Between the covers book club 

Hello there, lovely ladies

What’s news on your side of the world? After a week of much-needed rain, we’re seeing bits of blue sky today. Yay!

Broadway World reports that, in little over a month’s time, we’ll be seeing the unrated Darker DVD. The releases are as follows: “Digital HD on April 25, 2017 and on 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray , DVD and On Demand, on May 9, 2017.” I get the unrated part, but what I’d like to know is the length of the movie… 

This week I read:

One Hot December by Tiffany Reisz, book 3 in the Men at Work series. I loved this book, probably my favourite of the 3 standalones. It was sweet, but had substance, and I love the way she writes a strong, cheeky female without making her a ball-buster.

Currently I’m reading:

Addicted by Elle Kennedy, book 2 in the Outlaws series.

From the Goodreads site it seems we have lots of good stuff to look forward to in April!

Whoo-hoo! Lots of goodies! Check out the Goodreads site for more.

Lastly, Sharon sent me this little test and I failed miserably! I could not see a single dolphin until it was pointed out to me. I guess that’s conclusive proof of my mind’s one-tracked state…

That’s it from me, girls. Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend. If you’re reading something good, please share.

22 thoughts on “Between the covers book club 

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique and ladies, I don’t think I’ve ever said “much needed rain” for our weather lol. I didn’t see any dolphins must get hubby to look.
    It’s mother’s day in the UK so I’m having a real lazy day, enjoying book shopping with my Amazon vouchers!
    I finished the Indebted Series by Pepper Winters, there are 7 books in this series. I would have loved these books if it weren’t for the physical and sexual abuse, it was a bit too much for me. In saying that I really enjoyed the storyline, admired Nila’s strength and determination to end the situation she was in and Jethro who was the one to take Nila turned into a swoon worthy lover.
    I was reading about about Pepper she has won lots of awards, Best Dark Romance, Best Bdsm series to name a few, and whilst I’m really enjoying the Pennies Series I’m wary about starting a new series by her.
    Have a good week everyone, I probably won’t be around for the next 2 weeks heading on my cruise on Friday but I’ll look forward to all the great reads when I come back x

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! No, I imagine you get more than enough rain! 😂 And seems we’re in the same dirty minded boat! No surprise there! 😂😂 Glad you managed to finish your dark series. Sounds like it hooked you despite the gore. Hopefully you’ll get onto something light and fluffy now, just to cleanse your mind from the heavy. Oohh, and enjoy your cruise! Sounds lovely, Katherine! 🌷

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    hubby can’t see dolphins either. guess we’re well matched 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lissa Jeri says:

      Ladies, ladies…it’s not a dirty mind…it’s refocusing the eyes. Did you learn nothing from Magic Eye? Or perhaps you never got that in the comic books. Look at the image again, but this time focus on all the darker grey (here we go again with the grey stuff) to the exclusion of the white. It’s just an eye trick, not a Rorschach or anything.

      But now a question for the group: does anyone/everyone get sort of depressed after reading one of the genre books (not all of them)? I very much enjoyed Managed (as well as Idol, but moreso), but felt so sad, so weighted down when it was done. I’m deliciously happy in my life w/ the Hubby, yet some books make me feel that I’m missing something in my life. Is that good or bad? Is it motivating or paralyzing? It fades quickly, but still…. And it’s not something I experience with other books other than genre.

      (Speaking of which…reading a great non-genre, non-fiction: Time Travel: A History by James Gleick [who wrote Chaos years ago]. Those of you into sci fi within our genre might find the history interesting.)
      Lissa

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        Lissa, I also feel like that sometimes I know I did especially after my first reading of FSOG and then actually felt bad for it! I’ve been with my hubby for 29 years and love him to bits. Maybe its just human nature that we want something we can’t have? I don’t know but very interesting nonetheless

        Liked by 1 person

      • Monique Lain says:

