Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies🙂

What a busy week it’s been! Am I the only one that feels like the weeks just melt away like snow in the spring sun? Do you remember how time used to drag when you were a kid? #WhereDoesTheTimeGo?  

While trolling the net in search of some actual Darker clips, I found this stunning fan-made trailer for the movie:

Wow! So good, huh?

And a titillating edit from an unknown source…

jamie-cg

Sharon shared this, a Magic Mike flash-mob on Ellen…

Oh my! 😉

Then, let it never be said that we lack culture here on the blog. See? Poetry…

jokeaa

LOL! 😂

BC

This week I read:

tgr

3 stars

The Ground Rules by Roya Carmen, book one in The Rules series, was good. I loved the premise, but the writing, at times, tended to get a little bland. I don’t know about you, but it drives me to distraction when an author overuses certain key words or phrases in her writing. In this particular instance aroused, teasing, playful, and sly smiles are among the culprits. And once I spot these timeworn words they become glaringly obvious, maddeningly bothersome 😁 Also, though I enjoyed the weave of the tale, considering where the book ended, I feel one might have been enough to bring the cautionary message to the reader.

Currently I’m reading:

tp

The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas. As far as I can tell this is going to be a standalone, which is unusual for this writer. I’m not sure how I feel about that. If she manages to produce another hit like Jesse Ward, I think I’ll be very disappointed with just a single book. Let’s see how I go.

If you’re an aunt, here’s hoping you never deserve a card like this…

img_5317

Oops! Perhaps the designer should reconsider the font. LOL! 😂😂

Have a great weekend, girls. Feel free to check in with what’s hot and what’s not in our genre.

Monique kiss

18 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique the card is hilarious lol I’m sure at times my youngest niece would love to send that to me 😉
    So unfortunately I couldn’t find anything to tickle my fancy this week so revisited Real and Mine. Remy is as beautiful as ever.
    I then re-read Wuthering Heights. you can’t go wrong with this classic.
    I am desperate for a new read so think I’ll give The Protector a go.
    I agree totally how time seems to go quicker the older you get 😕

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? How could that designer not see it? 😂😂 Oh yeah, Real was fantastic. I love Remy. And Wuthering Heights, huh? That IS a classic. I’m liking the protector so far but I’m not feeling Jesse-style love. Let’s see… Good to hear from you!

      Like

  2. Valerie Gibson says:

    Hi Monique!
    It’s been awhile since I posted a comment, but I read your posts every week!
    I still read whenever I can, always romance, and there’s never enough time…why can’t it be my full time job? 😀

    I read a book last week that I really liked: Tapping the Billionaire by Max Monroe. I found it hard to put down! Max Monroe is really 2 authors whose identities remain secret. It’s rumored that one of them might be Tara Sivec but no one knows for sure…it’s purely speculation.

    Currently I’m just getting started on Too Wild to Tame by Tessa Bailey 😍❤️

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Valerie! No worries. It’s nice to know that you still check in on us 😉 Oohhh, tapping? Sounds VERY promising… I’ll have to put that on my list. I also love Tessa Bailey. Her Alphas are the bomb!

      Like

  3. Lissa Jeri says:

    Howdy…haven’t even digested your book club offerings this week, but had to share immediately this preview of Jamie Dornan in Siege of Jadotville: http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/trailers/765347-jamie-dornan-in-netflixs-the-siege-of-jadotville-trailer
    Wrong movie, but he has a dom face! He’s military. This is going to be good! Other two movies being released right now Anthropoid and Louis Drax look okay, but nothing to get the juices stirring than a military man in a crisis (think James Bond) but this is a real story and Jamie’s character is the hero.
    And had the ODDEST experience. Had read Lorna Doone several months ago (very long, good historical novel, amazingly scary villain) and the other day found a miniseries of it on TV. Watched the first section and discovered that the actress playing Lorna Doone is Jamie Dornan’s wife. Of course, series is from 15years ago or so. Weird? She has some acting quirks of Dakota Johnson. Weird.
    Read nothing this week in the genre and am dying. But have to read what comes from the library when it’s there.
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh yes! I agree with you Lissa! A man in uniform is just delectable!! You’ll have to watch it and let us know. And hopefully your local library gets some good reads for you soon!! I’ve heard that JD’s wife is/was an actress, but I’ve not seen her in anything, not that that is a particular surprise. I’m not a big TV watcher. She is very pretty though. Have a good week, Lissa 😉

      Like

  4. Sharon says:

    Adore that greeting card…..funny how you don’t see something, then when you do….it’s the only thing you can see! Kind of like the Trump/Pierce logo they started to launch then had to dump. Felt bad for the logo designer….no bragging rights to be had for that one!
    So….I am in process of reading Author Anonymous…..probably not making me froth at the mouth like it did Kathleen, but I’m only halfway through, so the frothing may be coming. One thing I wonder about is if her husband AND the man of interest were both as hot in real life as it sounds in the book. If so….damn. Life just truly ain’t fair. Her hubs sounds entirely awesome…can’t imagine what would make her take a walk on the wild side. But I guess you never know unless you were in her shoes. More next week after I’m finished.
    Also doing a re-read of the Unfinished Hero series. It’s been a while, and I’m on Deacon – book four. I’ve purchased Sebring…which I think is the final book of the series? and it will be my next read. Can’t say I love this series, but I do very much like it and enjoy the ride. All the guys are pretty yummy stuff. (guess the girls are too…but for some odd reason, I pay more attention to the guys. Go figure.)
    Speaking of guys….those Magic Mike dancers are pretty scrumptious stuff. I would have lost my voice screaming if I had been at the show!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Yes, the greeting card was very entertaining. Oohh, and you took the AA plunge! Good for you! Yes, please let us know what you think. Terrible that she would step out in a good guy. Makes all of us galls look bad! Yes, Serbing is the last in the Unfinished Hero series and I liked it. I found it a tad different from the rest. Thank you so much for the MM clip! It made my day twice over!!! 😘

      Like

    • Katherine says:

      Sharon, glad you started AA I’m interested to see if you really enjoy the book I think by the end if it you will want to slap Tori. Yes I was so sad for her hubby

      Liked by 1 person

  5. KereCB says:

    Hahaha I’m LMAO fot that last pic of Aunts! Hi beautiful friend! Im still on my dry at reading. But, thanks to you Im gonna start reading The protector… I hope to break that bad spell that kept me out of books. Have a lovely week! Kx

    Like

  6. julie knight says:

    lol on aunt…and you are apsolutely wright about MML dance…pure poetry…kind regards

    Like

  7. WilderFables says:

    Hi Miss Monique, Hope all is well with you and yours. I am in the middle of The Protector and I am having a hard time wrapping my head around the main characters. Not that I expect a Jesse again; but I just do not like them. Also since I want to understand you correctly; The Ground Rules is a three book series and you felt it could have been wrapped up in a single book. Right? If so I agree. Card was crazy, I had to look at it several times hahahaha🙂

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi there! Yeah, I hear you on the Protector. I’m just short of halfway and I’m not desperately in love, but I am enjoying it. I’ll see how I feel at the end of it. Let us know when you’re done.
      Yes! That’s exactly what I’m saying about Ground Rules. I see from the premise of book 2 and 3 they go back for more despite the ugly break and consequences. Who does that??? I like the idea of the story, but realistically, I’m not convinced that they would put themselves through that again, and then again.
      LOL for the card! It certainly made me crack a smile. Thanks for the feedback, girlfriend 😉

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    OMG I love love love that trailer. Starting to get excited again!! Hope I remember the damn story. 😜

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

