Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovelies🙂

Another crazy week, and sadly, accompanied by a dip in my current reading joy. I suppose it was impossible for my fabulous streak to last forever *sigh*

Let’s hope I’ll be on to bigger and better things soon.

News of the movie is thin on the ground, but here’s a lovely video montage of shots:

And I looooove all these extra glimpses into the film…

Seeing as the second clip is from Universal Pictures UK, I’m hoping that these not-yet-seen pics are actually from the movie and not just edits.

BC

This week I read:

bp mf

4 stars              3 stars
The Broken Prince by Erin Witt, book two in The Royal series, was a delightful, deeper look into the Royal brother’s complicated lives. I loved this sequel and am looking forward to book three. It has the potential to be one of those yummy series you can sink your teeth into. Having said that, if your patience wanes between books I suggest you wait for the final one. Cliffies and loose ends abound with these two torturous authors.

Mackenzie Fire by Elle Casey, book two in the Shine Not Burn series, was just meh. Though good for a few laughs, I had to push through the sluggish chapters, often times along with an eye roll for the flaky heroine. I gave it a reluctant three stars because technically, I couldn’t fault the writing.

Currently I’m reading:

d

Devine by Aven Jayce. Go ahead and read the blurb for this one, ladies. I challenge you not to be just a little bit intrigued….

On my shelf I have:

sd
Sugar Daddy by Sawyer Bennett, book one in the Sugar Bowl series.

I’ll leave you with some good vibes for the week to come thanks to Sharon:


LOL! So cute! 😂😂😂

Have a happy Sunday, girls!

Monique kiss

16 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi ladies hope all is good. So this week I’ve struggled with Cream of the Crop so I put it to one side it is really boring me atm just very blah and predictable.
    I started a new series Alpha chat.com. book one is Pay for play by Victoria Ashley very hot sex I enjoyed the story and loved the main characters. Book 2 doesn’t seem to be published yet.
    Not sure what to read next nothing is exciting me.
    Have a great week everyone

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine! 🤗 Ooohh, that sounds exciting! I’ve not read her before. I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the share. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy Cream of the Crop. I guess, with authors like Alice Clayton, predictability is part of the charm. You know exactly what you’re doing to get, and you read these books when you’re in the mood for something light and sweet. You know it won’t blow you away, but tides you over, a reading snack, as it were, until you find the next best thing. Have a lovely week! 😘

      Like

  2. carol winters says:

    thank-you Monique , we can always depend on you to keep us interested in some juicy books and stories ,, i am so glad your back i missed you a lot and now i am a happy reader again tippytown@hotmail

    Like

  3. Lissa Jeri says:

    ….just Harry Potter this week. But there are several scenes of him in bed with his wife. Luminos!! 😃😃😃😃😃😃
    Lissa
    1/2 way across US

    Like

  4. crystal says:

    Hi all,
    Well it was 104 here today in Southern Oklahoma and Hubby is still gone. So I could bitch for hours, but I’ll spare you that. Have family arriving this Tuesday so have been cooking like a mad women. Going to have a couple of family parties.
    I’ve done more Fanfiction read this week than a book. I am still trying to get through “Break The Sky” by Nina Lane. Half way through the book and they finally got between the sheets. He makes love with a strong will and takes no prisoners and he has a cock we would all love to ride. So I’ll keeping reading to see if she bucks him off or lets him saddler her up.
    A FF story I’ve been reading for awhile had completed this week. Very good well worth your read: ” Dare to Love Again” by lanieloveu.
    I’m with the rest of you trying to find a good book to read or series to start.
    I think no sex makes my brain foggy. Hubby be home Tues just as family starts to arrive. Damn.
    Have a great week.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Crystal. Hot AND bothered, are you? But it sounds like you’re keeping busy. Good thing your man will be back to help you entertain the family legions, and service you into clarity again! 😉 Instead of “break a leg” I’ll say: break the bed! 😉😉 Great hearing from you, Crystal 😘

      Like

  5. Sharon says:

    I read four cute fairytale stories by Alexa Riley. Riding Red, Beauty Sleeps, The Lost Slipper, and Finding Snow. They are shifter books w/a little bit of the fairytales as framework. Easy reads, but nothing overwhelming. The hot parts weren’t as appealing as I’ve read with other Shifter books.
    I’m now in the middle of reading Playing for Keeps (Neighbor from Hell series) by R.L. Mathewson. Adorable, amusing storyline about two neighbors that can’t stand each other (but that changes.) If it gets hot….I haven’t gotten to that part yet, but I’m enjoying the budding relationship. Let you know next week!
    Devine sounds interesting – look forward to hearing your review on it.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I hear good things of The Neighbor From Hell series, Sharon. Let us know what you think. I’ve heard the angle is very gritty, featuring people from the REAL world as apposed to frighteningly handsome billionaire princes and beautiful virgin princesses…. Aww well. What are books for if not escapism? Great hearing from you, girlfriend🙂

      Like

  6. MAC says:

    I am reading “Bossman” and thats all I can say cause I gotta go back and finish!! Its bend me over the desk in the office time!!!!!!!
    You sure know how to pick’em Monique…

    🍒

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oooh, I LOVE Vi Keeland, girlfriend! I hope you enjoy it, and if not, just stare at the cover!!😉 Let us know how you go! Thank you for checking in. It is always nice to hear from you🙂

      Like

  7. MAC says:

    My Monique… The reviews for Sugar Daddy look promising but I want to know how many pages the book is. She tends to write shorter that “we” like. How is yours going?????
    I am stuck on the preview of Kristen… Close to you but the price is steep. I don’t mind paying for the ride!! As long as I get one!! Heehee
    Bad…bad to the bone!

    🍒

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey girlfriend. Sugar Daddy is 256 pages, but I’ve not started yet. I had to slog through another I just finished last night, but I went with it on a strong rec… And hells yes on getting a good ride for your money, the proverbial bang for your buck, so to speak… *nudge, nudge, wink, wink* Have you read Paper Princess yet? 😘

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    So any news amongst our LOGS about “Close to you” by Proby… Worth the high price… Yay or Nay

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Not yet from me, babe, but I see good reviews on GR. She’s a very reliable writer, so I reckon if you usually love her things this would probably do it for you. I see it’s part of a series, though. Is it one of those you can read as a standalone?

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

