Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies 🙂

Happy, happy Mother’s Day!

mothers day

And just for this auspicious occasion, I thought I’d get you a handy home appliance…

ironing

😉

Cottoning on to the conversation we’ve started last week about new scenes being included in the movie, here are some pics of Christian going down in Charlie Tango. Seems we won’t just be hearing about it from Ana’s panic, but rather, we’ll see him and Ros in all the scary action. Thank you, Susan for the links!

charlie tango

This pic is from the Fifty Shades of Grey Fan site. See larger pics here, and here.

What’s Filming has more behind-the-scenes information and pictures of the Charlie Tango set.

As we’re knee-deep in sharing the pleasure books bring us, I would like to pass on this gem from Sharon:

booksss

Such truth. Love it! 😉

BC

This week I read:

lm t

Ladies Man by Katy Evans, book three in the Manwhore series, was great. With this book Katy reconnects with what I believe she does best: the burning yearning build-up between two skittish would-be lovers. SPOILER ALERT: there are very few writers in our genre that can get away with holding off on the hot lovin’ until the bitter end of a book but still keep you enthralled. Interesting technique to keep you wanting more… 😉

Throb by Vi Keeland, book one of the Life on Stage series, was another awesome read. I loved the premise. And I always adore a story of a man who knows EXACTLY what he wants! *wink, wink*

Currently I’m reading:

d

Deception by Aleatha Romig, book three in the Infidelity series.

On my shelf I have:
c mp

Calico by Callie Hart and the highly recommended Mr. Perfect by J. A. Huss.

this man

Also, I’ve started a slow reread of Mr. Ward, Lord of the Manor again. I LOVED Jesse the first time around, and this time seems no different, but I’m noticing one helluva update. As was the case with the recent Crossfire series, the intimate language is softer and further, I noticed that she’s removed A LOT of the (British) Englishisms, some of which were a little off-putting in the original text mainly because they were heavily overused. I like the changes, but would love to hear from someone who’s read it recently and can compare notes with me. If you’ve not had the pleasure, check out Jodi Ellen Malpas’s Beneath This Man series

I saw this little joke. It made me laugh. Men, huh? Oblivious! LOL!

IMG_4434

I wish you a beautiful day, and if you are lucky enough to be a mommy, I hope you get spoiled and take a moment to remember what a blessing it is to carry the honored title of mom. One last time:

happy mothers day

Happy Mother’s Day!

Monique kiss

 

34 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique,
    I have been ready to beat my head of the wall this week with my reads😤 I really tried to finish Dirty but I just couldn’t wasn’t enjoying it at all so I gave up and deleted it.
    I then started Game Misconduct as recommended by another of the lovely ladies last week, it’s not bad exactly and the loving is certainly hot but I’m so confused by who’s who! The girl in the story calls the guys by their Christian names but the group of guys call each other by their surnames so I found myself flicking back and forth to see who the hell they are referring to, it hasn’t been relegated to the deleted pile yet just put to the side.
    At present I’m reading Nemesis by Chantal Fernando, loving Jacinta’s attitude and sassy mouth and enjoying the story so far.
    I read Calico it was great and will check out Mr Perfect.
    Happy mother’s day ladies hope you all get spoilt rotten if it’s mother’s day in your part of the world.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh, that’s frustrating, Katherine. I hate when that happens. Hopefully you’ll be back on track soon! And I hear you on confusing novels! LOL! Sometimes I make notes on my phone to keep up! 😜 Mr Perfect is soooo different from her normal style. So far, it’s pretty cute but one of those 0-100miles/hour books. Let me know what you think… Good to hear from you, girlfriend. Good luck seeing the reading slump in the rear view mirror! 👍🏻

      Like

  2. Carmela Dimattia says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Monique. Hope you having a lovely day. I was absolutely spoilt by my wonderful husband and children. Nothing happening on the reading front from me this week as time has been limited but I have the manwhore books by Katy Evans waiting for me and I really look forward to reading them hopefully I can start this week. Thanks for all your posts Monique they always great. Enjoy your week ladies and happy reading

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you, Carmela. I had a beautiful day. Let us know what you think of Manwhore. I loved the latest book. And thank you for expressing your blog pleasure. It’s always nice to know 😉

      Like

  3. FLMaddy says:

    HI …. Jesse Ward is also one of my fav men and I have read this series several times – somethimes just the ‘best’ parts LOL. Have they been re-published ? Do we have to buy them again to get the new version ? I imagine so 😦

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      I was wondering the same thing actually!
      I’m a but disappointed that JEM has taken some of the Britishness from the books I was delighted that she didn’t try to make it American!

