Between the covers book 

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗

My first week back at work and already I’m looking forward to my next holiday! Wowzers! How can one person be so damned busy?? 😝

Before I get into it I just want to wish my favourite Irish blogger’s hubby a speedy recovery. Hope the card makes sense, girlfriend. Google translate is not always the best source when it comes to language help! 😉


Then, I have some news. Sharon took this exciting screenshot for us, Erika tweeting that she has 3 chapters left to write in what I assume is Grey book 2, Darker from Christian’s POV.


On the one hand I’m optimistic. If she’s writing, hopefully it means that she actually wrote, not just swapped views like she did in book 1. On the other, I’m worried that we won’t get the MORE we’re after. Whatever she does, I predict we’ll buy it and devour it despite the content. But I can’t help asking myself if, from a writer’s creative perspective, that’s a good or a bad thing. Does the guaranteed mega sales make you lazy or inspire you to wow your fans? #GoodQuestion

Last week I reported on Passionflix adapting Sylvia Day’s Aftershock and Afterburn series for the silver screen. This production company seems to be the go-to guys for our genre books. They are the ones making Alessandra Torre’s Hollywood Dirt, Bromberg’s Driven series, and other stories including those from Rachel van Dyken, C.D. Reiss, J. Kenner, and more. BUT, and this is a big but, unlike what we assumed (or perhaps it was only me), these movies are not going to appear in cinemas all around the globe. Passionflix claims to bring us “Original content, turning best-selling romance novels into movies and series. From sweet and sassy to sultry and steamy, our originals will leave you gasping for more.” The catch? This is a streaming company, similar to Netflix. No going to the movies with your best gall, chomping popcorn while you watch your fav novel come to life, but it does stream said book to the comfort of your home for the bargain price of $5.99 per month. What do you think, ladies? Hot or not?

Check out the Passionflix’s Hollywood Dirt trailer….

This week I read:

Or I should say, “I hardly read!”? I did manage to finish Raw Need by Cherrie Lynn, book 2 in the Larson Brothers series, but just barely. I’m sad to report that this was the first book from her that I struggled to finish. I can’t say why, can’t put my finger on it, but it simply didn’t do it for me.

Currently I’m reading:

Dirty Girl by Meghan March, book 1 in the Dirty Girl Duet series.

On my shelf I have:


Rough by Sybil Bartel, book 2 in the Thrust series. Thanks for the rec, MAC! 😘

I’ll leave you with this useful advice for those of us turning the corner to maturity….


😂😂

Let’s hope I find some good reading time this week! Have a beautiful weekend, girls. Let us know when you find a book gem.

14 thoughts on “Between the covers book 

  1. Tara says:

    More news… if you are a fan of JEM and This Man series, that is going to be a series on Passionflix as well. Jodi announced it on her FB page. Let’s hope they do Jesse right! They are also turning her Protector book into a movie. Passionflix is also working the K. Bromerberg’s Driven Series. Read a good book, not smuty per say, but snarky and kept the pages turning… Mister Romance by L Rayven
    Thanks, Tara

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Tara 🤗 Thanks for sharing! I’m not sure how I feel about Jesse! I love that series so much I don’t want to see it wrecked. Yes, Passionflix seems to be going all out! They have their fingers in a LOT of book pies right now. Let’s hope they bring justice to our fav characters!

      Like

  2. gmbizette says:

    Hi there
    Hope all is well with you! Love you blog!
    Will you write another FSOG FF? Meander is absolutely one of my favorites of all time!
    My Best to you,
    Gwen

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Grewn. Yes, all good here, just caught up in life which translates to no time for writing. Hope all is well with you too 😉 It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed Meander so much, and it would be lovely to return to my story, but unless something changes, I don’t foresee having the free time to do so. 😕 Perhaps one day, huh? 😉

      Like

  3. Lissa Jeri says:

    Howdy all. A question fir the group.
    Couldn’t sleep last PM so counted sheep…no…rolled my brain thru scenes in FSD and got stuck on the one where Ana wants to go to NY. Discussion with Christian. He caves. Then he says he’s glad that’s over because he doesn’t like to argue.
    1. I know this wasn’t what was in the book.
    2. Christian cave? What were they thinking? Christian not understand what a discussion vs an argument is? Well not as a Dom…but he had a whole life with sibs…yes, spelled correctly😃…colleagues…roommates at Harvard
    3. More to the point, what was the whole purpose of running it this way in the movie? It was unbelievable vis a vis CG. It’s was just as unbelievable if he were vanilla or a dog or anyone of our husbands/partners.

    I’m stumped. Throwing this out to the group.
    Lissa

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Yes, Lissa! That was one of my original complaints! That very scene had me stumped! Where were all the endless arguing? The bumping of heads as they forged their way the only way they knew how? Book 2 was ALL about their epic clashes. The scene was totally implausible. He would NEVER have let that go down without a fight! Even if he had to tie her to a bed to get his way. IMHO, Erika took so much flack for making CG seem like an a-hole in the first movie that they made him Mr-perfect-boyfriend in the second. I’m sure that approach holds much more appeal to the masses but it’s not true to his character.

