Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗

Can you believe how close we are to seeing the new movie? Wow! I remember when Erika took over directorship, and we heard we had to wait two years instead of one to see the sequel. All good things come to those who wait, huh? 😉

And with D-day drawing near comes more quick glimpses of the film:

That elevator scene… *sigh* ❣️

Eonline features an article introducing the new faces we’ll be seeing in Darker. Nothing we didn’t already know, but it’s good to get a recap.

And here’s a quick look behind the scenes with Jamie and Dakota:

Then, here are two beautiful fan-made edits, the latter of which is an extended trailer:

Before we look at the book club, let me remind the Australian readers of Universal Pictures’s movie ticket give-away. Click this link for more details.

BC

This week I read:

ems awfs

EgoManiac by Vi Keeland was adorable! I loved every minute of Drew and Emerie’s offbeat romance. Definitely another of Vi’s books going on my favourites shelf.

After We Fall by Melanie Harlow was another pleasant surprise. I do like this author, but usually her books are sweeter than this touching tale of healing. Sexy farmer Jack is a hard, broken man who finds his soft spot with the love of a cheeky city girl. Gotta’ love a great book!

Currently I’m reading:

lil

Love in Lingerie, the new standalone by Alessandra Torre.

Then, as it’s that time of the month again, let’s look at what yummy goodies February will bring:

feb-1

feb-2

feb-3

feb-4

*Screenshots taken from the Goodreads site.

Lastly, as we celebrated Australia Day this week, I bid you adieu with a little Aussie humour:

bar-rules

And let’s not forget the Chinese New Year, the year of the rooster…

Have a good one, girls! 😘

Monique kiss

14 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. KereCB says:

    OmG ICan’t wait!!!! I read Royally screwed and Loved it! Reading Chandler by Laurelin Paige, is a standalone from the fixed series about Hudson’s brother, so far is a good reading. Hope you had enjoyed Australian’s day my friend! Have a lovely week! Kx

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique what does Australia day entail? Is it a bit like paddy’s day minus the green? 😁 I’ve never heard of it.
    This week I read Blaire by Anita Gray, it is a very dark romance I really enjoyed it but I wouldn’t recommend it to you Monique, you wouldn’t get past chapter 1 lol but for anyone who likes EK Blair but a bit darker it would be a great read.
    I will check out your recommendations this week xx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Katherine 🤗 On Australia Day we celebrate all the good things about being an Aussie: sunshine, BBQ, and backyard cricket is what most peeps do, then you go to work the next day nursing a hangover. Sounds like St Paddys, and like you say, blue instead of green! 😂 Thank you for warning me about your great read. Happy that you found a good one! I will definitely put it on my “For when I’m a grownup” list 😂😂

      Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Loved the Aussie humor!! Free beer is quite a serious incentive! I’ve been reading out of genre and mostly poor books at that. Involves a lot of skimming! However, My current read is a shifter book by Cherise Sinclair called Hour of the Lion that was on sale. I know several of you enjoy her Shadowlands books. Definitely a big cut above most of the other shifter books out there.
    Thank you for all the FSOG trailers and tidbits!! Won’t be long now!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Yes, Sharon. Free beer is like the Holy Grail. The Aussies are a thirsty bunch! 😂 You’re welcome! It’s no hardship ogling delicious trailers! Wish we could go together! 😉 Hopefully you’ll find some reading bliss this week. Have a good one 😘

      Like

  4. Lissa Jeri says:

    Howdy Ladies…I cannot make this up.
    I am writing from Greymouth, NZ, which is located on the Grey River where it empties into the Tasman Sea. Signs are all over calling this area Grey Land. Sigh. No, not CG…rather an important political figure from the 1900s…but a girl can dream.
    Had to put down my “real” books to get a fix, so read Separation Games by CD Reiss. Of course, I enjoyed it…I like her stuff…and her writing always presses certain buttons. Big theme here is a variation on the Madonna/whore dichotomy of vanilla-land. Can you be the dom and, at the same time, love your wife/sub? The book is a good exploration of the topic, but I personally feel that a love match does interfere with the dom/sub relationship. Doesn’t invalidate it, just softens it. As we see in (drumroll) FSOG!!
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello Lissa! 🤗 Seems to me ALL roads lead to Grey! 😉 I think it’s a sign. You HAVE to make a plan to see Darker in Aus! And yesss, drumroll indeed for loving Doms going soft, giving their girls…. MORE! *sigh* Good hearing from you!

      Like

    • Sharon says:

      Sounds like a fabulous trip!! I made it to the North Island once, loved it and the accents and the people. Not so much the restaurant prices. Hope the South Island and Australia will be in my future somewhere. And crazy fun that you are in Grey Land. I’m totally for it being all about Christian!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lissa Jeri says:

    Have started doing the research to see Darker in Sydney. Finally movie times are on internet. Found a theater near hotel. Hubby is game. Just have to figure out how to sneak away. Delicious problem
    Lissa

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