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? Love how she drives laid back Jesse into a lunatic! LOL! I’m not sure about the republishing for actual paper books, but the e book took a BIG rewrite. It’s good, though. ♥️

      Like

  4. crystal says:

    Happy Mother’s Day ladies.
    First my thought on Jesse. I read all three books just hoping they would get better. Half way through the first book I wanted to slit my own throat. To say the least if Jesse had been acting toward me like he did Ava, I would have killed him. And I am dead honest!!. Most of us in Oklahoma carry concealed weapons legalIy and know how to use them. I am on the far side of moon away from being even a little bit submissive and to have some one trying to control me. Well let just say it ain’t happening. And Jesse was pushing my limits from the beginning of book one. I felt he was dangerous, obsessed and truely mental. A true threat danger to Ava’s health.
    Crystal
    USA
    Just my own views

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      Crystal you make me laugh and a wee bit frightened lol 🙂 but I have to agree with you on Jesse, I feel the same about him and always wondered how EL James got so much abuse about our CG who in my opinion wasn’t half as bad as Jesse and JEM got nothing………………very strange but in saying that I loved the books and read them several times, I thought you would have enjoyed them especially the hot sex 🙂
      Isn’t it strange but fabulous that all the ladies that follow Monique all do because we loved FSOG but our opinions on other reads differ quite a bit sometimes, makes for a great book club!!

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        Such a good point, or even the Tiffany Reisz books! Soooo much harsher than FSOG! I have no idea why Erika takes the brunt of the abuse cries!
        And right again, Katherine on the vast differences in our taste despite our FSOG solidarity. So interesting. 🤗

        Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you, Crystal. My Mother’s Day was awesome. Aww, I’m sorry Jesse was not for you. I ADORE the madman he becomes when she drives him up the wall. Too funny! 😂 And the whole “reminder f@ck”? Who would not want one of those? 😋 LOL! Please don’t shoot Jesse, send him to us!! 😂😂

      Like

  5. crystal says:

    Ladies you rock,
    Weather in Southern Oklahoma has been up and down: stormy, raining to beautiful day. Normal weather this time of the year and temps in the mid 70s to high 80s. Making my garden grow.

    *You all know I a big fan of fanfaction and I have a gem for all of you to read. It’s a one chapter story about Christian and Pheobe. Title “My Baby Girl” by Grey girl 1989. Fair warning you will need a box of tissues. But a heart warming story. Two complete fanfiction stories that I want to give a shout out to is “Extraordinary” and the sequel “Wish” by
    1974alner. Different story lines but great stories.

    *I finished the last book “Brendon” in the Allruing Indulgence series about the sexy hot cowboys Walker brothers. It to was filled with hot sex and a wonderful love story that took a lot of work for Brendon’s to find his HEA. Therefore you loved Brendon even more. I will have to say I miss the Walker brothers. Travis Walker would be my #2 book boyfriend right behind Christian Grey. I’d like to say Soren would be #1 but I can’t see Soren as boyfriend material. HA HA
    It getting really late and my sleeping pill is kicking in so I better go to bed before I write something that would even make myself blush. I have finished the first book in the Crosssfire series an half of book 2 and I have lots to say about them. So shall post tomorrow on them.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      You rock right back, Crystal! And I LOVE a storm!
      I’m happy you found a good story. What a pleasure, huh? Thank you for sharing. And yay! For more book boyfriends! Can’t go wrong with hot 3-way inclined cowboy brothers… *happy sigh* And just so you know, we live for reading your blushing moments! 😂

      Like

  6. crystal says:

    Oh on the topic of men’s hair color whick the authors write on and on about.
    I don’t go for men with black hair but I do like long hair on men. Not for sure I would have given Gideon a second look. My husband, son and grandson all have blonde hair with bight blue eyes. That’s more my style. I have very dark brown hair with copper highlights. I’m American Indian so my dark hair comes from my grandfather and my copper comes from my Irish grandmother. So i would have loved to get my hands in Christian Grey’s hair.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      Sorry Crystal but I wouldn’t even give a second glance to a man with long hair I’m very much into very short hair and I’m a bit embarrassed to say that I love a bald man especially with a buff body!
      I’ve always wondered if the whole Irish red head is a myth?! I’m born and raised in Northern Ireland and I have to say I have only ever met 1 Irish red head! All other red heads I have met have been Scottish 🙂

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        LOL! Yessss, I love a hot baldie too! That’s my hubby! 😋😋 And LOL for the Irish red hair. I thought it was black hair and blue/green eyes? Oh dear. Seems we have our stereotypes mixed-up. Whahahaha!