      Like

  4. Sharon says:

    After doing a complete CRASH & BURN my last two readings, I’m following Mac’s lead and have started THRUST by Sybil Bartel. Certainly a hot start….looking forward to seeing where it takes me. I did read Undeniably You, by Jewel Ann, which was one of the disappointments . Can’t fault the writing, and I’ve read other books by Jewel that I enjoyed. The BB in this standalone book was beyond amazing, but unfortunately we had to tolerate a selfish, ditzy female protagonist which ruined the read for me. She did not deserve Lautner. The original cover was outstanding, which is the one Monique posted previously. For some reason, Jewel changed the awesome cover to a totally blah cover….which perhaps was due to the book not meeting expectations? I truly wish she hadn’t wasted the BB in this story. He was worth savaging….oops….I mean salvaging.
    Don’t know if Passionflix will be successful, but what a great opportunity for current writers to get books onto film, that otherwise may not have made it to the big screen! Obviously they have to build up content so will be filming many successful stories. If anyone watches any of them, let us know what you think! Hope they do a good job of it.
    And Happy World Ice Cream Day!!!
    I have celebrated with a lovely Caramel Cookie Crunch Gelato!! Wish I could have shared with all of you!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Sharon 🤗 Sucky reading weeks are sad affairs, but I’m delighted that you could celebrate with ice-cream! That’ll make any boo-boo better. 😉 Happy Words Ice-Cream day to you too! Another that should be a public holiday, I think. 😋 And I would happily share wine, chocolate, ice-cream, steak, cheese, pasta, or any other delectable thing with you if I could! How awesome would that be? I often picture the lot of us taking a table in a restaurant and making a night of it! $5 says we’ll be asked to quiet down before we’ll be asked to leave eventually… 😂😂😂 Can you even imagine the fun? (And the raucous, throaty laughter). 😋
      Hope you have stellar success with the Thrust series. The name alone sounds promising…. 😉😉

      Like

  5. WilderFables says:

    Hello Ms. Monique hope all is well with you and yours. I just finished “The Red” by the awesome author Tiffany Reisz. If you are able to, read this one now I am curious about others opinion of it. As I have said before, Tiffany Reisz is one of the most incredible authors out there but I am not quite so sure about this one. This I know for sure, she has definitely got into my head and she is hard to shake!! Be well;)

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hello there, lovely 🤗 I LOVED The Red but it was one helluva’ departure from her usual books. I guess that makes sense in the light of the fact that “Nora” wrote it. I adore the idea of a book within a book like that, something I considered doing myself in Meander with an original story writing it as Ana, but alas, ’twas not to be. I so agree with you on her brilliance ❤️

      Like

  6. MAC says:

    Hi Lovelies… Well I had nothing great to say about finishing the new Nicole duet “Hard to Handle” I almost wanna change it up,and say “Too much to handle” but for Nicole unfortunately. Its like she is trying to decide which kinda writer she wants to be next when she should just stick with her strength, sex and menage!! This last one had her bringing in like 3 different series into the one book “to help ’em out of a fix” but it just made me mad cause she was lessening what the other series meant to us. Just pick a style for Christ sake and write!! GAH when will I learn. Heehee Never!!
    Now the passionfix streaming thing I heard about and I do have Netflix but not sure I want to go there! What if they ruin all of the visions of sugar plum alpha’s banging in our heads!! Bahahahaha…
    We all know how attached we are to Christian. God if they wreck Gideon I would be beside myself…these series they are “adapting, twisting, interpreting” may just be our total ruin as far as hard core favourites go. Jesse cannot imagine…I cannot even stand the one playing in that After shock piece no way would Jax look that scrawny!! It is supposed to be hot and sexy…he needs to eat some sandwiches before he starts the show! Yuk Yuk Yuk.
    It is all so subjective. That is the problem. Some of us will love it I just don’t know if I am willing to destroy the visions I have come to adore. Hopefully we can discuss it more when we see the trailers cause that Hollywood dirt one is …. Is…. Hmmmm.

    Looking for a sexy book girlfriends. Anyone got one for me? I loved Thrust and Rough and the third was worth the read but not along the same path…different is not bad I think it was just that I did not attach to Irina in the first book so she did not do it for me…something like that Rachel in manwhore but meaner!!! Go for it!!

    🌸MAC

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey girlfriend 🤗 Don’t you just hate when a beloved author lets you down? So frustrating when they don’t do what we want! LOL! I have that same issue with Jodi Ellen Malpas and Katy Evans. Both started off with these phenomenal series and then… Just. No. Aww well. I should just move on, take my countrymen’s advise: build a bridge and get over it. LOL! 😂 I hope you find something brilliant to read soon! 😉
      As for Passionflix, I think I might start with something that I’m not so heavily invested in. Hollywood Dirt’s trailer does look meh, but though I enjoyed the book I think I could happily live with the disappointment if the film doesn’t float my boat… You are so right. That’s the thing (and the joy) about books, the subjectivity, the way you make it your own. Just look at how much we differed on how we saw CG when we started speculating on cast choices despite our deep love for the series. And of course, we get so damn deeply invested with some of these characters. How did you put is? “…visions of sugar plumb alphas”! LOL! And yes, indeed. I couldn’t cope with Gideon being wrecked either. And if he loses is alpha edge they way Christian lost his in the Darker movie, I will simply expire. Just the way Gideon says her name had me melting. *sigh* Would be Fantastic to see him captured in film, but I don’t think any director is skilled enough to bring us all the alpha sparkle! 😉 As for you new read, I’ve not tried this author yet, but it looks promising: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7893098?source=ebfg_email Perhaps something for you to look into! 😘😘

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

