Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗We’re having the most glorious weather here in the eastern parts of Australia. It makes me want to kick back and suck down a couple of cocktails! Summer is definitely on its merry way. Yay! 

And with the advent of October, we welcome the start of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Whether it’s touched you personally, or colored the life of someone you know, thinking Pink is part of every woman’s life. Keep those girls healthy, ladies🙂

flag-light

With Fifty slowly simmering to a boil after the release of the Darker trailer, Coco De Mer has launched a stunning new range of delicates to tantalize in the bedroom.

cdm-fsd-story-page-940x400
Beautiful, right?

Do you remember, a little while ago, I posted news of Golden Girl, Crossfire’s Brett Kline’s tribute to Eva being turned into an actual song? That sexy laudation now has its very own music video..

Pretty cool, if you ask me… 😉

Then, before we dive into my reading week, let me share something that made me look twice…

img_6278

No, your eyes are not deceiving you! B.O.B. in the the form of E.T.’s finger. And a glowing one at that. Oh my gosh! E.T.’s florid digit must be the very last way I’d want to see stars… 😂😂

BC

This week I read:

pbp
4 stars

Playboy Pilot by Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland was a lovely read, absolutely in line with the delicious stories this duo is known for. I thoroughly enjoyed having some fun with the friendly Captain of the skies, Carter Clynes.

Currently I’m reading:

rc
Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci, book one in The Broads Abroad series. So far, I’m liking this VERY much.


Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley, book three in the Colorado Mountain series – thank you, Sharon🙂

I got my favorite Goodreads email at the end of September, and it goes without saying that I went a little nuts pre-ordering everything I’ve been waiting for. You’ve gotta’ love ebooks! Here’s some of what we can expect to see in October:

o1

o2

o3

o4

o5

o6

These screen shots are taken from Goodreads which means the links aren’t live.

As always, I’ll leave you with something to make you grin…

😂😂

On that note, happy weekend, girls. Let’s chat 💭

Monique kiss

33 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. crystal says:

    Hi ladies.
    The erotic statue you had posted a couple of weeks ago (pussy eating/cock sucking) is in Jeju Loveland Outdoor Erotic Sculpture Park in South Korea.
    I had to find that statue. Took some internet search but I found it.
    Loved it.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Good morning ladies,
    This week I read Craving by Helen Hardt, part 1 of the Steel Brother Series. I’m in two minds about this book, the positives are that it is not a short read, I could see Talon becoming book boyfriend material if he could sort himself out🙂 and this has the potential to become a really good series.
    On the other hand it is very like FSOG IMO, rich man, abused, thinks he can’t love etc. this gets a bit monotonous after a while. It is apparent early on in the book the type of abuse Talon faced even though this is only told in short memories I found it a little too graphic. If this makes sense I also think there is a bit too much sex so far and why all the bloody talking during it, personally I would have to tell him to shut up, he would put me of. I experimented and started saying things to hubby like is said in the book, it put him of his stroke – literally🙂 he looked at me like I had lost my mind (again). In saying all that I have downloaded the 2nd book Obsession partly because the author left us with a hell of a cliffy.
    Hopefully I will get this read this week but being home alone it might take a little bit longer. Hubby is away on his annual jaunt with the boys to visit graves from WWII, was it really a year ago I mentioned this before?!! Holland is the destination this year. He will be home on the 8th and I am heading for 5 nights to sunny Spain with the girls on the 9th so looking forward to that.
    I would also like to say WTF!!! ET’s finger lol? nope sorry that is actually disturbing.
    Have a great week everyone x

    Like

    • Carmela Dimattia says:

      Hi Katherine keep reading the steel brothers books by Helen hardt they are amazing. Unfortunately there are 6 books so far so I think we will have to wait until the last one for a conclusion but I have loved them so far

      Liked by 1 person

      • Monique Lain says:

        Six books in a series is a helluva’ commitment! It’s gotta’ be damn good if it’s going to keep you enthralled for that long. Kudos to this author is she manages to do that! 😉

        Like

      • Katherine says:

        Hi Carmela, 6 books? she will have to come up with something very special to keep me interested for that long but I’ll keep going

        Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Wow, great review, Katherine. Some very interesting thoughts there. I did see a lot of “like FSOG” references to the series, so you confirming that is not surprising, but you’re right, it can get tedious, especially as it’s been done so very well by so many writers, that it’s an almost impossible act to follow. And I hear you on the too much sex and the chatty lovin’. Unless he’s whispering naughty things to help the situation along, his blabber can wait till after! 😂😂
      IKR? E.T. soooooo does not belong in any go-to sexy place!! 😝

      Like

  3. Lissa Jeri says:

    Howdy all….just run home from the movies…saw Bridget Jones’ Baby…major way cute but not why I’m writing. Don’t know if I’m the first one…or the only one…but had FSD trailer…on the big screen. So glad I watched it so many times on youtube b/c knew exactly what to look for. Ladies…it is so.much.better on the big screen. Like a whole ‘nuther trailer…but it was indeed the same one. Amazing.

    Oh, also finished video of Lorna Doone (2000) with title character Jamie Dornan’s wife. Not the, well, greatest of actresses. But cute, cute, cute.

    Okay, my weekly report. Still slogging thru that Jesse stuff, waiting, waiting. That’s on my tablet.

    But on my Kindle I have Mister O. Again, sure I’m a day late and a dollar short…meaning you all have already read it…but I’m absolutely enjoying it….enjoying it the way I love Alice Clayton, well, at least Wallbanger. Laugh out loud funny (and I do enjoy that in addition to action) and don’t think I’ve bumped into a FSOG reference yet. (This Man is so peppered with them, I needed a glass of water…for the pepper).

    Waiting for the new Tara Sue Me to arrive from the library.

    And thru this all reading a lot of other stuff. Tracy Chevalier’s At the Edge of the Orchard is very good. But wanted to comment on the Liane Moriarty book Truly Madly Guilty I mentioned some weeks back. Not the genre but the turning point of the book is based on the genre. FSOG is the topic (and reactions to it) at a barbecue when something goes very wrong while the adults are talking/thinking about it and other related stuff. Just FYI.

    If any of you celebrating the Jewish New Year tonight, wishing you a sweet, healthy New Year. Well, and to everyone else too.

    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Lissa. Wow, big reading going on with you! Fun times. Which Mr O has you smiling? There are so many Mr books out ATM, I get confused! LOL! Yes, This Man definitely appeared in the height of our FSOG bubble so peppered is indeed the correct term, seasoned very thoroughly with Shadesisms 😉 Good to hear from you 🤗

      Like

  4. crystal says:

    The weather here is finially starting to cool off. High 80s in the day and 60s at night. Only thing left in garden is okra.
    Haven’t read a lot lately been busy. Starting into the best time of the whole year to coupon. I’m a big time couponer.

    *I read “Beautifully Brutal ” (Southern Boy Mafia Book 1) by Nicole Edwards. She is one of my favorite author, All of her book have a mix and mingle of different characters from her other book so I knew a bit about her main male character Max. As the name implies the story lives in the middle of a Mafia family and a big plot intrigue. The sex is steamy hot, the love story is heart warming and has lots of hard bodies. I give it a 4 and highly recommend it.

    * Second I went with the book Monique recommended. This was a new author for me and I will be reading more of her work. “Override” )The Underground Club Book 1) by SJD Peterson. It is a M/M story that is full throttle from the start with a BDSM component. Just like I like. None of this dragging bullshit out. There is no real drama, just a great love story, wonderful heartwarming family support and some damn I mean damn hot sex. The main characters and even the minor ones were well developed. This is the first story I have ever read M/M or any mix of male and female where the men talk about how sore their asses are after fucking and needing to put a few days waiting time for more action. I give it a 4.5 Will be on my reread list..
    Thanks Monique for the heads up in this book and author.

    * At present I’m reading another one of my favorite authors Cherise Sinclair, “Protecting His Own” (Masters of the Shadowlands Book 11). Cherise also has overlapping characters in her books so I have read the back story on how these two characters got together. All of her books have BDSM, with Masters who have large, hard, equipment and know how to use it. Each of her books are woven around a love story. So far the book is everything I hoped it would be. I’ll let you know when I finish.
    Have a great week ladies
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Crystal 😉 Coupons? As in discount squares that you clip from magazines and papers? That’s cool. Not really something we know here in Oz, or perhaps I don’t know where to look?
      I’m so glad you enjoyed the book. I had no clue, but I’m stoked it worked out for you! Happy reading, girlfriend! 😉

