Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies🙂

This week felt oddly long! It feels like I haven’t spoken to you guys in ages! So strange… But it’s good to be here, chatting with y’all. And before I forget, there’ll be no book club post next week as I will be away in the great Australian bush (hooray for a little holiday), but I will have my phone, so please feel free to respond in any way you choose: here on the blog, email, or social media😉

Thanks to Susan I have some movie news. Apparently a lot of the filming is currently being done indoors, which means that that paps can’t get any juicy shots. Sometimes I wonder if, with the number of photos we’ve already seen, there’ll be ANYTHING new in the film for us to see! LOL!

audi

50 Shades Girl Portland still seems to be the site with the big guns in terms of sheer number of videos and pictures.

See the Audi car chase shots here

Find pics of Mia’s Kidnapping and Ana’s shooting here

And lastly, Ana recovers in the hospital here

I love this edit Sharon sent me during the week:

movie poster

I don’t know if it’s fan-made or official, but I’m sure you’ll agree, it stirs a little excitement for the film, huh?

Also, as I’m a great proponent of safe sex, I believe it’s important to spread the word…

goat lol

LOL! Again, thank you, Sharon for sharing this cute little fellow!😉

Then, I’m delighted to tell you that I’m still riding my reading high. Don’t you just love enjoying EVERY book you touch? #DeepJoy Let’s hope it lasts!

BC

This week I read:

fff i

Fighting for Forever by J. B. Salsbury, book five in the Fighting series, was good, not quite as good as book six, but well worth mentioning. I always enjoy a little tight tension along with smokin’ bedroom antics.

Idol by Kristen Callihan, book one in the VIP series, was exactly what I’ve come to expect from this fantastic author: good, solid writing merging into the perfect blend of angst and heat. I’ve lost count of how many of her books have made it onto my favourites list, and this one made it there easily. I’m excited to read MORE of this series as we get to know the delicious band members of Kill John as they each get a book. Take note, like her Game On series, this book can be read as a standalone.

On my shelf I have:

sb

Sidebarred by Emma Chase, book three point five of the Legal Briefs series. This is more of Jake and Chelsea’s story. Yay! Thank you for bringing the novella to by attention, Gaby. I don’t know how I missed it!

This made me laugh out loud – literally! A baby pic I can relate to…

wine funny

LOL!😉

Have a stunning weekend, girls. I hope you get to spend a little quality time with some #HappySexyReads!

Monique kiss

18 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique so what a fabulous reading week i’ve had as well 👍 I read Rebel, Rogue and Ransom The Dead Man Series by Callie Hart and really enjoyed every one of them I think Callie is a stunning author and I will certainly be reading more of her work. I also just finished Bride In Bloom tonight thanks for this rec I loved it. Next on my list is Katherine In Gold your other rec from last week so hoping for great things.
    Not sure how much reading I’ll get done this week I’m home alone with my wee son hubby has gone to France for 4 days to see Northern Ireland play in the Euros (football) and my other son has gone for 11 days in a camper van!! To say my nerves are wrecked is an understatement lol 😩😩😩😩
    Have a great holiday, I’ll miss you next week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, Ketherine. I’m so glad you enjoyed Bride in Bloom! Beautiful, huh? I’d love to hear more of your thoughts, what specifically appealed to you. And I will definitely be looking into more of Callie Heart’s stuff. I agree with you 100%. She’s aces!
      Wow, home alone, huh? That’s rough. I don’t blame you for being nervous, but you are a strong woman, I’ve no doubt that your nerves will hold regardless of the possible fray. Also, I think a week at the spa, solo, might make up for it, yeah? Get hubby on board with that plan, girlfriend! LOL! 😉😉 Good luck, give wee son our shady love and enjoy the week of solitude with him. 🤗

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        I’m showing this to Bill when he gets home so that he knows the spa is all your idea lol.
        I don’t want to spoil Bride in Bloom for the other ladies so ill give a few bullet points of what I liked.
        Cameron really what’s not to like about him, I thought the romance would’ve put me off but just the opposite……swoon 😁 Victoria’s quirks,
        Cameron’s relationship with his family
        Their circle of friends, how Victoria’s relationship with her family especially her mum developed, how despite what happens in their previous relationships they still believe in “the one”
        I loved the writing in the book and the way we weren’t bombarded with sex!

