Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies ๐Ÿค—

On the last day of my holiday let me wish you a happy World Chocolate Day for Friday.  ๐ŸŽ‰ What I don’t understand is why the day isn’t celebrated with a public holiday?? Seems fair considering the joy chocolate brings! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Then, I have some fun news to share. Firstly, if you follow social media, you might have witnessed the Twittersphere explode with news of Jamie playing golf this week. Doesn’t seem newsworthy until you take a closer look at the picture…

Oh my. Is that a golf ball in your pocket or are you just happy to see us? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you, Lissa and Sharon for brightening my day with this tidbit.

We’ve all heard the rumours of Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series being turned into a TV series, but that project has been taken off the table according to her site. However, Sharon found this….

Aftershock and Afterburn, another series from Ms. Day, is being made into a movie. Though I’ve read both books, mostly to while away the time as I waited for a new Crossfire novel, I’m having a hard time recalling the details of the story. Interesting that they would go with this particular range rather than her more well known books.

Lastly, for those of you with romantic hearts, check out these adorable doodles from Bored Panda illustrating a happy couple’s life:

Cute, huh? โค๏ธ

Currently I’m reading:

Raw Need by Cherrie Lynn, book 2 in the Larson Brothers series. I haven’t gotten very far yet, so the jury is still out.

On my shelf I have:

Dirty Girl by Meghan March, book 1 in the Dirty Girl Duet series.

I’ll leave you with a little levity…

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Have a good one, girls. See ya’ next week.

31 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    lol Monique I think it is a golf ball, no way would the good Lord waste a monster cock on a prick like Jamie ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
    So I have to say my reading week was super thanks to Sharon, I read all 4 of the Night Prince Series and surprisingly loved them all. Fantasy is not my sort of thing, I think I was bewitched lol I really enjoyed them!
    I have a few books on my kindle to read this week I probably won’t be checking in next week while I’m on my jolly days so I’ll let you know how I get on with the Headmaster the following week.
    Enjoy chocolate day ๐Ÿ˜‰x

    Like

    • Sharon says:

      Holy smokes, Katherine. I’m impressed and delighted you loved Vlad. He is the hottest of her characters, IMHO, but if you loved that series, then you should try her Night Huntress series. Halfway to the Grave is the first one, and features Cat and Bones, that you met in Vlad’s first book. I actually read all of that series before I started the Night Prince. Vlad is also in the Night Huntress series, but is a side character like Cat and Bones are in his. Have a great vacay!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Monique Lain says:

      LOL! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Yes, the golf ball incident was funny! Both of them seem to be suffering from the same infliction though. Golfballitus? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
      So happy you had a good reading week and in a new genre too! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป How very exciting! Good for you for taking that leap of faith! Glad it paid off. Reading a great series is just AWESOME!
      Enjoy your hollies, Katherine! Sounds fabulous. Think of us mere mortals going back to work today… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. gmbizette says:

    Lord you know he wishes for a do over!

    Like

  3. Sheila H. says:

    Hello everyone, and a happy chocolate day. I was quite surprised when I read that Afterburn/Aftershock was going to made into a film, I read the book but I have to be honest and say I could not remember anything about it. I read somewhere that a film/television series was going to be made on The Crossfire series, that was why there was a delay in publishing the last two books, Sylvia had to add more information/writing for the film/television series. I guess it was all media hype.
    Happy reading everyone, thanks again Monique for another lovely review.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hi Sheila ๐Ÿค— Yes, I’m equally surprised about the Aftershock/Afterburn thing. The rights to Crossfire WAS bought by Lion’s Gate (if I recall correctly), and they opted for it again after their option time expired, but on the third round, Sylvia declined to sell it to them again. Currently the rights are back in her court. I guess if a company buys the rights but do nothing to develop the product, it’s your prerogative to deny them further access. At least this way someone else can run with the project. I REALLY hope they do. Perhaps the Afterburn/Aftershock success will put her back in the lime light and things will start happening again. Great hearing from you, Sheila ๐Ÿ˜˜

      Like

  4. Peggy says:

    I read all Meghan Marks series! Excellent! Loved them all! Definitely my read again author.ย 

    Sent from my Verizon 4G LTE smartphone

    Like

  5. Sharon says:

    Not entirely sure the photo wasn’t staged….tongue in cheek = ball in pants? Made my morning last week when it showed up on my page. LOL!!
    Started out my week missing Christian, so I wallowed back in FSOG for a while. Then in one of my groups, some ladies were RAVING about a trilogy by Addison Cain called Alpha’s Claim. I actually had one clicked on the first book a year ago, so decided to check it out. Kind of on the border between our Alpha reads and a shifter book. Nobody turned into anything other than human, but the sex was more like the wolf books, heat cycles, marking, locking together….but no fur was grown. The books were dystopian, and more of a dark read, which I don’t mind on occasion. The first two books were cliffhangers, which I also didn’t mind so much as I had already decided to read the series. THEN the final book was a cliffhanger leading into a different trilogy that isn’t even written yet! Seriously?!
    I. Was. Pissed. I don’t think that is honest writing. I don’t mind additional series being written for secondary characters with a new storyline, but if you sell a trilogy as completed….you finish the damn storyline!! I liked the books, they were hot and dark as I said, but I am so beyond done with that author!
    Grrrr.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      No Sharon, it isn’t honest. ๐Ÿ˜ I wholeheartedly agree with you. That’s a blatant marketing ploy, and not even a subtle one. I would also have been grumpy AF. Thank you for sharing. Pity though. Sounds interesting. Hopefully you’ll be back in Happy Reading Land soon! ๐Ÿ˜˜

      Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Oh yes, I forgot about the pic!! Do you really think it’s staged?? I have no idea what to think, but my first thought was that it was accidental. Perhaps I’m media hype naive! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

      Like

      • mothergolf@earthlink.net says:

        I’m a golfer, and all golfers carry golf balls in their pocket when playing, unless you are a pro, then the caddies carry them, as for Jamie, maybe he forgot, but he might be doing this on purpose…..just to get a reaction out of his fans….which he did…….lol……I had a friend who put her golf pants on backwards, true story, and so the golf balls were on her butt and she didn’t realize it….walked through a restaurant and was wondering why everyone was looking at her…..

