Between the covers book club

Hello, lovely ladies😉

Wow! What a crazy start it’s been to my work term. I’ve completely forgotten that I ever had a break! #BringOnTheHolidays 😂

So, the movies are wrapping with the last scenes being filmed in Paris. It’s quite fitting, don’t you think? Being the city of love… I like the symmetry of that.

Let’s take a look at what surfaced this week:

Angelique shared this clip, a montage of honeymoon stills and the crowds drawn by the movie:

And while I was taking a peek at the above, I came across the following fan-made trailer:

Then, on Twitter, @fsog_greysessed posted some great pics of our couple sharing an intimate moment:

bracelet

hm2

Jamie and Dakota enjoy the fans:

pic

Thank you, Susan for the links😉

This is COMPLETELY unrelated, but pertinent nonetheless because we are women AND because for some of us, Alexander Skarsgard (From True Blood fame) was a possible contender to play Christian in the movie adaptation of FSOG. This last week I went to see Tarzan, and let me tell you ladies that, well… holy big, gleaming non-stop muscles: EYE CANDY! Sharon sent me this eye-wateringly funny review of the film that every girl should see. Who cares that it’s so OTT far fetched? 


#ShirtlessAlexander 😋

BC

This week I read:

ms

4 stars

Moonshot by Alessandra Torre was a great read. It came complete with her special brand of twisty turns. Just the way I like her books. As I mentioned last week, after Hollywood Dirt and Love Chloe’s sweet nothings I didn’t know what to expect, but that’s what makes her such a refreshing writer.

Currently I’m reading:

cotc

Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton, book two in the Hudson Valley series. So far, let me say this: think hot, inked dairy farmer…

On my shelf I have:

bm

Bossman by Vi Keeland. I always enjoy her books so I’m looking forward to this one, and as a side note, I just have to point out that she always has the best cover sleeve models in the business😉

Sharon shared this: the very definition of disappointment….

funny 1

LOL!😉

I hope you have a fabulous week, girls. Let us hear about the awesome books you’ve read!

Monique kiss

28 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Sharon says:

    Yummeeee. Love the scenes from FSOG. Wish my life included love scenes in Paris. Oh wait….that’s Kathleen. (No envy, here!)
    And to see the Tarzan review, you have to click the word “this” in Monique’s text. Took me a minute to find it…..but the review is complete perfection. (As is Alexander Skarsgard.)
    So…I finished The Bourbon Thief. Totally enjoyed Tiffany Reisz’s art of storytelling. Her twists and characters were outstanding as ever. I couldn’t give it 5 stars…as it just didn’t rate up with the Original Sinners for me. (And maybe because Soren didn’t figure into the storyline anywhere). But I’m very familiar w/Kentucky and the famous bourbon distilleries. The girl did her homework. Lovely read – thumbs up. Will be interesting to see if she follows up on the loose threads that were dangling. I did love her ending. I would have liked to discuss Tamara’s revenge with Tamara and encourage her in a more constructive revenge. But then, it wouldn’t have had the drama. And that is why I’m not an Internationally Famous Author!!
    I’m currently reading “Undo Me: from The Good Ol’ Boys series by M. Robinson. Another book based on southern living. I’ve been enjoying it…but feeling the conflict taking shape and reluctant to find out what made the traumatic results that the book started out with. Sigh. I guess that’s why we read though…I’ll eat some chocolate and get through it. This is the kind of book I’ll read the last few pages and make sure I’m gonna get a HEA before I keep reading. But…I haven’t done it yet.
    Happy week everyone!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahahaha! I feel your pain re seeing trauma coming in a book, and then the choice… Do I stay and watch the inevitable train wreck, or do I run, straight into the arms of something happier? LOL! Yes, wine and chocolate would be my recommendation, and call me in the morning! 😂😂 Here’s hoping for a HEA for you, girlfriend. I also agree with you on the Bourbon Thief, got just short of five stars from me too, but I still loved it. She tells a magnificent story! Great comment, Sharon 😘

      Like

  2. FLMaddy says:

    Just finished BossMan !! and other fun/touching story. I really enjoyed it a little different plot line and that kept it interesting.

