Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies🙂

How was your week? Mine went by in the blink of an eye. Why is it that holiday weeks just don’t seem to last as long as working days? LOL!

Now that we’ve been graced with the trailer, here’s a chat about the “shocking moments” we’ll be seeing in Darker:

I like that the movie really is going to be DARKER…

BC

This week I read:

ttb

4 stars

Tapping the Billionaire by Max Monroe, book one in the Billionaire Bad Boys series, was a delightful surprise! Apart from some odd word choices here and there, I loved this cute read. And Kline? I think he might have made it onto my book boyfriend list.😉

Currently I’m reading:

pbp

Playboy Pilot by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland.

On my shelf I have:

rc

Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci, book one in the Broads Abroad series.

Here’s something for you to think about…

dild

LOL!😉

Have a great week, girls. I’ll see you next week.

Monique kiss

36 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, well unfortunately my new series starting with Dance with Me turned out to be complete and utter rubbish 😢 so I won’t recommend it I couldn’t even finish it!
    I’ve nothing else to read atm so need some good recommendations this week.
    Have a great week

    Like

  2. Sharon says:

    I finished Sebring by Kristin Ashley, which is the fifth and final book in the Unfinished Hero series. Deacon was my favorite in the series, UNTIL I read Sebring. This surprised me as I wasn’t excited about Nick being the lead character. I felt like Kristin actually departed a bit from her tried and true formula in this storyline, which was a nice treat. And overall I would have rated the book a 4 star, but it went to 5 star for me just for chapter 25 alone. I rarely take the time to listen to songs suggested for books, though I think it is a nice trend. However, Kristen at the beginning of the story specifically requested you listen to Jose Gonzalez sing Stay Alive while reading Chapter 25. Gotta give it to her, that was some serious romantic shit, especially tied in with that song. I think I’ve listened and read that single chapter over about ten…OK fifteen times now. Gave me serious whim-whams.
    If you haven’t read this series, I think the book would be more enjoyable with the other books in front of it, but believe it would work as a stand-alone. You just wouldn’t know who some of the supporting characters are, or their backstory. The main story is about Nick and Olivia, and obviously, I enjoyed the ride.
    The other book I read was Obsession by the very writing prolific Ann Mayburn. I liked, but didn’t love the story. It’s a mafia cartel type of story, but spends little time in that space. Starts out fairly dark, doesn’t stay that dark. I enjoyed the two main characters, ton of sex toward the beginning of the book (more than I really wanted!), not enough sex after that…but there was a reason for each. (no spoilers) I did learn about a very intriguing sex toy I hadn’t heard of, so it’s nice when you can enjoy an educational aspect to your reading. Broaden your horizons, that kind of thing. So, can’t necessarily recommend, it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea….but it was a worthy purchase.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahaha! Yes, broadens the horizons for sure!!! So true, Sharon! 😂 And I so agree with you on Serbing, both on the departure of the story line and the touching scene with music. It was a great book, a wonderful closer for the series. I’m happy you had your whim-whams! Can’t go too long without those… 😉😉

      Like

  3. MAC says:

    Hi Girlfriends… Stay with me while I catch up a few posts. Firstly, I went back and read all the “Protector” comments. Loved how Monique hits you right on the head and you say “Yeah, exactly” I had to fight my way to the middle of the book…and I REALLY wanted to love it. Around the middle I thought it picked up but I never got attached to Cami (sorry its a bit whiney for me) I do think Jake had a lot more story to tell. It seemed like we were skating over the top of a story that “lied beneath this man”…I was so ready and then okay well onto the next book.

    I checked out the samples for Playboy Pilot and Jared…went with Jared and it has been a great return to what Nicole does best…the Walker Men. I did attempt “Wellhung” but honestly I cannot stand the girl again!! God I wish they would rate these books for real cause it ain’t no 5 star nor is it #6 on my list of hot panty melting contemporary. Abandoned it for Jared. So glad I did.

    Those trailers are so promising, yes?? Does it not make you love everything Christian anew. Too bad they cannot do both the books in one movie. I would volunteer to sit through untold hours of Christian, Jack Hyde… Lila. It would be torture 😎 But I would suffer through…repeatedly just to get the whole story on film at once.

