Between the covers book club

Hello there, lovely ladies (and the occasional gent – mostly my darling hubby) 🤗

How is this fine weekend treating you? I find it’s almost always too short. I propose a three-day break instead of two. What do you say? 😉

I thoroughly enjoy reading through book lists to compare notes, but it never fails to astound me that they seldomly feature our beloved Fifty. I guess stating the obvious is not interesting enough. This one from Buzzfeed is pretty good as far as they go. Thank you, Sharon for sending this link our way. 😘

This week I read:

  

Beautiful Mistake by Vi Keeland was another great read by this author. I have yet to find one from her I didn’t like. They are the perfect blend of story, love, and angst.

Their Virgin Hostage by Shayla Black and Lexi Blake was a little bit of a letdown for me. Usually, when the mood strikes, I enjoy their multiple menage themed meanderings, but this one just didn’t have that magic X-factor.

Mack Daddy by Penelope Ward was a cute read. Nothing that will keep you gripped through the night, but still, a good all-rounder.

Then, Attraction, Heat, and Capture by Penny Reid, books 1, 2, and 3 in the Elements of Chemistry series, was what kept me up this week. I’ve had books from this author on my to-read list for ages, but it’s the first time I’ve dipped my toe in the Penny Reid pool. And what a pleasure it’s been. I just love losing myself in a full series, and this one was lovely. A solid and hearty four stars from me and a place on my favourites list. Yay! 🎉

Currently I’m reading:

Trust by Kylie Scott.

On my shelf I have:

Thanks to Katherine, Dr Stanton by T. L. Swan. I hear good things.

This made me laugh…

😂😂

Have a gorgeous week, girls. Hope to hear of your happy reading adventures.

12 thoughts on “Between the covers book club

  1. Katherine says:

    Hi Monique and ladies,
    I have had an absolutely fantastic reading week, I neglected everyone and everything and just read lol.
    I officially have a girl crush on T L Swan love love love her 😁
    All my reading is by her, first up was Find Me Alastar, despite the title I loved this book, then I read Stanton Box Set, OMG this has kept me awake I can’t put it down fantastic story hot sex and amazing characters what more does a girl need?.
    My only regret was that I read Dr Stanton before the box set, even though it is a stand alone, there is a crossover with some of the characters which gave clues to what happened in the end but I have to say definitely the best series I have read in a long time imo.
    I had a preordered book by Sawyer Bennett, The Wicked Wish so I’ll be starting on that soon.
    Have a great week.

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey Katherine 🤗 What a happy week you’ve had! That’s brilliant. 👍🏻 So tell me, should I not read Dr Stanton first? Let me know how I should go about starting and I hope you have another fantastically epic week! 😘

      Like

      • Katherine says:

        Mon if you want to give this author a go, I hope you do I would definitely read the box set first. The first book is called Stanton Adore. The funny thing is I found the Dr annoying in these books but loved him in Dr Stanton. I’ll have a look at the series you read based on your review. I hope you enjoy them as much as me, don’t you just love it when you discover a new author that you love?! 😁🎉

        Like

        • Monique Lain says:

          Hey Katherine 🤗 It finally happened! I HAVE read Stanton Adore!! Whahaha. 😂 Terrible when you can’t keep the books you’ve read straight anymore. 😜 I’ve bought Dr Stanton. Will let you know how I go. 👍🏻 And I hope you enjoy the Elements of Chemistry series, though I’m not sure that you’ll have the patience for the mousy, prudish female protagonist. I liked her quirky ways, but I’m sure her nerdy ways and her snail’s pace might not appeal to everyone. Yes! Happy, happy days when you can immerse yourself in book goodies! 🎉😋

          Like

  2. Sharon says:

    Seems like the last week just flew by! Nothing new from me, as things have been busy so have just done a little re-reading. I’ve started a very popular paranormal series called Kate Daniels. Looking forward to seeing what the fuss is about!
    The eye chart is hysterical!! That would be a motivator for those eye exams. A reverse for the ladies would be welcome!!

    Like

  3. MAC says:

    Sorry Monique I added to our Beautiful Mistake discussion on prior week where we were conversing. Can u flip your response over to this week for me. I will try to find that little sentance. Dr. Stanton… Hmmmm sounds intriguing as do your three!!

    🎉

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Sure thing: “Huh. Still shocked that I missed such a vital part! I must’ve been in a daze! 😜
      I’m reading Forbidden at the moment. What do you think about her foreword? I have a theory…. 😉”
      I enjoyed the Penny Reid books – very much, but the female lead is a little timid. If that’ll irritate you I suggest you steer clear.

      Like

  4. gabyaveledo says:

    Monique, you need to read the winston brothers series bye Penny… I would recommend ANY of her books, because they are all great! The way she develops her characters, their quirks, their stories, is so fresh because is sooooo different to everything else in the genre! Chemistry is probably her most “normal” work. Knitting in the city is great, and the rugby series with L.H. Cosway is awesome!

    Like

    • Monique Lain says:

      Hey there 🤗 Yes, thank you. I’ve already made that purchase. 👍🏻 I should be starting soon. She does seem to be a lovely writer. I’m looking forward to see what else she comes up with! 😉

      Like

Please, feel free to leave a comment

