Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies🙂

How are you this fine weekend? Our first week of winter brought a deluge of unexpected rain. Go figure. Luckily, it’s not been cold enough for me to complain. Yet :) 

Though completely unrelated to our FSOG world, this article from the NY Times made me snigger. Kentucky Fried Chicken flavoured nail polish. Decide between Original favour or Hot & Spicy – truly finger licking good – or not?

kfc

Imagine chewing nail polish off of your nails and tasting KFC?! LOL!

BC

This week I read:

bib kig

Bride in Bloom and Katherine in Gold by J. B. Hartnett, book one and two in the Beachy Bride series was fantastic. These somewhat off-beat books approach our genre from a slightly different angle, making for a stunningly refreshing read. If you’re looking for something beautifully romantic, lead by subtle alphas who know precisely what they want, then this might be the series for you. (You can also read them as standalones) I enjoyed these grown-up stories enough to given ’em my Best of the Best award.

BOB png

Currently I’m reading:

fff

Fighting Forever by J. B. Salsbury, book five in the Fighting series. As mentioned before, I’ll be working my way through these hot fighters, but I think I’ve noticed a new sub-trend in our genre. Typically we have our MC books, our tattooed rocker books, our bad boys, or our billionaire Doms, but lately I’ve been reading more and more stories of stripper redemption. Is this something you’ve noticed, or is just me?

Then, as we’ve started a new month, let’s see what June will bring:

j1

j2

j3

j4

j5

There are a few ones I’m looking forward to: Tiffany Reisz’s new offering, The Bourbon Thief, Idol by Kristen Callihan, and Melanie Harlow’s Man Candy – Yay! As always, these screenshots are taken from the Goodreads site.

I’ll leave you with this little joke:

IMG_4756

#Truth! LOL!

See ya’ next week, girls🙂

Monique kiss

30 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Paula says:

    Hi, will you ever write any other FSOG fanfiction ?? Your story was great!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Paula. Thank you for letting me know. Never say never, but no concrete plans ATM. When I first started writing Meander I was a stay-at-home mum, but since my daughter started school and my subsequent return to work my time is not my own anymore 😔

      Like

  2. Almas Naqvi says:

    hey u come back

    Like

  3. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique so winter has started in your part of the world, it’s my favourite season but I would just like to say a childish ha ha 😁 we are having a heatwave it doesn’t happen very often so I’m absolutely delighted nothing like a beautiful sunny day to bring the spirit up!

    I didn’t read anything this week I’ve been a bit of an emotional wreck tbh, my son booked to go away on 27th December to Dubai, Singapore, Vietnam, Sydney, Melbourne, Perth. New Zealand then Canada. Part of me is delighted for him but another part is frightened that he’ll be so far away if he needs me ………… being a mum is the hardest job in the world. Selfishly I will miss his help as well but keeping quiet about that he doesn’t need to know he feels guilty enough leaving for 3 months.

    Anyway I downloaded book 1 in the Dead Man Series, Rebel by Callie Hart, the reviews are fabulous so will hopefully get started on that this week. I will also check out your BOB book they look interesting.
    Have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Katherine. I completely understand your mum-dilemma. We love them so damn much. On one hand you want them to grow and spread their wings, and on the other, you want to hold on for dear life. Luckily the places he’s going to are pretty safe. The only advice I have is trust in your upbringing of him and PRAY! Find peace with Him, that He will take care of your precious one. Also, 3 months, in the big scene of things, is nothing. I’m sure it’ll fly by!
      I’ll be curios to hear your thoughts on my BOB recs, I’m a tad nervous that you’ll find them boring, but they were oh-so-stunningly romantic. Let us know about the rest of Callie’s books. I LOVED Calico! Good luck saying goodbye to your darling boy! 🤗

      Like

    • MAC says:

      Hey Katherine: It is true that we never stop worrying about our kids. No matter the age. My stomach was flipping as I read your play by play on where he is visiting. They go places none of us ever expected to go.
      I loved Rebel… Went right into Rogue… And now just got the third Ransom… Saving it for the weekend!
      Read “Torrid” got three all in one by Jayne Blue it was a great read for me cause I have been down abit myself but this set was hot enough, had a story that I liked and not too complicated for my frazzled mind. I really enjoyed it.