    Hugs, MAC 💋

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey girl🙂 How are you? I’m relieved that I’m not the only one who wanted to LOVE The Protector, but failed to find anything like our Jesse-love. I’m curious why she’s so very far off the mark lately. I’m enjoying Playboy Pilot so far… Will offer my final verdict next Sunday😉 And YESSSSSS, the trailer is looking sooo promising. I’m stoked. I’m so with you on seeing the totality of the books on the silver screen, hours and hours of happy FSOG viewing! Why MUST movies be a certain length anyway? LOL! Good to hear from you, MAC

      Like

  4. Hi Monique. This week I’ve read craving and obsession by Helen hardy and might I say “WOW”. Loved them so much. Was looking forward to the third book but I see she has another three to be realeased after possession so I don’t think I’m going to find out what the hell is going on in this story until the very last book grrrrr. Don’t you hate when authors do that. Enjoy your week

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh wow, Camela. That’s a helluva long series! Good for you for finding something you can sink your teeth into. I’ll have to check it out. Thank you for sharing 😉

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey, Camela, I can’t find them on Goodreads. If you can, can you please supply a link or series name or something? Can’t find under author or title… please help! 🤗

      Like

      • Hi Monique the author is Helen hardt. The books are called craving, obsession and possession. Truly an awesome read. The next three books yet to be released are melt, burn and surrender. Us ladies at work are so engrossed in this series we’re hanging out to read some more. Enjoy

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Oh my! That IS exciting. I did eventually find it and put it on my ever expanding list! Looking forward to it now, and so jealous that you work with girls who share your reading passion! I’ve almost never been able to chat to a friend or colleague about what I enjoy to read! You lucky girl! 😉

          Like

  5. MAC says:

    Hi I just got Craving Camela it looks like it will be good. It is on goodreads, both actually but she is Helen Hardt…
    Try that author name and it’ll pop up for ya

    😎

    Like

  6. Lissa Jeri says:

    What am I missing? I’m 30% into first This Man book and all I see in Jesse so far is potential psychosis. The initial vibe is very Great Gatsby… and worse I visualize him as Leonardo DiCaprio….whose physical appearance leaves me cold. Then Jesse’s voice morphs in my head to Hal from 2001:ASpace Odyssey. This is everyone’s book BF? Or is it just the beginning and he is revealed to be more normal.

    And I know I think too much about details, esp hygienic, but does this girl really let him go without a raincoat when she knows in her bones he’s such a player? And worse, let him go from anal to vaginal contact without a wash up in between? My eww factor is major here, but I depend on your advice whether I’m gonna be able to get thru this or past this.

    Wincing,
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahahaha! Funnily, I’ve heard all those before, Lissa! Especially the the ass to vag exchange! LOL! I agree, hygienic is is not! And Jesse is entirely off his rocker, no doubt, but there is something very endearing about this uber playboy falling soooo hard. It is a very tumultuous relationship with so many twists from his pass popping up, yet I love the series. Sadly, the author has not captured me again since then. Read on, girl, then let us know! 😉

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ps: I pictured Jessie Pavelka as Jesse!!

      Like

    • Sharon says:

      Lissa, Jesse never made it to my top BBF list, but overall I liked the read. You just need not to focus too much on some of the details, and move forward.

      Like

    • MAC says:

      Lissa…keep going!! Even the “Beneath this man” I remember as my favourite. I know like Monique says some parts well we just have to move on for the greater good of the story. But Jesse does undergo a major transformation. He is not for everyone though…like the girl in the Manwhore series…I just wanted to slap her til she fell out of the story!

      Heehee… Good Luck

      Like

  7. KereCB says:

    Hi Monique! Well is always the same with hollidays, LoL. I always need hollidays from my hollydays. Im reading Some sord of happy by Melanie Harlow, well actually I’m more into it now, cause I’ve been reading it since a month ago. And also reading FSF. I already have on my book shelf Playboy Pilot. Get Ink by Helena Hunting and Secret Sins by CD Reiss. So a lot to come🙂 have a lovely week my friend. Im taking a week from work to be at my hometown with my fur baby! Sending you a huge hug
    Kx

    Like

  8. Lissa Jeri says:

    Thx everyone about the Jesse stuff. I’ll keep on going and hold my nose if I have to. But I hope the Leo DiCaprio vibe fades.

    Oh and a hoot of a typo or error or whatever early in the book. She wants to use the Latin word cum as in cum laude but for some reason writes it come so you get a double entendre error and brings up the discussion of how to write the verb vs the noun of ejaculation. And that’s not what she meant in the first place… but you read it wrong etc. You get the idea

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Yes, hold your nose and soldier on, sister! 😂😂 Ah, yesssss! I remember seeing that cum/come thing, and as an author, wondered how I would make the double entendre clear when the spelling of the two things I’m “entedre-ing” is the same. I’m guessing that’s why she did it. The joke would be lost if she kept the spelling… Food for ejaculatory thoughts?! 😂😂 Funny stuff!

      Like

  9. MAC says:

    Monique, thumbs up or down on “playboy pilot” need a weekend read. I know we have no patience. Cannot wait for your review…we always want more!!!!!!

    💋

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

