Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies 🤗

How has your weekend been so far? Have you read anything awesome lately? I read a white-hot one this week, but more about that later. 😉

I came across this recently, a surprisingly insightful review of Fifty by a gangsta….

Who would have thought? Pretty good, IMHO. 👍🏻

On another topic, yet oddly related, recently I’ve seen a slew of articles broaching the Hairy-Mary (or not so hairy) subject. (Thank you, Katherine for the delightful reference.) Sharon shared the latest one by Rebel Circus – should you or shouldn’t you shave? Is the proverbial fur burger back in fashion? It’s worth checking it out for the pictures alone!

 

LOL! 😂😂

This week I read:

 

Cheater by Rachel van Dyken, book 1 in the Curious Liaisons series, was a good read, it certainly ticked all the boxes, but despite my 4 star rating, it didn’t quite have the punch of her previous stories.

Rough by Sybil Bartel, book 2 in the Thrust series, came highly recommended, and boy, was it H.O.T!

Currently I’m reading:

Beautiful Mistake by Vi Keeland.

The advent of August is brining along with it a whole host of new treats. Thanks to Goodreads, I can share them with you:

Well… That should keep us busy, huh? 😉

I’ll leave you with a little life philosophy…

😊

Have a brilliant week, girls.

11 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique funny you should mention a hairy mary I was actually thinking about that while reading Thrust and Rough this week, I thought both books were fine but my big thing is the use of the word C**t, I absolutely hate that word it makes me cringe, I was giggling to myself thinking it would sound better if the author wrote “he slid his hard cock into her hairy mary?” 😉
    Anyway lol I also read Hard to Handle by Nicole Edwards, I loved it not a lot of MMF sex in it which suits me. I also read The Terms and The Terms part 2 by Ruby Rowe, I preferred part 2 but again just fine, there was too much sex imo but the storyline was fine.
    Lastly I read Inferno by Yolanda Olson, I should have deleted the book once I read the foreword but I plowed on it was very very dark not a book you would like Monique I wouldn’t recommend it but only because incest between a father, his daughter and 2 son’s is not the sort of thing I would recommend to anyone.
    I’ve no clue what to read next so welcome any recommendations
    Have a great week everyone xx

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Katherine! I’m not sure “Hairy Mary” has the same erotic oomf as other naughty terms, but who knows? It might make it into our genre! 😂😂 Sounds like you had a very busy reading week! Wow. And mostly good, it seems. Happy days. Thank you for your book caution. I’ll give it a wide berth. Goodreads should have a “Avoid” list!! LOL! Great hearing from you. Have a good one, girlfriend 🤗

      Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Hubby and I just had a discussion regarding to defuzz or not to defuzz lol without giving you a visual that will haunt you for life, he likes what I do 😉 x

    Like

  3. Sharon says:

    My goodness, quiet little bookclub this week! Our lives are just toooo busy!
    So – #1 cool thing is that I WON a drawing that Tiffany Reisz had for a set of signed collector cards that feature the artwork displayed (so very explicitly) in her book “The Red”. You know, it’s a small thing overall, but just made my day in a week full of suck! How awesome would it be to know that you can do that for someone else?!
    #2 cool thing is that I FINALLY watched FSD. Had two gals over that watched the first DVD with me, fixed a pitcher of sangria, some yummy munchies, the official FSD napkins & wine charms that came with the DVD, and we had a very, very fun time. Neither have read the books, but both enjoyed the movie. And IMHO, the 14 extra minutes should NEVER have been cut from the movie! It made Christian’s crash make so much more sense, the pool table scene was such fun to watch (though truly, we needed the ruler). My only guess is that they need extra footage to make the DVD worthy of purchase, but the first loyalty should be to make the movie the best it can be. I haven’t watched the “extra” disk yet…but glad to finally make it to the DVD!
    #3 cool thing is that I am loving a series by Thea Harrison called Moonshadow. It is paranormal….and just two books, at least for now. There is a related series….but I am very involved in the characters, and very much enjoy the way she is writing the HEAT!! So I’m in book two – and will investigate the other series when I’m done.
    So happy to enjoy my lovely cool moments – especially in this Hot & Humid month of August!! and LOL for using the “hairy hamburger” picture, Monique!!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      That’s just awesome, Sharon! 🎉 Not the sucky week but the delightfully naughty prize! You’ll have to take pictures and share with us when they come!
      And thrilled that you had a good time with your DVD and it’s extra 14 minutes! 😉😉 Now we wait for CG’s POV Darker and Freed…. Sounds like you had a fantastic night.
      Plus you’ve found a marvellous book! Isn’t that great? I love discovering a new author, especially if they have a few book out that I can then gorge on! Happy days!
      Have a great week, lovely lady! 😘

      Like

  4. MAC says:

    Hi Ladies~
    I just finished “Beautiful Mistake” as we speak. I do so love the way Vi writes. She seems to still have the “catch me up into the story” thing going on. She writes her sexy pants scenes differently like a slow build then an explosion but not in your face like some of favourite writers!! LMAO. Sooooo was perusing the list above and it looks quite lengthy… I started the turning series so I have that to finish and I have to say love the Helen Steele Brothers series but the dang books seem so far apart I gotta go back and reread before the next one even comes… Slow coming!! Never a good thing!! 😳

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey lovely 🤗 IKR? She’s a great writer. I’ve loved all her books except for the first one. And I enjoy the ones she co-writes, too. 👍🏻
      I’m so with you in the long wait between certain books! That’s just awful! Especially if you forgot what the story was about in the first place. LOL! Have a good one, girlfriend. Thanks for checking in 😘

      Like

  5. MAC says:

    Monique…Let me know when you finish Beautiful Mistake…
    I have a few loose ends to comment on and see if you think the same. But it might be a spoiler alert!!

    Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