      Like

    • Katherine says:

      I’m delighted to meet a real life “coupon lady”
      I watch the programmes on telly every week about them, they can spend $1000 dollars on food and with the coupons they pay $100!! This isn’t something we have over here but I don’t think I would have the patience or the knowledge TBH it all seems very complicated but well done you x

      Like

  5. crystal says:

    Oh y’all were talking last week about “This Man” character being one of you book boyfriend. For me he would be like a Freddy Krueger boyfriend for me. He still given me nightmares. I wanted to throw him in a wood chipper after the first half of the first book.
    Liking different things and people is what makes the world go round.
    Crystal
    USA

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahaha! I think Lissa is going to be in your camp regarding this.

      Like

      • Lissa Jeri says:

        You betcha. Got 50% into the book and realized this guy was toxic and unredeemable. I’m done. Moving on. I completely understand Crystal’s Freddy Krueger comparison. But cannot let Ava off the hook. She wasn’t believable in her thought process. Flipped thru the last couple of chapters and saw he was player and truly unstable…. not redeemable. Ah well, will never solve the mystery of the missing BC pills. He is soooo not father material. Anyone want to spill on the BC pills? I hope it wasn’t Jesse trying to get her pregnant. I cringed when he didn’t use a condom.

        So much enjoying Mister O by Lauren Blakely. It is a delicious rom-com… a book that I could even see being made into a movie…. that kind of rom-com.

        And Crystal, I was an absolute coupon queen. If I didn’t get back 50% on the receipt, I’d be crushed. But you’re right…. there are hardly any coupons anymore, they expire very quickly, and haven’t seen doubling in ages. I still remember the emotional crush when I passed on my coupons when I moved from the US.

        Lissa

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          LOL! Oh dear! Bye, bye, Jesse! Too funny, Lissa. Oh well, I guess he’s not everyone a flavour. **SPOILER ALERT** Yes, he is the one stealing her pills in an effort to bind them together irrevocably. Like I said, he’s nuts! But it works for them in the end.
          So no coupons in Israel, Lissa? It doesn’t seem to be a thing here either. I feel like I’m losing out now! 😝 Anyway, thanks for checking in 😉

          Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Ps. I’ve read one of Blakely’s books: First Night, and gave it two stars. It was one of those insta-love books, all sex and no substance. Do I need to give her another chance?

          Like

  6. KereCB says:

    Hi Monique! I loved the Golden Girl’s song! Wow, It was like when you read the book, it took me to that moment when Brett sang it for the 1st time to Eva…. I finished reading Some Sort Of Happy by Melanie Harlow, and I ended really liking the book. Im reading Some Sort Of Crazy right now, so far it’s pretty good!
    Kx

    Like

  7. Sharon says:

    I also enjoyed “Golden Girl”. I thought they created a good rocker song out of it…..BUT….they kept singing AAAAAAAva, and each time I kept thinking it’s EEEEEEEEva. I know….picky, picky. But really. At least sing the girl’s name right if she makes you hot enough to sing about her.
    Not much to report reading-wise. Did a re-read of Fallen Too Far by Abby Glines / which I’ve always liked – but not enough to be motivated to buy more of the series. Read my first Christopher Rice book (Anne Rice’s son) called The Surrender Gate. Paranormal and very creative concept on finding out your true self via your fantasies. Scary thought, that. Had the gay best friend so many books have. I really need a gay best friend. They do sound like such fun.
    Now reading a paranormal vampire book by Lara Adrian called Kiss of Midnight. Not overwhelmed yet – but I’m only a couple of chapters in. We’ll see!
    Cheers to Crystal for finding the statue. Next time I’m in South Korea, will make sure to stop by!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! No worries, Sharon! I’m exactly the same! You should see what happens when something like that happens in a book I’m reading: say an author says the character is eating an apple, and then, on the next page the throws away the orange peels (from the APPLE) she ate before… Oh dear… See Monique-melt-down!!! Book goes straight on the DNF pile. LOL! 😂😂 #IHaveIssues 😜
      Oohh, looks like you’re back in your favourite genre. Enjoy, girlfriend. I hope you find some H.O.T fang banging joy! And yes, fascinating that there’s an actual sexy statue park, huh? Would so make for a fun trip! 👍🏻 Happy reading, girlfriend 😘

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