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Hello there ๐Ÿค— Whahaha! Oh dear! That must’ve been a sight! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Yup, I’m with you. I think he just forgot, but whatever the story is, it’s entertaining! ๐Ÿ˜‰ And boy, did he get a reaction! ๐Ÿ˜‚

          Like

      • Sharon says:

        Jamie seems fairly conservative off screen, so it would surprise me if he did on purpose. One of those “not so little” things we’ll never know!!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Lissa Jeri says:

    Writing from Theth Albania, charming, stunning midfle of nowhere.

    Just finished Alice Clayton’s Buns. Third of Hudson Valley series. Actually very sweet and I enjoyed it. I felt characters were real and I totally identified with heroine and her issues. Doesn’t set the world on fire, but fluffy and comforting. Sex hot enough…more enjoyable even.because it felt it happened at the right pace.

    Now have to hike out of the valley today. No other way out. Back home Wednesday
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Your hike sounds stunning, Lissa. And how fantastic is it that you can still chat with us while you’re there? Isn’t technology amazing? ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป
      I’m happy to see a positive review for Buns. Lately, though her books tick all the boxes, I’m finding her Hudson valley series a tad cookie cutter. The previous two were so similar. Perhaps I’ll give Buns a second glance.
      Happy trails, girlfriend! ๐Ÿค—

      Like

      • Lissa Jeri says:

        Actually…can I admit that I found the nongenre part of the plot of Buns fascinating…about rebranding hotels. The first Hudson Valley with the cook/baker was sweet and predictable…nice inconsequential candy. The second was coarse and gross and Clayton continues this character in all her unpleasantness . That was a waste of a book/time. And the Roman book.was also a waste.
        But again, when I can read genre and actally LEARN something…that’s fantastic.
        Speaking about learning….Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See. Nongenre..another one of her pleasant books….but so so much to learn about a kind of artesian tea called pu’yr….kept running to internet to learn more.

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Hi Lissa ๐Ÿค— I agree with you. It is lovely to learn something while you read a beautiful novel, even if it’s accidental. And it’s good to know that Clayton’s stepped up her game with her latest book. I’m intrigued now. Also, thank you for the non genre share. Knowing about a good book is always useful ๐Ÿ˜˜

          Like

  7. MAC says:

    Oh my ladies…I am beyond excited about my find. Sybil Bartel series…Thrust. Rough. Grind those are the three. Holy crap it was smokin’ For Me, I loved them both but the second one with Jared and Sienna was hot hot hot with good story and capture on PTSD post military…if that is your thing do get a sample. ๐Ÿ’‹
    Dirty girl was a good read but below the ones above, at least for me.

    I love any picture of Jamie you post. He has grown into my Christian and he had a way better depth and presence last film than the first. Unfortunately I never warmed to Dakota not to say she is not worthy just not my Ana…not sure why.

    So when I saw the Sylvia Day thing I was flummoxed to say I had to stop a sec to remember what it was. My bad!!! So many books so little memory. I was hoping for like a television short series about Crossfire so that is disappointing. But really I do not think I could handle watching them wreck my encapsulated vision of Gideon or my other fav series…This Man – Jesse. Not doing them justice would destroy the deep pull we all feel for those series. We made it through Fifty together but we had a bumpy ride for awhile. I for one do not want all my greatest great alpha males done wrong! Having said that to be totally fickle I would be glued to the set cause well its Gideon! Jesse! OMG!!

    If you are gonna be hot…you may as well sizzle!!
    ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’‹ MAC

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey girlfriend! ๐Ÿค— Lovely to see you here. Thank you for the great share! Will head to Goodreads ASAP! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know EXACTLY what you mean with a director’s vision messing with the image of our favourite BBs! Gideon especially would have to be bloody perfect. And like you, I’d be equally overjoyed and terrified to watch a Crossfire series lest my ultimate Alpha become less in my eyes. And Jesse would also be very hard to pull off, IMHO. Ggrrr! I want and I don’t, all at the same time! Why they don’t mine the rich seam of diehard fan girls for movie/series production purposes, I don’t know. We would be absolutely perfect for casting those H.O.T. alphas, don’t you think? A jury of us, looking for the perfect Gideon, the ideal Jesse? #BrilliantIdea ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  8. MAC says:

    OMG what time does our flight leave??? ๐Ÿ‘‘

    Like

  9. KereCB says:

    OMG Jamie!!! I would love to think he is happy to see us, but I guess is a golf ball, Lol… in some a good news I’m back from my dry spell of no reading, and with a book that I’ve loved since page 1. Dating you hating you by Christina Lauren, still a few chapters to finish It but I love it already… have a lovely week my friend.
    Kx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Kereny! ๐Ÿค— Good to have you back! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about Christina and Lauren’s new book! Mostly that it’s a repeat of Beautiful Bastard, their first book in the Beautiful series. But I’m thrilled that you’re back in the saddle and enjoying a good read! ๐ŸŽ‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • KereCB says:

        Hey Monique, It’s good to be back… As for the book I don’t think is the same. I feel is a more mature book. It has like more real Life problems and strugles at work, I feel it that way and I really like It so far ๐Ÿ˜ƒ
        Sending you a huge hug my friend
        Kx

        Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