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Yes! I so agree, Katherine. In a book I’ll take quality over quantity in the bedroom ANY day of the week. And double yes for Cam, huh? The romance is fierce but not sickly sweet. I don’t enjoy books where the male is so perfects it makes my teeth hurt! LOL!
          Tell your hubby the spa is ON! And I forgot to ask you if, with all your sons, you enjoyed my goat pic?? I thought of you when Sharon passed it on. Perfect message to one’s boys, huh? 😉😉

          Like

          • Katherine says:

            Oh Monique my 2 boys were tortured about safe sex by me 😁 my oldest is coming 27 and so far no grandchildren I think lol.
            I laughed when I saw the picture it reminded me of being out with old workmates last week and one of the guys was saying that his son threw an untied condom down the toilet it filled with water and blocked his drainage lol cost him £250 for investigation and repair lol

            Like

  2. Sharon says:

    I hope you have a GREAT vacation next week, Monique. However, Saturday will not be the same without you!! Would love to know what a holiday in the bush entails. I can only visualize Crocodile Dundee and kangaroos. Am I on track? And I love, love, love seeing the peeks at Fifty. Can’t wait!!
    So, as I have mentioned, I’m trying to read the authors at the upcoming romance book weekend. So far, some okay reads, but none to recommend UNTIL yesterday!! Bam!! I actually purchased this trilogy in the spring. Tried to start a couple of times, but it begins with a funeral, and just couldn’t get past page two. Kept going back to my FFF’s (furry and fanged fantasies). Yesterday, I decided I could at least do the first chapter….and O.M.G. Easily the best read of the year for me and I haven’t even finished book one! I am so sucked into this story!! I do not foresee a BBF in this for me….but you couldn’t ask for any more passion, intrigue and great characters. Book one is FREE right now on Amazon, so no risk to give it a try and see if it bakes your cookies. At least grab it and stick on your virtual shelf. It is the Jack and Jill trilogy by Jewel Ann. Jack and Jill are actually brother and sister in a witness protection type of program. (Not exactly, but don’t know how else to describe) There are some really funny parts….the elderly neighborhood they move into and scandalize, and the description of Sesame Street sex is to die for, but primarily this is drama and on the dark side. Definitely not a sweet romance. Get the free first book while you can. The part I’m really happy about is that all three books are published, so no waiting for months on the next book. I’m lovin’ it! Can you tell? Doing the Happy bookgirl dance in Florida!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oohh, that sounds like fun, Sharon! I’ll definitely check it out. Thank you for the rec. It’s always sooo great to find a new author you enjoy!
      Yes, I’m stoked for Sept and the trailer release. I wonder if they’ll be making a meal of it like they did last time… I’ll send you some pics of where we’re going. Not roughing it too much. I like my creature comforts! 😉

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        Finished the trilogy – need to mention that books 2 & 3 are pretty dark, and lack some of the lighter touches of book 1, which remains my favorite. Still my favorite read of the year…and has a worthy ending.
        Also saw the “Me Before You” movie. Impressed that Jojo Moyes wrote the screenplay. Don’t know if she has done that before, I know it was part of the power struggle with EL James on the first Fifty movie. Thought Jojo did a GREAT job. Very touching movie without overdoing the sad parts for the tears. Really perfect casting. Of course, the book is more detailed, but that’s just the way the mediums work.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Thanks, Sharon. It’s gone on the list, the long, long list. LOL! 😉 Glad you enjoyed your movie. It’s always tricky business, books becoming movies. I always wonder how the Harry Potter book fans felt about the films… 😝 Thank you for your great share x

          Like

  3. KereCB says:

    Hello Monique! I hope you enjoy your mini hollyday😉 I read Fighting Fate and Loved Kill and Axl’s story! One of my favs of this series🙂 And right now I’m Reading Maverick:Satan’s Fury by L. Wilder, more or MC books, similar to King’s series, let’s see how this go. I’m sure you are going to enjoy Sidebarred, I LOVED IT! Jake is my fav guy of the series🙂 and his and Chelsea’s story is cute in all levels. Have a lovely week… Sending you a hige hug my friend!

    Like

  4. Lissa Jeri says:

    This week I read the third book by Stephanie Evanovich, The Total Package. She incorporates some of the characters from Big Girl Panties and The Sweet Spot. Her books are gentle and funny and are more suggestive than explicit, but I like her writing and enjoy her characters. The books just make me smile.

    This week I’m reading Finding Fraser by KC Dyer. It’s about a character who falls in love with the character of Jamie Fraser from Outlander and then goes to Scotland to find “him.” The reviews are by Diana Gabaldon and she said she found the book charming. We’ll see. Can’t get enough of Jamie.

    Like

  5. MAC says:

    Have a great vacation Monique!! I am trudging through my many reads found some cowboy alphas that got me hooked “Wicked Lust” … Is one of the three. Just sorta floating along waiting for the “next BIG thing”…

    💋

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