      Hope you like Rebel!! CU

      💋

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon says:

    Monique, I think I’ve decided you are onto something starting in the middle of a series. I was working on a cowboy romance, but it was taking effort to work thru it. I put it aside for a bit to read a Kym Grosso paranormal romance series “Immortals of New Orleans”. I had purchased a sale special of 4 books. Read book one, it was ok, wouldn’t have gone on but I had book two. Liked the first half of book two, but was taking too long to resolve an obvious ending….so I skipped thru to the end. She had a tempting teased for book three, and I thought, “Well, I already have it….so I’ll read just a little….turns out It sucked me in. I think I must have a leaning toward furry sex. Lurved it much more than first two books, and enjoyed book four just as much. So I purchased book five….and enjoying a little Mister Fifty Shades of Fang! So, didn’t plan on reading the series, but if I hadn’t purchased the four books initially, I would have never kept going. I may give Mr. Cowboy a little more of a chance when done….but it was pretty fluffy, boring stuff. Will have to ck out your best of best!
    Did you know Jamie McGuire put out another in the Maddox series “A Beautiful Funeral”? Not sure the title entices me….but curious to know what our ladies of grey think of it!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Sharon 🤗 Yup, the series thing works for me though it goes against every anal instinct I have! LOL! But I find writers mostly get better with books they write as they publish and learn, ergo, work your way back! 😉That way, if you you get to sucky book two (for instance) you know you’re not gonna’ like book one… That’s my theory anyway. Naturally it works best for standalone series, but I guess you can do it with a threaded one. Glad you enjoyed your fangy Sir 😉 I read McGuire’s first two books, and though I liked them well enough they were very light on the lovin’. Can’t have that now, can we? *nudge, nudge, wink, wink*
      I so enjoyed my BOB books this last week but I have to admit that I’m not sure how others will respond to them. One thing is certain, they are beautiful, gently romantic, and the characters are very real. Have a good one, girlfriend 😘

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        I love how the various gals have different takes on the different books. Keeps it interesting! Think I’m the only “fanged and furry is fun” fan in the group – but I enjoy everyone keeping me up on the “normal” studmuffins! I’m all about variety!!
        And is anyone going to go see the JoJo Moyes movie “Me Before You”? I might go Wednesday…need lots of wine and a case of Kleenex before I go. Think I have to drag one of my girls with me….I don’t have any friends into the romance genres….but I can guilt them into it. Probably will need someone to drive me home safely!

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Yessss! It’s fantastic. I have to say, if I’m gonna’ go supernatural, furry is the way to go! I think True Blood’s Alcide did it for me, so now when I think of werewolves, it’s him I see. No hardship there 😉 Oohh, that’s a no for me on the tearjerker movie. I’m too big of a softie 😝

          Like

  5. gabyaveledo says:

    HI Monique! I was wandering in goodreads the other day and found Sidebarred, the final novel (really a novella) by Emma Chase in the legal series. Its about Jake&Chelsey and their chaotic crew, but is a must read! I dont remember seeing here that you read it, but maybe you did and I just missed it! But just in case you didn’t, I am telling you! Another recommendation is the Winston brothers series by Penny Reid. I just love her, and the latest book, Grin and Beard it, is so so so good! You should give it a try!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi there! I LOVED this previous one, I don’t know how I missed a sequel! Thank you for letting me know, girlfriend 😉Oohh, and the other looks interesting. The cover is wayyyy different, isn’t it? I’ve put it on my list. Yay! Great hearing from you! 👍🏻

      Like

      • gabyaveledo says:

        You are most welcome! It was a surprise for me, I never saw it in the newsletter or anouncements of the month. Guess it was a surprise for the readers! And yeap, Penny books are quite different, but sooooooooooo good! You are in for a treat!

        Like

  6. KereCB says:

    Hi Monique!
    Well lately reading I feel like to many really bad boys went good guys after all.
    I just finished the King series by T.M Frazier, so off course I can’t wait for “All the Rage” to keep reading about this characters, even I didn’t like Soulless (King #4) that much, or better said, I didn’t like Bear much, I think he is to dirty in a clean kind of way, you know? (That description of him, smealing like cigarrettes, and alcohol, and sweat didn’t attracted me, even when I love a hot/blonde guy cover in tattoos) Lol, but the story is really good, and there They went from really bad asses guys to good boys.
    And as for the Fighting series, you may get the feeling of the strippers redemption, I agree with you there. I’m starting Fifthing Fate today, so let’s see how is my week in the reading deparment.
    Have a lovely week my friend!
    Sending you a warm hug from Venezuela!
    Kx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, I read the first two books of the King series and started on Bear’s story but put it aside. When a book starts with that sorta’ drama it makes my stomach turn. Not sure if I’ll go back and finish it at some point. I also enjoyed Fighting for Forever. Great share, Kereny. Thank you for weighing in, girlfriend 😘

      Liked by 1 person

  7. crystal says:

    HI Ladies,
    The damn summer is starting here. It was 91 here today and I just hate summer and all the sweating. Garden is coming along, got my first cucumber today.
    I finished Nicole Edward’s “Because Naughty Holidays Can Be Oh So Nice 2015” and I give it a 4.9. Nothing is perfect, but this was damn near. It was 4 short stories rolled into one novel all designed around the holidays. This book took several of her best loves people from some of her other series. Lots of M/F/M, M/M and loads of family love surrounded by the loves and friends of the cowboy Walker Family. It goes in to my reread x3.
    I just started “January Calander Girl” Book 1 by Audrey Carlan. She is American and saw her on a morning talk show. Her books are getting great reveiws here in the US so thought I would try one out. There are 12 of them. I’ll let you know what I think.

    I’m still taking suggestion on series if anyone has one they want to reccomend for me.

    Just booked a summer vacation to go to the Gulf of Mexico in Texas. Hubby will drive the motorhomeand we will stay on the beach. Looking foward to seafood, since I live in the heart of oil and cattle country.
    Love to all and I so wish it was winter. Sorry you will hear me bitch all summer long. When you have hills and valleys for sweat to run down, it ain’t pretty for a hot Oklahoma summer. Thank God for the pool.

    You hot ass friend and I don’t mean horney. HA HA
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh my, a cucumber huh? Sounds promising, Crystal 😉 And yes please, share your feeling on your new author when you’re done. It’s always nice to discover a good, new author with lots that you can go back and read! And while we’re at it, please send me your high temps!! I hate the winter!! Guess we’ll be complaint together in two opposite sides of the world! LOL! Gotta’ love technology! 👍🏻 Enjoy dipping your hot ass in your pool 😉😉

      Like

  8. crystal says:

    HI again,
    I have a couple of FSOG fanfiction I want to recommend
    “The Long Goodbye” by stargazer 93. It’s one chapter and a Tissue alert
    “My Dearest Christian” by Insanespinster. Very short story but a tug on your heart.
    Both well worth your read.
    Crystal
    USA
    PS,
    Moinque,
    Now that I have finished the Crossfire series I am reading your Crossfire Meander.
    Loving is. You are such a great writer.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, that’s great Crystal. I’m so glad you liked it! I don’t have very much on Crossfire, but I do like Gideon and his big…. Well, you know… *blush*

      Like

    • MAC says:

      Train me my ladies… So I want to read these fanfictions Crystal has above… I tried before and o ly get millions od hits but none of the ones you name. Am I googling fifty fanfiction or inputting the actual title aboce from Crystal!! GAH I save lives but cannot get a damn computor to submit to me!!!

      Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        The fan fic site is a PAIN! When I have a mo’ I’ll get the steps down for you but it comes down to going through a filter that is set it include ALL stories, including the NSFW ones, then going down a f@ck-long list. What MIGHT make it easier is if you can find Crystal’s profile on Fan Fic, and IF she’s favorited these stories, you should be able to go through her list which is hopefully significantly shorter. So, Crystal, if you don’t mind, please share your Fan Fic name with us or better yet, will you email me the story links so I can email MAC? moniquelain@gmail.com

        Like

      • Monique Lain says:

        Okay, here goes. On the Fan Fic site from BROWSE go to books. On the top of the page go to F on the alphabet line. Scroll down to find Fifty Shades. Then make sure the filter on the top of the page is set to Ratings: ALL, and make sure ALL other fields also say ALL. This will ensure that you include all the stories. Once you’ve okayed that, you’ll see the list of stories come up. On the top RHS you’ll see a search option. Type the name of the story you want to read into the box and hit enter. You should then see a full list of options, hopefully including the one you’re looking for🙂 Hope that helps!

        Like

  9. crystal says:

    Sorry I missed the post about Fanfiction. I haven’t figured out how to get notified of a new post from this group unless I go back and read the whole thing.
    Here is the links to the fanfiction stories I suggested.
    I google fanfiction, then once at the fanfiction site (on the right has side of the top of the page is a drop down box for you to use, Says STORY, WRITER,FORUM, COMMUNITY) I usually go to writer and search the writer when I am looking for a story.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11942797/1/The-Long-Goodbye
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11964272/1/My-Dearest-Christian

    Monique
    I don’t mind if you give someone my personal email If they are needing info on a post I write.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Thank you for the linkd, Crystal. As far as the notification is concerned, when you comment here on the blog, there should be a tiny tick box that asks if you want to be notified of the thread you are commenting on. Let me know if you don’t see it next time and I’ll see if I can send you some screen shots. Hugs, 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

