Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies🙂

How are you this fine weekend? I’m happy to report that my reading week was stellar! Yay! 

Now that we’ve all had a closer look at the Darker trailer, I’m happy to see that there will be MORE of what we did like from the first movie…

kiss-collage
Kiss, rinse, and repeat! Yummy!

Angelique sent me this: a mash-up of Suicide Squad with Darker…

Iiiiinteresting, right? LOL!

hd

And then, good news! Do you remember Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre, the one featuring Cocky, the cute chicken? Susan shared that it’s been picked up for production. See the Natasha is a Book Junkie Facebook page for more deets.

BC

This week I read:

rc

4 stars

Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci, book one in the Broads Abroad series, was a fantabulous read. Not only was the story heartwarming, but technically, from a purely writer’s perspective, it was outstanding. #GottaLoveGoodWriting

Currently I’m reading:

img_6301

Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley, book three in the Colorado Mountain series, is progressing nicely, but, it has to be said, a tad slow. Kristen being Kristen, is not a lean writer. Girl loves her details, making her books fat volumes to be consumed only with the luxury of time. It can be frustrating when all you want to do is dive headlong into the action. Also, this particular one is a prime example of her classic, monosyllabic Alpha, the strong silent guy she writes so well. Nevertheless, I am loving the slow savor burning between Ty and Lexi. Thank you, Sharon😉 I can see why this is a firm favorite of yours!

On my shelf I have:

b

Beautiful by Christina & Lauren, book five in the Beautiful Bastard series. Officially, it is my understanding, that this one is the last in the series. #SadToLetItGo

So, if you’re desperately searching for a gift for that person who already has everything, perhaps this pic from Sharon might be what you’re after…

banana-stopper

Whahahahaha! Considering the facial expression, as well as the rings around the front, I think it’s safe to say that the banana facade is just that – a facade! Banana, my hiney! LOL! 😂😂😂

Have a great one, girls!

Monique kiss

15 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Sharon says:

    Ah – glad you are enjoying Ty & Lexie! 100% Kristen Ashley formula writing….but I love, love this couple!! They both deserve awesome good things to come their way.
    I’m not sure why Jennifer Armentrout wrote the first four “Wait for you” series under the name J. Lynn, then switched to the Armentrout name for the next two – (I’m sure there is a good reason) – but I just finished Fall with me, and now starting Forever with You. Loved Fall with me…loved her first four books (though book one w/Cameron and Avery remains my favorite). And looks like I will also love Forever with You. I find her conversational writing to be really top-notch for me. I’ve had Fall With Me for a long time – just didn’t click it was the next book in the series due to the author name change.
    ANYWAY – would LOVE to hand out the banana wine stoppers at the Christmas party gift exchange…but don’t guess I can get away with it. But love thinking about it!!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I LOVE those stoppers! Funniest thing ever! And the banana face looks so into his job!!! 😂😂 Aww, yes, J Lynn and her many names…. Who knows what’s going on there. I myself have pondered this question. She is a good writer though, but the last one I read from her, the book where you could choose your own ending? That was STRANGE! I adored the happy/sad read up until those final pages, and then… WTF? Did she ever write a sequel? And I so agree with you, Ty and Lexi NEED some Lady Luck lovin’. Good hearing from you, girlfriend. 😘

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        I never read the book with multiple endings….doesn’t sound like I missed anything!

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Really? Huh. It was a fantastic book, I loved it ’till the very last pages where you could choose if you wanted the instant HEA, or read a prologue to the next book that left you stumped. It was sooo strange. Personally I think, if you’re gonna’ write a book, make sure you offer a solid ending, even if it is a book or two away. You can’t be that noncommittal that you simply can’t decide and then offer both. #JustSayin😉

          Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, should be asleep leaving for the airport at 5am but wanted to get my comment on in case I’m not able to during my week away!
    So last week I read Obsession book 2 in the Steel Brothers Series again the author has left us with another cliffy that annoys the hell outta me lol but I enjoyed this more than book 1 despite the similarities to our beloved fifty shades but I no longer like the characters 😕 imo Talon has the emotional range of a teacup and Jade is just devious. she is doing so much digging behind the Steel Family’s back that personally I hope they don’t forgive her when they inevitably find out.
    I also read Override after Crystal raved about it last week, surprisingly I really enjoyed it, I did skip over some of the sex but I loved the storyline and the characters.
    Have a great week I’ll have an extra cocktail for you x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, that’s so nice of you, Katherine. It is always a pleasure to chat to you. I hope you have a lovely time. So, I take it despite the cold shoulder for the characters you’ll read on? Seven books in total, right? Phew, it’s gotta’ be wicked good to warrant such a saga. Let us know.
      Ooh, and you read yourself some M/M action, huh? Nice. Not too shocking? Was it very different than the normal romance way?
      Yessss, PLEASE have that extra cocktail (or three) for us! See ya soon🙂