    Like

  3. Katherine says:

    Hi ladies greetings from Dublin its been a long day of drinking singing more drinking and singing where I’ve drank myself sober lol
    So Monique news on the spa front all booked for 16/17th August 2 nights away all because you said so all your fault lol 😉
    this week I read Hold you Against Me by Skye Warren, I enjoyed this but it didn’t blow me away but it was fine.
    I’m currently reading Say You’ll Stay by Corrine Michaels only 30% in but so far so good.I have Moonshot next to read hope I enjoy it as much as you.
    Have a great week everyone x

    Like

  4. WilderFables says:

    Hi Miss Monique, Having a wonderful, blazing hot summer here. Read Moonshot and although I am a fan of Ms. Torre, this was not one of my favorites. It seemed she was was on the way of writing something else and ended up with this. I have always liked the way she turns a phrase but I thought it to a loooong time to get to the point. Hope all is well with you and yours🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi there. Yay for hot summers, I say 😉 Yup, I agree about Torre, good but not great. I liked the progression of the story but I felt that the climax was so much smaller than what we usually get from her. For well into the book it didn’t feel like one of her show stopping twisters, and when it did come it was a little weaker. Still, I liked it enough. Great share. Thank you 🤗

      Like

  5. crystal says:

    Hi ladies,
    Hell has no fury like an Oklahoma summer. 102 today w a heat index 108. Thank heavens for the pool. Garden slowing down due to heat and lack of rain.
    I finished “Never Say Never” the Sniper 1 Security series book 2 by Nicole Edward. It’s a M/M and was as hot as an Oklahoma summer. The author did a fantastic job in describing sexual position, sexual feeling, size of the mans body and below the waist parts and the love story between these two men. I did laugh cause every drawer and every pocket had a tube of lube it them. this series involves two intertwined together w many family members I think this could be a long series. Just what I like. I give it a 4 on my read scale.
    I just started today “Their Virgin Captive” Masters of Menage series by Shayla Black and Lexi Blake. Three brothers in love with one women. Well I guess we women do have three holes!! I’ll let you know next week which hole wins out. Slapping my leg laughing.

    Here is a copy of the finished FSOG Fanfiction another group is voting on for August. Just wanted to give you something in fanfiction to read if a book gets boring. There are some really good stories here.
    1. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/11760314/1/Not... Not for Love by jessb921
    2. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/11942797 The Long Goodbye by stargazer93
    3. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/11964272/1/My-... My Dearest Christian by Insanespinster
    4. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/11354081/1/Wis... Wish by 1974alner
    5. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/11785181/1/Lov... Love You Past Your Pain by TCNAC1097
    6. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/119703… Teddy’s Day Out by Cindra
    7. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/113454… A Desperate Act by LanieLoveu
    8. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/119483… A Father’s Knowledge by CJFAA
    9. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/12031119/1/Une... Unexpected Love by SdaisyS

    Your Okie friend,
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Katherine says:

      Crystal I choked on my tea reading your comment about having 3 holes absolutely hilarious 😁
      I read Master’s of Menage series well most of it unfortunately it gets very monotonous after about 3 books

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oohhh, sizzling heat between the pages AND in summer. Lucky, lucky is what I’d call you, Crystal! 😉 And I LOVE Shayla Black!!! My favourite is Wicked Ties, but you can NEVER go wrong with EVERY hole filled, huh? 😉😉😉😉😉 I’ve not read the ones where she’s teamed up with another author, but again, can’t go wrong, right? Thank you for sharing the fan fic links. Enjoy your pool, girlfriend!! 👍🏻

      Like

  6. crystal says:

