Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗

Happy April Fool’s Day. Don’t let ’em get ya! 😂

Thank you for all your concerned emails and posts regarding cyclone Debbie that hit the top half of Queensland this week. We are blessed not to be anywhere near where most of the action was, but her aftermath caused a helluva’ deluge of rain and widespread flash flooding. So, I thought this pic fitting:

Then, the Laters, Baby site shopped around to bring us the who-has-what-for-how-much post regarding the Darker DVD. #GoodToKnow #DecisionsDecisions 🤔

As we are enjoying a short break this week, I’m taking my little munchkin to see the Beauty and the Beast. I can’t wait. I’ve heard some varied things about the movie so I’m keen to see for myself. I got this toe-curling pic from Sharon, not the actual actor who plays the prince, but damn, he certainly looks like the perfect “beast”! 😉

Before I get to the book club part, let me show you this super cool library in the Netherlands. The Dezeen site features the story of the “book mountain”:

Gotta’ love a country who builds a mountain out of books! 👍🏻

This week I read:

Addicted by Elle Kennedy, book 2 in the Outlaws series. I enjoy these post-apocalyptic stories, they’re well written if not a little far fetched, but like we said last week (and many times before), our whole genre veers strongly in the direction of fantasy. If you manage your near-future Sci-fi expectations, it’s a good read, but if you’re a serious futuristic fundi, this will probably be a little light in the pants for your tastes.

On my shelf I have:

The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz. I adore this woman’s amazing talent, so I’m looking forward to cracking its proverbial spine!

I’ll leave you with this funny pic – again from the evergreen Sharon:

😂😂

Have a fantastic weekend, girls. If you watch the Darker DVD, please let us know how it compares to the movie. Did it feel as fast? Is there chemistry between Jamie and Dakota?

 

4 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Lissa Jeri says:

    So it’s April Fools around the world. Not participating.

    If you want to know the history behind the original stories of Beauty and the Beast, see below. I’ve said gazillion times that the most recent fairytale on which the animation and movie were based on is a template for many of the dominant/alpha male stories we so enjoy. But the truth is pretty sad, but accurate for its time period:
    http://www.historyvshollywood.com/reelfaces/beauty-and-the-beast/

    Thx for the link for discussion of the FSD DVDs etc. I first want to know exactly what these extras are…like deleted scenes. But not all that desirous of a physical DVD in my life…would prefer something digital accessible from online. But will it have the extras? Problem is that Amazon always mushes reviews of products under the same name together and hard to differentiate. Ah well…will wait for sage advice.

    Dreamin’ of genre…but taskmaster library has handed down “just in” holds that I have to slog thru. Altho I’m laying bets that The Girl Before by JP Delaney is going to skirt the genre field…but it’s too mainstream, written by a man, and already being made into a movie.

    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Lissa🤗 Yes, I can certainly see the barely veiled connections between our genre favourites and the Beast. It has to start somewhere, right? LOL! Thank you for the link. That’s interesting, but like you say, not nearly as uplifting as the prettied-up Tinsel Town version. 😜
      I so agree with you on the confusing Amazon reviews! I’ve not come across a detailed break-down of just how many “extras” will be included, but I reckon it’s safe to say if you buy the “unrated” edition there’ll be more…. Like you, I prefer a digital copy, so I’ve also adopted a “wait and see policy”. If I find something enlightening on the subject I shall post immediately 😉 Have a happy week!

      Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Appreciate the links to the various DVD’s available. I bought the one last time that came w/a branded notepad. Served no purpose in my life other than just having a little Fifty souvenir. So…in the same spirit, think I am going for the wine charms!! I’ll have a couple non-obsessed friends over to watch the movie and enjoy some wine. Not as much fun as equally obsessed friends would be, but doubt any of you will be in town to watch the NR version with me!

    And Brock as the beast….holy moly. Wonder what the chances of Disney making an explicit version for us to obsess over. He sure is beastly material! I did love the singing voice of the beast they actually selected.

    So, reading….I one-clicked on the heavily advertised “Cole” by Tijan. While it wasn’t perfect, it was a very enjoyable read, and enough that I also bought the first two books of the series, Carter Reed 1 and 2. She did a good job of interweaving the intrigue, and the men were completely hot and yummy mafia men. But they were GOOD hot mafia guys, as opposed to the BAD sleazy mafia guys…..that is, if you ignored all the killing they did and stuff. (They only killed the BAD mafia guys.) Starting with book three didn’t affect the story flow for me at all, but for the timeline obsessed, you should start with book one. So good story, hot Alpha mafia guys, discovering and protecting their soul mates. All made for good reading. If there was a book four (and I believe there will be eventually), I would be there.

    Now, that I am past those books…I started on a .99 bookbub “Leashing the Virgin”, that reading the sample interested me enough to do the one click. However, I’m pretty unhappy with it a couple of more chapters in. Don’t know if I will finish or not. Typically, I skim through when I’m not happy with a story, and see if it recaptures my attention. You can only roll your eyes so many times….

    And….that’s it from me!! Happy reading, ladies!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Whahahaha! No eye rolling from me, Sharon. I’m the queen of DNF! My Goodreads DNF list is long, and, if after even a few pages I’m not smiling, it goes straight to that pule to die! 😂😂 Anyway, sounds like you had some delightful Alpha fun! Good for you! You gotta’ love how gullible we are, rooting for “good” bad guys! I’m the same. I ADORE the Ocean’s series of movies, watched them a thousand times. Last week my daughter asked me (after watching yet another time), if they are good or bad guys… Well, quite the dilemma, isn’t it? “Well, you see sweetie, though they are thieves, and you should NEVER steal, they are good guys”? Huh. Made me think! 😉 From the mouth if babes… Have a beautiful week, my friend. Happy DVD watching! I would be there with bells on it if was an option! 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