        Like

        • Katherine says:

          I’ve never heard about that Monique but you could be onto something we all have dark hair and green eyes though mine sometimes look blue, 😉 bloody hell I’m going to have to investigate my heritage lol

          Like

          • Monique Lain says:

            LOL! I got that bit of info from my dad… Apparently his mum was an Irish beauty: from Ireland, black haired and blue eyed woman. I’m not sure if she was a beauty… 😉

            Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Something to hold on to… But I’m with Kath on this one, short and sharp for me.
      Your hair sounds beautiful! 👍🏻

      Like

  7. Sharon says:

    Hmmmm. I’d like to get my hands in Christian Grey’s anything, Crystal! The books you read do tend to widen your interests. I never cared for tattoos, but I’m rather a fan now after seeing hundreds of hot book covers sporting them. Last week after hearing Monique talk about Kristen Ashley, I went back and looked at her “The Three” series, and ended up rereading it. Wasn’t my plan…but enjoyed it. It is paranormal, and way back when I first got it, I didn’t expect to like it…but I did! Then I picked up a read from BookBub that had the cutest premise…then the author didn’t do it justice. Hate when that happens. Won’t share that one with you.
    I’m now re-reading the Submission Series by CD Reiss. Thought I was reading it for the first time, but little bells are ringing as I turn the pages, so obviously I read it a couple of years back and it disappeared into one of my brain folds. Is that an advantage of getting older? Your library remains forever new except for a few favorites like FSOG?
    Hope everyone that is a mom received the royal treatment on your special day!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m with you, Sharon. Anything of GC or CG would be good for me! Yes, our horizons are definitely being broadened! LOL!
      Ooh, it’s sad when a book disappoints. Especially if you had high hopes. And LOL on the books disappearing in the black holes of our minds… Yes, I think you may be right! Sad but true…. 😂😂 I had an awesome Mother’s Day, thank you 😘

      Like

  8. crystal says:

    Ok ladies I’ve had my sleeping pill so this might me a blushing moment. BUT lets talk penis. We all read the books we read for the hot sex scenes. You can say it has a great story line but who are we lying to.
    *Chrisitan had a nice penis and from what the books says above average, but how the hell would Ana know. He can drive it in ball deep and he could get hard again quickly with great ejacuation control.
    *Soren had a above size penis but his best asset was his ability to use it once it was hard and to inflict pain and pleasure before he was hard. *The author keeps going on and on about how Gideon has to get Eva ready to take him because of his size. Gideon keeps hitting her cervix because of his length but never says he can drive it ball deep. Gideon does have the width that isn’t mentioned on the other guys.
    Ok here is the truth on a women vagina. After working 30 years having my fingers up a women’s vagina I know a bit on the subject of pussy size. (I worked labor and delivery and no I’m not some kind of weirdo. Well yes I really am but that has nothing to do with pussies).
    I love to read about a man with a long thick dick. But reality is the vagina is just so long and most men can hit a women’s cervix with the right postioning and a hard thrust. A man with a really long penis is just going to get so much to fit so he can never drive it home ball deep. Now a man with a wide width is more what you want. Remember a baby’s head will come out so a wide penis will fit in.
    But for me, I’ll take Christian’s penis and abilities.
    So the next time you need a fantasy to cum to think average size length, coke can size, and driving it ball deep.
    Good night ladies.
    I’ll have to write about Crossfire another night. It’s been lots of tornado and bad weather around to get my thought straight. I mean really bad tornado, people killed. Shitty Oklahoma weather.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      How very educational of you Crystal im in stitches reading this you are too funny even when you probably aren’t trying to be! hilarious lol 😂😂😂 I haven’t thought so much about willys in my life

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahahaha! Crying with laughter, Crystal. That was as enlightening as it was entertaining! Drugs, huh? LOL! You certainly seem the expert! 😉😉
      Now that we’re on the subject… I’ll take girth over length any day of the week ☺️☺️ And much as I adore Reisz’s books, I don’t want Soren anywhere NEAR my vejayjay!
      Stay safe in your wild weather, girlfriend 😘

      Like

    • Sharon says:

      Crystal…you are too much, love it! Think I’m going to go pop some popcorn and sit down and enjoy your educational insights again. I believe you certainly qualify as an expert!! P.S. I always thought Gideon’s penis was a wee bit scary!! For me, CG all the way (balls deep)!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. MAC says:

    OMG my ladies are gabby this session… Cannot get a comment in!! 😎 You girls are over the moon making my day… Now go all the way back to where Crystal talks about the “Phoebe” fanfiction how do I get it?? Have to read it.
    Ha… Read Mr. Perfect again!! That’s right my LOGS it is right up my alley. Glad you added it to your list. I read the Last Mile cause I just felt like some motorcycle badasses. I loved the series so it was great for me. Was checking out Throb the one on your shelf Monique.
    You all will laugh when I say I have not mentally been able to start Hush yet. Even after rereading Echo!! But I would really be into rereading Mr. Jesse Lord of everything!! He is def in my top 3 book fantasy boys.

    The movie looks to be shaping up with some good scenes so lets cross all that is holy and hope it delivers!!
    💋 Love ya ladies

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi girlfriend! Love you checking in! And Throb was great. Apart from her very first book, Vi rocks our genre. Love every other book so far!
      And I don’t blame you AT ALL needing to prepare yourself for the finale of the Black Lotus series, but rest assured, book three is by far the tamest of the three. The ending is just a bit…. interesting. Not a route I would have gone, but it made for an unusual close.
      I have to say that I am absolutely LOVING round two with the Lord of the Manor. Holy hotness, STILL one of the hottest books ever and Jesse features high in my top five BBs. Just so, so good!! ♥️

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

