and the former was certainly not funny. Now I’m intrigued. A romantic comedy seems so contrary to her previous work… I’m going to have to check it out. Thank you for sharing, girlfriend.
      And you’re so right, we’ll forgive almost anything when it comes to Gideon. I miss him already! 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