        Hey Lissa. 🤗 I did finally manage to see the dolphins, but took me ages to drag my naughty eyes off the lighter bits in the pic. So I can only deduce that I do, in fact, see the naughty in everything first! 😂 How was your hike, BTW? Then, onto your philosophical question about your emotional response to the genre. It is so utterly important to remember that these books/stories are fantasy based rather than just fiction. Much as I love Christian or Gideon, I think, IRL, they would be VERY hard to live with. What’s sexy and appealing on paper would be a curse otherwise. For instance, I like nooky as munch as the next girl, but if I was prevailed upon for marathon sex on a nightly basis knowing full well the hectic schedule that awaits the next day, I might resort to feeding my man sleeping pills in his dinner just to get a decent night! 😉 It’s vital that we manage our expectations of the (good) men in our lives. Sometimes I do wish for a little more romance, or longer cuddles, but then I get home to a packed out dishwasher, or he never complains when I send him to the store, and I think to myself, romance comes in many forms. We must try to see how good our men are even if that good looks different from what we read. I don’t generally feel sad finishing a great book, but I can feel a little lost, almost as if I’m worried that the good reads will dry up and I’d never get to read another again. Silly, really. I got over Fifty, so there’s hope! 😉 Thanks for the Sci-fi heads up. I’ll pass that one onto my hubby! 😘

        Like

        • Lissa Jeri says:

          Had to take notes to answer everything…
          1. (Has anyone noticed I like to number things?)
          2. I know what you mean about book BF not being real…too buff, etc. Oh, and too good in bed. Is ANY guy that good? But would very much like to read about regular guys who are not Adonises (rhymes with boners?) who might have love handles, etc…but are incredibly alpha/Dom. Writers are making sure the heroines are all “lush”…rhymes with a little extra meat on her bones…b/c it’s so PC…but would like a hero here and there who is not perfection. Equal opportunity or perhaps…diversity?
          3. Hike…I learned I had muscles groups that I didn’t know about. First day lots of boulders and a steep descent into a gorge. But the ascent was worse b/c of a lot of lose dirt and hard footholds. Would have been a disaster if it had rained the 1mm expected. But we got that 1mm the next day when we were descending the mountain…and that was treacherous. But we geezers done good and nothing broken or irreparable..altho my jeans will always have the hint of where the mud was. We did have a few boom-booms from yonder Syria way…border about five miles to the east…but nothing we were frightened by. Booms were probably ISIS…but who knows? But lots of money raised for CP kids and adults to have an independent life.
          4. When I read FSOG…I WAS oh so ready to live that life. Had already thought about TPE 24/7 with a guy after I was divorced, so when that word play came up in the after graduation spanking scene, I nearly choked!
          5. Marathon sex….so sorry I missed it in my youth. And impossible to recreate now. We’re all excited when its twice in 24hr period….but have to check the clock since it’s likely really close to that 24th hr…lol
          6. Monique: “I got over Fifty”. Really…really? Too transformative in my life to get over.
          7. BTW Monique…was that refreshing rain you got part of Cyclone Debbie? It made the news here.
          Lissa

          Like

          • Monique Lain says:

            Hey Lissa 🙂
            1) Ha! Numbering things are just fine. I like organised thoughts. Can’t go wrong!
            2) As for a truer to life series, I beleive R. L. Mathewson’s Neighbor from Hell series is along those lines. Not sure if BDSM features at all, but perhaps it’s worth a look?
            3) Well done for your hike and the bravery it obviously took. Worth the sore muscles, I’m sure…
            4) Pity you missed out on the TPE 24/7 thing, and 5) the marathon sex. Guess you should have a go now… 😉
            6) Yes, got over, not in a “left behind, never to be loved again”-way, but rather in a “I finally found other books I can love and enjoy again”-way. It took 8 rereads of the series, back-to-back, cover to cover to even try my hand at another book, and all through that time I was so worried that I would NEVER find another book to read.
            7) Yes, RAIN in capitals. Debbie was too high up to affect us during, but the aftermath hit us in a deluge of rain! Still ongoing….
            Have a good one, Lissa 🙂

            Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Lissa, I think that we probably all feel that way from time to time. There is so much magic in our books, and there are some people in real life that experience that magic, but they are the lucky few. E.L. James has said, “Christian Grey does not exist in real life”, and our book boyfriends also do not. Certainly that sadness comes my way from time to time. I think the occasional sadness is normal, where it would be of concern is if it doesn’t lift. And I suspect there are those out there that have real relationship issues due to unrealistic expectations. I’m no more like the gorgeous women in these stories than my hubs is like the alpha studmuffins that make us sigh. To my dismay, as much as I am quite certain that David Gandy is my true soulmate, he would never look at me twice!! However, a girl can (and should) have her dreams! That is why I love the genre. And I love that my hubs just rolls his eyes, shakes his head, and tolerates my obsession.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Monique Lain says:

      See? A real keeper, Sharon! You better go kiss him and tell him thanks! 💕

      Like

    • Katherine says:

