Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗

How was your week? Mine, as always, was BUSY. Sometimes I wish I could hit pause on my life to simply catch my breath. 

But, it wasn’t without some game show frivolity….

Thank you, Sharon for making me laugh out loud! 😂

And thank you for all the St Paddy’s Day wishes. I hope you celebrated responsibly. 🍀

This week I read:

The Deep End by Kristen Ashley, book 1 in the Honey series, started out on a high note, and by high note I mean scorching! Phew! But, and this is a big BUT, it is a massive departure from her normal writing. Her style remained, but this book contained a lot less story and a whole lot more nooky. A WHOLE lot more! And kinky as they come. (Yes, pun fully intended). 😉 And while I didn’t mind the kink, nor the fact that it was a Domme with her “Alpha” sub (I had my reservations: I was worried that I’d see the guy as a whimp), I did find that the lovin’ went from smokin’ and intriguing to repetitive rather quickly. And if fluffy tailed plugs aren’t your thing, (it certainly made me spray my tea all over my screen 😳), then I suggest you head in another direction.

Currently I’m reading:

One Hot December by Tiffany Reisz, book 3 in the Men at Work series. I’ve had this on my shelf for a while, so I’m happy to finally get to enjoy the final instalment of this standalone series. 

On my shelf I have:

Addicted by Elle Kennedy, book 2 in the Outlaws series.

Lastly, perhaps you can relate to this as much as me: there’s always that one person, right? 😝

LOL! 😂

Have a stunning weekend, girls. I will see ya’ next week! 

17 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. KereCB says:

    Frank is really a dick! Lol… Hi Monique, well my week full of work, and meetings, and little reading time but at least it was a good week. Have a great weekend my friend.
    Kx

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique & ladies I have to admit i’m a weak weak woman lol 😛
    Despite hating and I truly did Indebted by Pepper Winters, she left it on such a cliffy I held of for 2 days and just had to see what happened next!!
    So a week on I have read Indebted 2. 3, 4, and nearly finished book 5, I’ve already downloaded book 6 and the epilogue!
    I’ve a feeling i’m gonna have nightmares for a long time, at one point I cried at the cruelty but I’m nearly there so hopefully I’ll be able to finish the series and while I do think Pepper is a fabulous writer I still wouldn’t recommend this series

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahaha! 😂 Those cliffiies!!! What an excellent writing device! 👍🏻 Well, at least it’s well written, Katherine. Read a sweet, candy floss book after you finish the series. Hopefully that’ll blow away the dark… Have a good one, girlfriend 😘

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        I’m an eejit Monique, when a book keeps you up and not in a good way it should definitely be in the do not read pile 😁
        Just watched the video it wasn’t coming up on my phone, hilarious lol

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          IKR? Love that she managed to identify the goods in the end!! 😂😂 And no, not an eejit, those cliffies are meant to do EXACTLY that! Keep you coming back for more! 😋 We’re ALL suckers in this, Katherine. Don’t feel alone! 😉🤗

          Like

  3. dblackmon says:

    That video was so funny! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon says:

    Hello all! Katherine, you are too funny. Apparently Pepper writes one hell of a cliffhanger to be pulling book after book out of you!
    I read a fun lion shifter book, not good enough to read any more of her books, but an extremely vain lion shifter (alpha, of course) goes to a hairdresser to have his luscious hair trimmed….and ticks off the hair stylist (gorgeous, of course) who then whacks off a big wad of it. Fireworks ensued on every level…cute premise for a story, and since I’m a Leo, I could empathize with the poor guy!

    I’m currently reading my first Meredith Wild book “Hardwired”. Pretty hot so far, and well written. Heard she pulled in big bucks from a publisher, and I can see why! I’ll let you know if it continues as begun!

    Hmmmm, I’m sure I’ll read the Kristin Ashley book, but I won’t be in a big hurry. Thanks for the heads up, Monique!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahaha! Love the premise! Sounds funny! Hardwired was a good series, but a tad long for my short attention span. You really have to bring it if you’re going to write five. Hope you enjoy! 😘

      Like

      • Sharon says:

        Oh geez….didn’t realize it was five books. Just did the .99 one click on the first book and have had it in my kindle for some time. Lot of FSOG framework in it….which isn’t surprising. Guess we’ll see how it goes….did you read all five, Monique?

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          I did read all five, like Katherine I’m a sucker for a cliffie, but I think she could easily have condensed them into a stronger series by making them 3 books. Yup, lots of FSOG winks in the range! 😉

          Like

  5. Sharon says:

    Oooo, forgot to mention that I ordered the pricey pillow they talked about in Idol! I needed one, checked it out and decided to treat myself!

    Didn’t hear the angels singing, but I’m quite pleased with it and it is now my favorite pillow…so I owe Kristen Callahan a vote of thanks. Guess I’ll have to buy another book from her! Good thing I enjoyed the two books I’ve read!

    Like

  6. Lissa Jeri says:

    Checking in from a campsite on the Golan Heights near Syria where we’re on a hike for charity. Have had some down time so got lots read.
    1. Idol great! What’s name of the gel pillow you got. Remember it in the book but not the names.
    2. Glad that Idol didn’t make the plot mistake LaLa Land did. Won’t spoil but Idol made same setup but resolved it rationally
    3. Melting over Managed. Gabriel is my kinda guy….but would like to see him more Dom-y. Always room for a complaint 😃
    4. Really enjoyed Hardwired but don’t think I read f/u books. Can’t remember why…but nit because I didn’t like first
    5. Have been noodling around reading what an alpha sub is. Controversial as some feel subset isn’t accurate, that implies sexual sub needs to be subbie 100% of time. Interesting
    6. Looking forward to Beauty and the Beast this Tuesday discount day. I’m addicted to the discounts😃
    7. Non-genre I finished this week….The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton. Amazing insights into what was happening while we were in high school..whenever it was that we were in HS…highly recommend. Published at age 22…so written earlier. What a mature and insightful mind!
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Lissa. 🤗 Wow! Exciting stuff. Hope you’re having a good time on your hike. What’s the weather like?
      So, so glad you enjoyed Idol and then Managed! I ADORED the way she made Gabriel bloom. Love, love, love these men who find themselves with the love of a good woman. I think a Dommy one-shot with Gabriel is an excellent idea! We should demand en-masse! 👍🏻
      Ug, the alpha sub thing is a bit of a hard pill for me to swallow, but I have to say the author pulled it off IMHO. Before the book, those two were completely mutually exclusive as far as I was concerned. Though, it has to be said, I still prefer my book boys straight Alpha! 😉 Good to hear from you 😘

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

