Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗

The Christmas countdown is so ON! The stores here are teeming with Chrissy shoppers, merry holiday makers are wearing bright red tans, and depending on where you are in the world, you may have your turkey stuffed, your prawns marinated, or your boerie defrosting. Ahh, happy days. I love the festive season ❤️

Next year, I reckon THIS will be my tree…

christmas-tree

#BestIdeaEver 😉

I didn’t come across much Darker news this week, but Universal was kind enough to release these two beautiful movie posters to me:

universal-1 universal-2

They do paint an enticing picture…

This is a fan made trailer, but I appreciate the drama of the opening scenes:

This week my reading was slow going. With all the playdates, Christmas shopping, and long list of to-dos, I’ve had very little time to spend on my favourite hobby, but let’s look at what I did get around to doing this week:

BC

Currently I’m reading:

sg

ShutterGirl by C. D. Reiss, book one in the Hollywood Project series. I’m just past the halfway mark, so progress, but not much.

On my shelf I have:

hm

Hail Mary by Nicola Rendell – thank you, Susan 😉 You can never go wrong with a cover sporting a guy with big balls! LOL! 😂

I don’t know if our US contingent share the Nando’s franchise with us here in Aus, but for in case you don’t, the peri-peri chicken outlet is known for their controversial (but oftentimes, fall-off-your-chair, funny) ads. This one is no exception:

chicken-2

Whahahaha! 😂😂

That’s all for today. I hope you have a good one 😘

Monique kiss

16 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique, the nandos advert is hilarious, it’s my kids favourite place so must show them this tomorrow
    My reading week has been so so, the books I read were ok, nothing I would recommend but they kept me going. The first book was Incredible You by Lili Valente, it was quite good but I’m getting bored with the same old same old. I’m currently reading This is War by Kennedy Fox again nothing to write home about.
    I’m so looking forward to Christmas Eve, that’s probably my favourite day of the 2 but I do love my Christmas dinner, I usually do so much tasting that by dinner time I’m full lol
    have a great week x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? I had a big (blushing) giggle!! They are so cheeky! I loved their ads with the toilet paper in the fridge. LOL! I’m sorry you didn’t have a stellar reading week. I guess they can’t ALL be fantastic, though we wish they were. Perhaps the okay ones serve their purpose only in highlighting the delight of the brilliant ones. I’m with you on Christmas eve. It’s such a special time. AND we open our pressies then, so there’s that 🙂 I do love the whole season, though. Ug, the eating! Christmas is so not good for the waistline.

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        We open 1 present on Christmas Eve its usually the Christmas jumper I buy my lot every year that they have to wear on the big day lol
        I always have family come on 24th for lunch, I do 2 sittings lol the joys of having a big family 😁 the 25th is just us 4 then that night I have a party. My son’s travels start on 27th 😢 3 months away from home not sure how ill cope lol he has informed us that he will be proposing on new years eve in Thailand, he has asked her dad’s permission and bought the ring which is beautiful but not sure how I feel about it. He’s 27 so not much I can do about it x

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Aww, sounds lovely, Katherine. Will definitely keep you busy! 😉
          Oh boy! 3 months? That seems very long. I don’t blame you for feeling out of sorts. I hear you on the grown up children insisting on doing their own thing. When do they get a mind of their own?? There should be an off switch for that! LOL! 😉 They will ALWAYS stay our baby angels, no matter how old they are. It’s so hard to watch one’s kids fumble around life, trying to find their own way. I take it from your message that the lady love is not ideal? That must be so difficult for you, Katherine. I hope it all works out wonderfully for all involved. The proposal sounds very romantic…

          Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Adore the Hail Mary cover….good to know he has them!! And never heard of Nando’s…..but I will certainly be right there when I do!! Hysterical!!!!
    I’m recovering from the flu-bug, but started feeling a teens i.e. Bit human again today. Wouldn’t mind so much if I could laze around in bed reading…..not as much fun when you have to force yourself out and about! I did finish book 2 of the Magdalen series by Kristin Ashley. Both books were good reads…..thinking book 3 isn’t out yet, but I’ll enjoy revisiting when it does. Thinking I will move ahead on Idol. Saw where Managed won Shameless Book Award for 2016. Nice to get started on a series with so many recommendations!
    Hope Christmas is lovely for everyone!!! Looking forward to sharing more fun reads with you in 2017!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      IKR? I love a good book cover! 😉 That’s the ONLY redeeming thing about being sick, the luxury of overindulging in reading. If you can’t at least do that then I don’t know how you managed, Sharon. But glad you’re feeling better. Oooh, good for Managed! She must be thrilled. I’ve always enjoyed her books. Good to hear from you, Sharon. Let’s hope this week sees you 100% better 😘