    I think I wll try Wicked Ties next.
    Jamie will be never the Christian in my mind, but that Tarzan is damn close. The Ros they have for the movie will never be the red headed Ros from the books.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I so agree with you, Crystal. After seeing Alexander in Tarzan I think he’d make a pretty H.O.T CG! Let me know what you think of Wicked Ties. I just love that her loves scenes are soooo long. Pages and pages of pleasure 😉

      Like

      • crystal says:

        Damn girl your doing me in, pages and pages of pleasure. Hubby leaving Thursday for a fishing in Canada. Better get it while I can. Wicked Ties here I come. HA HA HA
        Crystal
        USA

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          LOL! In fact, when I read it I thought that perhaps it may have had some part in inspiring EL James when she wrote Fifty. There are some interesting similarities and considering Wicked Ties came out way before FSOG, I thought maybe Erika read it…. Enjoy and let me know what you think. I read it very early on in my journey into erotica.

          Like

  7. Lissa Jeri says:

    Howdy from Alaska (and was in Seattle airport today too, so it’s a two-fer).
    I saw Tarzan last week and yes, very much appreciated the eye candy. I very very much like the exceptionally subtle seduction scene where he does it with different animal calls. I thought I’d combust.
    I know that everyone has her own Christian visual, but the bod like Skarsgard’s isn’t necessary for Christian (or any other dom, real or fictional). It’s the face, more accurately how the face conveys the dominance and…the voice. ELJ does get the words of the voice very accurate, but you have to have heard a true dom’s voice to hear those words. Jamie Dornan does fine for me for Christian in appearance. He was not, however, instructed how to use the voice to convey dominance. Like Ana hears in Bk 2 when he speaks to Leila…she sees his face change into a dom and hears to change in the voice. I’m looking forward to and dread at the same time, seeing this scene in the next movie. B/c that’s where Ana saw it and understood it for the first time.

    While wandering the Seattle airport, went into a bookstore to look up scene in Freed to remind me of what happened vis a vis the photos in France from last week…well, the ones in the south of France. I find it very interesting that I often don’t remember scenes exactly and then I’m reimpressed by the job that ELJ did to convey a complex development of a relationship…albeit not necessarily well written.

    Thx for fan fiction links. Always happy to read any of these in addition to this site’s that others recommend.

    Just finished two (non-genre) books that have to get back to library…and only one more to slog thru this week…and then I can jump back in for some fun.

    All best to everyone from across/around the world
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Lissa, you travel bug! Sounds like fun. Tarzan WAS fun. You can never go wrong with a shirtless hottie, IMHO 😉😂 And I agree on Jamie not quite having that dominant bearing down pat. Let’s hope that Erika’s directorship grew him into an authoritative Dom. Have a lovely trip! Thank you for weighing in 😉

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    Hi Ladies… Miss me?? Nah you are all chatting and keeping me up to date. Read the 3 books in the Rebel series and loved them. I just looked up Vi and think I will go towards that. Read a bunch of not memorable books but those are the ones that let us know when we hit a treasure. Sure do miss our original 3. Jesse, Gideon and Christian. They really are forever book badass boyfriends. Love the clips you added for us. Have missed being with you girls but life takes us off course sometimes. Nice to be back!! LOGS

    💋 MAC

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello! Hells yes! We missed you! Great to have you checking in 😉 I adore Vi Keeland. Let us know how you go if you decide to go that way. I just listened through the whole of the This Man series on Audible and I loved is just as hard as I did the first time. Those book boyfriends you mention are true legends! 😘

      Like

  9. MAC says:

    Ewww… Maybe I should buy the audible too!! Different with voices I bet.

    💋💋

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I have to say that the This Man’s series voice has been the best I’ve ever heard. I loved it!! It is quite different from reading, but lovely to listen to in the car on the way to work or when cleaning the house…. Vacuuming etc. Makes my life a happier place!! LOL!

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