      Sharon your hubby sounds like mine, at times mine is petrified wondering what I’m going to ask for next lol.
      I once asked my hubby why he never just throws me on the bed after work and has his wicked way with me 😉 his answer was if I grabbed you and threw you anywhere my balls would be in grave danger lol he’s probably right and quite honestly if I had as much sec as the ladies we read about, I’d be walking like John Wayne 😂😂 and sometimes we real women just can’t be arsed

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon says:

    And…my book report. Haven’t read the Men at Work series yet, but I will get there. The Night Mark excerpt was really interesting and I’m really looking forward to that read.
    I just finished the Hacker series by Meredith Wild (5 books) which I very much enjoyed. I think Meredith writes the HOT STUFF quite well, indeed! However, in book three I was so irritated at Blake that I skipped all the hot stuff. I wouldn’t have even been speaking to him, and certainly didn’t want to read about anything more than that! THEN in book four, I was so irritated at Erica that I was shaking my head and TALKING to the book telling her that she couldn’t possibly be that stupid!! Then I had to laugh at myself….at 22 I was a lot stupider than Erica on her worst day! So anyway, I did enjoy the series for the most part. Most series don’t rile me up that much, so I guess that speaks well for the writing. Not sure what direction I’m headed next.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! Yes! I remember that and others saying the same thing about them! Ug, they were frustrating at times. Isn’t it funny when you yell at your Kindle?! 😂😂 I’m looking forward to Night Mark, Sharon. She always brings it! 👍🏻

      Like

  5. Lissa Jeri says:

    Anyone see Beauty and the Beast yet? I swear there were lines taken directly from FSOG. And so so many “Easter Eggs” that you can’t keep up with them. Tons of references of other Disney movies, Broadway shows, and iconic choreography.
    As a movie? Good, even very good…but for me, not great. Much preferred the animated
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      I’m taking my precious princess on Tuesday, Lissa. I’m stoked. We’re doing the whole flash Gold Class thing, I’m hoping for loads of fun!

      Like

      • Lissa Jeri says:

        If your princess is a tender pre-pre-teen, just be aware that the wolves are pretty scary. Amazingly real. Not not to go…just have her ready. Then again, my princess is almost 30 and I bet it’d scare her too…lol
        Lissa

        Like

        • Sharon says:

          I certainly enjoyed it. Saw last week, going again this afternoon. Thought the 3D effects were very worth it. Amazes me how tech effects have evolved over time – really shows in this movie. Completely worth seeing on the big screen while you still can. Hope you and the princess enjoy, Monique!!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Monique Lain says:

          Thanks for the warning. I’ll definitely have a chat. She’s 9, going on 16….. But she’s very perceptive to pre prep, so that’s handy info, Lissa. We’re very excited. 💜

          Like

  6. MAC says:

    Wowza, you LOGS sure know how to bring the action. I was thinking about the feeling of being sad once done and I do feel that often. Not because I think it is true but because it all seems so “hot” and really I want to move to Seattle to find Christian. Or Gideon, yum. Or Jesse…yeah he a Lord. There are so many. I think its more the amount of attention and single mindedness of their “obsession” that makes you feel like you are missing out. Who would not want someone to just once want them that much!! Then like Monique I would have to sedate him to get my “alone time”. Heehee I wonder how many males have adopted the “alpha” persona trying to bring the stuff to life!!
    I did enjoy my read…Lorelin “Chandler” was really good for me. It is an offshoot of her fixed on you series. It was just what I needed and then I have started her “Dirty Filthy Rich Men” and it is taking alot of concentration cause the male character is so manipulative I have to keep shaking my head…umm, what did he just say!! Guess my attention is elsewhere. I did stop in the middle for a motorcycle panty melting book…Nina Levine…Devil’s Vengeance.

    Seems like a good movie nth coming up for books. I am waiting for the turning series…and the knight. Happy trails ladies!!!!
    💋 MAC

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey girlfriend! 🤗 Good to see you here. Yes, interesting isn’t it? What looks good on paper might not work so well IRL, but who knows? I’m 100% certain that Alpha-ness is on the rise in an effort to get more nooky, but it has to be the real deal, right? I reckon I would see right through a guy’s fake attempt and only end up laughing my butt of! 😂 Sounds like you had some reading fun! Good for you. I’m a bit at a loss right now waiting for new books I’ve been waiting for…. might check out your suggestion 😉 Have a beautiful week! 🌺

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