      Like

  3. KereCB says:

    My dear friend enjoy this hollyday season. I’m already on my hometown and enjoying every minute of it. Is so funny the nandos add, Lol. I’m still with Four Letter Word, past the 75% mark, so almost there, but life is getting in the way… have a lovely week my friend! Kx

    Like

  4. MAC says:

    Hi friends…Christmas is upon us. We open our PJ’s on Christmas Eve, a tradition that I actually started when my girl was weeny. Now at 19 she is like “we are getting pur PJ’s right??”
    This week I whipped through The Pawn. Which was phenomenal on my reading scale. Short but well played!! The Knight is next.

    Also just finished “Beat” by our Vi K. You know she really has a way of growing on you. I reLly enjoy the book even thoug at the start I am feeling a bit ho-hum…Vi spices that baby right up for ya. The only thing that made it detracting and made the character less compelling than she could of been was the name she used for the female lead “Lucky” okay I get the creative thing but I know three dogs named Lucky and it started to gring on me (Heehee) right in Chapter 2. Her full name was Luciana…then use it for Christ sake!! Don’t wreck the story by giving these pivotal characters stupid-ass names… I kept wanting to yell…
    “Here Lucky, Her girl…Good girl give us a lick!!” GAH 💋

    So in case I dont get back…Wishing my beloved LOGS the best Christmas ever and remember Christian is right around the corner!! Bought my ticket last night. February 9, 7:10 pm seat 4th row from the front!! Whohoo!!

    MAC 🌲💋

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Aww, that’s so cute. I LOVE special little family traditions like that.
      The Pawn?? Oh? Tell us more?!
      Ha! That’s funny about the name. Strange how such a small detail can make such a big difference, but I feel the same way, and especially so about character names.
      Oh wow! You got your tickets already?? That’s awesome. I’m holding out for a premier invite! #HeresHoping
      Have a beautiful, blessed Christmas season, dear friend. It’s always such a pleasure.

      Like

  5. crystal says:

    HI all.
    Christmas Eve morning the family will be here for brunch and present and then just me and hubby on Christmas day. Boxing day, for you Aussie, just Dec 26 for us American, I will have supper for the family with all the trimmings.

    Life doesn’t always give us what we expect so as soon as the holidays are over I will have to tell the family I have cancer and will have the fight of my life on my hands. Just know I may not be commenting but I will be reading Monique’s blog and all of your comments. You funnies and story will help keep me going as well as you book suggestion.

    I read the best book I have ever read, “Curtis” book 1 in the Coyote Ridge series by Nicole Edwards. It’s not my normal wild crazy sex, BDSM or multi partners, it’s just the best love story. If you don’t read it you will have truly missed a heart warming story of what true love should be.
    Keep me in your thoughts and prayers.
    Crystal
    USA
    Oh and it has been cold enough here lately to freeze a witches tits off. 11 degree.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh no, Crystal. What a horrific year you’ve had. I’m so, so sorry to hear that there’s more. You will most certainly be in my prayers, Crystal. I’m sending you a warm cyber hug and all the good Godly blessing you can handle. Stay strong, girlfriend. 😔

      Like

      • mothergolf says:

        Crystal, I don’t know you but I’ve seen your comments often….God be with you…..stay strong on your journey and fight hard knowing that we all have your back…….

        Liked by 1 person

    • Katherine says:

      Oh no Crystal I’m so sorry to hear this news
      I’ll keep you in my prayers, stay strong and fight it with everything you have. Know that your books friends will be thinking about you
      Take care xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sharon says:

      Crystal….thank you for sharing this. Be strong and fight like hell! You can totally do this, and we will keep you well wrapped with our support. Update us as you can….and we will try to keep you entertained in our little world. Big huge Christmas hug for you!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. MAC says:

    Crystal, I also will keep you in my prayers. You are right that life does not always give us what we expect…so I am wishing that you find the strength and the resolve it takes to get you through. You know where we are!! Enjoy your family time. 😇

    Liked by 1 person

Please, feel free to leave a comment

