Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies🙂

I’m happy to report that I had an amazeballs reading week, but before I chat about that, check out this Fifty fan blog: Grey House. I like the countdown clock ticking down the hours and minutes until we finally get to see Darker come to life.

Then, I’ll eat my hat if this sizzling Tango wasn’t – at least in some small part – inspired by our beloved Grey:

*fans face* Pretty hot, huh?

Okay, let’s get to the point of this post: sharing great books…

BC

This week I read:

b bcs

Beautiful by Christina and Lauren, book five in the Beautiful series, was a delightful end to this stunning range. I particularly loved how she brought the whole group together, tying every last string into a lovely, cohesive bow.

Beg, Tease, and Submit by C. D. Reiss, book one, two, and three of the Songs of Submission series, was a smart, sophisticated read with a decadent lick of wicked heat. I’ve seen this author around, but for some unknown reason I’ve never given her the time of day. Who knows why one book cover or writer calls to us, and we pass another by? Needless to say, I’m thrilled that I finally took the plunge, all thanks to Lissa’s rec. My only grievance? The ridiculous length of these books. Why break up a book into three parts, then sell them as a set anyway? #Strange If you’re still hankering for something reminiscent of FSOG then this series should be on your radar. The BDSM aspect is a tad sharper, but also a little less defined. I’m giving it a double thumbs up.

BOB png

Currently I’m reading:

tp cbr

Twisted Palace by Erin Watt, book three in the Royals series & Control, Burn, and Resist by C.D. Reiss, book four, five, and six in the Songs of Submission series.

On my shelf I have:

rs

Royally Screwed by Emma Chase, book one in the Royally series.

Ya’ll know staying in shape is important, right?

img_5313

LOL! 😂😂

Have a great weekend, girls. Tell me all about your reading gems.

Monique kiss

16 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique
    This week I also read Beg Tease and Submit and Burn all thanks to you and I have to say I loved them I am currently reading Control for some reason I had to buy the next 3 separate, I think Amazon uk needs to catch up with the rest of the world I’ll take your advice and switch to the US site, I am really enjoying them and also wondered why I’ve skipped that author as well.
    I still have the matchmaker playbook on the go and hope to finish it after this current series.
    Have a great week

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      That’s great, Katherine. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed them. 👍🏻👍🏻 Yes, the non US Amazon sites suck. I went from US to AUS when they first offered a switch and I hated it. Slow releases, no gifting option, some combined sets not available, and some books not available at all. I switched back very quickly. Naturally the prices are quoted un US $, but I can live with that considering all the other great options I do get. I just wish I could join their premium service, but alas, it wouldn’t help because I won’t be able to use some of the cool services. I would certainly get my money’s worth if I could. Happy reading, girlfriend 😘

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    lol so I messed that up I’m reading Burn finished Control!!
    Lets blame it on the fact its after 1am here & I’ve been on the vodka tonight

    Like

  3. Lissa Jeri says:

    I am so glad the reaction is positive. I feel vindicated, but more importantly, I’m glad I didn’t embarrass myself. I’ve been rereading the series while I wait for some stuff from the library and I’m shocked by how much I forgot and how much I didn’t pick up on in the first place. Forget which book I’m up to in the second trilogy but it’s right after the kitchen scene.

    Okay….I will make a potentially fatal comment: I am more attracted at this point to Jonathan Drazen than CG. OMG…are you still reading?
    The relationship between them is not messed up by the (occasionally) overwrought angst of CG. Jonathan has some issues which you’ll find out are very real and interesting and appropriate for the arc of the story. But what I like is that the dialogue is very real. The interactions are more than plausible. The internal conflicts and hesitations are driven by plot and situation. It doesn’t hurt that CD Reiss is an accomplished author. Her use of language and imagery are excellent. Turns of phrase thoughtful. Her rooting in the real world of LA without false notes.

    So ladies..keep reading. Keep enjoying. The books about several of the sisters are also very good although I will admit I didn’t like the Mafia related one, well, just because. But it was a well-crafted book and I doubt you’ll complain.

    I just started the new Jamie Fraser/Diana Gabaldon book, Virgins. A prequel that takes place in France just after Jamie was lashed by Black Jack Randall. As always, enjoying Gabaldon immensely.

    And, as is now my wont of adding in other non-genre books, I’ve enjoyed Finding Nouf (detective fiction in present day Saudi Arabia) and am in the middle of The Glass Palace. This author, Amitav Ghosh’s stuff is wonderful historical fiction, this one about Burma. His Ibis trilogy about the poppy trade and opening of China was superb.

    Okay, gotta go. Thanks for making me happy that you’re having a good time
    Lissa

    Like

  4. Lissa Jeri says:

    Oh PS…all the Submission books were singles to begin with and combos didn’t come on the scene until two years ago or so.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yeah, I assumed as much, but still. What’s with chopping a single book into three (or any number)? And then she still has the .5s in the series! What are those called? Novellas of novellas? WTH? LOL! I’m happy to pay a little more for a nice fat book. Personally, I feel ripped off when a book gets split into parts. Perhaps I should learn to look at the page count before I hit that “one click” button. 😝

      Like

      • mothergolf says:

        I agree, I hate it as well and it seems like so many are doing that. I have stopped buying for now….I think that is just unfair to us as readers……I want to support the authors, but splitting books up like that is just….ugh……

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Agreed. But is does make for a good deal when they bundle them into sets, like she’s done now. I with I could give my one clicking finger a break like you are… *sigh* Sooo many books, so little time 😉

          Like

  5. MAC says:

    Oh you ladies are the best lifter-upper another girl could ask for. Silent, but always there. Opinionated but open-minded! Shy but sexy. Clean but a little bit dirty!! 😉 No place I would rather be.
    So I went back to an old favourite. K Bromberg “Downshift”… Wow I read that sucker in 2 nights. Not a lot of panty melting but one hell of a story. Remember the Driven series… This is about Zander the small boy adopted by Colton and Rylee. He is all grown up and the author made his story come alive. Used some kleenex!! Have not used kleenex in quite some time!! Very happy to hav spent the weekend with Zander and Getty!! 💋

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? A lovely bunch for sure! Such a pleasure to deal with you lovelies, especially when I see how some folks behave on the internet. Makes me grateful for every fun lady I meet here! ❤️ And sounds like you have some book lovin’ going on there, girlfriend! Good for you. I so love falling in love with a book. Sheer bliss! As always, it’s lovely to hear from you 😘

      Like

  6. KereCB says:

    What??? You hadn’t read C.D. Reiss Songs Of submision? I mean Wow. I loved the series. Try to read them in order. After the 1st three books there is the 1st of Songs of dominance and then you can continue reading the next books. I love That series is one of the best! And I’m reading Beautiful right now. So far so great! I love Christina Lauren😉 I’ll send you the link of my post about Songs of submission so you know the correct order of reading. Sending you a huge hug ny friend! Kx

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