      Like

  3. Carmela Dimattia says:

    Hi ladies this week I read empire by Kathy coopmans and beautiful by Christina Lauren. Both books were amazing. I loved the way both authors finalised the stories especially beautiful. I felt the ending was quite fitting for the series. I am looking forward to reading bound to submit by Laura Kaye which comes out this week. If there are recommendations of other books to read please let me know I would love to hear them. After a break from reading for a few months I feel I have my reading mojo back. Enjoy your week ladies

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Carmela🙂 Yes, you’re not the first one to mention that the Beautiful epi rocks. The whole series was good, though. AS for recommendations: I adored Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton & Nina Bocci, Playboy Pilot by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward, and LOVING Lady Luck by Kristen Ashley. Also, book three of The Royals series by Erin Watt is coming shortly, that could be a fun series to read if you’re looking for something longer. Thanks for checking and glad to hear you’re back on the reading train. 😋

      Like

  4. Lissa Jeri says:

    This week I read Secret Sins by CD Reiss. Can’t remember who mentioned it last week/few weeks ago, but it is…awesome. All of CD Reiss’ stuff is wonderful, first of all b/c it’s so well written and plausible and accurate. This is a stand alone, but it’s part of the Drazen Universe. So you can enjoy it alone or really enjoy it and get an emotional kick if you’ve been living in the Drazen Universe already. At the end of the book is the first book of the Submission series (which takes you into said universe) and I decided to re-read it. OMG…loved it even more the second time around. Jonathan Drazen…is….I’ll say it fast…maybebetterthanCG. (pls still like me) CD has written a bunch of stuff and there’s not a bad egg among them.

    Watched the first two episodes of The Fall, and JD is flat on his back in bed for all of them…but not in a good way. Intense excellent shows w/ JD’s acting excellent despite hardly a word of dialogue. Rec’d!!! And in the 6 Degrees of Separation: In the second episode, JD’s father has one line (director’s treat for JD). But take a look, JD better take care of himself as he ages considering what his father looks like. Also, emergency room trauma director in first episode (the actor) was the lover of JD’s (actress) wife in Lorna Doone. Small world.

    And as always, want to rec’d a non-genre book: The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore. Excellent novel about electrification of the US (Westinghouse vs Edison) with lots of interesting legal stuff. Already going to be made into a movie…yes, it’s that good. And, apparently, Eddie Redmayne from The Theory of Everything is starring…..who happens to be JD’s best friend.

    I need a life….
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! It sounds as though you HAVE a life, Lissa! A good one at that. We can do far worse than moon over books and movies. Every girl needs a bit of book lovin’ in her life… thank you for the share. Question: you mention Drazen Universe, does that imply that Reiss’s books are paranormal?

      Like

  5. Lissa Jeri says:

    OMG Monique…I thought about that paranormal thing when I wrote it but figured no one would pick up on it and be confused. Sorry. No, not at all. It’s just that CD has written the Submission series (9 books or so) about Jonathan and two other series about two of the other sisters. This new one (Secret Sins) is about a third sister (the oldest one) and she’s says she’s writing another one about this sister that parallels the Submission series. (Jonathan was born when the oldest sister was 17 or so). Oh, and there are three other sisters. And, she’s written a few stand alones about other non-Drazen family characters (complete by themselves). Her stuff is just….wonderful

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Ah, I see. Thank you very much for clearing that up, Lissa! I’ve seen her books around – naturally, but never tried. I wonder why we feel attracted to some and not others, especially when you constantly see a prolific author like she is? #InterestingStuffToPonder 😉

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Lissa, I finally took the plunge into Songs of Submission. Oh my word. What lovely writing! Just a pity it’s so damn short!! Why do writers do that?? Money making plot if you ask me. Thanks for the great rec. 👍🏻👍🏻

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

